On the Death of Günter Grass “Oh, Mister Grass!”

Disputatious voice: Günter Grass at an event at the Goethe-Institut in Gdansk
Disputatious voice: Günter Grass at an event at the Goethe-Institut in Gdansk | Photo: Martin Wälde

Günter Grass is dead. Germany is mourning one of its most eminent writers. Grass was linked to the Goethe-Institut by a particularly long and close friendship. “He believed in the impact of literature,” remembers Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut.

The Goethe-Institut has hardly had a closer relationship with a German cultural figure than with Günter Grass. Over decades, the writer exerted an influence for the Goethe-Institut as a rebellious, disputatious and controversial speaker, with his prose and poetry and his drawings in many countries around the world. He always guaranteed full attention and full auditoriums.

“For me, Günter Grass was a great, but also an incredibly challenging interlocutor,” remembers Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut. Yet he never encountered the later Nobel prizewinner as an aloof celebrity. “Grass was always willing to accept my invitations to readings, to debates and to lectures. He believed in the impact of literature.”

In the appraisal of the author by Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, his memories are similar. “With the passing of Günter Grass we have lost one of the most eminent German writers of the post-war era. At the Goethe-Institut, however, we also are mourning the loss a very good friend of whom many staff members have very personal memories,” Ebert said. “Over many decades, Grass was one of the most important German voices in the world, also and in particular because his relationship with Germany was never without friction. In addition to his wonderful literary oeuvre, he often offered us important stimuli in social and political debate. We must be deeply grateful to Grass, for after the Second World War he made a decisive contribution towards generating trust in Germany again – with disputability in the best possible sense.”

Grass was also an important ally of the Goethe-Institut in another way, Lehmann adds, “He was a persuasive and staunch advocate of translators. He was aware of their incredibly important service as bridge builders and ferrymen for mutual knowledge of world literatures and supported and promoted their interests.” For many years, Grass was the patron of the writers’ and translators’ award Die Brücke, which Lehmann and Grass initiated together.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann also has very personal memories of the writer, but as a reader and as a companion. “For me personally, The Tin Drum is one of the books that affected me the most and most lastingly and that I have read and re-read over the course of my life.” Yet he particularly remembers a day in 1999. “In Stockholm, I experienced an immensely joyous recipient of the Noble Prize in Literature. Not only did he celebrate all night long with his big family and his friends, one of whom I was honoured to be, but the next day he endured a reading marathon, which earned him the greatest approval, not only because of his steadfastness.”

One of the staff members of the Goethe-Institut who encountered Günter Grass in recent years most often is Martin Wälde, presently the director of the institute in Mumbai. “I invited Günter Grass to three major events,” Wälde recalls. In 2007, Grass’s 80th birthday was celebrated in his hometown of Gdansk. “We invited him to a panel discussion in Gdansk with the Goethe-Institut Warsaw, which Lech Walesa and Richard von Weizsäcker also took part in. The discussion was highly significant because one year before in his autobiography Grass had written about his membership in the SS as a young man for the first time, which had led to considerable international outrage. Grass, the ‘moral conscience’ of Germany, the disputatious poet and trouble-maker, had kept his membership in the SS a secret for decades.” At the time, Walesa had even demanded that his honorary citizenship in Gdansk he revoked. “The 2007 meeting in Gdansk was a sort of reconcilement with Grass. After all, hardly any German intellectual had worked harder for reconciliation with Poland than Grass.”

Günter Grass travelled the world with the Goethe-Institut for fifty years. This experience abroad was a great benefit, particularly for a young author. “They were an opportunity to escape from the German-German situation,” Grass said of the journeys in an interview for the sixtieth anniversary of the Goethe-Institut. In the 1970s, a journey with the Goethe-Institut was even directly reflected in his work. “When I came to Kolkata and was confronted with the slums and the misery, but at the same time with the Bengali culture and vitality, I was unable to write at first,” said Grass. He therefore began expressing himself in drawings. “Through drawing, I then moved to a diary-like writing, which then led to a longer Kolkata poem. From these three elements – journal notes, poetry and drawings – I then produced the book Zunge zeigen.”

Goethe associate Martin Wälde recalls how many years later, in January 2005, Grass returned to Kolkata. The two weeks in the city were “like a visit by a head of state with police escorts.” he remembers, “Grass was certainly the most significant writer and intellectual in our cultural dialogue with India. Almost everyone there knew him, especially in Bengal.” Even the rickshaw drivers on Kolkata’s streets immediately recognized the guest from Germany, crying, “Oh, Mister Grass!”

The decades-long friendship between Grass and the Goethe-Institut was based mainly on mutual respect. When Grass was asked four years ago his wish for the Goethe-Institut’s sixtieth anniversary, he replied, “The public and the prevailing government should acknowledge that the accomplishments of the Goethe-Institut are among the finest of the Federal Republic.”

-db-

Zum Tod von Günter Grass „Oh, Mister Grass!“

Streitbare Stimme: Günter Grass bei einer Veranstaltung des Goethe-Instituts in Danzig
Streitbare Stimme: Günter Grass bei einer Veranstaltung des Goethe-Instituts in Danzig | Foto: Martin Wälde

Günter Grass ist tot. Deutschland trauert um einen seiner bedeutendsten Schriftsteller. Mit dem Goethe-Institut verband Grass eine besonders lange wie innige Freundschaft. „Er glaubte an die Wirkung der Literatur“, erinnert sich Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts.

Mit kaum einem deutschen Kulturschaffenden hatte das Goethe-Institut eine so innige Beziehung wie mit Günter Grass. Der Schriftsteller hat für das Goethe-Institut über Jahrzehnte hinweg als widerspenstiger, streitbarer und umstrittener Redner, mit seiner Prosa und Lyrik, seinen Zeichnungen, in viele Länder der Welt hineingewirkt. Volle Aufmerksamkeit und volle Säle garantiert.

„Günter Grass war für mich ein großartiger, aber auch ein ungemein fordernder Gesprächspartner“, erinnert sich Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, an den Schriftsteller. Dabei habe er den späteren Nobelpreisträger nie als abgehobenen Star kennengelernt. „Grass war immer bereit, meinen Einladungen zu Lesungen, zu Debatten und zu Vorträgen zu folgen. Er glaubte an die Wirkung der Literatur.“

Ähnlich erinnert sich auch Johannes Ebert, der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, in seiner Würdigung des Autors: „Mit Günter Grass verlieren wir einen der bedeutendsten deutschen Schriftsteller der Nachkriegszeit. Im Goethe-Institut trauern wir aber auch um einen guten Freund, mit dem viele Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen ganz besondere persönliche Erinnerungen verknüpfen“, so Ebert. „Grass war über viele Jahrzehnte hinweg eine der wichtigsten deutschen Stimmen in der Welt, auch und gerade weil sein Verhältnis zu Deutschland nie spannungsfrei blieb. Neben seinem wunderbaren literarischen Werk hat er uns oft wichtige Impulse in der gesellschaftlichen und politischen Debatte gegeben. Man muss Grass zutiefst dankbar sein: Er hat nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, in der Welt wieder Vertrauen für Deutschland herzustellen – mit Streitbarkeit im bestmöglichen Sinne.“

Auch in einer anderen Sache sei Grass ein wichtiger Mitstreiter des Goethe-Instituts gewesen, ergänzt Lehmann: „Er war ein überzeugender und überzeugter Anwalt der Übersetzer. Er wusste um deren unglaublich wichtige Leistung als Brückenbauer und Fährleute für die gegenseitige Kenntnis der Weltliteraturen und unterstützte und förderte deren Interessen.“ So war Grass über viele Jahre Schirmherr des Autoren- und Übersetzer-Preises „Die Brücke“ gewesen, den Lehmann und Grass gemeinsam initiiert hatten.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann hat aber auch ganz persönliche Erinnerungen an den Schriftsteller – als Leser wie als Wegbegleiter. „Die Blechtrommel ist für mich persönlich eines der Bücher, die mich am stärksten und nachhaltigsten geprägt haben, die ich auch in verschiedenen Lebensabschnitten immer wieder neu gelesen habe.“ Besonders sticht in der Erinnerung jedoch ein Tag im Jahr 1999 heraus: „Ich habe in Stockholm einen ungemein lebensfrohen Preisträger des Nobelpreises für Literatur erlebt. Nicht nur, dass er mit der großen Familie und den Freunden, zu denen ich mich zählen durfte, die ganze Nacht durchfeierte, er hat am nächsten Tag auch einen Lesemarathon bestanden, der ihm nicht nur wegen seiner Standfestigkeit die größten Sympathien eingetragen hat.“

Einer der Mitarbeiter des Goethe-Instituts, die Günter Grass in den letzten Jahren am häuftigsten begegnet sind, ist Martin Wälde, derzeit Institutsleiter in Mumbai. „Ich habe Günter Grass zu drei großen Ereignissen eingeladen“, erinnert sich Wälde. So sei Grass in seiner Heimatstadt Danzig 2007 anlässlich seines 80. Geburtstags groß gefeiert worden. „Damals hatten wir ihn zu einer Podiumsdiskussion in Danzig mit dem Goethe-Institut Warschau eingeladen, an der Lech Walesa und Richard von Weizsäcker teilnahmen. Das Gespräch hatte eine besondere Bedeutung, weil Grass das Jahr zuvor über seine SS-Mitgliedschaft als junger Mann erstmals in seiner Autobiografie geschrieben hatte, was international zu erheblicher Entrüstung geführt hatte. Grass, das ,moralische Gewissen‘ Deutschlands, der streitbare Dichter und Unruhestifter, hatte seine Mitgliedschaft in der SS Jahrzehnte verschwiegen.“ Walesa habe damals gar die Aberkennung seiner Ehrenbürgerschaft in Danzig gefordert. „Das Treffen 2007 in Danzig war dann eine Art Versöhnung mit Grass. Kaum ein deutscher Intellektueller hatte sich schließlich so für die Aussöhnung mit Polen eingesetzt wie Grass.“

Über 50 Jahre war Günter Grass mit dem Goethe-Institut weltweit unterwegs. Gerade für einen jungen Autor seien diese Erfahrungen im Ausland ein großer Gewinn gewesen. „Sie waren die Möglichkeit, herauszukommen aus der deutsch-deutschen Situation“, erzählte Grass in einem Interview anlässlich des 60. Geburtstags des Goethe-Instituts. Einmal, in den Siebzigerjahren, schlug sich eine Reise mit dem Goethe-Institut sogar direkt in einem Werk nieder: „Als ich nach Kalkutta kam, mit den Slums und dem Elend konfrontiert war, aber gleichzeitig auch mit bengalischer Hochkultur und vitalem Leben, konnte ich zuerst nicht schreiben“, so Grass. Er habe dann zunächst aufs Zeichnen zurückgegriffen. „Über das Zeichnen bin ich dann zu einem tagebuchartigen Schreiben gekommen, dass dann zu einem längeren Kalkutta-Gedicht führte. Aus diesen drei Elementen – Tagebuchnotizen, Gedicht und Zeichnungen – habe ich das Buch Zunge zeigen gemacht.“

Goethe-Mitarbeiter Martin Wälde erinnert sich, wie Grass dann viele Jahre später, im Januar 2005, erneut nach Kalkutta kam. Die zwei Wochen in der Metropole hätten „fast den Charakter einer Visite eines Staatsoberhaupts mit Polizeibegleitung“ gehabt. „Grass war gewiss der wichtigste Schriftsteller und Intellektuelle im Kulturaustausch mit Indien, fast jeder kannte ihn dort, vor allem in Bengalen.“ Selbst die Rikschafahrer auf den Straßen Kalkuttas hätten den Gast aus Deutschland sofort erkannt: „Oh, Mister Grass!“

Die jahrzehntelange Freundschaft zwischen Grass und dem Goethe-Institut beruhte vor allem auf gegenseitgem Respekt. Als Grass vor vier Jahren gefragt wurde, was er dem Goethe-Institut zu 60. Geburtstag wünsche, antwortete er: „Die Öffentlichkeit und die jeweilige Regierung sollten anerkennen, dass die Leistungen des Goethe-Instituts zu den schönsten Errungenschaften der Bundesrepublik gehören.“

-db-