Ruth Hartmann on Beirut “Even if there’s been a bombing, the people always look ahead”

Not always warm and dry: In the winter, the Corniche can become quite wet
Not always warm and dry: In the winter, the Corniche can become quite wet | Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann

People in Beirut enjoy every day as it comes, says Ruth Hartmann. In our interview, the Goethe associate talks about why the word “Zukunftsangst” is practically unknown here.

Is it true that you can head to the ski slopes in the morning and then jump in the Mediterranean Sea in the afternoon?

Hartmann: Not at the moment because the temperatures on the coast are between 10 and 15 degrees and there are seven metre waves – no one wants to swim in that. But when there’s been plenty of snow and the temperatures are pleasant in April or May it is truly possible to go skiing in the mountains in the morning and later head down to the sunny seaside.

What is your favourite place in Beirut?

Definitely the Corniche, the beach promenade in Beirut. I fully intend to someday do a series of photographs there because on the promenade you really meet all the people – rich and poor, wearing headscarves or hot pants, lovers, large families, business partners, BMX riders, inline skaters, dog owners – and somehow, all of them are happy.

The remains of the former Beirut city centre: the “Beirut Egg” by the Lebanese architect Joseph Phillipe Karam The remains of the former Beirut city centre: the “Beirut Egg” by the Lebanese architect Joseph Phillipe Karam | Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann Can you tell me one of city’s lesser known claims to fame?

Its creativity. I’ve never experienced as many new business ideas as I have here; new shops are constantly being opened. The young Lebanese in particular have really great ideas. In the arts, there are an awful lot of graffiti artists in Beirut. Many of their graffiti make political statements.

How has Beirut changed your life?

Riddled with bullets during the civil war, the statue on Martyrs’ Square was transformed into a symbol of destruction Riddled with bullets during the civil war, the statue on Martyrs’ Square was transformed into a symbol of destruction | Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann I think I’ve become more relaxed. When you come from Germany, think a lot about the future and are accustomed to a well-ordered life, in Beirut you suddenly realize it’s better to live one day at a time because you never know what tomorrow will bring. There’s no other way to enjoy life here. If you are always afraid about what will happen tomorrow, you could not enjoy life at all.

In what way do the Lebanese differ most from Germans?

We are currently working on a project about Germans who live in Lebanon or spent longer periods living here. We are interested in the stereotypes and whether they prove true or not. The statement made by one German woman who has lived in Lebanon for forty years is typical. In the interview she said that she still hasn’t gotten used to this living-for-the-moment. Inside, she’s still German, full of plans and Zukunftsangst (anxiety about the future). I’m not sure whether the word Zukunftsangst even exists in other languages. Certainly not here.

How are your Arabic skills?

The streets of Beirut are decorated with lots of graffiti – this is a work by the Lebanese Ashekman twins The streets of Beirut are decorated with lots of graffiti – this is a work by the Lebanese Ashekman twins | Photo: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann Well, I’ve been in the region for ten years and already learned Arabic at university. Even though my colleagues are always amused by the accent I picked up during five years in Cairo, I speak Arabic almost fluently. Very few people manage to really master the language. I still don’t hear certain differences in sounds.

Why do the Lebanese want to learn German?

There are two groups of students. There are those who need to prove basic German skills in order to acquire a visa to join their families. But most of the students are those who wish to continue their studies in Germany and therefore have to pass higher-level language exams. They are extremely motivated to achieve their goal and are also very interested in our additional programmes like film nights or discussions of German history.

What surprised you the most in Beirut?

Can’t let go of the Arabic world: Goethe associate Ruth Hartmann Can’t let go of the Arabic world: Goethe associate Ruth Hartmann | Photo: Private What surprised me? The love of life! Even if there’s been another bombing, or in the current political crisis without a president – the people always look ahead and say, “It’ll be okay.” That’s an attitude that Germans could really learn from.

What would you like most to still experience in Beirut?

Oh, there are so many things, not all in Beirut alone but all of Lebanon. I have been planning for a while to travel to Tripoli to see the trade fair designed by the Brazilian architect Oscar Niemeyer. After the civil war broke out in 1975 it has never been dedicated, but it is gorgeous if you believe the pictures. Right now the political situation sadly makes that kind of journey impossible.

The questions were asked by Viola Heth.
 

Ruth Hartmann, born in 1974, studied political science in Bonn, before the Arabic world cast its spell over her. After living and working in Beirut between 2003 and 2007, she then dived into life in Cairo for five years and worked at the Goethe-Institut there. Then, in early 2014, the sea and the good air drew her back to the Lebanese capital city. Since then she has been responsible for the Goethe-Institut’s Information and Library division there. When she is not spending her free time wandering through Beirut’s streets with a camera or a book, she is enjoying being close to the sea where she can engage in her favourite sport.

Ruth Hartmann über Beirut „Selbst nach einem Anschlag blicken die Menschen nach vorne”

Nicht immer schön und trocken: Im Winter kann es an der Corniche auch mal nass werden
Nicht immer schön und trocken: Im Winter kann es an der Corniche auch mal nass werden | Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann

Die Beiruter genießen jeden Tag, wie er ist, sagt Ruth Hartmann. Im Interview erzählt die Goethe-Mitarbeiterin, warum das Wort „Zukunftsangst” hier nahezu unbekannt ist.

Stimmt es eigentlich, dass man bei Ihnen zurzeit morgens die Skipiste unsicher machen und sich nachmittags in die Fluten des Mittelmeers stürzen kann?

Hartmann: Derzeit geht das nicht, denn wir haben an der Küste zehn bis 15 Grad und bis zu sieben Meter hohe Wellen – da möchte niemand schwimmen gehen. Aber wenn es viel geschneit hat und die Temperaturen angenehm sind, ist es im April oder Mai tatsächlich möglich: morgens zum Skifahren in die Berge und später wieder runter ans Meer in die Sonne.

Was ist Ihr persönlicher Lieblingsort in Beirut?

Definitiv die Corniche, die Strandpromenade in Beirut. Ich habe fest vor, irgendwann eine Fotoserie dort zu machen, denn an der Strandpromenade trifft man wirklich alle Leute: egal ob reich oder arm, mit Kopftuch oder in Hotpants, Liebespaare, Großfamilien, Geschäftspartner, BMX-Fahrer, Inline-Skater, Hundebesitzer – und irgendwie sind alle glücklich.

Was vom früheren Beirut City Center übrig blieb: das „Beiruter Ei” des libanesischen Architekten Joseph Phillipe Karam Was vom früheren Beirut City Center übrig blieb: das „Beiruter Ei” des libanesischen Architekten Joseph Phillipe Karam | Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann Wofür ist die Stadt zu Unrecht nicht berühmt?

Für ihre Kreativität. Ich habe noch nie so viele neue Geschäftsideen erlebt wie hier, es machen permanent neue Läden auf. Gerade die jungen Libanesen haben richtig gute Einfälle. Im künstlerischen Bereich gibt es in Beirut unheimlich viele Graffiti-Künstler. Darunter finden sich auch häufig Graffitis mit politischen Aussagen.

Wie hat Beirut Ihr Leben verändert?

Im Bürgerkrieg von Kugeln durchsiebt, wandelte sich die Statue am Märtyrerplatz zu einem Symbol der Zerstörung Im Bürgerkrieg von Kugeln durchsiebt, wandelte sich die Statue am Märtyrerplatz zu einem Symbol der Zerstörung | Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann Ich glaube, ich bin entspannter geworden. Wenn man aus Deutschland kommt, sehr an die Zukunft denkt und ein durchgeplantes Leben gewohnt ist, stellt man in Beirut plötzlich fest: Besser von heute auf morgen leben, denn man weiß nie, was morgen passiert. Anders kann man das Leben hier auch nicht genießen. Wenn man immer nur Angst hat, was morgen passieren könnte, dann würde man seines Lebens nicht mehr froh werden.

Worin unterscheiden sich die Libanesen am meisten von den Deutschen?

Wir haben momentan ein Projekt zu Deutschen, die im Libanon leben oder sich hier längere Zeit aufgehalten haben. Uns interessieren dabei die Stereotype, die sie haben und ob sich diese bewahrheiten oder nicht. Typisch ist die Aussage einer Deutschen, die schon seit 40 Jahren im Libanon lebt. Sie sagte im Interview, dass sie sich immer noch nicht an dieses In-den-Tag-hinein-Leben gewöhnt hat. Sie ist im Inneren immer noch deutsch, mit diesem Planen und der Zukunftsangst. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob es das Wort Zukunftsangst in anderen Sprachen überhaupt gibt. Hier jedenfalls nicht.

Was machen Ihre Arabischkenntnisse?

Die Straßen Beiruts zieren viele Graffitis – hier das Werk der libanesischen Zwillingsbrüder Ashekman Die Straßen Beiruts zieren viele Graffitis – hier das Werk der libanesischen Zwillingsbrüder Ashekman | Foto: Goethe-Institut Libanon / Ruth Hartmann Naja, ich bin schon seit zehn Jahren in der Region und hatte vorher schon an der Uni Arabisch gelernt. Auch wenn sich meine Kollegen immer wieder über meinen Akzent amüsieren, den ich mir in den fünf Jahren in Kairo angewöhnt habe, spreche ich fast fließend Arabisch. Die Sprache wirklich richtig zu können, schaffen nur sehr wenige. Es ist auch bei mir noch so, dass ich gewisse Lautunterschiede nicht höre.

Warum lernen Libanesen Deutsch?

Es gibt zwei Gruppen von Studenten: Zum einen sind es Schüler, die grundlegende Sprachkenntnisse für ein Visum zur Familienzusammenführung nachweisen müssen. Den Großteil machen aber Studenten aus, die in Deutschland weiterstudieren wollen und die daher Prüfungen auf höherem Sprachniveau ablegen müssen. Sie sind extrem motiviert, ihr Ziel zu erreichen, und interessieren sich auch sehr für unsere zusätzlichen Angebote wie Filmabende oder Diskussionsrunden zur deutschen Geschichte.

Was hat Sie in Beirut am meisten überrascht?

Lässt die arabische Welt nicht mehr los: Goethe-Mitarbeiterin Hartmann Lässt die arabische Welt nicht mehr los: Goethe-Mitarbeiterin Hartmann | Foto: Private Überrascht? Die Lebensfreude! Selbst wenn es wieder einen Bombenanschlag gab oder in der aktuellen politischen Krise ohne Präsidenten – die Menschen blicken immer nach vorne und sagen: Es wird schon wieder. Das ist eine Einstellung, von der sich die Deutschen wirklich etwas abschneiden können.

Was möchten Sie in Beirut unbedingt noch erleben?

Oh, da gibt es ganz viele Sachen. Das bezieht sich zwar nicht auf Beirut allein, sondern auf den ganzen Libanon, aber: Ich plane schon seit langer Zeit nach Tripoli zu fahren, um das von dem brasilianischen Architekten Oscar Niemeyer gestaltete Messegelände zu besichtigen. Das wurde zwar nach dem Ausbruch des Bürgerkriegs 1975 niemals eingeweiht, ist aber traumhaft schön, wenn man den Bildern glaubt. Momentan lässt die politische Situation eine solche Reise aber leider nicht zu.

Die Fragen stellte Viola Heth
 

Ruth Hartmann, geboren 1974, studierte Politikwissenschaften in Bonn, bevor die arabische Welt sie in ihren Bann zog: Nachdem sie bereits von 2003 bis 2007 in Beirut gelebt und gearbeitet hatte, tauchte sie anschließend für fünf Jahre in das Kairoer Leben ein und arbeitete am dortigen Goethe-Institut. Anfang 2014 waren es dann das Meer und die gute Luft, die sie zurück in die libanesische Hauptstadt lockten. Dort kümmert sie sich seither um den Bereich Information und Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts. Streift sie in ihrer Freizeit nicht gerade mit Kamera oder Buch durch die Beiruter Straßen, genießt sie die Nähe zum Meer, um ausgiebig Sport zu treiben.