Writers in Exile Offering Refuge to Authors

In the Goethe-Institut library: Najet Adouani is pleased about her first book published in German
In the Goethe-Institut library: Najet Adouani is pleased about her first book published in German | Photo: David Weyand

Writing can be perilous; it is sometimes life threatening. In many countries, dissident authors are faced with repression. Many of them end up fleeing for their lives. PEN and the Goethe-Institut support writers in German exile like Najet Adouani from Tunisia. By David Weyand

Flowers grow and wilt in the poems by the Tunisian writer Najet Adouani. Jasmine symbolizes the Mediterranean, it stands for beauty and peace. “The roses are my tears and the blood of the people who fight for their rights,” she explains. And the scent of flowers reminds her of her mother’s garden. But instead of enjoying its blossoms, this early summer the author is meandering under grey clouds through an oasis in Berlin. The little piece of earth between a roundabout and blocks of flats is called Prinzessinnengarten or Princesses Garden.

A young woman with a peacock’s feather in her hat is guiding a group from the Goethe-Institut through the neighbourhood garden. They come to a halt in front of a beehive. Adouani, dressed in dark colours, with a black braid and sunglasses perched on her head, asks in hesitant German, “What do they eat in the city?” A few metres on she points at white, earth-filled sacks. “And why do you plant the seedlings in there?” she asks softly. “I’m interested in details; they are important for my writing,” the poet explains. Adouani was born in 1956 and should not have even gone to school because she was a girl. But she began winning literary prizes in her teenaged years, later studied journalism and worked for newspapers and the radio.

Her entire life has been shaped by language, but now she’s back at the beginning, learning German at the Goethe-Institut. At the end of their course, she, her teacher and 15 other language learners from Chile, England, the United States, Taiwan and Turkey visit the Berlin neighbourhood of Kreuzberg. Najet Adouani is not only older than most of them, but is also here for a different reason. While others want to study or work in Germany, she was forced to flee here from Tunisia three years ago. It was not the first time. Between 1982 and 1997 she lived in exile in Baghdad, Beirut, Yemen, Prague and Cyprus.

After the Tunisian revolution, Adouani’s words in favour of women’s rights, liberty and peace also incensed the new government. “The coffee is black, even the rosebush is in mourning. The spring forgot to come to my balcony, it was dispersed by the storm of the Arab Spring, leaving bare the twigs and branches,” she wrote in the summer of 2012. Recently, selected prose works written by her between 1982 and 2012 were published under the title of Meerwüste (Sea Desert) by Lotus Werkstatt. It is her first book to be translated into German.

In order to protect her three adults sons who stayed behind the author will not speak of how, when and where they threatened her or what she fears. She fled in October 2012 at first to Weimar, where she received a Friedl Dicker Scholarship. As thankful as she is for the time she was able to spend in Weimar, she was nevertheless happy to be accepted for the Writers-in-Exile programme of the PEN-Zentrum Deutschland in April 2013 and to move. “I feel more at home in Berlin. I like the art house cinemas, I can get North African food, and the graffiti reminds me of the murals painted during the Arab Spring.”

“Language is the key to integration”

The German students move on from the community garden to the nearby Oranienplatz. “Last year, refugees demonstrated for their rights here,” explains their teacher. A woman passing by squawks at her, “You don’t know a thing, all lies!” The students’ faces show bewilderment, but the teacher smiles. “That’s called Berliner Schnauze (Berlin lip); we already talked about that.” This is Najet Adouani’s third language course. Her favourite words are Freiheit, Demokratie, Gesundheit (freedom, democracy, health).

Two years ago, Bernd Zabel, consultant in the Literature and Translation division of the Goethe-Institut and member of the executive committee of the PEN-Zentrum Deutschland, made sure that exiled authors could take free German courses. So far, six of them have taken up the offer. “Language is the key to integration,” says Zabel. The PEN programme has been in existence since 1999 and receives 370,000 euros in funding annually from the State Ministry of Culture. It allows imperilled writers from countries like Azerbaijan, China, Iran, Colombia, Syria, Togo and Vietnam to live and work in Germany safely for up to three years. The programme presently has three scholarship holders.

The author Liu Dejun: “I can write whatever I want” The author Liu Dejun: “I can write whatever I want” | Photo: private One of them is Liu Dejun. The 39-year-old human rights activist and blogger from China was kidnapped, mistreated and imprisoned a number of times. His friend, the dissident Ai Weiwei, made a film about his story. After travelling abroad, Liu did to return home and has been a guest of the German PEN-Zentrum since November 2013. His best experience: “I can write whatever I want in social media and my blog.” His Chinese website was censored and he now writes from Nuremberg on www.freeinchina.org about human rights issues in China. He even has written some articles in German, which he learned at the Goethe-Institut in Schwäbisch-Hall. He now wants to study law, “to be better able to advocate for human rights in China.” Liu would like to return home; he misses his ailing parents. He has been blacklisted, however, he says, and it would be too dangerous.

Persistent fears and traumas

Mansoureh Shojaee is in a similar situation. In 2010, after her third jail term in the infamous Evin prison in Tehran, the Iranian feminist and journalist travelled to Germany to visit her sister. She wanted to recuperate from the exertion, reach out to women’s rights activists and then return to Iran. Then the regime arrested her lawyer. Shojaee protested and gave interviews and charges were again brought against her. She made the decision to stay here. She was also a recipient of the Writers-in-Exile programme from 2011 until late 2013. She remembers it as “a wonderful time in a compassionate, safe and friendly atmosphere.”

The feminist Mansoureh Shojaee: five years in exile The feminist Mansoureh Shojaee: five years in exile | Photo: private She did not take a German course, however. “I would have liked to take the opportunity to understand the language of Goethe and Grass,” she says, “but I was trapped in an indeterminate situation: I wanted to return to my country and missed my son, political allies and activities.” Bernd Zabel understands it well, explaining, “We must be very sensitive with the participants who are burdened by fears for their families and friends, but also by memories and traumas.” In addition to safety, accommodations and language courses, the Writers-in-Exile programme also provides the writers with information about the German country and people as well as social and professional contacts. Najet Adouani was able to meet German colleagues at readings and writers’ conferences in Augsburg, Hamburg and Leipzig and was able to read her work to an audience for the first time. “Those were great experiences; sometimes I feel like a celebrity,” she says.

She reaches the final stop on the tour of Berlin: the river Spree. They learn where the Berlin wall ran and that East German citizens were often shot when border guards caught them trying to escape. Najet Adouani gazes at the other shore, her heart-shaped earrings dangle as she shakes her head. She sighs, “How horrible. Why do people do things like that to other people?”

„Writers in Exile“ Eine Obhut für Autoren

In der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts: Autorin Adouani freut sich über ihre erste Veröffentlichung in deutscher Sprache
In der Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts: Autorin Adouani freut sich über ihre erste Veröffentlichung in deutscher Sprache | Foto: David Weyand

Schreiben kann gefährlich sein. Mitunter lebensgefährlich. In vielen Ländern müssen regimekritische Autoren mit Repressionen rechnen – und am Ende fliehen. Der PEN und das Goethe-Institut unterstützen Schriftsteller wie die Tunesierin Najet Adouani im deutschen Exil. Von David Weyand

Blumen wachsen und welken in den Gedichten der tunesischen Schriftstellerin Najet Adouani. Jasmin symbolisiert das Mediterrane, steht für Schönheit und Frieden. „Die Rosen sind meine Tränen und das Blut der Menschen, die für ihre Rechte kämpfen“, sagt sie. Und Blumenduft erinnert sie an den Garten der Mutter. Doch statt deren Blütenpracht riechen zu können, schlendert die Autorin im Frühsommer unter grauen Wolken durch eine Oase in Berlin – Prinzessinnengarten heißt das Fleckchen Erde zwischen Kreisverkehr und Mietshäusern.

Eine junge Frau mit Pfauenfeder im Hut führt die Gruppe des Goethe-Instituts durch den Nachbarschaftsgarten. Vor einem Bienenstock bleiben sie stehen. Adouani – dunkel gekleidet, schwarzer Zopf, Sonnenbrille im Haar – fragt in stockendem Deutsch: „Was essen die in der Stadt?“ Ein paar Meter weiter zeigt sie auf weiße, mit Erde gefüllte Säcke. „Und warum pflanzt ihr die Setzlinge da rein?“, fragt sie mit leiser Stimme. „Ich interessiere mich für Details, die sind wichtig für meine Texte“, erklärt die Dichterin. Adouani wurde 1956 geboren, eigentlich sollte sie gar nicht zur Schule gehen, weil sie ein Mädchen ist. Aber dann gewann sie schon als Jugendliche Literaturpreise, später studierte sie Journalismus und arbeitete für Zeitungen und das Radio.

Ihr ganzes Leben ist von Sprache geprägt, doch jetzt steht sie wieder am Anfang: Sie lernt am Goethe-Institut Deutsch. Zum Ende ihres Kurses besucht sie mit ihrer Lehrerin und 15 Sprachschülern aus Chile, England, den USA, Taiwan und der Türkei den Berliner Stadtteil Kreuzberg. Najet Adouani ist nicht nur älter als die meisten, sie ist auch aus einem besonderen Grund hier. Während andere in Deutschland studieren oder arbeiten wollen, musste sie vor drei Jahren aus Tunesien fliehen. Schon wieder. Bereits zwischen 1982 und 1997 lebte sie in Bagdad, Beirut, dem Jemen, Prag und auf Zypern im Exil.

Adouanis Worte für Frauenrechte, Freiheit und Frieden erzürnten nach der tunesischen Revolution auch die neuen Herrscher. „Der Kaffee ist schwarz, auch der Rosenstock trägt Trauer. Der Frühling hat versäumt, an meinen Balkon zu kommen, zerstoben ist er im Sturm des Arabischen Frühlings, so blieben Zweige und Äste kahl“, schrieb sie im Sommer 2012. Ausgewählte Prosa, entstanden zwischen 1982 und 2012, ist kürzlich unter dem Titel Meerwüste im Verlag Lotus Werkstatt erschienen – ihr erstes ins Deutsche übersetzte Buch.

Wie, wann und wo sie ihr drohten oder was sie befürchtete, darüber schweigt die Autorin aus Sorge um ihre drei erwachsenen Söhne, die geblieben sind. Sie selbst floh im Oktober 2012 zunächst nach Weimar, wo sie das Friedl-Dicker-Stipendium erhielt. So dankbar sie für die Zeit in Weimar ist, so war sie doch froh, als sie im April 2013 ins Writers-in-Exile-Programm des PEN-Zentrums Deutschland aufgenommen wurde und umziehen konnte. „In Berlin fühle ich mich wohler, ich mag die Programmkinos, bekomme nordafrikanisches Essen, und die Graffitis erinnern mich an die Wandmalereien während der Arabischen Revolution.“

„Sprache ist der Schlüssel zur Integration“

Vom Gemeinschaftsgarten gehen die Deutschschüler weiter zum nahegelegenen Oranienplatz. „Flüchtlinge protestierten hier im vergangenen Jahr für ihre Rechte“, erklärt die Lehrerin. Eine Passantin blökt sie an: „Ihr habt ja keine Ahnung, alles Lüge!“ Verdutzte Gesichter bei den Schülern, ein Lächeln auf dem Gesicht der Lehrerin: „Das nennt man Berliner Schnauze, darüber haben wir bereits gesprochen.“ Für Najet Adouani ist es der dritte Sprachkurs, ihre Lieblingswörter: Freiheit, Demokratie, Gesundheit.

Bernd Zabel, Referent im Fachbereich Literatur und Übersetzung des Goethe-Instituts und Mitglied im Präsidium des PEN-Zentrums Deutschland, hat vor zwei Jahren dafür gesorgt, dass die Exil-Autoren kostenfreie Deutschkurse belegen können. Bislang haben sechs Autoren das freiwillige Angebot angenommen. „Sprache ist der Schlüssel zur Integration“, sagt Zabel. Insgesamt gibt es das PEN-Programm schon seit 1999, finanziert wird es mit jährlich 370.000 Euro vom Kulturstaatsministerium. Akut gefährdete Autoren aus Ländern wie Aserbaidschan, China, Iran, Kolumbien, Syrien, Togo oder Vietnam können damit bis zu drei Jahre sicher in Deutschland leben und arbeiten. Zurzeit sind es acht Stipendiaten.

Autor Liu: „Ich kann schreiben, was ich will“ Autor Liu: „Ich kann schreiben, was ich will“ | Foto: privat Einer von ihnen ist Liu Dejun. Der 39-jährige Menschenrechtsaktivist und Blogger aus China wurde mehrmals verschleppt, misshandelt und inhaftiert. Sein Freund, der Dissident Ai Weiwei, hat seine Geschichte verfilmt. Nach einem Auslandsaufenthalt kehrte Liu nicht in seine Heimat zurück, seit November 2013 ist er Gast des PEN-Zentrums. Die beste Erfahrung: „Ich kann in sozialen Medien und meinem Blog schreiben, was ich will.“ Seine chinesische Website wurde zensiert, jetzt schreibt er auf www.freeinchina.org aus Nürnberg über Menschenrechte in China. Manche Artikel verfasst er sogar auf Deutsch, das hat er am Goethe-Institut in Schwäbisch-Hall gelernt. Jetzt will er noch Jura studieren, „um zukünftig besser für Menschenrechte in China eintreten zu können“. Gerne würde Liu heimkehren, er vermisst seine kranken Eltern. Doch er stehe auf einer Schwarzen Liste und es wäre sehr gefährlich, sagt er.

Angst und Traumata bleiben

Mansoureh Shojaee ist in fast derselben Situation. Die iranische Feministin und Journalistin reiste 2010 nach ihrer dritten Haftstrafe im berüchtigten Evin-Gefängnis in Teheran zu ihrer Schwester nach Deutschland. Sie wollte sich von den Strapazen erholen, Kontakte zu Frauenrechtlerinnen knüpfen und dann wieder in den Iran zurück. Dann inhaftierte das Regime ihre Anwältin. Shojaee protestierte und gab Interviews, damit wurde auch gegen sie wieder Anklage erhoben. Sie entschied sich zu bleiben. Von 2011 bis Ende 2013 war sie ebenfalls Stipendiatin im Writers-in-Exile-Programm. „Eine wundervolle Zeit, in einer warmherzigen, sicheren und freundlichen Atmosphäre“, erinnert sie sich.

Feministin Shojaee: Seit fünf Jahren im Exil Feministin Shojaee: Seit fünf Jahren im Exil | Foto: privat Einen Deutschkurs hat sie allerdings nicht besucht. „Ich hätte die Chance gerne genutzt, um die Sprache von Goethe und Grass zu verstehen“, sagt sie. „Aber ich war in dieser unklaren Situation gefangen: Ich wollte in mein Land zurück und habe meinen Sohn, politische Freunde und Aktivitäten vermisst.“ Bernd Zabel versteht das gut: „Wir müssen sehr sensibel mit den Teilnehmern umgehen, Angst um Familie und Freunde, aber auch Erinnerungen und Traumata belasten sie.“ Neben Sicherheit, einer Unterkunft und den Sprachkursen vermittelt das Writers-in-Exile-Programm den Autoren auch Kenntnisse über Land und Leute sowie soziale und berufliche Kontakte. Auf Lesungen und Autorentagen in Augsburg, Hamburg oder Leipzig traf auch Najet Adouani deutsche Kollegen und konnte erstmals wieder ihre Texte vor Publikum lesen. „Das sind tolle Erlebnisse, manchmal fühle ich mich wie ein Popstar“, sagt sie.

Auf der Berlintour steht die letzte Station an – die Spree. Sie erfahren, wo die Berliner Mauer verlief und dass DDR-Bürger oft erschossen wurden, wenn Grenzer sie beim Fluchtversuch erwischten. Najet Adouani schaut aufs andere Ufer, ihre Herzohrringe schwingen beim Schütteln des Kopfes. Sie seufzt: „Das ist furchtbar, wieso machen Menschen so etwas mit anderen Menschen?“