The New Goethe-Institut App Images, Videos and Stories

A digital calling card: the Goethe-Institut app
A digital calling card: the Goethe-Institut app | Photo: Bettina Siegwart

Swipe three times, click once and take a journey along the Nile in pictures. Encounter Goethe’s Faust in the digital age in Seoul. See how life is continuing after the hurricane in the Philippines. The Goethe-Institut’s app will take you around the world with images, videos and stories.

Every day, 159 Goethe-Instituts in 98 countries facilitate cultural projects, teach the German language and convey a nuanced image of Germany. Users can navigate to every region in which the Goethe-Institut is active worldwide on the app via a 3D globe. Selected projects illustrate the local work in picture galleries or videos. Maps show where the Goethe-Instituts are located. Figures and informative texts demonstrate and explain the missions of Germany’s largest cultural mediator.  

From Sao Paulo to Kyoto

The Goethe-Institut invited the Berlin reggae combo Seeed to hold its first concert in Brazil. “We felt and saw that it works, that it comes across. I’d like most to come back again next year,” said their manager Markus Bruns in the ensuing interview. The Goethe-Instituts in the Americas offer not only German-Brazilian reggae, they are also writing a Facebook thriller, examining the globe from a southern viewpoint with scientists, philosophers and activists and organizing the largest festival of German film in North America. You can see what films are being screened there on the app.

Every region offers image galleries, videos and maps about selected projects Every region offers image galleries, videos and maps about selected projects | (Screenshot: Goethe-Institut)
Artist residencies like the Villa Kamogawa in Kyoto offer space for new perspectives. They enable artists to concentrate on their work and gather new impressions. Author Lucy Fricke was the guest of the Goethe-Institut for three months in Kyoto and reports on her experiences on the app.

Download and discover

You can easily download the app Goethe-Institut. Bilder, Videos und Geschichten for iPads for free from the
AppStore: http://bit.ly/GoetheAppStore
or see it here on the web viewer: http://bit.ly/GoetheAppViewer

Neue App des Goethe-Instituts Bilder, Videos und Geschichten

Eine digitale Visitenkarte
Eine digitale Visitenkarte | Foto: Bettina Siegwart

Dreimal wischen, einmal Klicken und eine Bilderreise am Nil entlang machen. Oder in Seoul Goethes Faust im digitalen Zeitalter begegnen. Oder auf den Philippinen sehen, wie das Leben nach dem Taifun weitergeht. Die App des Goethe-Instituts führt in Bildern, Videos und Geschichten einmal um die Welt.

159 Goethe-Institute in 98 Ländern ermöglichen jeden Tag Kulturprojekte, vermitteln die deutsche Sprache und ein differenziertes Deutschlandbild. Jede Region, in der das Goethe-Institut auf der Welt aktiv ist, kann in der App über einen 3D-Globus angesteuert werden. Ausgewählte Projekte illustrieren mit Bildergalerien oder Videos die Arbeit vor Ort. Karten zeigen, wo es überall Goethe-Institute gibt. Zahlen und Informationstexte belegen und erklären die Aufgaben des größten deutschen Kulturmittlers.  

Von Sao Paulo bis Kyoto

Die Berliner Reggae-Combo Seeed gab auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts ihr erstes Brasilien-Konzert: „Wir haben gespürt und gesehen, dass es funktioniert, dass es ankommt. Am liebsten würde ich gleich im nächsten Jahr wiederkommen“ sagte Manager Markus Bruns im anschließenden Interview. Die Goethe-Institute in Amerika bringen aber nicht nur deutsch-brasilianischen Reggea auf die Bühne, sie schreiben auch gerade an einem Facebook-Thriller, betrachten den Globus mit Wissenschaftlern, Philosophinnen und Aktivisten aus südlicher Perspektive und organisieren das größte Festival des deutschen Films in Nordamerika. Welche Filme dort gezeigt werden, sehen Sie in der App.

Jede Region bietet Bildergalerien, Videos und Karten zu ausgewählten Projekten Screenshot: Goethe-Institut Raum für neue Perspektiven bieten Künstlerresidenzen wie die Villa Kamogawa in Kyoto. Sie ermöglichen Künstlern konzentriertes Arbeiten und neue Eindrücke: Die Autorin Lucy Fricke war drei Monate als Gast des Goethe-Instituts in Kyoto und berichtet in der App von ihren Erfahrungen.

Downloaden und Entdecken

Die App „Goethe-Institut. Bilder, Videos und Geschichten“ können Sie für iPads ganz einfach kostenlos
im AppStore downloaden: http://bit.ly/GoetheAppStore
oder hier über den Webviewer anschauen: http://bit.ly/GoetheAppViewer