Science Film Festival … and, of course, the mouse

The film <em>Simply Complex</em> was awarded for the high level of visual craftsmanship it uses to explain genetics
The film Simply Complex was awarded for the high level of visual craftsmanship it uses to explain genetics | Copyright: Scottish Documentary Institute

How does DNA work? Is organic plastic environmentally friendly? What would the rain forest be like without leafcutter ants? And what are those curious figures being created in a workshop at the foot of Mount Fuji? Difficult questions don’t necessarily require complicated answers. The awardees of the Science Film Festival provide proof of that.

Armin built something to celebrate the first of April. He put two blocks on a rail, placed a box on top of them and poured a magical liquid into the box. He then removed the blocks from under the box and the box began to float. He then altered the experiment and was able to fly through the room on a carpet. Is this possible?

Armin is, of course, none other than Armin Maiwald, the father of the Sendung mit der Maus (The Show with the Mouse), who has explained the world to generations of German children with his unmistakable voice. And there’s no doubt that the carpet can actually fly. The only question is: how?
 

Science Film Festival


It is not at all surprising that Maiwald and his team raked in one of the awards of the 2014 Science Film Festivals for their decades of work and their “quality science television for all ages” – though they call their approach “fun and factual stories.” The show with the magnet rails that made carpets fly was awarded representatively.

Science can be entertaining. The credo has always been pursued by The Show with the Mouse , but also holds true for the other awardees of the festival organized by the Goethe-Institut. What can we learn from leafcutter ants? Will we soon only have organic plastic bags? Could better robots have prevented the Fukushima disaster? These are the questions that their compelling and informative films answer. The six films chosen by an international jury come from Canada, Japan, Scotland and Germany. Today, the awards were handed out at the Deutsches Museum in Munich.

The awardees:

The Visual Effects Award: Simply Complex
 
Simply Complex


IPST Education Award: Annedroids – New Pals
 
Annedroid


The Eco Film Prize: Nine-and-a-Half: Bio Plastic
 


Siemens Discovery Award: Wildlife: Sophisticated Farmers – Leaf Cutter Ants
 
Ameisen


Mercedes-Benz Science Film Award: The Show with the Mouse: Magnet Rails
 
Maus


The Prize of the Jury: Robot Revolution
 
 Roboter


In 2015, the Science Film Festival will focus on light. It will help visitors discover the different roles light and its applications play in our everyday lives and what it reveals about the nature of the universe. The festival will take place from 1 October until 20 December.

-db-

Science Film Festival ... und natürlich mit der Maus

Für das hohe Niveau, auf dem er mit filmischen Mitteln die Genetik erklärt, wurde der Film <em>Simply Complex</em> ausgezeichnet
Für das hohe Niveau, auf dem er mit filmischen Mitteln die Genetik erklärt, wurde der Film Simply Complex ausgezeichnet | Copyright: Scottish Documentary Institute

Wie funktioniert die DNA? Ist Bioplastik umweltfreundlich? Was wäre der Regenwald ohne Blattschneiderameisen? Und welche kuriosen Gestalten entstehen in einer Werkstatt am Fuße des Fuji? Schwere Fragen brauchen keine komplizierten Antworten. Den Beweis liefern die Preisträger des Science Film Festival.

Armin hat mal zur Feier des Tages was gebaut. Er hat zwei Klötzchen auf eine Schiene gelegt, eine Kiste draufgesetzt und in die Kiste eine magische Flüssigkeit geschüttet. Danach hat er die Klötzchen unter der Kiste weggenommen, und die Kiste ist geschwebt. Schließlich hat er das Experiment noch etwas abgewandelt und ist gleich selbst auf einem Teppich durchs Zimmer geflogen. Ist das möglich?

Armin ist natürlich kein anderer als Armin Maiwald, der Vater der Sendung mit der Maus, der mit seiner unverwechselbaren Stimme schon Generationen von deutschen Kindern die Welt erklärt hat. Und dass sein Teppich tatsächlich fliegen kann, ist selbstverständlich auch keine Frage, sondern nur: Wie?
 

Science Film Festival


Wenig erstaunlich ist es, dass Maiwald und sein Team für ihre jahrzehntelange Arbeit und ihre „hochwertigen wissenschaftlichen Beiträge für alle Altersgruppen“ – sie selbst sprechen von „Lach- und Sachgeschichten“ – nun einen der Preise des Science Film Festivals 2014 einheimsten. Stellvertretend wurden sie für eine Sendung über Magnetbahnen ausgezeichnet, in der dann auch Teppiche flogen.

Wissenschaft kann unterhaltsam sein. Das Credo, dem die Sendung mit der Maus seit jeher folgt, gilt freilich auch für die weiteren Preisträger des vom Goethe-Institut organisierten Festivals. Was können wir von Blattschneiderameisen lernen? Gibt es bald nur noch organische Plastiktüten? Hätte mit besseren Robotern die Katastrophe von Fukushima verhindert werden können? Das sind die Fragen, die sie ihn ihren so kurzweiligen wie informativen Filmbeiträgen beantworten. Die insgesamt sechs Beiträge, die von einer internationalen Jury ausgewählt wurden, kommen aus Kanada, Japan, Schottland und Deutschland. Verliehen werden die Auszeichnungen heute im Deutschen Museum in München.

Die Preisträger:

Preis für visuelle Effekte: Simply Complex
 
Simply Complex


IPST Bildungspreis: Annedroids – New Pals
 
Annedroid


Ökofilmpreis: neuneinhalb: Bioplastik
 


Siemens Entdeckungspreis: Wildleben: Hochentwickelte Bauern – Blattschneiderameisen
 
Ameisen


Mercedes-Benz Wissenschaftsfilmpreis: Die Sendung mit der Maus: Magnetbahn
 
Maus


Preis der Jury: Roboter Revolution
 
 Roboter


2015 wird sich das Science Film Festival um das Thema „Licht“ drehen. Es soll den Besuchern helfen, mehr über die unterschiedlichen Anwendungen des Lichts in unserem täglichen Leben zu lernen und zu erfahren, was es uns über unser Universum verrät. Das Festival findet vom 1. Oktober bis zum 20. Dezember statt.

-db-