Camera-Wielding Soprano Still Life with Tomatoes

Fruits and vegetables pose for photographer Christine Schäfer
Fruits and vegetables pose for photographer Christine Schäfer | Photo: Christine Schäfer

In art history, the tomato was a prominent feature for Andy Warhol with his Campbell’s soup cans. Yet Christine Schäfer reveals that vegetables can be more than industrially produced foodstuffs. And that she is more than a world-renowned soprano.

Schäfer, who many do not know originally wanted to be a painter, photographs turnips, pods, grapes, tubers and her favourite subject, tomatoes, in a very singular way. Her exhibition Nachtschatten (Nightshades) is now being shown for the first time at the Goethe-Institut Freiburg. It is the quiet solanum-based challenge to pop art, it is the rediscovery of kitchen garden aesthetics and a rebellion against vegetable uniformity.

Painted with a camera – a still life Painted with a camera – a still life | Photo: Christine Schäfer Tomatoes have had an intriguing history. They were long considered poisonous in Germany and only very late would become an integral part of our menu. Only a few of the once great number of over 1,000 tomato varieties still exist in industrialized agriculture. But Christine Schäfer prefers the old, often forgotten varieties. Four years ago, she began photographing the fruits she grows in her garden in Brandenburg with a plate camera. In the basement of her country house, she experimented with exposure times of up to 15 minutes.

Christine Schäfer’s pictures take time to evolve and they need time to behold. “I need a whole day for one photograph,” explains Schäfer. “And in the end there’s a group shot, like in opera. They all may gather on stage.” The great stylistic confidence that Christine Schäfer uses in her singing to express a period of musical history is also reflected in her photography.

Christine Schäfer in Freiburg: Opera and vegetable expert Christine Schäfer in Freiburg: Opera and vegetable expert | Photo: Anne Stoll The meticulously composed, boldly coloured photographs are still lifes of the style of the old Flemish and Florentine masters. We recognize Pieter Claesz and the 17th century Caravaggists such as Vincenzo Campi, Bartolomeo Bimbi, Jan Davids de Heem and Osias Beert.

At first glance, Christine Schäfer’s images have no symbolic meaning. Yet on closer look, one might imagine seeing the stubbornness of a fruit that has stood up to the adversities of the Brandenburg climate. Thus, Schäfer’s pictures tell the story of a passion and give us an inkling why tomatoes were called a “love apples,” amoris poma, until the late 19th century and are still called Paradeiser and Paradiesapfel (apple of paradise) in Austria today.
 

Christine Schäfer is an opera singer who performs regularly at the Metropolitan Opera, the Salzburg Festival and the Berlin Philharmonie. She has recorded with the leading orchestral conductors Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Claudio Abbado, Simon Rattle and Christian Thielemann. Her exhibition Nachtschatten (Nightshades) will be on show at the Goethe-Institut Freiburg until 10 April.

Rebellion against vegetable uniformity: Christine Schäfer focuses on old varieties Rebellion against vegetable uniformity: Christine Schäfer focuses on old varieties | Photo: Christine Schäfer

Fotografierende Sopranistin Im Zeichen der Tomate

Obst und Gemüse posieren für die Fotografin Christine Schäfer
Obst und Gemüse posieren für die Fotografin Christine Schäfer | Foto: Christine Schäfer

In der Kunstgeschichte taucht die Tomate prominent bei Andy Warhol auf: in Gestalt von Campbell’s Dosensuppe. Doch dass Gemüse mehr sein kann als industrielle Essware, zeigt uns Christine Schäfer. Denn die ist nicht nur eine weltbekannte Sopranistin.

Schäfer, von der wenig bekannt ist, dass sie ursprünglich Malerin werden wollte, fotografiert auf sehr eigene Art Rüben, Schoten, Trauben, Knollen und ihr Lieblingssujet: die Tomate. Ihre Ausstellung Nachtschatten ist nun im Goethe-Institut Freiburg erstmals zu sehen. Es ist die stille Revanche eines Nachtschattengewächses gegen die Pop-art, es ist die Wiederentdeckung einer Ästhetik des Nutzbeets und zugleich eine Rebellion gegen das Einheitsgemüse.

Stillleben – Gemalt mit der Kamera Stillleben – Gemalt mit der Kamera | Foto: Christine Schäfer Die Tomate hat eine wechselhafte Geschichte. In Deutschland galt sie lange Zeit als giftig und wurde erst spät zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil unseres Speiseplans. Von der einst großen Sortenvielfalt von über 1000 Tomatensorten sind in der industrialisierten Landwirtschaft nur wenige übrig geblieben. Christine Schäfer setzt jedoch auf die alten, oftmals vergessenen Sorten. Vor vier Jahren begann sie die Früchte, die sie in ihrem Brandenburger Garten anpflanzt, mit einer Plattenkamera zu fotografieren. Im Keller ihres Landhauses experimentierte sie mit Belichtungszeiten von bis zu 15 Minuten.

Schäfers Bilder brauchen Zeit für ihr Entstehen, und sie brauchen Zeit für das Betrachten. „Für ein Foto brauche ich einen ganzen Tag“, sagt Christine Schäfer. „Und zum Abschluss gibt es, wie in der Oper, ein Gruppenbild. Alle dürfen zusammen auf die Bühne.“ Die große Stilsicherheit, mit der Christine Schäfer in ihrem Gesang, den Kern einer Musikperiode trifft, reflektiert sich auch in ihrer Fotografie.

Christine Schäfer in Freiburg: Fachfrau für Operngesang und Gemüse Christine Schäfer in Freiburg: Fachfrau für Operngesang und Gemüse | Foto: Anne Stoll Die auskomponierten Fotografien von starker Farbigkeit sind Stillleben im Stil der alten flämischen und florentinischen Meister. Man erkennt Pieter Claesz wieder und die Caravaggisten des 17. Jahrhunderts wie Vincenzo Campi, Bartolomeo Bimbi, Jan Davids de Heem oder Osias Beert.

Auf den ersten Blick gibt Christine Schäfer ihren Bildern keine symbolische Bedeutungen. Doch meint man, beim genauen Hinsehen, den Trotz zu sehen, sich als Frucht gegen die Widrigkeiten des Brandenburgischen Klimas behauptet zu haben. Und so erzählen Schäfers Bilder doch die Geschichte einer Passion und lassen ahnen, warum die Tomate bis ins späte 19. Jahrhundert „Liebesapfel“, amoris poma, und bis heute in Österreich „Paradeiser“ und „Paradiesapfel“ genannt wird.
 

Christine Schäfer ist Opernsängerin mit regelmäßigen Engagements an der Metropolitan Opera, den Salzburger Festspielen und der Berliner Philharmonie. Sie hat Aufnahmen mit führenden Orchesterleitern eingespielt, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Claudio Abbado, Simon Rattle und Christian Thielemann. Ihre Ausstellung „Nachtschatten“ ist noch bis zum 10. April im Goethe-Institut Freiburg zu sehen.

Rebellion gegen das Einheitsgemüse: Christine Schäfer hat alte Sorten im Blick Rebellion gegen das Einheitsgemüse: Christine Schäfer hat alte Sorten im Blick | Foto: Christine Schäfer