Rumjana Zacharieva’s “Bearskin” Grappling with One’s Own Past

The bears won’t let go of Rumjana Zacharieva Bernd Zabel
The bears won’t let go of Rumjana Zacharieva | Photo: Stefan Rutzmoser
Photo: private

Who can tell a story about growing a bearskin of their own? Rumjana Zacharieva can! The German-writing author of Bulgarian origin knows her way around bears. By Bernd Zabel

Even as a child, Zacharieva was tracking the bears in the mountains of the Balkan. They haven’t let go of her since. Zacharieva’s development is a complicated story, difficult to understand from a modern viewpoint, and actually a Bulgarian version of The Drama of the Gifted Child (Alice Miller). As a teenager, her poetry attracts attention. While most literati are singing the Party’s praises, the schoolgirl floors them with fresh imagery and new tones. Impressions from nature alternate with insightful love poetry. She is permitted to take a leave from school – the only English-speaking school in Bulgaria – to accept an invitation to the academy.

The demands and expectations of the outside world increase unremittingly and threaten to overwhelm her. She slips into a bearskin that grows ever thicker. She puts herself at risk, suffers abuse, falls ill and seems destined to fail miserably. Then an opportunity for a journey abroad arises.

She finds her way to Germany. Here, she marries, has children and many years later dares to come to terms with her own past. In German, she is able to pour out what happened on paper. Not as a simple biography, but in an eclectic style of dream sequences, lyrical elements and idiomatic phrases that the German language enriches with a new nuance.

The reader, quite incidentally and very personally, also experiences recent Bulgarian history on a journey that leads back to Bulgaria, to the settings of the early years, the city of Ruse on the Danube and the mountains of the Stara Planina. Not until then does the bearskin slowly disintegrate. To reveal whom? Read for yourself: Rumjana Zacharieva, Bärenfell. Verlag Horlemann, Berlin 1999.
 

Bernd Zabel was born in 1950 and grew up in the Pied Piper’s town of Hameln. His pathway from Schiller Gymnasium to the Goethe-Institut led via universities in Tübingen, Heidelberg and Berlin. The literary scholar received his doctorate in 1978 with a dissertation on the first novels written after 1945. He has worked for the Goethe-Institut since 1981 in places such as Brazil, Japan, Serbia, Sweden and, for four years now, in the head office in the Literature and Translation Promotion Division. The location of the Goethe-Institut’s head office in Munich is quite convenient since in his free time, Zabel is mostly drawn to the mountains, preferably those in Tyrol and Bavaria, and on, by and into the Upper Bavarian lakes.

Rumjana Zacharievas „Bärenfell“ Vergangenheits-
bewältigung in eigener Sache

Die Bären lassen Rumjana Zacharieva nicht mehr los Bernd Zabel
Die Bären lassen Rumjana Zacharieva nicht mehr los | Foto: Stefan Rutzmoser
Foto: privat

Wer kann schon davon erzählen, wie ihr oder ihm ein Bärenfell gewachsen ist? Rumjana Zacharieva! Die Deutsch schreibende Autorin bulgarischer Herkunft kennt sich mit Bären aus. Von Bernd Zabel

Schon als Kind war Zacharieva den Bären in den Gebirgen des Balkans auf der Spur. Und kommt bis heute nicht von ihnen los. Zacharievas Werdegang ist eine komplizierte Geschichte, aus heutiger Sicht nicht leicht zu verstehen, und eigentlich eine bulgarische Version vom Drama des begabten Kindes (Alice Miller). Die Gedichte des Teenagers fallen auf. Während die Mehrheit der Literaten das Hohelied der Partei singt, verblüfft die Schülerin mit frischen Bildern und neuen Tönen. Impressionen aus der Natur wechseln mit einfühlsamer Liebeslyrik. In der Schule – der einzigen englischsprachigen in Bulgarien – wird sie freigestellt, um der Einladung in die Akademie folgen zu können.

Die Ansprüche und Erwartungen der Außenwelt steigen unaufhörlich und drohen sie zu überwältigen. Sie legt sich ein Bärenfell zu, das immer dichter wächst. Sie begibt sich in Gefahren, wird missbraucht, erkrankt und droht auf ganzer Linie zu scheitern. Da ergibt sich die Gelegenheit zu einer Auslandsreise.

Sie gelangt nach Deutschland. Hier heiratet sie, wird Mutter und wagt sich viele Jahre später an die Aufarbeitung ihrer eigenen Geschichte. Sie kann sich das Geschehene auf Deutsch von der Seele schreiben. Nicht als einfache Biografie, sondern in einem eklektischen Stil aus Traumsequenzen, lyrischen Elementen und idiomatischen Wendungen, der die deutsche Sprache um eine neue Nuance bereichert.

Ganz nebenbei und sehr persönlich erlebt der Leser dabei auch die jüngste bulgarische Geschichte nach. Erlebt sie nach auf einer Reise, die noch einmal nach Bulgarien führt, an die Schauplätze der frühen Jahre, die Stadt Russe an der Donau und in die Berge der Stara Planina. Erst jetzt löst sich das Bärenfell langsam ab. Und wer erscheint? Lesen Sie selbst: Rumjana Zacharieva, Bärenfell. Verlag Horlemann, Berlin 1999.
 

Bernd Zabel wurde 1950 geboren und wuchs in der Rattenfänger-Stadt Hameln auf. Der Weg vom Schiller-Gymnasium zum Goethe-Institut führte über die Unis in Tübingen, Heidelberg und Berlin. 1978 promovierte der Literaturwissenschaftler mit einer Arbeit über die Kriegsdarstellung in den ersten Romanen nach 1945. Für das Goethe-Institut arbeitet er bereits seit 1981, unter anderem in Brasilien, Japan, Serbien, Schweden – und seit vier Jahren in der Zentrale im Fachbereich Literatur und Übersetzungsförderung. Dass sich die Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München befindet, trifft sich gut, denn in der Freizeit zieht es Zabel vor allem in die Bergwelt, bevorzugt die Tirols und Bayerns, und sehr gern auf, an und in die oberbayerischen Seen.