An Interview with Fatih Akin “Today, I feel like a Greek”

Director Akin in Athens: “I am a storyteller, not a politician”
Director Akin in Athens: “I am a storyteller, not a politician” | Photo: Vangelis Patsialos

With The Cut, Fatih Akin approaches a precarious topic: the genocide of Armenians. He now also presented the film in Greece. In our interview, the Hamburg filmmaker speaks about political films, his marriage to Turkey and his dalliance with Greece.

The film “The Cut” completes your “Love, Death and the Devil” trilogy in which you focus on Turkish society. How has the work on your trilogy changed your relationship with Turkey?

First there was disillusionment, then frustration and finally a certain distance. It’s now time to go our separate ways, for a creative separation. It’s like a marriage in which you still love your spouse, but simply can no longer live together. The subject is no longer fertile. Maybe in another ten years. It is frustrating, but there is something liberating about it.

The subject of the genocide of Armenians in “The Cut” would seem to automatically trigger antagonistic reactions in Turkey, yet it largely did not. Were you surprised?

It was not my intent to step on Turkish toes. The Cut shows the root of all evil in Turkish society from my point of view, the genocide of the Armenians that has not been come to terms with. Many people who see the film, even apolitical people or fascists, ask me, “Did we really do that?” These are the people I want to reach.



So, “The Cut” is a contribution to political education?

I don’t believe in political films as such. Cinema must surmount politics – or thesis and antithesis. I am a storyteller, not a politician. The Cut is genre and can therefore not be instrumentalized by anyone.

But aren’t you involved as a political person when your story is about genocide?

I don’t know whether I am a political person. I think my definition of politics is too peculiar for that. My father was a Grey Wolf, a fascist; I myself grew up with the dogmas of the Turkish leftists and with religious dogmas. There is no political ideal that I adhere to, no “ism.” Democracy is no exception to that. Anyway, we are experiencing the melting of democracy with Le Pen in France and Pegida in Germany. Democracy doesn’t come in the post; you have to work hard for it.

At the Athens premier of “The Cut,” you called it your most Greek film. Why?

The Cut has many Greek elements. Without Elia Kazan’s America America, the mother of all immigrant stories, The Cut would not exist as such. My film is a declaration of love to him and the cinema. I make much use of Greek dramaturgy and mythology, of Odysseus.

Does this make the film work better in Greece than elsewhere?

The Cut takes place during the breakdown of the Ottoman Empire, which has special significance in Greece. The emotional reaction is accordingly strong. The Athens premier was like a big embrace for me, while in Venice many slapped me in the face.

You are often a guest in Athens with your films. How has the crisis changed the city in your eyes?

I am always here for such a short time that I don’t really witness how the crisis feels in everyday life. I read the newspaper and am unfortunately given only an incomplete picture. Whether I open the Bild or the Süddeutsche Zeitung, it’s all very one-sided and there is very little empathy involved. I’m no economist, but you can’t always make everything out as black and white. There are always fifty shades of grey.

Now that you’ve put Turkey behind you, when will you shoot your first film in Greece?

I could well imagine living here, so I can also imagine making films here. Today, I feel like a Greek. But, first of all I am working on a small film that is set in the here and now and in Berlin.

The interview was conducted by Gerasimos Bekas.
 

Fatih Akin, 41, from Hamburg, is presently one of Germany’s most renowned film directors. After initial success with Im Juli and Solino, his breakthrough came with Gegen die Wand (Head-On) in 2004 (Golden Bear, German Film Prize, European Film Prize). The film was the first part of a trilogy about love, death and the devil. Following Auf der anderen Seite (The Edge of Heaven), the trilogy has now come to a close with The Cut. Last year, Turkish right-wing extremists threatened Akin because of the film about the genocide of Armenians. The Goethe-Institut Athens invited the filmmaker to Greece in late February to present The Cut.

Fatih Akin im Interview „Heute fühle ich mich als Grieche“

Regisseur Akin in Athen: „Ich will Geschichten erzählen, nicht Politik machen“
Regisseur Akin in Athen: „Ich will Geschichten erzählen, nicht Politik machen“ | Foto: Vangelis Patsialos

Mit The Cut hat sich Fatih Akin an ein gefährliches Thema gewagt: den Völkermord an den Armeniern. Jetzt hat er den Film auch in Griechenland vorgestellt. Im Interview spricht der Hamburger Filmemacher über den politischen Film, seine Ehe mit der Türkei und seinen Flirt mit Griechenland.

Mit dem Film „The Cut“ schließt Ihre „Liebe, Tod und Teufel“- Trilogie, in der Sie sich an der türkischen Gesellschaft abarbeiten. Wie hat sich durch die Arbeit an der Trilogie Ihr Verhältnis zur Türkei verändert?

Zuerst kam Ernüchterung, dann Frustration und schließlich ein gewisser Abstand. Jetzt kommt die Zeit für getrennte Wege, eine kreative Trennung. Es ist wie in einer Ehe, in der man den Partner noch liebt, aber einfach nicht mehr zusammenleben kann. Das Thema ist nicht mehr fruchtbar. Vielleicht in zehn Jahren wieder. Das ist frustrierend, hat aber auch etwas Befreiendes.

Bei „The Cut“ schienen durch die Thematisierung des Völkermords an den Armeniern feindselige Reaktionen von türkischer Seite programmiert. Sie blieben weitgehend aus. Waren Sie erstaunt?

Es ging mir nicht darum, den Türken auf die Füße zu treten. The Cut zeigt aus meiner Sicht die Wurzel allen Übels in der türkischen Gesellschaft, den nicht verarbeiteten Völkermord an den Armeniern. Viele Leute, die den Film sehen, auch Unpolitische oder Faschisten, fragen mich: „Haben wir das wirklich gemacht?“ Diese Leute möchte ich erreichen.



Also ist „The Cut“ ein Beitrag zur politischen Bildung?

Ich glaube nicht an den politischen Film als solches. Kino muss Politik, also These und Antithese, überwinden. Ich will Geschichten erzählen, nicht Politik machen. The Cut ist Genre und lässt sich von keiner Seite instrumentalisieren.

Sind Sie nicht auch als politischer Mensch involviert, wenn es in Ihrer Geschichte um Völkermord geht?

Ich weiß nicht, ob ich ein politischer Mensch bin. Ich glaube, dazu habe ich eine zu eigene Definition von Politik. Mein Vater war bei den Grauen Wölfen, also Faschist, ich selbst bin mit den Dogmen der türkischen Linken groß geworden und mit religiösen Dogmen. Es gibt kein politisches Ideal, das mich überzeugt, keinen „-ismus“. Die Demokratie ist da keine Ausnahme. Wir erleben sowieso gerade die Schmelze der Demokratie mit Le Pen in Frankreich und Pegida in Deutschland. Demokratie kommt nicht mit der Post. Man muss hart dafür arbeiten.

Sie haben „The Cut“ bei der Athener Premiere als Ihren griechischsten Film bezeichnet. Warum?

The Cut hat viele griechische Elemente. Ohne Elia Kazans Amerika, Amerika, der Mutter aller Immigrationsgeschichten, würde es The Cut so nicht geben. Mein Film ist eine Liebeserklärung an ihn und an das Kino. Ich nutze viele Rückgriffe auf die griechische Dramaturgie und Mythologie, auf Odysseus.

Funktioniert der Film in Griechenland deshalb besser als woanders?

The Cut spielt während des Zerfalls des Osmanischen Reiches, was in Griechenland eine besondere Bedeutung hat. Das emotionale Echo ist dementsprechend. Die Athener Premiere war wie eine große Umarmung für mich. In Venedig dagegen habe ich von vielen Seiten auf die Fresse gekriegt.

Sie sind regelmäßig mit Ihren Filmen zu Gast in Athen, wie hat sich aus Ihrer Sicht die Stadt durch die Krise verändert?

Ich bin immer so kurz hier, dass ich nicht mitbekomme, wie sich die Krise im Alltag anfühlt. Ich lese Zeitung, und dabei bekomme ich leider nur ein unvollständiges Bild. Egal ob ich die Bild oder die Süddeutsche Zeitung aufschlage, das ist schon alles sehr einseitig. Und da ist sehr wenig Empathie im Spiel. Ich bin kein Wirtschaftsexperte, aber man kann nicht immer nur in Schwarz und Weiß einteilen. Da sind immer fifty shades of grey.

Jetzt wo Sie die Türkei hinter sich lassen, wann drehen Sie Ihren ersten Film in Griechenland?

Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, hier zu leben, also kann ich mir auch vorstellen, hier Filme zu machen. Heute fühle ich mich als Grieche. Erstmal arbeite ich jetzt aber an einem kleinen Film, der im Hier und Jetzt und in Berlin spielt.

Das Interview führte Gerasimos Bekas
 

Der Hamburger Fatih Akin, 41, ist aktuell einer der renommiertesten deutschen Filmregisseure. Nach ersten Erfolgen mit Im Juli und Solino gelang ihm der große Durchbruch mit Gegen die Wand aus dem Jahr 2004 (Goldener Bär, Deutscher Filmpreis, Europäischer Filmpreis). Der Film ist der erste Teil der Trilogie über Liebe, Tod und Teufel. Nach Auf der anderen Seite findet die Trilogie nun mit The Cut ihren Abschluss. Wegen des Films über den Völkermord an den Armeniern wurde Akin im vergangenen Jahr von türkischen Rechtsextremen bedroht. Das Goethe-Institut Athen hat den Filmemacher Ende Februar nach Griechenland eingeladen, um The Cut zu präsentieren.