Video Mosaic Hamburg, Rio, Tokyo

In Munich, the young filmmakers also caught up with Freddie Mercury
In Munich, the young filmmakers also caught up with Freddie Mercury | Screenshot: Goethe-Institut

Three minutes, that’s all. That was the only rule. That was the time young journalists from around the world had to portray their cities. The result: 180 Seconds City, a diversified film journey from Montréal to Tokyo. The first season is about space and time.

Dietmar Holzapfel is the proprietor of the Deutsche Eiche restaurant, which he and his husband operate. Deutsche Eiche (German Oak) is part of the traditional gay scene surrounding Gärtnerplatz in Munich. Holzapfel relates how the quarter has changed since the 1980s when even Freddie Mercury lived here for a while. One good example for the changing scene is the Paradiso Bar; “today it’s more hetero,” Holzapfel says. It once was called Old Mrs. Henderson and was Mercury’s second home.



The snapshot from Munich is one of the 16 first contributions to the project. Where is the city a hectic place? Where can you find peace and quiet? In the first season of 180 Seconds City, the filmmakers seek out places that resist the rapid changes of the city. We travel upwards in a lift and underground on the Metro. The young filmmakers accompany their protagonists to where the day begins and where the night never ends.

After a night in a capsule hotel in Tokyo, we can visit the art restorer Jorge at the Reina Sofía in Madrid, take a walk through Kolkata’s streets and to Hamburg’s harbour. And what is the secret around Saul, the owner of the last sewing machine shop in Montréal? Put together, the filmic anecdotes from sixteen cities create a colourful mosaic, a global snapshot of the city. The German films from Berlin, Hamburg, Cologne, Munich and Leipzig were produced by graduates of the Deutsche Journalistenschule, the international films by the Internet editors of the local Goethe-Instituts. The makers were free to choose how to portray their cities. The only rule was they had to do it in 180 seconds.

To the web portal 180 Seconds City To the web portal 180 Seconds City | Screenshot: Goethe-Institut
-db-

Video-Mosaik Hamburg, Rio, Tokyo

In München waren die Jungfilmer auch Freddie Mercury auf der Spur
In München waren die Jungfilmer auch Freddie Mercury auf der Spur | Screenshot: Goethe-Institut

Drei Minuten, mehr gibt es nicht. Das war die einzige Vorgabe. In dieser Zeit mussten junge Journalisten aus der ganzen Welt ihre Stadt porträtieren. Das Ergebnis: 180 Sekunden Stadt, eine abwechslungsreiche filmische Reise von Montréal bis nach Tokyo. In der ersten Staffel geht es um Raum und Zeit.

Dietmar Holzapfel ist der Besitzer des Restaurants Deutsche Eiche, das er mit seinem Mann führt. Die Deutsche Eiche ist ein Stück Tradition der schwulen Szene rund um den Gärtnerplatz in München. Holzapfel erzählt, wie sich das Viertel seit den Achtzigerjahren verändert hat, als zeitweise sogar Freddie Mercury hier lebte. Bestes Beispiel für die sich wandelnde Szene ist die Paradiso-Bar, „heute eher ein Hetero-Laden“, wie Holzapfel erzählt. Früher hieß sie Old Mrs. Henderson und war Mercurys zweites Wohnzimmer.



Die Momentaufnahme aus München ist einer von 16 ersten Beiträgen des Projekts. Wo geht es in der Stadt hektisch zu? Wo lädt sie zum Verweilen ein? In der ersten Staffel von 180 Sekunden Stadt spüren die Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher Orte auf, die dem rasanten Wandel der Stadt Widerstand leisten. Es geht im Aufzug nach oben, mit der Metro durch den Untergrund. Die Jungfilmer begleiten ihre Protagonisten dorthin, wo der Tag beginnt, und dorthin, wo die Nacht nicht enden will.

Nach einer Nacht im Kapselhotel in Tokyo steht in Madrid ein Besuch bei Restaurator Jorge im Reina Sofía an, zu Fuß geht es durch Kolkatas Straßen und an den Hamburger Hafen. Und welches Geheimnis umgibt Saul, den Besitzer des letzten Nähmaschinengeschäfts in Montréal? Die filmischen Anekdoten aus 16 verschiedenen Metropolen ergeben zusammengesetzt ein buntes Mosaik, eine globale Momentaufnahme von Stadt. Die deutschen Beiträge – sie kommen aus Berlin, Hamburg, Köln, München und Leipzig – wurden von Absolventen der Deutschen Journalistenschule erstellt, die internationalen Filme von den Webredakteuren der dortigen Goethe-Institute. Wie sie die jeweiligen Städte porträtieren wollten, blieb den Autoren dabei völlig selbst überlassen. Einzige Bedingung: Sie mussten es in 180 Sekunden tun.

Zum Webportal „180 Sekunden Stadt“ Zum Webportal 180 Sekunden Stadt | Screenshot: Goethe-Institut
-db-