International Online Magazines “This may also interest you!”

Tea after Twelve: Urban gardening in Havana, bunkers in Riga Ingrid Arnold
Tea after Twelve: Urban gardening in Havana, bunkers in Riga | Photo: Tea after Twelve
(Photo: Private)

Cultural exchange and communities: International online magazines are journeys around the world to read and contribute to diversity of opinion. They are becoming more crucial every day. By Ingrid Arnold

No, the idea isn’t exactly new. The transnational blog Global Voices is celebrating its tenth anniversary at the Citizen Media Summit in the Philippines. Global Voices emerged in the heyday of blogging as a platform for citizen media reporting, something that may sometimes sound like an invective among newspaper publishers, but has relevance not just in countries without freedom of the press and speech. Just early this year the attacks in Paris once again revealed how exciting, exhausting and important it is to share different opinions about a global topic.

The variety of topics on Global Voices range from urban culture and local news to business and human rights and from art to internet policy. This often seems a bit jumbled, but the articles frequently report on injustices and give a voice to people who would not find an ear in the local media. The articles, arranged according to world regions and topics, are published in the original language and translated by the community into other languages. In this way, Global Voices makes topics accessible that one might not ever have come upon elsewhere in the world.

Those who wish to hear more and other voices will also find what they’re seeking on Mondoblog. For five years it has offered Francophone bloggers around the world a forum under the roof of Radio France International. Café Babel has local teams in over twenty European countries. The participative journalism project based in Paris was founded in 2001 by Erasmus scholarship students, is funded by an association and supported by the EU and a number of foundations. The magazine with articles mostly by young writers is published in multiple languages and focuses on politics, the arts and society, from #jesuischarlie to playlists to Lux Leaks.

A new international magazine was launched last autumn: Tea after Twelve compiles English language articles from around the globe in single-themed issues. The writers come from journalism as well as business and the arts. In the first issue, Urban Life, readers can explore urban gardening in Havana and bunkers in Riga, Kiev’s Wonderful initiative or the renaissance of Pakistani cinema. It also presented projects that are successful in spite of resistance and people who are researching or establishing something or are innovative or creative in other ways – inspirational stories of transformation and the possibilities of social change.

The magazine was founded by two Berlin journalists who previously worked, for example, for the GIZ. Tea after Twelve gathers writers from many countries and the magazine is growing and thriving. Their commitment has been rewarded with over 50,000 Facebook fans. I will surely stumble upon the next issue, “Tech,” via my social channels as well. And then not be able to stop reading: Suggestions on “This may also interest you!” from the editors rather than algorithms invite readers on a worldwide journey.
 

Ingrid Arnold, 44, has worked at the head office of the Goethe-Institut since 2008 and is head of content and product development in the Internet division. Earlier she worked as a freelance cultural writer, as a film editor and web designer. At the Goethe-Institut she can combine the best of all these worlds. Sadly, journalistic explorations of the Internet sometimes leave little time for the cinema.

Internationale Online-Magazine „Das könnte Sie auch interessieren!“

Tea after Twelve: Urban Gardening in Havanna, Bunker in Riga Ingrid Arnold
Tea after Twelve: Urban Gardening in Havanna, Bunker in Riga | Foto: Tea after Twelve
(Foto: Privat)

Kulturaustausch und Communities: Internationale Online-Magazine sind Lese-Weltreisen und tragen zur Meinungsvielfalt bei. Damit werden sie jeden Tag wichtiger. Von Ingrid Arnold

Nein, ganz neu ist die Idee nicht. Gerade feierte der transnationale Blog Global Voices seinen 10. Geburtstag, beim Citizen Media Summit auf den Philippinen. Entstanden ist Global Voices mit der Hochphase des Bloggens, als eine Plattform für Bürgerjournalismus – was unter Zeitungsverlegern ja manchmal wie ein Schimpfwort klingt, aber seine Relevanz nicht nur in Ländern ohne Presse- und Meinungsfreiheit hat. Erst Anfang des Jahres hat sich mit den Anschlägen in Paris wieder gezeigt, wie spannend, anstrengend und wichtig es ist, unterschiedliche Meinungen zu einem globalen Thema auszutauschen.

Die Themenvielfalt bei Global Voices reicht von Stadtkultur und Lokalem über Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte zu Kunst und Netzpolitik. Das wirkt oft sehr bunt, häufig informieren die Beiträge aber über Missstände und geben Menschen eine Stimme, die in ihren heimischen Medien kein Gehör finden würden. Die Beiträge werden, nach Weltregionen und Themen sortiert, in der Originalsprache veröffentlicht – und von der Community in weitere Sprachen übersetzt. So macht Global Voices Themen zugänglich, auf die man woanders in der Welt sonst niemals gestoßen wäre.

Wer gerne mehr und andere Stimmen hören will, wird auch beim Mondoblog fündig. Seit fünf Jahren bietet er unter dem Dach von Radio France International frankophonen Bloggern aus aller Welt ein Forum. Mit lokalen Teams in über 20 europäischen Ländern arbeitet Café Babel. Das partizipative journalistische Projekt mit Sitz in Paris wurde 2001 von Erasmus-Studierenden gegründet, getragen von einem Verein und unterstützt unter anderem von der EU und mehreren Stiftungen. Das Magazin mit Beiträgen vor allem junger Autorinnen und Autoren erscheint in mehreren Sprachen, es geht um Politik, Kultur und Gesellschaft, von #JeSuisCharlie über Playlists bis Lux Leaks.

Seit vergangenem Herbst gibt es nun ein neues internationales Magazin: Tea after Twelve sammelt englischsprachige Beiträge aus aller Welt in monothematischen Ausgaben. Die Autorinnen und Autoren kommen dabei ebenso aus dem Journalismus wie aus der Wirtschaft oder der Kultur. In der ersten, Urban Life, kann man über Urban Gardening in Havanna und Bunker in Riga lesen, über die Wonderful-Initiative in Kiew oder den Neuanfang des pakistanischen Kinos. Vorgestellt werden Projekte, die auch gegen Widerstände gelingen, und Menschen, die etwas erforschen oder gründen oder anderweitig innovativ und kreativ tätig sind – inspirierende Geschichten von Veränderung und der Möglichkeit eines sozialen Wandels.

Gegründet wurde das Magazin von zwei Berliner Journalistinnen, die vorher unter anderem für die GIZ gearbeitet haben. Tea after Twelve versammelt Autorinnen und Autoren aus vielen Ländern, das Magazin wächst und gedeiht. Belohnt wird das Engagement bereits mit über 50.000 Facebook-Fans. Auf die nächste Ausgabe, „Tech“, werde ich sicher auch über meine sozialen Kanäle stoßen. Und dann werde ich mich wieder festlesen: „Das könnte Sie auch interessieren“, von der Redaktion statt Algorithmen vorgeschlagen, lädt zu einer Weltreise ein.
 

Ingrid Arnold, 44, arbeitet seit 2008 in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts und leitet im Bereich Internet die Content- und Produktentwicklung. Vorher hat sie in Berlin als freie Kulturautorin, Filmredakteurin und Webkonzepterin gearbeitet – und kann beim Goethe-Institut das Beste aus allen Welten verbinden. Nur lassen journalistische Erkundungen im Internet das Kino manchmal zu kurz kommen.