Klaus-Dieter Lehmann “Somewhat impetuous”

Goethe president Lehmann in his office: He made the honorary post a full-time job
Goethe president Lehmann in his office: He made the honorary post a full-time job | Photo: Bettina Siegwart

He turned the library system upside down, renovated the museum island and invented the Humboldt Forum. For the past seven years he has guided the fate of the Goethe-Institut as its president. Now Klaus-Dieter Lehmann is turning 75. What better reason to look back at an unusual and impressive career.

Just to be different, let’s begin with an exclusive disclosure: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann was once a theatre extra. It was in the late 1950s at the Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf. We allow that this episode in Lehmann’s biography, which would not appear to suit him at all, was merely an after-school job. Yet when we examine his later career it does draw a chuckle, even from Lehmann himself. Of all the words used to dub the Goethe-Institut’s president and former head of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation in the newspapers, “manager,” “string-puller,” “cultural grandee,” “moderator,” “networker,” “the voice of reason in Germany’s cultural industry,” indeed even “sun king,” “extra” was never one of them. “I even worked my way up to first-class extra,” Lehmann relates with mock pride. “That’s a solo role. Still non-speaking, but all the same.”

When Lehmann sits in his office on the third floor of the head office of the Goethe-Institut in Munich and reports on his 75-year life, he seems like anything but a retiree who let himself be roped into taking over a representative honorary post and otherwise is looking back at his past success. On the contrary, “P,” as the president is called at the Goethe-Institut both reverently and affectionately, seems like someone using his biography to put himself forward for more work. Regardless of what phase of his career he speaks of, one can always feel the passion with which he tackled each task.

Lisa and Klaus-Dieter Lehmann during a business trip in Cuba: “I have always been very lucky” Lisa and Klaus-Dieter Lehmann during a business trip in Cuba: “I have always been very lucky” | Photo: Reinhard Maiworm And his is an out-and-out success story. One would almost think there was something strange going on. No matter what this man undertakes, he carries it through. Lehmann himself is somewhat baffled when asked about his greatest failure. “I have always been very lucky,” he says. Only after thinking about it a good while, he finally remembers one setback during his time as president of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. Perhaps it was a mere blemish. “I would have liked to have housed the painting gallery in the direct vicinity of the museum island. That would really have been the triumph. But it sadly didn’t happen.”

But let’s take one thing at a time. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann was born in Breslau on 29 February 1940 as the son of a seamstress and a civil servant. His very first childhood memories are peaceful: the sheltered back yard where the children could play when the bomber squadrons were still far from Breslau. But near the end of war, other memories blend in with these and burn themselves deep into his mind: sirens, fleeing into the air-raid shelter, burning streets, collapsing buildings, people running for their lives. And also the barking voices of Hitler and Goebbels from the radio. Finally, in January 1945, fleeing the city with his mother and grandmother on the last refugee train that his grandfather drove.

Window to the world

The small family found refuge in the small Upper Franconian town of Rehau, where Klaus-Dieter Lehmann spent a happy childhood after the end of the war. It was here that he discovered his love of books, which would mould his whole life. While other lads his age were dreaming of growing up to be engine drivers, he, the grandson of a real engine driver, already wanted to become a librarian. The family in Rehau who took in the Lehmanns had a massive oak cabinet full of books. It was here that he first came into contact with Wilhelm Busch at the age of five. There was another place in Rehau that would become an almost daily destination for the youngster: the lending library. He consumed the books he found there, from Karl May to Goethe, metre for metre. “My world was too small for me,” Lehmann recalls today, “but literature opened a window to the world out there to me.”

Conversing with the author and dramaturge Nike Wagner: “I could never just represent” Conversing with the author and dramaturge Nike Wagner: “I could never just represent” | Photo: Maik Schuck The way to the world out there led at first to Düsseldorf. Here, too, were two libraries – far larger ones – in which Lehmann spent a great deal of time. He also spent time in jazz clubs and the theatre, where he worked as an extra. “I love the atmosphere of the theatre, but I never felt that I had the talent for a career as director, dramaturge or even actor.”

Yet the career that the lover of the fine arts first pursued is surprising. Lehmann studied mathematics and physics – in part because the friends in his clique did and so they could remain together, and in part because he had become doubtful of whether literature was suitable as a bread-and-butter job. The natural sciences certainly were. And, as so often in his life, Lehmann did his job very successfully. Studies in Cologne and Mainz, then at the Max-Planck-Institut, and finally the Americans were knocking on his door. Lehmann had developed a mass spectrometric method of measuring small trace elements. Since US scientists did not have such methods at that time, they simply brought the stones that Armstrong and Co brought back from the moon in 1969 to Mainz to examine.

Mediating, communicating, forging alliances

Then came the apparent break: At 27, when Lehmann was already an established scientist and looking ahead at a promising career, he decided instead to try something new. He went back to university and became a librarian. In the meantime, literature production and sales were being organized with computers and networks, applications that Lehmann mastered due to his academic education. He still likes to tell the anecdote about the state and university library in Darmstadt where he first worked. It contained a patent specifications office. Technological innovations were housed in metres-high shelves spilling over with stacks of paper. Searching through them was quite a task for patent agents and inventors. How complicated and time-consuming, thought Lehmann, and went off to Darmstadt companies – while his colleagues were on holiday – searching for sponsors, purchased some machinery and transferred the patent specifications office to punch cards. The patent specifications were contained on them in a small microfilm window. By encoding the relevant key words on the punch card, the machine instantly weeded out the correct patent specification. The endeavour was, however, not without peril. “I had basically committed an act of insubordination.” But the library director recognized the great benefits of the unauthorized action of his clerk and waived disciplinary measures. “Later, he just wrote in my reference: ‘Somewhat impetuous.’ I really liked that.” And hence, in retrospect, the detour via mathematics and physics appears to have been an inevitable step on the pathway to his goal. “It paid off,” Lehmann says, “my passion and academic training merged together.”

On the dais with Chancellor Angela Merkel: Lehmann is well-networked in Berlin On the dais with Chancellor Angela Merkel: Lehmann is well-networked in Berlin | Photo: Goethe-Institut The brief expedition into the natural sciences was also worthwhile for him on a personal level: at university, Lehmann met Lisa Schiep. This year he and she, a geophysicist, are celebrating their 50th anniversary. Their two children are now in their early forties and at the midpoints of their careers; their son as an attorney and their daughter a psychotherapist.

Ultimately, the next 25 years were dedicated to libraries. It was a time in which a lot of persuading had to be done, but also a tough battle to be won now and again. Lehmann is not the kind of person who is satisfied with merely administering circumstances as he finds them. Wherever Lehmann goes, everything is put under close scrutiny, much is modernized, new services are developed for customers, and workflows are optimized. This was the case at the University Library in Frankfurt, where he became director at the young age of 33, and it was the case at the German National Library, which he began running in 1988 and which he merged with the German Library in Leipzig after reunification. At that time, Lehmann’s core competencies were in demand as perhaps never before: mediating, enabling, communicating and forging alliances. “That’s what I do very well.”

“I’m a great initiator”

In 1998, it was time again for something new. “I had done it all.” Lehmann became the president of the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. “That was surely a crowning moment. I was in charge of a state library, a classified state archive and eighteen museums. And it was my job to reorganize all of it.” It was no easy task for the eighteen museums had, of course, eighteen self-assured directors. But then, who cares for easy tasks? The invitation to Lehmann’s installation said, “Put something warm on!” Of course, it can be read literally since the event was held in the winter in the ruins of the Neues Museum. But, it can also be read another way.

Cultural dialogue begins with the attire: While travelling, Lehmann sometimes enjoys dressing in the national garb Cultural dialogue begins with the attire: While travelling, Lehmann sometimes enjoys dressing in the national garb | Photo: Sabine Hartert The Neues Museum is still Lehmann’s pride today. “I went through a lot there. But it was clear to me: when I leave, this place has to be finished.” And as strong as the headwinds were at first for him and his collaborator, the architect David Chipperfield, at the reopening only applause was heard. The same held true for Lehmann’s “invention,” the Humboldt Forum, which practically happened in passing. The reconstruction of the Berlin City Palace was well underway when Lehmann suggested people stop talking not merely about the façade, and start thinking about the content. Of course, he already had an idea: the non-European collections in Dahlem could be housed here. It’s an idea that he still, in spite of his modesty, calls brilliant today. “It is simply fantastic that the most stately place in Berlin, right across from the museum island, displays the world’s coming-into-being in the world’s cultures.”

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann has been the president of the Goethe-Institut since 2008, but he has accompanied the fate of the cultural institute far longer. He became its vice president in 2002, and Lehmann and his predecessor, Jutta Limbach, were a winning team. It was she who then presented the proposal that he become her successor in such a clever way that any resistance seemed futile from the outset. Lehmann turned the position, which is actually an honorary post, into a full-time job. “I could never just represent.” Rather, he sees himself as “a great initiator.” Together with Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general, and Bruno Gross, the business director, Lehmann concerns himself most of all with the strategic principles of the Goethe-Institut. His time in office has coincided with far-reaching structural reforms involving decentralization, regionalization and budgeting. It may sound sober and bureaucratic, but in reality it has resulted in the Goethe-Institut achieving renewed flexibility. After hard years during which the institute was out of the focus of politics, things were now looking up. The best signs for this were the new establishment or re-opening of Goethe-Instituts worldwide from Novosibirsk to Myanmar to Kinshasa. Active cultural networks have also been established with partners around the world. Lehmann and the Goethe-Institut found support, both for reforms and endowments, particularly from Foreign Minister Steinmeier, for whom cultural dialogue is of great importance for the design of foreign cultural and educational policy.

Lehmann on Herr Lehmann

In addition to his job at Goethe, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann has numerous other responsibilities. For example, he is on practically all the important book award committees, is the patron of the Komische Oper, belongs to the supervisory board of the Deutsches Museum, is an honorary professor of two universities, et cetera. The astonishing thing is that he still finds time for the thing that began it all and is still most important to him: books. “I always have a book with me.”



Whether Gabriel Marcía Márquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude , Günter Grass’s Tin Drum or Nino Haratischwili’s Das achte Leben – he prefers to read realistic novels. “For me, it has to be great narrative. I like to let myself be drawn into a story.” But Lehmann naturally also reads more contemporary German literature, for example Herr Lehmann, the original German title of Sven Regener’s Berlin Blues. “Yes, of course I’ve read it. With pleasure. It’s a wonderful story.”

Like many of those born in Breslau, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann has made Berlin his home, but he finds moving between Berlin and Munich invigorating. He had a special plan for later in life: to save a few old lead typesets and printing machines from decay. “And when I retire, I thought I’d set up my own printing shop and make my own books.” It’s a lovely notion to see Klaus-Dieter Lehmann in a smock at the old machines watching over the printing. But, it will probably remain a mere notion. Retirement is not for someone like Lehmann.

-db-

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann zum 75. „Leicht vorpreschend“

Goethe-Präsident Lehmann in seinem Büro: Das Ehrenamt hat er längst zum Hauptamt gemacht
Goethe-Präsident Lehmann in seinem Büro: Das Ehrenamt hat er längst zum Hauptamt gemacht | Foto: Bettina Siegwart

Er hat das Bibliothekswesen umgekrempelt, die Museumsinsel saniert und das Humboldt-Forum erfunden. Seit sieben Jahren lenkt er als Präsident die Geschicke des Goethe-Instituts. Jetzt wird Klaus-Dieter Lehmann 75. Grund genug, auf eine ungewöhnliche und beeindruckende Karriere zurückzublicken.

Beginnen wir, um des schönen Kontrastes willen, mit einer Enthüllung: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann war – Statist. In den späten Fünfzigern war das und an der Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf. Gewiss, bei der Episode in Lehmanns Biografie, die scheinbar so gar nicht zu ihm passen will, handelte es sich lediglich um einen Schülerjob, aber doch um einen, der angesichts der späteren Karriere schmunzeln lässt, auch Lehmann selbst. Als was wurde der Goethe-Präsident und frühere Chef der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz von den Feuilletons nicht schon alles tituliert: „Der Manager“, „der Strippenzieher“, „der Kulturgrande“, „der Moderator“, „der Netzwerker“, „der vernünftige Mensch im deutschen Kulturbetrieb“, ja sogar „der Sonnenkönig“. Der Statist, der war nie dabei. „Ich hab’s sogar zum Edelstatisten gebracht“, erzählt Lehmann mit gespieltem Stolz. „Das ist eine Solorolle, zwar ohne Text, aber immerhin.“

Wenn Lehmann in seinem Büro im dritten Stock der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München sitzt und aus seinem nun schon 75 Jahre dauernden Leben erzählt, hat er so gar nichts von einem Ruheständler, der sich hat breitschlagen lassen, ein repräsentatives Ehrenamt zu übernehmen, und ansonsten auf seine Erfolge zurückblickt. Eher wirkt „P“, wie der Präsident im Goethe-Institut gleichermaßen ehrfürchtig wie liebevoll genannt wird, wie einer, der sich mit seiner Biografie für weitere Aufgaben empfehlen möchte. Von welcher Station seiner Karriere er auch spricht, immer ist die Leidenschaft zu spüren, mit der er die jeweilige Aufgabe angepackt hat.

Lisa und Klaus-Dieter Lehmann während einer Dienstreise in Kuba: „Ich habe immer sehr viel Glück gehabt“ Lisa und Klaus-Dieter Lehmann während einer Dienstreise in Kuba: „Ich habe immer sehr viel Glück gehabt“ | Foto: Reinhard Maiworm Und es ist eine reine Erfolgsgeschichte. Fast denkt man, da geht etwas nicht ganz mit rechten Dingen zu. Alles, was dieser Mann in Angriff nimmt, bringt er auch zu einem guten Ende. Lehmann selbst ist etwas ratlos, wenn er nach seiner größten Niederlage gefragt wird. „Ich habe immer viel Glück gehabt“, sagt er. Erst nach längerem Nachdenken fällt ihm doch noch ein Rückschlag aus seiner Zeit als Präsident der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz ein. Oder vielleicht eher ein Schönheitsfehler: „Ich hätte gern die Gemäldegalerie im unmittelbaren Umkreis der Museumsinsel untergebracht. Das wäre wirklich der Wurf gewesen. Aber das ist leider nicht gelungen.“

Aber jetzt mal eines nach dem anderen: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann wurde am 29. Februar 1940 in Breslau als Sohn einer Schneiderin und eines Beamten geboren. Die allerersten Kindheitserinnerungen sind friedlich, da war dieser geschützte Hinterhof, in dem die Kinder spielen konnten, als die Bomberstaffeln noch weit weg von Breslau waren. Aber gegen Ende des Krieges mischen sich auch andere Erinnerungen darunter, die sich tief ins Gedächtnis eingebrannt haben: Fliegeralarm, Flucht in den Luftschutzkeller, brennende Straßen, einstürzende Häuser, um ihr Leben laufende Menschen. Und auch die bellenden Stimmen von Hitler und Goebbels aus dem Volksempfänger. Im Januar 1945 dann die Flucht – gemeinsam mit Mutter und Großmutter auf dem letzten Flüchtlingszug, den sein Großvater fuhr.

Das Fenster zur Welt

Zuflucht fand die kleine Familie in der oberfränkischen Kleinstadt Rehau, wo Klaus-Dieter Lehmann nach Kriegsende eine unbeschwerte Kindheit verlebte. Hier entdeckte er auch die Liebe zu den Büchern, die sein ganzes Leben prägen sollte. Während andere Buben seines Alters noch von einer Karriere als Lokomotivführer träumten, wollte er, der Enkel eines leibhaftigen Lokomotivführers, schon Bibliothekar werden. Die Familie in Rehau, bei der die Lehmanns untergekommen waren, hatten einen schweren Eichenschrank voller Bücher. Hier kam es im Alter von fünf Jahren zum ersten Kontakt mit Wilhelm Busch. Und dann gab es da noch einen anderen Ort in Rehau, der für den Heranwachsenden zur beinahe täglichen Anlaufstelle wurde – die Leihbibliothek. Meterweise verschlang er die Bücher, die er dort fand, von Karl May bis Goethe. „Meine Welt war mir zu klein“, erzählt Lehmann heute. „Aber die Literatur hat mir das Fenster zur Welt da draußen geöffnet.“

Im Gespräch mit der Autorin und Dramaturgin Nike Wagner: „Nur repräsentieren, das könnte ich nicht“ Im Gespräch mit der Autorin und Dramaturgin Nike Wagner: „Nur repräsentieren, das könnte ich nicht“ | Foto: Maik Schuck Der Weg in die Welt da draußen führte dann zunächst nach Düsseldorf. Auch hier waren es zwei – nun deutlich größere – Bibliotheken, in denen Lehmann einen großen Teil seiner Zeit verbrachte. Aber auch die Jazzclubs und eben das Theater, wo er sich als Statist verdingte. „Ich habe die Atmosphäre am Theater geliebt, aber ich hatte nie den Eindruck, dass ich das Talent hätte für eine Karriere als Regisseur, Dramaturg oder gar Schauspieler.“

Dennoch überrascht die Karriere, die der Liebhaber der schönen Künste zunächst einmal einschlug. Ausgerechnet Mathematik und Physik studierte Lehmann – zum einen, weil die Freunde in seiner Clique das auch taten und man so zusammenbleiben konnte, zum anderen, weil ihm Skrupel gekommen waren, ob die Literatur wirklich als Brotberuf taugte. Die Naturwissenschaften jedenfalls taten es. Und wie so oft in seinem Leben hat Lehmann seine Sache mit großem Erfolg gemacht. Studium in Köln und Mainz, dann Max-Planck-Institut, und schließlich klopften die Amerikaner an die Tür. Lehmann hatte ein massenspektrometrisches Verfahren entwickelt, um kleine Spurenelemente zu messen. Da US-Wissenschaftler damals über keine solche Methode verfügten, brachte man kurzerhand das Gestein, das Armstrong und Co. 1969 vom Mond mitbrachten, nach Mainz zur Untersuchung.

Vermitteln, Kommunizieren, Allianzen schmieden

Dann der scheinbare Bruch: Mit 27, Lehmann war als Wissenschaftler bereits etabliert und blickte einer vielversprechenden Karriere entgegen, entschied er sich für einen Neuanfang. Er begann ein zweites Studium und wurde Bibliothekar. Inzwischen wurden Literaturproduktion und -vertrieb über Computer und Netze organisiert, ein Anwendungsbereich, den Lehmann aufgrund seiner akademischen Ausbildung beherrschte. Eine Anekdote, die Lehmann noch heute gern erzählt, trug sich in der Landes- und Hochschulbibliothek in Darmstadt zu, seiner ersten Station. Dort gab es eine Patentschriftenstelle. Meterhohe Regale mit überbordenden Papierstapeln enthielten die Fortschritte technischer Innovation. Ein mühsames Suchen für Patentanwälte und Erfinder. Wie umständlich und zeitraubend dachte sich Lehmann und ging – als die Kollegen im Urlaub waren – auf Sponsorensuche bei Darmstädter Unternehmen, schaffte ein paar Maschinen an und stellte die Patentschriftenstelle auf Lochkarten um. Sie enthielten in einem kleinen Mikrofilmfenster die Patentschrift. Durch die Codierung der relevanten Schlagwörter auf der Lochkarte sortierte die Maschine im Nu die richtige Patentschrift aus. Trotzdem: kein ungefährliches Unterfangen. „Im Grunde hatte ich ja eine Unbotmäßigkeit begangen.“ Aber der Bibliotheksdirektor sah den großen Nutzen der eigenmächtigen Aktion seines Referendars und verzichtete auf disziplinarische Maßnahmen. „In mein Zeugnis hat er dann nur geschrieben: ,Leicht vorpreschend.‘ Das fand ich so schön.“ Und so erscheint der Umweg über die Mathematik und Physik im Nachhinein als unausweichlicher Schritt auf dem Weg zum Ziel. „Die Rechnung ist aufgegangen“, so Lehmann selbst. „Passion und akademische Ausbildung sind zusammengelaufen.“

Auf dem Podium mit Kanzlerin Angela Merkel: In Berlin ist Lehmann gut vernetzt Auf dem Podium mit Kanzlerin Angela Merkel: In Berlin ist Lehmann gut vernetzt | Foto: Goethe-Institut Der kleine Ausflug in die Naturwissenschaft hat sich allerdings auch privat gelohnt: Beim Studium lernte Lehmann nämlich Lisa Schiep kennen. Mit der Geophysikerin ist er in diesem Jahr genau 50 Jahre verheiratet. Die beiden gemeinsamen Kinder sind mittlerweile Anfang vierzig und stecken mitten in ihren Karrieren als Jurist und Psychotherapeutin.

Die nächsten 25 Jahre schließlich galten den Bibliotheken, eine Zeit, in der es viel Überzeugungsarbeit zu leisten gab, aber auch den einen oder anderen harten Kampf auszufechten. Denn Lehmann ist keiner, der sich zufrieden damit gibt, einen Zustand, den er vorfindet, zu verwalten. Wo Lehmann hinkommt, landet alles auf dem Prüfstand, vieles wird erneuert, da werden neue Dienstleistungen für Kunden entwickelt, interne Abläufe optimiert. Das war so an der Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt, wo er schon mit 33 Jahren Direktor wurde, und das war so bei der Deutschen Bibliothek, deren Chef er 1988 wurde und die er nach dem Fall der Mauer mit der Leipziger Deutschen Bücherei zusammenführte. Damals waren Lehmanns Kernkompetenzen gefragt wie vielleicht noch nie zuvor: Vermitteln, Ermöglichen, Kommunizieren, Allianzen schmieden. „Das ist das, was ich ganz gut kann.“

„Ich bin ein großer Anreger“

1998 war es dann wieder Zeit für etwas Neues. „Es war ja alles gemacht.“ Lehmann wurde Präsident der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz. „Das war schon eine Krönung. Ich war Herr über eine Staatsbibliothek, ein geheimes Staatsarchiv und 18 Museen. Und ich hatte die Aufgabe, das alles neu zu ordnen.“ Keine leichte Aufgabe, denn die 18 Museen hatten natürlich auch 18 selbstbewusste Direktoren. Aber wen interessiert schon eine leichte Aufgabe? „Zieht Euch warm an!“, stand auf der Einladungskarte zu Lehmanns Amtseinführung. Man kann das ganz wörtlich verstehen, die Veranstaltung fand schließlich im Winter in der Ruine des Neuen Museums statt. Man kann es aber auch anders verstehen.

Kulturdialog beginnt beim Gewand: Auf Reisen kleidet sich Lehmann auch gern mal der Landessitte entsprechend Kulturdialog beginnt beim Gewand: Auf Reisen kleidet sich Lehmann auch gern mal der Landessitte entsprechend | Foto: Sabine Hartert Das Neue Museum, das ist auch heute noch Lehmanns größter Stolz. „Da habe ich viel durchgemacht. Aber für mich war klar: Wenn ich gehe, muss dieses Haus fertig sein.“ Und so stark der Gegenwind für ihn und seinen Mitstreiter, den Architekten David Chipperfield, anfangs auch war – bei der Wiedereröffnung gab es nur noch Beifall. Wie auch für Lehmanns „Erfindung“ des Humboldt-Forums, die beinahe en passant geschah. Die aufgeregte Diskussion um den Wiederaufbau des Berliner Stadtschlosses war gerade in vollem Gange, als Lehmann den Vorschlag machte, doch endlich mal nicht nur über die Fassade, sondern auch über den Inhalt zu reden. Und natürlich gleich eine Idee mitlieferte: Man könne hier doch die außereuropäischen Sammlungen aus Dahlem ansiedeln. Eine Idee, die er trotz aller Bescheidenheit heute selbst noch als genial bezeichnet. „Es ist doch fantastisch, dass der vornehmste Platz in Berlin genau gegenüber der Museumsinsel das Werden dieser Welt in den Weltkulturen zeigt.“

Präsident des Goethe-Instituts ist Klaus-Dieter Lehmann seit 2008. Begleitet hat er die Geschicke des Kulturinstituts jedoch schon viel länger. Schon ab 2002 war Lehmann Vizepräsident, und mit seiner Vorgängerin Jutta Limbach agierte er als eingespieltes Team. Sie war es denn auch, die den Vorschlag, er solle ihr Nachfolger werden, so geschickt präsentiert hat, dass Widerspruch von vornherein zwecklos erschien. Den Job, der eigentlich ein Ehrenamt ist, hat Lehmann längst zum Hauptamt gemacht. „Nur repräsentieren, das könnte ich auch gar nicht.“ Er sieht sich vielmehr als „großen Anreger“. Im Zusammenspiel mit Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert und dem kaufmännischen Direktor Bruno Gross kümmert sich Lehmann dabei vor allem um die strategischen Leitlinien des Goethe-Instituts. In seine Amtszeit fallen tiefgreifende Strukturreformen, die Stichworte lauten Dezentralisierung, Regionalisierung und Budgetierung. Was nüchtern und bürokratisch klingt, schlug sich in Wirklichkeit in einer neuen Beweglichkeit des Goethe-Instituts nieder. Nach harten Jahren, in denen das Institut aus dem Fokus der Politik geraten war, ging es nun wieder bergauf. Bestes Zeichen: Weltweit wurden Goethe-Institute neu gegründet oder wiedereröffnet – von Nowosibirsk über Myanmar bis Kinshasa. Und aktive kulturelle Netzwerke entstanden mit den Partnern in der Welt. Unterstützung fanden Lehmann und das Goethe-Institut sowohl bei den Reformen als auch bei der Ausstattung besonders durch Außenminister Steinmeier, für den der kulturelle Dialog von großer Bedeutung für die Gestaltung der Auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik ist.

„Herr Lehmann“? Natürlich hat er den gelesen

Neben seinem Goethe-Job hat Klaus-Dieter Lehmann noch zahlreiche andere Aufgaben, so sitzt er in fast allen wichtigen Buchpreisgremien, ist Schirmherr der Komischen Oper, gehört dem Verwaltungsrat des Deutschen Museums an, ist Honorarprofessor an zwei Universitäten et cetera. Und das Erstaunliche: Trotz allem findet er immer noch die Zeit für das, mit dem alles ja mal angefangen hat und was ihm noch heute das Wichtigste ist: die Bücher. „Ich hab’ eigentlich immer ein Buch dabei.“



Ob Gabriel Marcía Márquez’ Hundert Jahre Einsamkeit, Günter Grass’ Blechtrommel oder Nino Haratischwilis Das achte Leben – am liebsten sind ihm realistische Romane. „Es muss für mich die große Erzählung sein. Ich lass’ mich gern reinziehen.“ Aber auch die neuere deutsche Literatur liest Lehmann natürlich. Herr Lehmann von Sven Regener etwa. „Ja, natürlich habe ich den gelesen. Und zwar mit Genuss. Ist ja eine wunderbare Geschichte.“

Eigentlich hatte Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der wie viele geborenen Breslauer inzwischen Berlin zu seiner Heimat erkoren hat, aber das Wechselspiel zwischen Berlin und München belebend findet, für seinen Lebensabend einen besonderen Plan: Er wollte ein paar alte Bleisätze und Druckmaschinen vor dem Verfall retten. „Und wenn ich mal pensioniert bin, habe ich mir gedacht, richte ich mir meine eigene Druckerwerkstatt ein und mache meine eigenen Bücher.“ Eine sehr schöne Vorstellung, wie Klaus-Dieter Lehmann da im Druckerkittel an den alten Maschinen steht und den Druck überwacht. Es wird wohl eine Vorstellung bleiben. Denn Ruhestand, das ist nichts für einen wie Lehmann.

-db-