The City and Me Amman – Hard to Love, Hard to Leave

Twilight sheds its merciful light on the concrete desert of Amman
Twilight sheds its merciful light on the concrete desert of Amman | Photo: Sascha Lübbe

There are cities you can fall in love with instantly: Venice, Paris, New York. But some take more time. When Sascha Lübbe, participant in the journalists’ exchange Close-Up, arrived in the Jordanian capital city of Amman, he wanted one thing most of all: to leave again. This is a case for love at second sight.

Honestly? The first thing I thought when I arrived in Amman was, “How do I get back out?” Brought to the centre of the city by the taxi driver, I was suddenly standing in the middle of it: a gigantic sea of buildings. The city’s many hills are entirely plastered with beige-grey, at first completely identical looking houses. It looks monotonous. It feels confining.

But it soon passes. Amman is one of those cities that takes time. It took three days until it “clicked” with me. I had discovered the playful façade of Salon Verte, an old restaurant in the city centre. And the many narrow lanes of the city. The improvised souk with its loudly haggling vegetable sellers. But most of all the perceptibly friendly people who come from different parts of the world and make up the essence of this city as nothing else does.

Syrians, Egyptians, Somalians all crowding through the streets, standing together behind the counters of the restaurants and bakeries. And of course it is only a peaceful coexistence at first glance; of course there is also racism in Amman. Not a few Jordanians see Egyptians only as cheap labourers, women from the Philippines as cleaners and nannies. Nonetheless, this blend is impressive and unique.

It doesn’t stop at the doors of my host office at the Jordan Times, either. My supervisor comes from India and her deputy from Romania. There are Serbian reporters and American final editors. The editorial office jokingly calls itself the “United Nations.” What most impressed me is this incredible serenity with which they do their work. No hustle and bustle, no loud words, no bad moods. It’s familial. And when things are running late, there’s always telephone extension 25. When it’s rung, someone comes bringing freshly brewed coffee.

A touch of nature in the asphalt jungle: urban goats on their way through Jordan A touch of nature in the asphalt jungle: urban goats on their way through Jordan | Photo: Sascha Lübbe Generally, Amman is an extremely rewarding city for foreign journalists. You are right in the centre of the Middle East and yet live in relative safety. This has given the city an astonishing density of NGOs (you get the feeling that almost every European or American you meet in Amman works for an aid organization) and yet it also leads to repeated flows of refugees. This is a topic that interested me in particular.

Jordan has always been a country of immigrants. Long before the Syrians and Iraqis, thousands of Palestinians fled to the country. It is estimated that they make up far more than fifty percent of the Jordanian population. Most of them arrived following the establishment of the state of Israel in 1948 and after the Six-Day War. It was they, too, who ultimately transformed modest Amman into a true capital city.

The city looks accordingly “new fashioned.” Amman is no city out of Arabian Nights with picturesque medinas and historic city gates. Amman is a city of taxis, traffic jams and roundabouts. It is a modern city. Better yet, it is a city that was modern in the 1960s. No beauty in the classic sense, but charming in its own way.

“Tourists love Beirut, but no one wants to live there,” a Lebanese café proprietor in Jabal Al L'weibdeh, Amman’s trendy quarter, explained to me. “By contrast, Amman is initially repulsive. But those who stand it anyway end up staying.” I thought that was fitting. My stay lasted four weeks and it was hard for me to leave.

Die Stadt und ich Amman – Schwerer Einstieg, schwerer Abschied

Die Dämmerung wirft ihr gnädiges Licht auf die Betonwüste Amman
Die Dämmerung wirft ihr gnädiges Licht auf die Betonwüste Amman | Foto: Sascha Lübbe

Venedig, Paris, New York – es gibt Städte, in die kann man sich sofort verlieben. Doch das geht nicht überall. Als Sascha Lübbe, Teilnehmer des Journalistenaustauschs Nahaufnahme, in die jordanische Hauptstadt Amman kam, wollte er vor allem eines: wieder weg. Ein Plädoyer für die Liebe auf den zweiten Blick.

Ganz ehrlich? Mein erster Gedanke, als ich nach Amman kam, war: Wo geht’s hier wieder raus? Vom Taxifahrer in die Innenstadt gebracht, stand ich plötzlich mittendrin: in einem gigantischen Häusermeer. Die zahlreichen Hügel der Stadt sind komplett zugepflastert mit beige-grauen, auf den ersten Blick vollkommen identischen Häusern. Monoton sieht das aus. Beengt fühlt es sich an. Ein bisschen wie Plattenbau.

Aber das geht vorbei. Amman ist eine dieser Städte, die Zeit brauchen. Drei Tage hat es gedauert, dann hat es bei mir „klick“ gemacht. Da hatte ich die verspielte Fassade des Salon Verte, eines alten Restaurants im Stadtzentrum, entdeckt. Oder die vielen kleinen Gassen, die es in der Stadt gibt. Den improvisierten Suq mit seinen laut feilschenden Gemüsehändlern. Vor allem aber: die auffallend freundlichen Menschen, die aus verschiedenen Teilen der Welt kommen und die wie nichts anderes das Wesen dieser Stadt ausmachen.

Syrer, Ägypter, Somalier – sie alle drängen sich dicht an dicht durch die Straßen, stehen gemeinsam hinter den Theken der Restaurants und Bäckereien. Und natürlich ist das nur auf den ersten Blick ein friedliches Nebeneinander, natürlich gibt es auch Rassismus in Amman. Nicht wenige Jordanier sehen Ägypter nur als billige Arbeitskräfte, Philippinerinnen als Putzhilfen und Kindermädchen. Dennoch ist diese Mischung beeindruckend. Und einzigartig.

Und: Sie machte auch vor meiner Gastredaktion, der Jordan Times, nicht halt. Die Chefin vom Dienst kommt aus Indien, ihre Stellvertreterin aus Rumänien. Es gibt serbische Reporter und amerikanische Schlussredakteure. Die „Vereinten Nationen“ nennt sich die Redaktion im Spaß. Was mich am meisten beeindruckt hat, ist diese unglaubliche Ruhe, mit der sie ihre Arbeit tun. Keine Hektik, kein lautes Wort, keine schlechten Stimmungen. Familiär geht es zu. Und wenn es doch mal später wird, gibt es immer noch die Telefondurchwahl 25. Wenn man die wählt, kommt jemand und bringt frisch gebrühten Kaffee.

Ein Hauch von Natur im Asphaltdschungel: Urbane Ziegen auf ihrem Weg durch Jordanien Ein Hauch von Natur im Asphaltdschungel: Urbane Ziegen auf ihrem Weg durch Jordanien | Foto: Sascha Lübbe Überhaupt ist Amman eine äußerst dankbare Stadt für ausländische Journalisten. Man ist mittendrin im Nahen Osten und lebt doch in relativer Sicherheit. Das hat der Stadt einerseits eine erstaunliche NGO-Dichte beschert. (Man hat das Gefühl, fast jeder Europäer oder Amerikaner, den man in Amman trifft, arbeitet für eine Hilfsorganisation.) Andererseits führte es auch zu immer wiederkehrenden Flüchtlingsströmen. Ein Thema, das mich besonders interessiert hat.

Jordanien war schon immer ein Einwanderungsland. Lange bevor die Syrer und Iraker kamen, flüchteten Tausende von Palästinensern ins Land. Ihr Anteil an der jordanischen Bevölkerung wird auf weit über 50 Prozent geschätzt. Die meisten kamen nach der Gründung Israels im Jahre 1948 und nach dem Sechstagekrieg. Sie waren es letztlich auch, die aus dem beschaulichen Amman eine wirkliche Hauptstadt machten.

Entsprechend „neumodisch“ sieht die Stadt auch aus. Amman ist kein Traum aus Tausendundeiner Nacht mit malerischer Medina und historischen Stadttoren. Amman ist eine Stadt der Taxis, Staus und Kreisverkehre. Eine moderne Stadt. Oder besser: eine Stadt, die in den sechziger Jahren modern war. Keine Schönheit im klassischen Sinn. Aber doch charmant, auf ihre Art.

„Touristen lieben Beirut. Aber leben will dort keiner“, erklärte mir ein libanesischer Cafébesitzer in Jabal al-Weibdeh, dem „Szeneviertel“ Ammans. „Amman hingegen stößt erst einmal ab. Wer es dennoch aushält, der bleibt.“ Ich fand das treffend. Mein Aufenthalt dauerte vier Wochen. Und es fiel mir schwer zu gehen.