Ibsen in India On the Road with Dr Stockmann

Christoph Gawenda as Dr Thomas Stockmann: The actors are scolded, scoffed at and challenged
Christoph Gawenda as Dr Thomas Stockmann: The actors are scolded, scoffed at and challenged | Photo: Susanne Burkhardt

Actors act, the audience watches. This role-play does not apply to Thomas Ostermeier’s Enemy of the People . Instead the audience acts. The director travelled to India with his production and reaped storms of enthusiasm. By Susanne Burkhardt

It is Saturday evening in Kolkata and a long queue has formed that extends for many blocks. It begins at Kala Mandir, a performance space in the centre of the city. The guest performance by the Berlin Schaubühne ensemble will begin here in one hour. Thomas Ostermeier’s production of Ibsen’s play An Enemy of the People is on the programme. After Argentina, Greece, Russia and France, the play is now touring India on the invitation of the Goethe-Institut. Three days ago, the play about corruption and freedom of speech was already a hit at a theatre festival in Delhi. Now, mainly students, artists, theatre people, filmmakers and musicians are waiting patiently in the former Indian capital to try and get one of the 1,100 seats. Admission is free.

Some of them have already seen a German production, for example Henry V at the Max Müller Bhavan, as the Goethe-Institut is called in India. Inside the theatre, Thomas Ostermeier is rehearsing. The mood could be better: one actor is ill and has to miss rehearsal, the curtain is wrinkled, the ladder can’t be folded together and the baby doll cries too soon; typical guest performance woes.

Then the doors open and all the seats are occupied in no time. For an hour and half the audience watches via English supertitles as Dr Stockmann struggles against a corrupt system. The plot is about the battle of the physician, who discovers that the water in his spa is poisoned, against local politicians who lean on the press to cover up the environmental scandal.

Ostermeier sets the play in the western hipster milieu. Pertinently, the director supplements the Ibsen work with a manifesto, The Impending Rebellion, a blazing revolutionary speech that blasts topics such as family, consumption and self-discovery – and “what all needs prostheses to hold an ego together.” The actors, overwhelmed by the initial impressions of their stay in India, are uncertain whether these “European luxury issues” can really reach the people here.

Ostermeier (in sunglasses) and members of the Schaubühne team on a walk in Old Delhi: the issues of a globalized world Ostermeier (in sunglasses) and members of the Schaubühne team on a walk in Old Delhi: the issues of a globalized world | Photo: Susanne Burkhardt After an hour and a half, the production breaks the fourth wall: the audience is asked who thinks like Stockmann. Many hands are raised. A blustery debate ensues in which the Communist past of Kolkata is quite perceptible. After agreeing that the family is the heart of society, critics of consumerism have their say. The people are given false information, too much is being produced and consumed, they say, and all at the expense of the environment. The western actors slip into the roles of consumerism defenders. David Ruland, as the publisher Aslaksen, argues that consumption is a good thing and is jumped on by opponents.

One audience member compares the circumstances in Stockmann’s spa with the cover-up of the facts after the Chernobyl incident. The arguments heat up. The Indian audience debates passionately, confidently and is very opinionated. The actors are taken seriously in their roles, are scolded, scoffed at and challenged again and again. It was similar in Delhi, where Stockmann’s situation was compared with that of the whistle-blower Edward Snowden and someone asked why he didn’t simply tweet his report about the filthy water.

After the final applause, we encounter enthused viewers who are particularly impressed by the great actors and the join-in factor of the production. The issues of the evening are certainly similar to those affecting the real lives of this middle class audience. These issues have long become the issues of a globalized world.

The next morning, the 30 members of the Schaubühne troupe travel on to the final stop of their tour in southern Chennai.

Ibsen in Indien Mit Dr. Stockmann auf Reisen

Christoph Gawenda alias Dr. Thomas Stockmann: Die Schauspieler werden  beschimpft, belacht und angegangen
Christoph Gawenda alias Dr. Thomas Stockmann: Die Schauspieler werden beschimpft, belacht und angegangen | Foto: Susanne Burkhardt

Schauspieler spielen, Zuschauer schauen zu. Diese Arbeitsteilung gilt bei Thomas Ostermeiers Volksfeind nicht. Hier wird auch das Publikum zum Akteur. Jetzt hat sich der Regisseur mit seiner Inszenierung auf den Weg nach Indien gemacht – und Begeisterungsstürme geerntet. Von Susanne Burkhardt

Kalkutta. Samstagabend. Eine lange Warteschlange zieht sich um mehrere Häuserblocks. Sie beginnt am Kala Mandir, einer Spielstätte im Zentrum der Stadt. In einer Stunde beginnt hier das Gastspiel der Berliner Schaubühne. Thomas Ostermeiers Inszenierung des Ibsen-Stücks Der Volksfeind steht auf dem Spielplan. Nach Stationen in Argentinien, Griechenland, Russland und Frankreich reist das Stück auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts jetzt durch Indien. Vor drei Tagen begeisterte das Spiel um Korruption und Meinungsfreiheit bereits die Zuschauer eines Theaterfestivals in Delhi. Jetzt warten in der einstigen indischen Hauptstadt vor allem Studenten, Künstler, Theaterleute, Filmemacher und Musiker geduldig, um einen der 1.100 Plätze zu ergattern. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Einige von ihnen haben schon mal eine deutsche Inszenierung gesehen, zum Beispiel Henry V. – im Max-Müller-Bhavan, wie das Goethe-Institut in Indien heißt. Drinnen, im Saal probt nun Thomas Ostermeier. Die Stimmung könnte besser sein: Ein Schauspieler ist krank und muss die Probe schwänzen, der Vorhang ist zerknittert, die Leiter lässt sich nicht zusammenklappen und das Puppenbaby schreit zu früh. Übliche Gastspiel-Probleme.

Dann öffnen sich die Türen, schnell sind alle Plätze besetzt. Eineinhalb Stunden lang verfolgen die Zuschauer über die englischen Übertitel Dr. Stockmanns Abrechnung mit einem korrupten System. Den Kampf des Badearztes, der entdeckt, dass das Wasser seines Heilbades vergiftet ist, gegen die örtliche Politik, die den Umweltskandal vertuschen wollen und dafür die Presse unter Druck setzt.

Ostermeier lässt das Stück im westlichen Hipster-Milieu spielen. Passend dazu stellt der Regisseur dem Ibsen-Text ein Manifest zur Seite: Der kommende Aufstand. Eine flammende Revoluzzer-Rede, in der mit Themen wie Familie, Konsum und Selbstfindung abgerechnet wird – und mit all dem „was es nicht alles an Prothesen braucht um ein Ich zusammenzuhalten“. Die Schauspieler, überwältigt von den ersten Eindrücken ihres Indien-Aufenthaltes, sind unsicher, ob diese „europäischen Luxusprobleme“ hier wirklich die Leute erreichen.

Ostermeier (mit Sonnenbrille) und Mitglieder des Schaubühnen-Teams auf Spaziergang in Old Delhi: Themen einer globalisierten Welt Ostermeier (mit Sonnenbrille) und Mitglieder des Schaubühnen-Teams auf Spaziergang in Old Delhi: Themen einer globalisierten Welt | Foto: Susanne Burkhardt Nach eineinhalb Stunden öffnet sich die Inszenierung: Jeder im Publikum, der so denke wie Stockmann, solle sich melden. Viele Hände gehen hoch. Eine wilde Diskussion beginnt, in deren Argumenten die einstige kommunistische Vergangenheit Kalkuttas durchaus zu spüren ist. Nach einem Votum für die Familie als Kern der Gesellschaft, kommen vor allem die Konsumkritiker zu Wort: Man werde falsch informiert, produziere und konsumiere zu viel, heißt es – das alles auf Kosten der Umwelt. Die Schauspieler aus dem Westen schlüpfen in die Rolle der Konsumverteidiger: Es sei doch gut, konsumieren zu können – argumentiert David Ruland als Verleger Aslaksen und wird dafür ordentlich attackiert.

Eine Zuschauerin vergleicht die Zustände in Stockmanns Heilbad mit der Vertuschung von Fakten im Fall Tschernobyl. Es geht heiß her. Das indische Publikum diskutiert leidenschaftlich, selbstbewusst und meinungsstark. Die Schauspieler werden ernst genommen in ihren Rollen, beschimpft, belacht und immer wieder angegangen. So wie auch schon in Delhi, wo Stockmanns Situation mit der des Whistleblower Edward Snowden verglichen wurde und die Frage auftauchte, warum er seinen Bericht über das verdreckte Wasser nicht einfach twittere.

Nach dem Schlussapplaus trifft man auf begeisterte Zuschauer, die besonders von den tollen Schauspielern und vom Mitmach-Faktor der Inszenierung beeindruckt sind. Ein Mittelschichtspublikum, dessen Lebenswirklichkeit von den Themen des Abends durchaus berührt wird. Weil diese Themen längst Themen einer globalisierten Welt geworden sind.

Am nächsten Morgen dann zieht die 30-köpfige Schaubühnentruppe weiter – zur letzten Station der Tournee im südlichen Chennai.