Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Workshop conference
Speakers

Will chatbots soon replace teachers? Is it possible to experience exams through a virtual reality headset? And do you still need language courses at all in an era of translation software? Academics, teachers and learners, as well as publishing representatives and programmers came together at the STARTKLAR?! workshop conference from 21st – 23rd March in Berlin, to discuss the future of digital language learning and develop actual approaches.

Startklar?! Ready for new beginnings in tomorrow’s language teaching and learningGraphic: Goethe-Institut

Prof. Dr. Jannis Androutsopoulos

Portrait von Jannis Androutsopoulos © UHH Jannis Androutsopoulos is Professor of Linguistics specialising in German and media linguistics at the University of Hamburg, as well as Research Professor at the MultiLing Center of Excellence at the University of Oslo from 2016-2021. His research focuses are media linguistics and sociolinguistics, as well as multilingualism research. In his current projects he is investigating the link between multilingualism and digitally-communicated interaction between migrants and refugees, and in this context one of his interests is the processes of informal language learning. Androutsopoulos was a member of the Goethe-Institut Language Advisory Board from 2012-2018.

Wrap-up session, 22.3.2018, 4:45 - 5:05 pm

Dr. Doug Belshaw

Doug Belshaw © Doug Belshaw helps people become more productive in their use of technology. Currently working with Moodle, a co-op he help found, and as an international consultant, Doug has expertise in digital literacies and new forms of alternative, digital credentialing. He has worked on Web Literacy and Open Badges for the non-profit Mozilla Foundation, as well as in universities and schools.

Lecture in the Forum Digital Literacy, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 am

Cathleen Berger

Cathleen Berger © Falko Siewert | Mozilla Foundation is currently leading Mozilla's strategic engagement with Global Internet Fora. In this position, she is tasked with identifying emerging trends around privacy and security, digital inclusion and literacy, openness and decentralisation in order to remain aware and ahead of global tech policy developments. She is a political scientist by training and has always had a keen interest on the intersection of technological developments and human rights.

Opening speech, 21.3.2018, 7 pm
Keynote, 22.3.2018, 9 – 9:30 am

Dr. Tarek R. Besold

Tarek R. Besold © John Stevenson is a Lecturer in Data Science at City, University of London, working on topics at the intersection between artificial intelligence, computational creativity, and cognitive systems. After studying mathematics, computer science, and logic, he obtained a PhD in cognitive science. Among others, he was/is the General Chair of the HLAI Joint Multi-Conference on Human-Level Artificial Intelligence in 2016 and 2018, and founder and/or organizer of several international workshop series at the intersection between AI and cognitive science.

Focus group in the Forum Artificial intelligence, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 am

Dr. Phil Anika Bethan

Dr. Phil Anika Bethan © Anika Bethan After her Master’s Degree in Modern German Philology and Modern History at the TU Berlin, Dr. Phil Anika Bethan started a PhD in European memory history at the FU Berlin, which she successfully completed in 2010. After that she worked as a teacher of German as a Foreign Language. From 2011 to 2015 she relocated to the universities of Fez (Morocco) and Cairo (Egypt) as a DAAD “Lektor” and GFL lecturer. She has worked at the EF International Language School in Berlin as Academic Director since 2015.

Focus group in the Forum Digital task and exercise formats: interaction and interactivity, 22.3.2018, 2 – 3 pm

Prof. Donald Clark

Prof. Donald Clark © Donald Clark is an EdTech Entrepreneur, CEO, Professor, Researcher, Blogger and Speaker. Describing himself as ‘free from the tyranny of employment’, he is a board member of Cogbooks, LearningPool and Vice-Chair of Brighton Dome & Arts Festival. He is also a Visiting Professor, Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (FRSA) and involved in research into AI in learning. He has worked in schools, vocational, higher, corporate and adult learning, delivering real projects to real learners.

Focus group in the Forum Artificial intelligence, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 am

Prof. Dr. Christian Fandrych

Prof. Dr. Christian Fandrych © Astrid Eckert, TU München is Professor of Linguistics in German as a Foreign Language at the Herder-Institut, part of the University of Leipzig. After his doctorate at the University of Munich, he worked at a lecturer in various countries including Mexico and at King’s College London, before taking up his current position in Leipzig in 2006. His specialisms are grammar and language teaching, scientific communication, corpus linguistics and text linguistics. He is head of the binational Master’s Degree courses, with universities in Cairo and Hanoi. Christian Fandrych is Chair of the Language Advisory Board at the Goethe-Institut.

Wrap-up session, 22.3.2018, 4:45 – 5:05 pm
Wrap-up session​, 23.3.2018, 3:45 – 4 pm

Prof. Dr. Hermann Funk

Prof. Dr. Hermann Funk © Hermann Funk Professor of Education and Teaching Methodology for German as a Foreign and Second Language, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Department of German as a Foreign Language and Intercultural Studies, areas of focus: general education and teaching methodology in foreign languages, research and development of teaching content, business German, Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Central Agency for German Schools Abroad and Director of the Department for Textbook Research and Material Development.

Lecture in the Forum Digital task and exercise formats: interaction and interactivity, 22.3.2018, 2 – 3 pm

Prof. Dr. Josef van Genabith

Josef van Genabith © DFKI has been one of the scientific directors at the German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) since 2014, where he heads the Multilingual Technology Group, as well as Professor of Translation-oriented Language Technology at Saarland University. He worked in Ireland at Dublin City University (DCU) from 1996 – 2014 and was Director of the Centre for Next Generation Localisation (CNGL, now ADAPT) and Director of the National Center for Language Technology (NCLT).

Lecture in the Forum Translation technology, 22.3.2018, 12:15 – 1:15 pm

Dr. Christine Kolbe

Dr. Christine Kolbe © Commons Wikimedia is a discussion shaper and teaching media specialist. Analysing digital network architectures and the question of how they enhance and change environments has been the focus of her thoughts and actions for more than 15 years. As didactic coordinator at mediale pfade, she has been involved in the www.edulabs.de project since April, in which she helps to promote out-of-the-box ideas as open education resources for a modern media education. Before that, Christine Kolbe tested cross-media projects for German teaching and developed material for various aspects of media education (privacy rights, free content on the internet, mobile learning and VR technologies). With her expertise in the formats and methods of digital and analogue environments, the discussion shaper actively advised and influenced in a process support capacity, alongside her media education involvement in numerous civil initiatives. She likes Berlin, digital influencers, open-everything and a culture of sharing.

Lecture in the Forum Open Education as #modern education, 22.3.2018, 2 – 3 pm

Christopher Koska

Christopher Koska © Christopher Koska is a data and algorithm ethicist (freelance research colleague at the Zentrum für Ethik der Medien und der digitalen Gesellschaft (Centre for Media Ethics and Digital Society), zem::dg), freelance digitisation consultant, business analyst and IT project leader at Striped Giraffe Innovation & Strategy GmbH, partner at dimension 2 economics & philosophy consult GmbH and Vice-Chair of pro philosophia e.V. His research focuses are at the intersection between data-driven value-creation models for companies and educational establishments, as well as ongoing efforts to increase and improve digital self-awareness in their workforces and client bases.

Discussion group in the Workspace Philosophical late-night discussion, 22.3.2018, 9 – 10 pm

Torsten Larbig

Torsten Larbig © Torsten Larbig teaches German and Religion (Roman Catholicism) at a grammar school in Frankfurt, where he is also involved with promoting language. He is also a lecturer on the subject of “Digital Media and Teaching” at TU Darmstadt and has been actively involved in educational discussion networks on the internet since 2008. He founded #EDchatDE – the first German-language Twitter chat about education-related issues – together with André J. Spang. As a lifelong learner, Torsten Larbig continually addresses questions relating to “digital literacy”.

Focus group in the Forum Digital Literacy, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 am

Caterina Magro

Caterina Magro © Caterina Magro works in language learning app Babbel’s Didactics Department, the team of over 150 language experts and teachers responsible for producing and optimizing digital learning content for 14 learning languages accessible via seven “display” languages. In the past eight years, Caterina has been involved in every aspect of digital language learning, from localisation and content production to project management and instructional design. In her current role as Senior Instructional Designer, she ensures that Babbel users achieve their goals with the most effective language learning software on the market. Before coming to Babbel, Caterina worked in Berlin’s Italian Cultural Institute and taught in the Language Center at Humboldt University, and created digital learning content for a variety of products and tools.

Focus group in the Forum Digital task and exercise formats: interaction and interactivity, 22.3.2018, 2 – 3 pm

Harald Melcher

Harald Melcher © Harald Melcher is Managing Partner at m2more GmbH, Berlin. m2more has been developing and implementing strategies and concepts in the fields of education and the media since 2012 – for companies and organisations, and with a strong focus on digitisation. Furthermore he is Managing Director of m21 Bil­dungs­medien GmbH, which supplies innovative digi­tal products especially for schools with the brand name Lerneo – many of which feature Learning Analytics functions. Before that, Harald Melcher worked as Managing Director of AKAD-Hoch­schulen, the Ernst Klett publishing house, and he was also MD during the establishment/development phase at Cornelsen Soft­ware. He is a member of the Board at Didacta Verband der Bildungswirtschaft and is active in two Bitkom working committees.

Focus group in the Forum Learning Analytics, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 am

Andrea Pfeil

Andrea Pfeil © Andrea Pfeil studied education to degree level, specialising in adult education, communication science and German as a foreign language, as well as a master’s in education management. Over the past 16 years she has focused on developing quality in educational processes and the development of hybrid language and training courses. She spent many years in teacher training in Germany and overseas, and worked on the design and development of blended learning and online courses, as well as digital training formats, at the Goethe-Institut. Andrea Pfeil was a multimedia and distance learning coordinator at the Goethe-Institut head office in Munich before she changed jobs in 2014 to work as language program director at Goethe-Institut New York.

Focus group in the Forum Digital task and exercise formats: interaction and interactivity, 22.3.2018, 2 – 3 pm

Prof. Dr. Niels Pinkwart

Niels Pinkwart © Niels Pinkwart holds the Professorship in "Computer Science Education / Computer Science and Society" at the Humboldt University in Berlin. He is also principal investigator at the Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society and at the Einstein Center Digital Future. He has conducted numerous research projects on themes relating to technology-supported teaching and learning, and is distinguished by over 200 publications in this field. One of his roles is as speaker for the working group on Learning Analytics, part of the eLearning steering committee at the Computer Science Association.

Lecture in the Forum Learning Analytics, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 am

Sarah Rogerson

Sarah Rogerson © Sarah Rogerson leads the Assessment Development team at Cambridge Assessment: English. She is a passionate advocate of using new technologies for widening access to learning and assessment and has pioneered the use of immersive technologies for reducing language test anxiety. Her thoughts on the potential of immersive technologies in language learning can be seen in the chapter: Imagining the potential for using Virtual Reality technologies in Language Learning. Currently studying for an MSC in digital education, she works across a suite of innovative products aimed at reimagining how we assess language.

Focus group in the Forum Immersive Learning, 22.3.2018, 12:15 – 1:15 pm

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rüschoff

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rüschoff © Bernd Rüschoff holds the chair in didactics and applied linguistics in the Institute for Anglophone Studies at the University of Duisburg-Essen. He has a special research focus technology enhanced learning systems, and has since the 1980-s  participated in a number of national and international projects dealing with the development and assessment of digital tools and multi-media resources in language learning. In addition, his research addresses issues a wide range of issues in the field of applied linguistics, such as language & culture, bilingual education, corpus linguistics and data-driven learning, as well as the implementation of CEFR and competency-oriented principles in language learning.

Focus group in the Forum Digital task and exercise formats: interaction and interactivity, 22.3.2018, 2 – 3 pm

Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt

Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt © Torben Schmidt is a professor for English didactics at the Leuphana University Lüneburg. His research interests focus on project based learning, task-based language learning and foreign language learning with digital media (esp. Web 2.0, digital games, intelligent tutoring systems, adaptivity). He is the director of the Future Center of Teacher Education at the Leuphana University, coordinator of the Lüneburger project of the Initiative for Excellence for Teacher Education, editor of a middle-level textbook series and developer of various learning apps. Professor Schmidt is the winner of the Hans-Eberhard Piepho Prize and was awarded the “Germany – Land of Ideas” prize in 2015 for his blended learning project, “Going Green – An Educational Project for Sustainability.”

Introduction Opening, 21.3.2018, 7 pm

Prof. Mel Slater

Mel Slater © Mel Slater is Director of the Experimental Virtual Environments for Neuroscience and Technology (EVENT) Lab at the University of Barcelona. The EVENT Lab carries out research both on technical advances in VR, and its applications in psychology and cognitive neuroscience. A specialisation in recent years has been to study the influence of the virtual body on behaviour and cognition. Mel Slater recently started his second European Research Council grant. He is co-founder of the spin-off company Virtual Bodyworks S.L.

Lecture in the Forum Immersive Learning, 22.3.2018, 12:15 – 1:15 pm

Prof. Dr. Svetlana Titova

Svetlana Titova © Svetlana Titova Vice Dean, Professor at School of Foreign Languages and Area Studies, Lomonosov Moscow State University, has over 25-year experience in EFL teaching, training and publishing in foreign language education and e-learning. She is a material developer and a tutor of online professional development courses on IT and mobile competence of FL teachers. Her research areas are ICT integration into EFL classroom, mobile learning, professional development of foreign language teachers.  She is an author and a coordinator of the educational website Learning and Teaching with the Web aims at facilitating the process of implementing digital and mobile technologies into learning experience.

Focus group in the Forum Global workspaces, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 am

Prof. Dr. Olaf Zawacki-Richter

Olaf Zawacki-Richter © Olaf Zawacki-Richter wrote his doctoral thesis in 2003 on “Gelingensbedingungen zur Entwicklung von Online-Studiengängen” (success factors for the development of online study courses). He has been Professor of knowledge transfer and learning with new technologies at the University of Oldenburg, where he is Director of the Center for Open Education Research (COER). Professor Zawacki-Richter is the author of over 120 publications, as well as co-publisher of magazines including Distance Education and International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning. Invitations to keynote speeches and lectures at international conferences have taken him to countries including Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Columbia, Saudi Arabia and South Africa.

Lecture in the Forum Global workspaces, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 am

Timm Lutter

Timm Lutter ©Timm Lutter Timm Lutter (32) is Public Affairs Manager at Cornelsen. His responsibilities include representation of education policy interests, as well as public relations with parties, ministries, associations and foundations. Before that he was head of department at the Bundesverband Informationswirtschaft, Telekommunikation und neue Medien e. V. (Bitkom) – the German Association for Information Technology, Telecommunications and New Media – where he was most recently responsible for the focus areas of consumer technology and digital media. Lutter studied history, philosophy and politics in Germany and England. During his degree he was a student assistant at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development. He is a member of the Board of Directors at the Bündnis für Bildung (BfB) – German Education Alliance – a charitable organisation with the objective of supporting the digital transformation in teaching and learning.
 
Focus group in the Digital Task and Exercise Formats Forum: Interaction and interactivity, 22.3.2018, 2:00 – 3:00 pm

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Werkstatt-Konferenz
Referentinnen und Referenten

Über Startklar

Startklar?! Aufbruch in das Sprachenlehren und -lernen von morgenGrafik: Goethe-Institut

Prof. Dr. Jannis Androutsopoulos

Portrait von Jannis Androutsopoulos © UHH Jannis Androutsopoulos ist Professor für Linguistik des Deutschen und Medienlinguistik an der Universität Hamburg sowie von 2016-2021 Research Professor am Exzellenzzentrum MultiLing an der Universität Oslo. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Medien- und Soziolinguistik sowie Mehrsprachigkeitsforschung. In seinen aktuellen Projekten untersucht er den Zusammenhang zwischen Mehrsprachigkeit und digital vermittelter Interaktion unter Migrant/innen und Geflüchteten und interessiert sich dabei u.a. für Prozesse des informellen Sprachenlernens. Von 2012-2018 war Androutsopoulos Mitglied des Beirats Sprache des Goethe Instituts.

Fazitrunde, 22.3.2018, 16:45 - 17:05 Uhr

Dr. Doug Belshaw

Doug Belshaw © Doug Belshaw hilft Menschen in der Handhabung von technologischen Anwendungen sicherer zu werden. Aktuell arbeitet er bei Moodle, einer Kooperation, die er mitbegründet hat, und als internationaler Unternehmer. Er ist Experte für Digitale Bildung (Digital Literacy) und neue Formen alternativer digitaler Qualitätsprüfungen. Er hat im Bereich Web Literacy und Open Badges für die Non-Profit-Organisation Mozilla Foundation gearbeitet, ebenso wie in Universitäten und Schulen.

Vortrag im Forum Digital Literacy, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 Uhr

Cathleen Berger

Cathleen Berger © Falko Siewert | Mozilla Foundation ist derzeit Programmleitung für Mozillas Auftreten in globalen Internetforen. In dieser Position ist sie unter anderem dafür zuständig, Trends zu den Themen Sicherheit und Privatsphäre, Digitale Teilhabe und Bildung, Offenheit und Dezentralisierung aktiv zu begleiten, um globale Entwicklungen in der Digitalpolitik strategisch aufzuarbeiten. Sie ist studierte Politikwissenschaftlerin und interessiert sich insbesondere für das Zusammenspiel von technologischen Entwicklungen und Menschenrechten.

Diskussionsrunde Eröffnung, 21.3.2018, 19 Uhr
Keynote, 22.03.2018, 9:00 – 9.30 Uhr

Dr. Tarek R. Besold

Tarek R. Besold © John Stevenson ist Lehrbeauftragter für Datenwissenschaften an der City University in London und arbeitet an Themen, die sich an der Schnittstelle von Künstlicher Intelligenz, computerbasierter Kreativität und kognitiven Systemen bewegen. Nach seinem Studium der Mathematik, Computerwissenschaften hat er einen Doktor in Kognitionswissenschaften abgeschlossen. Neben seinem Vorsitz bei der „HLAI Joint Multi-Conference on Human-Level Artifical Intellicence“ im Jahr 2016 und 2018 ist er Gründer und Organisator verschiedener internationaler Workshop-Reihen zu Künstliche Intelligenz und Kognitionswissenschaften.

Fokusrunde im Forum Künstliche Intelligenz, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 Uhr

Dr. Phil Anika Bethan

Dr. Phil Anika Bethan © Anika Bethan hat nach ihrem Magisterstudium der Neueren Deutschen Philologie und Neueren Geschichte an der TU Berlin eine Promotion zur Europäischen Erinnerungsgeschichte an der FU Berlin angeschlossen und diese 2010 erfolgreich verteidigt. Im Anschluss war sie zunächst als Lehrerin für Deutsch als Fremdsprache tätig und wechselte von 2011 bis 2015 als DAAD-Lektorin und DaF-Dozentin an die Universitäten in Fès (Marokko) und Kairo (Ägypten). Seit 2015 ist sie als Akademische Leiterin der EF Internationalen Sprachschule in Berlin tätig.

Fokusrunde im Forum Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate: Interaktion und Interaktivität, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Prof. Donald Clark

Prof. Donald Clark © Donald Clark ist ein EdTech Unternehmer, Geschäftsführer, Professor, Forscher, Blogger und Redner. Er beschreibt sich selbst als „frei von der Tyrannei der Beschäftigung“ („free from the tyranny of employment“) und ist Vorstandsmitglied bei „Cogbooks“, „LearningPool“ und stellvertretender Vorsitz von „Brighton Dome & Arts Festival“. Er ist Gastprofessor und Stipendiat der Royal Society of Arts (FRSA) und in Forschungen über Künstliche Intelligenz beim Lernen involviert. Er hat in Schulen sowie in der Berufs-, Unternehmens- und Erwachsenenbildung gearbeitet und vermittelt lebensnahe Bildungsprojekte mit Lernenden.

Fokusrunde im Forum Künstliche Intelligenz, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Christian Fandrych

Prof. Dr. Christian Fandrych © Astrid Eckert, TU München ist Professor für Linguistik des Deutschen als Fremdsprache am Herder-Institut der Universität Leipzig. Nach der Promotion an der Universität München arbeitete er als Dozent u.a. in Mexiko und am King’s College London, bevor er 2006 seine derzeitige Stelle in Leipzig antrat. Seine Arbeitsbereiche sind Grammatik- und Sprachvermittlung, Wissenschaftskommunikation, Korpuslinguistik und Textlinguistik. Er ist Leiter der binationalen Master-Studiengänge mit Universitäten in Kairo und Hanoi. Christian Fandrych ist Vorsitzender des Beirats Sprache des Goethe-Instituts.

Fazitrunde, 22.3.2018, 16:45 – 17:05 Uhr
Fazitrunde, 23.3.2018, 15:45 – 16:00 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Hermann Funk

Prof. Dr. Hermann Funk © Hermann Funk Lehrstuhl für Didaktik und Methodik Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Institut für Deutsch als Fremd- und Zweitsprache & Interkulturelle Studien, Arbeitsgebiete: Allgemeine Fremdsprachendidaktik und Methodik, Lehrmaterialforschung und -entwicklung, Deutsch für den Beruf, Vorsitzender des Wiss. Beirats der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen und Direktor der Arbeitsstelle Lehrwerkforschung und Materialentwicklung.

Vortrag im Forum Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate: Interaktion und Interaktivität, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Josef van Genabith

Josef van Genabith © DFKI ist seit 2014 einer der wissenschaftlichen Direktoren des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), wo er die Multilinguale Technologie Gruppe leitet, sowie Professor für Translationsorientierte Sprachtechnologie an der Universität des Saarlandes. Von 1996 – 2014 arbeitet er in Irland an der Dublin City University (DCU), und war Direktor des Center for Next Generation Localisation (CNGL, nun ADAPT) und Direktor des National Center for Language Technology (NCLT).

Vortrag im Forum Übersetzungstechnologie, 22.3.2018, 12:15 – 13:15 Uhr

Dr. Christine Kolbe

Dr. Christine Kolbe © Commons Wikimedia ist Diskursgestalterin und Medienpädagogin. Die Auseinandersetzung mit digitalen Netzwerkarchitekturen und die Frage, wie sie Lebenswelten bereichern und verändern steht seit mehr als 15 Jahren im Zentrum ihres Denkens und Schaffens. Seit April kümmert sie sich bei mediale pfade als didaktische Koordinatorin um das Projekt www.edulabs.de, um Out-of-theBox-Ideen als offene Bildungsressourcen für eine zeitgemäße Medienbildung voranzubringen. Zuvor erprobte Christine Kolbe crossmediale Projekte für den Deutschunterricht und entwickelte zu verschiedenen Feldern der Medienbildung (Persönlichkeitsrecht, freien Inhalten im Netz, mobiles Lernen, VR-Technologien). Mit ihrer Expertise zu Formaten und Methoden in digitalen und analogen Umgebungen war die Diskursgestalterin neben ihrem medienpädagogischen Engagement für zahlreiche zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen auch beratend und gestaltend in der Prozessbegleitung tätig. Sie mag Berlin, digitale Beweger, Openeverything und eine Kultur des Teilens.

Vortrag im Forum Open Education als #zeitgemäße Bildung, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Christopher Koska

Christopher Koska © Christopher Koska ist Daten- und Algorithmenethiker (freier Forschungsmitarbeiter am Zentrum für Ethik der Medien und der digitalen Gesellschaft, zem::dg), freiberuflicher Digitalisierungsberater, Business Analyst und IT-Projektleiter bei der Striped Giraffe Innovation & Strategy GmbH, Partner bei der dimension 2 economics & philosophy consult GmbH und stellvertretender Vorsitzender von pro philosophia e.V.
Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Grenzbereich zwischen datengetriebenen Wertschöpfungsmodellen für Unternehmen und Bildungseinrichtungen sowie der kontinuierlichen Steigerung und Verbesserung der digitalen Selbstbestimmung ihrer Mitarbeiter, Kunden oder Klienten.

Gesprächsrunde im Werkraum Philosophisches Nachtgespräch, 22.3.2018, 21:00 – 22:00 Uhr

Torsten Larbig

Torsten Larbig © Torsten Larbig unterrichtet Deutsch und Katholische Religion an einem Frankfurter Gymnasium, wo er sich auch mit Möglichkeiten der Sprachförderung befasst. Darüber hinaus hat er einen Lehrauftrag „Digitale Medien und Unterricht“ an der TU Darmstadt und ist seit 2008 aktiv am vernetzten Bildungsdiskurs im Internet beteiligt. Gemeinsam mit André J. Spang gründete er den #EDchatDE, den ersten deutschsprachigen Twitterchat zu Bildungsfragen. Als lebenslang Lernender befasst sich Torsten Larbig immer wieder mit Fragen der „digital literacy“.

Fokusrunde im Forum Digital Literacy, 22.3.2018, 9:30 – 10:30 Uhr

Caterina Magro

Caterina Magro © Caterina Magro gehört zum Didaktik-Team der Sprachlern-App Babbel, das sich mit über 150 Sprachwissenschaftlern und Sprachlehrern um die Erstellung der digitalen Lerninhalte für insgesamt 14 Lernsprachen und sieben Ausgangssprachen kümmert. Von der Lokalisierung und Contenterstellung über das Projektmanagement bis hin zum Instructional Design hat Caterina Magro in den letzten acht Jahren in allen Bereichen des digitalen Sprachenlernens gearbeitet. Sie arbeitet inzwischen als Senior Instructional Designer und stellt sicher, dass den Usern die effizientesten Lernerfahrungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Vor Babbel hat Caterina Magro im Italienischen Kulturinstitut Berlin und im Sprachenzentrum der Humboldt Universität unterrichtet und war als Autorin an verschiedenen digitalen Sprachlernprodukten beteiligt.

Fokusrunde im Forum Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate: Interaktion und Interaktivität, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Harald Melcher

Harald Melcher © Harald Melcher ist Managing Partner der m2more GmbH, Berlin. Seit 2012 entwickelt und realisiert m2more Strategien und Konzepte in den Bereichen Bildung und Medien – für Unter­nehmen und Orga­nisationen und mit dem starken Schwerpunkt Digitalisierung. Er ist außerdem Geschäftsführer der m21 Bil­dungs­medien GmbH, die unter der Marke Lerneo innovative digi­tale Produkte speziell für Schulen anbietet – viele davon mit Learning-Analytics-Funktionalität. Vorher arbeitete Harald Melcher als Geschäftsführer der AKAD-Hoch­schulen, des Ernst Klett Verlags sowie als Geschäftsführer bei Gründung und Aufbau von Cornelsen Soft­ware. Er ist Vorstandsmitglied im Didacta Verband der Bildungswirtschaft und in zwei Arbeitskreisen des Bitkom aktiv..

Fokusrunde im Forum Learning Analytics, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 Uhr

Andrea Pfeil

Andrea Pfeil © Andrea Pfeil hat Diplom-Pädagogik mit Schwerpunkt Erwachsenenbildung, Kommunikationswissenschaft und Deutsch als Fremdsprache sowie Bildungsmanagement mit Masterabschluss studiert. Sie hat sich in den letzten 16 Jahren intensiv mit der Qualitätsentwicklung in Bildungsprozessen und der Entwicklung von hybriden Sprach- und Fortbildungskursen beschäftigt. Sie war lange in der Lehrerfortbildung im In- und Ausland tätig und hat am Goethe-Institut an der Konzeption und Entwicklung von Blended Learning und Online-Kursen sowie digitalen Fortbildungsformaten gearbeitet. Andrea Pfeil war Referentin im Bereich Multimedia und Fernlehre in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München, bevor sie 2014 als Leitung der Spracharbeit ans Goethe-Institut New York wechselte.

Fokusrunde im Forum Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate: Interaktion und Interaktivität, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Niels Pinkwart

Niels Pinkwart © Niels Pinkwart leitet den Lehrstuhl für Didaktik der Informatik / Informatik und Gesellschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Darüber hinaus ist er Principal Investigator am Weizenbaum-Institut für die vernetzte Gesellschaft und am Einstein Center Digital Future. Er hat zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte zu Themen des technologiegestützten Lehrens und Lernens durchgeführt und ist in diesem Bereich durch mehr als 200 Publikationen ausgewiesen. In der Gesellschaft für Informatik ist er u.a. als Sprecher des Arbeitskreises „Learning Analytics“ der Fachgruppe eLearning aktiv.

Vortrag im Forum Learning Analytics, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 Uhr

Sarah Rogerson

Sarah Rogerson © Sarah Rogerson leitet das Assessment Development Team beim Cambridge Assessment für die Sprache Englisch. Sie ist leidenschaftliche Verfechterin der Nutzung neuer Technologien für einen erweiterten Zugang zum Lernen und Bewerten. Durch die Anwendung immersiver Technologien hat sie Lernenden geholfen, ihre Angst bei der Durchführung von Sprachtests zu vermindern. Ihre Meinung über das Potential immersiver Technologien in Bezug auf das Sprachenlernen können im Kapitel „Imagining the potential for using Virtual Reality technologies in Language Learning“ nachgelesen werden. Derzeit studiert sie MSC Digitale Bildung und arbeitet an einer Reihe innovativer Produkte, welche auf eine neue Sichtweise abzielen, wie wir Sprachen bewerten.

Fokusrunde im Forum Immersives Lernen, 22.3.2018, 12:15 – 13:15 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rüschoff

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rüschoff © Bernd Rüschoff lehrt Didaktik des Englischunterrichts und Angewandte Linguistik am Institut für Anglophone Studien der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Er forscht seit den 80er Jahren im Bereich technologiegestützter Sprachlernsysteme und hat an zahlreichen (inter)nationalen Projekten zur Entwicklung, Nutzung und Evaluation von digitalen Tools für das Sprachenlernen mitgearbeitet. Außerdem befasst er sich als Angewandter Linguistik mit Aspekten wie Interkultureller Kommunikation, bilingualer Bildung, sowie Fragen zur Implementierung des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens in der Sprachausbildung.

Fokusrunde im Forum Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate: Interaktion und Interaktivität, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt

Prof. Dr. Torben Schmidt © Torben Schmidt ist Professor für Didaktik des Englischen an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg. Seine Forschungsschwerpunte liegen in den Bereichen Projektarbeit, Task-Based Language Learning und Fremdsprachenlernen mit digitalen Medien (Schwerpunkt Web 2.0, Digital Games, Intelligente Tutorielle Systeme, Adaptivität). Er ist Leiter des Zukunftzentrums Lehrerbildung der Leuphana Universität, Koordinator des Lüneburger Gesamtprojekts der Qualitätsoffensive Lehrerbildung, Herausgeber eines Mittelstufen-Lehrwerks und Entwickler verschiedener Sprachlernapps. Torben Schmidt ist Preisträger des Hans-Eberhard Piepho Preises und wurde für das Blended Learning Projekt „Going Green – Lernprojekt für mehr Nachhaltigkeit“ 2015 mit dem „Deutschland – Land der Ideen Preis“ ausgezeichnet.

Einführung Eröffnung, 21.3.2018, 19 Uhr

Prof. Mel Slater

Mel Slater © Mel Slater ist Direktor des „Experimental Virtual Environments for Neuroscience and Technology (EVENT)“ Lab an der Universität Barcelona. Das EVENT Lab betreibt Forschung sowohl über technische Fortschritte im Gebiet der Virtuellen Realität als auch in ihrer Anwendung in der Psychologie und den kognitiven Neurowissenschaften. Seine Forschungen spezialisierten sich in den letzten Jahren auf den Einfluss der Virtualität auf das Verhalten und die Kognition des Menschen. Mel Slater startete vor kurzem seine zweite Europäische Forschungsgemeinschaft. Er ist Mitbegründer des Spin-Off-Unternehmens „Virtual Bodyworks S.L.“.

Vortrag im Forum Immersives Lernen, 22.3.2018, 12:15 – 13:15 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Svetlana Titova

Svetlana Titova © Svetlana Titova ist Vizedekanin und Professorin an der Schule für Fremdsprachen und Regionalwissenschaften an der Lomonosov Moscow State University. Svetlana Titova hat über 25 Jahre Erfahrung im EFL-Unterricht und der EFL-Ausbildung (English as Foreign Languange) sowie in der Veröffentlichung von Sprachenbildung und E-Learning. Sie ist Materialentwicklerin und Tutorin von Onlinekursen für IT- und Digitalkompetenzen für Fremdsprachenlehrende. Ihre Forschungsbereiche sind die ICT-Integration in EFL-Klassen, mobiles Lernen sowie die Professionalisierung von Fremdsprachenlehrenden. Sie ist Autorin und Koordinatorin der Bildungswebsite „Learning and Teaching with the Web“, die darauf abzielt, eine verbesserte Integration digitaler und mobiler Technologien in Lernerfahrungen zu ermöglichen. 

Fokusrunde im Forum Globale Arbeitswelten, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 Uhr

Prof. Dr. Olaf Zawacki-Richter

Olaf Zawacki-Richter © Olaf Zawacki-Richter hat 2003 über Gelingensbedingungen zur Entwicklung von Online-Studiengängen promoviert. Seit 2010 ist er Professor für Wissenstransfer und Lernen mit neuen Technologien an der Universität Oldenburg, wo er Direktor des Center for Open Education Research (COER) ist. Professor Zawacki-Richter ist Autor von über 120 Publikationen und Mitherausgeber u.a. der Zeitschriften Distance Education und dem International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning. Einladungen zu Keynotes und Vorträgen auf internationalen Fachtagungen führten ihn u.a. nach Australien, Brasilien, Kanada, China, Kolumbien, Saudi Arabien und Südafrika.

Vortrag im Forum Globale Arbeitswelten, 22.3.2018, 10:45 – 11:45 Uhr

Timm Lutter

Timm Lutter ©Timm Lutter Timm Lutter (32) ist Manager Public Affairs bei Cornelsen. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören die Vertretung der bildungspolitischen Interessen sowie die Beziehungspflege zu Parteien, Ministerien, Verbänden und Stiftungen.  Zuvor war er Bereichsleiter beim Bundesverband Informationswirtschaft, Telekommunikation und neue Medien e. V. (Bitkom) und dort zuletzt für die Themen Consumer Technology und digitale Medien verantwortlich. Lutter hat Geschichte, Philosophie und Politikwissenschaften in Deutschland und England studiert. Während seines Studiums war er studentischer Mitarbeiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung. Er ist Vorstandsmitglied im Bündnis für Bildung (BfB), das sich als gemeinnütziger Verein zum Ziel gesetzt hat, den digitalen Wandel beim Lehren und Lernen zu unterstützen.
 
Fokusrunde im Forum Digitale Aufgaben- und Übungsformate: Interaktion und Interaktivität, 22.3.2018, 14:00 – 15:00 Uhr

Top