Goethe in Venice Special Honour for Harun Farocki

Stalin double at work: Labour in a Single Shot was Farocki’s last great work
Stalin double at work: Labour in a Single Shot was Farocki’s last great work | Screenshot: Farocki/Ehmann

Harun Farocki, Alexander Kluge and a chorus of dying languages: This year, the Goethe-Institut is being represented at the Biennale in Venice in multiple projects. One was even honoured by the Biennale jury with a Special Mention.

Until 22 November 2015, the international art world looks to Venice. The international art exhibition held there very two years is one of the world’s most renowned. The Goethe-Institut is involved in a number of projects this year. For the 56th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia with the title All The World’s Futures, this year’s director, Okwui Enwezor, chose three works associated with the Goethe-Institut: Harun Farocki’s complete works, which were digitalized with help from the Goethe-Institut, Farocki’s last major participatory project Labour in a Single Shot and Alexander Kluge’s new production of his film News from Ideological Antiquity, which was subtitled by the Goethe-Institut.

The artist Harun Farocki, who passed away last year, was posthumously honoured. In addition to two Golden and one Silver Lion, the jury of the 56th Biennale decided to assign three Special Mentions to artists – one of them to Farocki. According to the jury, the director was “a seminal figure in post-war cinema.” The presentation at the Biennale makes his highly influential work accessible to a larger public.

The works by Farocki have been digitalized in high quality and are all being presented for the first time on 86 monitors in the central exhibition space in stages by the end of the Biennale. In addition, one film at a time will be presented in a specially constructed cinema. The Biennale is also showing Labour in a Single Shot, which Farocki produced together with Antje Ehmann with the participation of fifteen Goethe-Instituts. Four hundred single films from fifteen places and five continents are put in a spatial form as miniature films and form a visual encyclopaedia of global labour conditions in the 21st century created by artistic means.



In News from Ideological Antiquity , the German filmmaker Alexander Kluge created a kind of arcades project on the interrelations of film history, the labour movement and the criticism of capitalism. Kluge composes a many-voiced approach to the modern classic Capital by Karl Marx and memorializes a failed film project by Sergei Eisenstein of 1927. At the Venice Biennale, a newly edited version of the six-hour masterpiece will be projected on three screens. In cooperation with Alexander Kluge, the Goethe-Institut produced a DVD boxed set with English subtitles.



In the Latin American pavilion, the Istituto Italo-Latino Americano is showing Indigenous Voices – Voces Indígenas with support from the Goethe-Institut. The sound installation from 17 artists’ perspectives deals with the endangered linguistic diversity on the continent. About one third of the roughly six hundred indigenous languages are acutely threatened with extinction. The exhibition, curated by the director of the Goethe-Institut Rio de Janeiro, Alfons Hug, lends voices to these languages and will later tour twelve South American cities.

Goethe in Venedig Besondere Ehre für Harun Farocki

Stalin-Double bei der Arbeit:
Stalin-Double bei der Arbeit: Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit war Farockis letztes großes Werk | Screenshot: Farocki/Ehmann

Harun Farocki, Alexander Kluge und ein Chor zum Tode geweihter Sprachen: Das Goethe-Institut ist in diesem Jahr gleich mit mehreren Projekten auf der Biennale in Venedig vertreten. Eines wurde sogar von der Biennale-Jury mit einer speziellen Erwähnung gewürdigt.

Bis zum 22. November 2015 schaut die internationale Kunstwelt auf Venedig. Die alle zwei Jahre stattfindende internationale Kunstausstellung gehört zu den renommiertesten Kunstschauen der Welt. Das Goethe-Institut ist dieses Jahr an mehreren Projekten beteiligt. Für die 56. Internationale Kunstausstellung – La Biennale di Venezia mit dem Titel All The World’s Futures, hat der diesjährige Direktor Okwui Enwezor drei mit dem Goethe-Institut verbundene Arbeiten ausgewählt: das Gesamtwerk von Harun Farocki, das mit Hilfe des Goethe-Instituts digitalisiert wurde, Farockis letztes partizipatives Großprojekt Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit sowie Alexander Kluges Neuinszenierung seines Films Nachrichten aus der ideologischen Antike, der vom Goethe-Institut mit Untertiteln ausgestattet wurde.

Eine besondere Würdigung wurde posthum dem im vergangenen Jahr verstorbenen Künstler Harun Farocki zuteil. Die Jury der 56. Biennale entschied sich, neben zwei Goldenen und einem Silbernen Löwen auch drei „Besondere Erwähnungen“ zu vergeben – eine davon an Farocki. Der Regisseur sei „eine bahnbrechende Figur des Nachkriegskinos“ gewesen, so die Jury. Die Präsentation auf der Biennale mache sein einflussreiches Werk einem größeren Publikum zugänglich.

Farockis hochwertig digitalisierten Arbeiten werden auf 86 Monitoren erstmalig komplett bis zum Ende der Biennale nach und nach im zentralen Ausstellungsraum präsentiert. Darüber hinaus wird jeweils einer der Filme in einem extra hierfür gebauten Kino präsentiert. Zusätzlich zeigt die Biennale Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit / Labour in a Single Shot, das Farocki zusammen mit Antje Ehmann realisiert hat und an dem 15 Goethe-Institute beteiligt waren. 400 Einzelfilme aus 15 Orten und fünf Kontinenten werden als Filmminiaturen in eine räumliche Form gebracht und bilden eine mit künstlerischen Mitteln erarbeitete, visuelle Enzyklopädie der globalen Arbeitsverhältnisse im 21. Jahrhundert.



In den Nachrichten aus der ideologischen Antike inszeniert der deutsche Filmemacher Alexander Kluge eine Art Passagenwerk zu den Verflechtungen von Filmgeschichte, Arbeiterbewegung und Kapitalismuskritik. Kluge komponiert eine vielstimmige Annäherung an den modernen Klassiker Das Kapital von Karl Marx und setzt einem gescheiterten Filmprojekt Sergej Eisensteins aus dem Jahr 1927 ein Denkmal. Auf der Venedig Biennale wird das sechsstündige Meisterwerk in einer neugeschnittenen Fassung auf drei Leinwände projiziert. In Zusammenarbeit mit Alexander Kluge hat das Goethe-Institut eine DVD-Box mit englischen Untertiteln produziert.



Im lateinamerikanischen Pavillon zeigt das Istituto Italo-Latino Americano mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Indigene Stimmen – Voces Indígenas. Die Klanginstallation aus 17 künstlerischen Positionen setzt sich mit der gefährdeten Sprachenvielfalt auf dem lateinamerikanischen Kontinent auseinander. Etwa ein Drittel der rund sechshundert indigenen Sprachen ist akut vom Aussterben bedroht. Die von Alfons Hug, dem Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Rio de Janeiro, kuratierte Ausstellung verschafft diesen Stimmen Gehör und reist anschließend in zwölf Städte Südamerikas.