“My Path to Germany” Nevin on an Adventurous Journey

Germany for beginners: friends Nevin (right) and Yuna in their new adoptive home
Germany for beginners: friends Nevin (right) and Yuna in their new adoptive home | Photo: Goethe-Institut

One moment, you’re standing in the wrong queue, then standing puzzled at the ticket machine, and then you’re expected to know what kohlrabi is. Finding your way in Germany can be difficult, especially when you’re new here. The web portal Mein Weg nach Deutschland helps immigrants start out.

The first step has been made. The exam is passed proving the required basic German skills for a visa. Yet for most immigrants, it still takes a very long time – on average eleven months – until they can finally head off to Germany. Those who would like to make use of this time to prepare for their first weeks in Germany have a variety of opportunities to do so on the portal Mein Weg nach Deutschland (My Path to Germany).



For example, before their own journey to the new country, immigrants can join Nevin Coşkun on an adventurous trip through mystifying Germany. The 23-year-old Turk moved to Munich to join her husband and battles here with the pitfalls of daily life: hard-to-understand bus schedules, even more complicated ticket machines, classified adverts for flats that seem to be written in a secret language and hissing reptiles at the employment office. Then there are the vegetables with their many designations.

In eight short films, the viewer joins Nevin while learning how to take the bus in Germany, what to expect at the employment agency, how to party with flatmates and what to consider when searching for accommodations. There are many exercises for each film. But besides the videos, the portal conveys the necessary basics for the initial weeks and months after arriving in Germany. Whether school, marriage, shopping or insurance, on Mein Weg nach Deutschland you can find almost everything you need to know about the minor and major details of everyday life in your adopted country. Using numerous exercises, users can check their own knowledge; an extensive glossary and a vocabulary trainer also help to improve language skills.

To the web portal Mein Weg nach Deutschland To the web portal Mein Weg nach Deutschland | Copyright: Goethe-Institut
-db-

„Mein Weg nach Deutschland“ Nevin auf Abenteuerreise

Deutschland für Anfänger: Die Freundinnen Nevin (rechts) und Yuna in der neuen Wahlheimat
Deutschland für Anfänger: Die Freundinnen Nevin (rechts) und Yuna in der neuen Wahlheimat | Foto: Goethe-Institut

Mal steht man in der falschen Schlange, mal ratlos vor dem Automaten, und dann soll man auch noch wissen, was Kohlrabi ist. Sich in Deutschland zurechtzufinden ist manchmal nicht leicht – zumal, wenn man neu im Land ist. Das Webportal Mein Weg nach Deutschland hilft Zuwanderern beim Start.

Der erste Schritt ist geschafft. Die Prüfung ist abgelegt, die fürs Visum notwendigen Grundkenntnisse der deutschen Sprache sind nachgewiesen. Doch für die meisten Zuwanderer dauert es dann noch recht lange, bis sie tatsächlich den Weg nach Deutschland antreten können – im Schnitt elf Monate. Wer diese Zeit nutzen will, um sich auf die ersten Wochen in Deutschland vorzubereiten, dem bietet das Portal Mein Weg nach Deutschland hierzu vielfältige Möglichkeiten.



So können sich die Zuwanderer vor ihrer eigenen Reise ins neue Land beispielsweise mit Nevin Coşkun auf eine abenteuerliche Reise durchs wundersame Deutschland begeben. Die 23-jährige Türkin ist zu ihrem Mann nach München gezogen und kämpft hier mit den Tücken des Alltags – schwer verständlichen Busfahrplänen, noch komplizierteren Fahrkartenautomaten, Wohnungsanzeigen, die in einer Geheimsprache abgefasst zu sein scheinen, und zischenden Reptilien auf dem Arbeitsamt. Und dann ist da noch das Gemüse mit den vielfältigen Bezeichnungen.

In acht mehrminütigen Filmen lernt der Zuschauer gemeinsam mit Nevin, wie man in Deutschland Bus fährt, was einen auf der Agentur für Arbeit erwartet, wie man in deutschen Wohngemeinschaften feiert oder auch was bei der Wohnungssuche zu beachten ist. Zu jedem der Filme gibt es zahlreiche Übungen. Aber auch jenseits der Videos vermittelt das Portal das nötige Basiswissen für die erste Zeit nach der Ankunft in Deutschland. Ob Schule, Heirat, Einkaufen oder Versicherungen – auf Mein Weg nach Deutschland lässt sich fast alles nachlesen, was man über die kleinen und großen Dinge des Alltags in der Wahlheimat wissen muss. Anhand von zahlreichen Übungen lässt sich das eigene Wissen überprüfen; ein ausführliches Glossar sowie ein Vokabeltrainer helfen außerdem, die Sprachkenntnisse zu verbessern.

Zum Webportal „Mein Weg nach Deutschland“ Zum Webportal Mein Weg nach Deutschland | Copyright: Goethe-Institut
-db-