Tim Fauth on Kuala Lumpur “The people drive across the country just to have soup”

A park in Kuala Lumpur: “The cityscape is varied: very, very colourful”
A park in Kuala Lumpur: “The cityscape is varied: very, very colourful” | Photo: Anna & Michal

Cocktails on the helicopter pad, natural greenery, cheer and diving with dolphins. Kuala Lumpur has everything one could want ... except for vegetarian spreads. Goethe staff member Tim Fauth explains why the Malaysian capital city smells bad and good at the same time.

Is it true that your institute is located on a golf course?

No, but Google Maps thinks it is. People who want to visit us often are shown the golf course as our location if they search for “Goethe-Institut Kuala Lumpur” and not the official name, “Goethe-Institut Malaysia.” The telephone number is also incorrect, but sadly Google refuses to remedy the error.

In a few words and off the top of your head, what do you think of when you hear “Kuala Lumpur”?

Ethnic diversity: it’s the home of Malays, Chinese and Indians. The cityscape is varied: very, very colourful with minarets, mosques, Chinese and Indian temples, church steeples. Tropical heat: no rain for six weeks, high humidity, it’s stifling. Huge traffic jams: the city not only stinks of traffic, but smells of cook shops and food stands selling Malaysian, Chinese and Indian food, as well as foods from neighbouring countries.

What are the must-sees or must-dos in Kuala Lumpur?

The Heli Lounge Bar is really popular right now, a former helicopter pad with very rustic furnishings. It’s great for cocktails at sunset. It is circular, has no railings and at the edge drops 34 stories into the abyss. Nature is phenomenal here, too. Everything is green. Drive a stick into the dirt and next day it’s a tree. Malaysia has 28 national parks. There are also smaller rainforests you can reach by car in half an hour. One even has a canopy walk, a sort of hanging bridge between the treetops from which you can watch the animals.

What’s typically Malaysian?

Goethe associate Fauth: “It’s loads of fun to drive in Kuala Lumpur” Goethe associate Fauth: “It’s loads of fun to drive in Kuala Lumpur” | Photo: private Eating! Malaysians are always eating – at least that’s how it seems. They are willing to drive half a day across the country just to have a certain kind of soup in Penang. But the actual meals are very quick. By the time I’ve picked out what I want, my Malaysian friends have long finished and asked for the check. And Malaysians love mobile phones. They may have this in common with people in many countries, but here communication at the dinner table goes so far that it’s often easiest to reach the person sitting opposite you using WhatsApp.

What was your biggest culture shock?

I didn’t really experience a culture shock because I had been in Asia before. But there is still plenty you have to get used to here. For example, unless you’re trying to kill yourself you can’t walk or cycle downtown. There are no bike paths and only a few pedestrian pavements. But I love to drive in Kuala Lumpur; it’s loads of fun. Here, a red light is a mere suggestion and that really suits my driving style.

What can we learn from the people of Malaysia?

Deep relaxation. Sometimes Malaysians are frighteningly disorganized. For instance, I was once invited to a foreign language congress. I didn’t receive the programme until the day before and happened to read in it that they had scheduled me as a teacher instructor for the entire next morning. These are things that would turn your hair grey in Germany. Not here, though. Here, you understand that everything will somehow work and afterwards everyone is cheerful.

The Petronas Towers are among the world’s tallest buildings The Petronas Towers are among the world’s tallest buildings | Photo: Tim Fauth What do Malaysians know of Germany?

Germany is perceived as the nation of cars and engineers. That suits the views of our course participants who are learning German in order to study engineering or something technical in Germany. Outside of that, there’s not much. They only thing most know about otherwise is perhaps German football.

What do you look forward to most when you travel to Germany?

My family, my friends and vegetarian sandwich spreads. I also ask people to bring them for me from Germany.

What do you look forward to when you return to Kuala Lumpur?

My job, which I love and is so varied. Sometimes I think to myself, “I work where other people go on holiday.” I think quarry ponds in Germany are great – and I’m not being ironic – but diving with tortoises or swimming with dolphins is also very nice.

The questions were asked by Jessica Guaia.

Tim Fauth was born in 1971 and grew up in Düsseldorf, where he studied history and media science. He studied to teach German as a foreign language in Bochum. He worked for Thomas Cook for fifteen years and travelled in every direction from his base in Bangkok. Today, he knows Southeast Asia better than he does Europe. He taught German in Thailand at Rajabhat University, which is situated on a beach. He did not want to settle down there for good over umbrella-topped cocktails, so was happy to receive the job offer from the Goethe-Institut Malaysia. Today, he is the head of the language department there.

Tim Fauth über Kuala Lumpur „Die Leute fahren für eine Suppe quer durchs ganze Land“

Park in Kuala Lumpur: „Das Stadtbild ist abwechslungsreich: sehr, sehr bunt“
Park in Kuala Lumpur: „Das Stadtbild ist abwechslungsreich: sehr, sehr bunt“ | Foto: Anna & Michal

Cocktails auf dem Hubschrauberlandeplatz, viel Natur, gute Laune und Tauchgänge mit Delfinen. In Kuala Lumpur gibt es alles, was man braucht. Außer vegetarischen Brotaufstrichen. Goethe-Mitarbeiter Tim Fauth erklärt, warum die malaysische Hauptstadt stinkt und duftet zugleich.

Stimmt es eigentlich, dass Ihr Institut auf einem Golfplatz liegt?

Nein. Allerdings behauptet das Google Maps. Leute, die uns besuchen wollen, bekommen oft den Golfplatz als Standort angezeigt – zumindest wenn sie nach dem „Goethe-Institut Kuala Lumpur“ googeln und nicht nach der offiziellen Bezeichnung „Goethe-Institut Malaysia“. Die Telefonnummer stimmt übrigens auch nicht. Aber leider lässt sich Google nicht dazu bewegen, den Fehler zu beheben.

In Stichworten und ohne Nachdenken: Was fällt Ihnen zu Kuala Lumpur ein?

Ethnische Diversität: Hier leben Malaien, Chinesen und Inder, das Stadtbild ist abwechslungsreich, sehr, sehr bunt, Minarette, Moscheen, chinesische, indische Tempel, Kirchtürme. Tropisch heiß, über sechs Wochen kein Regen mehr, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit, es ist stickig. Enorme Staus. Die Stadt stinkt nicht nur nach Verkehr, sie duftet auch nach Garküchen und nach Essensständen mit malaysischen, chinesischen und indischen Speisen, aber auch Speisen aus den Nachbarländern.

Was muss man in Kuala Lumpur unbedingt gesehen oder erlebt haben?

Sehr angesagt ist gerade die Heli Lounge Bar, ein ehemaliger Helikopter-Landeplatz mit recht rustikaler Möblierung. Klasse für Cocktails zum Sonnenuntergang. Er ist kreisrund, ohne Geländer, am Rand geht es 34 Stockwerke in den Abgrund. Und die Natur ist phänomenal. Alles ist grün. Man steckt einen Stock in die Erde, und am nächsten Tag ist es ein Baum. Es gibt in Malaysia 28 Nationalparks. Auch kleinere Regenwälder, die man mit dem Auto in einer halben Stunde erreichen kann. Einer hat sogar einen Canopy walk, eine Art Hängebrücke durch die Baumkronen, von der aus man Tiere beobachten kann.

Was ist typisch für Malaysier?

Goethe-Mitarbeiter Fauth: „Autofahren in Kuala Lumpur macht einen Riesenspaß“ Goethe-Mitarbeiter Fauth: „Autofahren in Kuala Lumpur macht einen Riesenspaß“ | Foto: privat Essen! Die Malaysier essen ununterbrochen. So kommt es einem zumindest vor. Sie sind bereit, einen halben Tag lang mit dem Auto quer durchs ganze Land zu fahren, nur um in Penang eine bestimmte Suppe zu essen. Die eigentliche Mahlzeit geht dann jedoch ganz schnell. Bis ich mein Essen überhaupt erst ausgewählt habe, sind meine malaysischen Freunde schon längst fertig und haben die Rechnung bestellt. Und Malaysier lieben Mobiltelefone. Das haben sie zwar mit den Menschen in vielen Ländern gemeinsam, aber hier geht sogar die Kommunikation am Esstisch so weit, dass man sein Gegenüber oft am einfachsten über WhatsApp erreicht.

Ihr größter Kulturschock?

Einen richtigen Kulturschock hatte ich nicht, weil ich schon vorher in Asien war. Aber manches ist hier natürlich schon gewöhnungsbedürftig. So kann man etwa in der Innenstadt weder zu Fuß gehen noch Fahrrad fahren – es sei denn, man will sich umbringen. Es gibt keine Radwege und wenige Bürgersteige. Autofahren in Kuala Lumpur liebe ich dagegen sehr. Das macht einen Riesenspaß. Eine rote Ampel ist hier nur eine Empfehlung, und das kommt meiner Fahrweise sehr entgegen.

Was kann man von den Malaysiern lernen?

Tiefenentspannung. Manchmal sind die Malaysier erschreckend planlos. Ich wurde zum Beispiel einmal zu einem Fremdsprachenkongress eingeladen. Erst einen Tag vorher bekam ich das Programm zugeschickt und las darin zufällig, dass ich am nächsten Tag als Lehrerfortbilder für den gesamten Vormittag eingeplant worden bin. Das sind Sachen, da würde man in Deutschland graue Haare bekommen. Hier nicht. Hier weiß man, dass trotzdem alles irgendwie funktionieren wird und hinterher alle gut gelaunt sind.

Die Petronas Towers gehören zu den höchsten Gebäuden der Welt Die Petronas Towers gehören zu den höchsten Gebäuden der Welt | Foto: Tim Fauth Was kennen die Malaysier aus Deutschland?

Deutschland wird wahrgenommen als Land der Autos und der Ingenieure. Das deckt sich mit den Vorstellungen unserer Kursteilnehmer, die bei uns Deutsch lernen, um in Deutschland Ingenieurswissenschaften oder etwas Technologisches zu studieren. Darüber hinaus wird es sehr dünn. Ansonsten dürfte der deutsche Fußball das Thema sein, über das man hier am meisten weiß.

Worauf freuen Sie sich am meisten, wenn Sie nach Deutschland kommen?

Auf meine Familie, meine Freunde und vegetarische Brotaufstriche – die lasse ich mir auch gerne aus Deutschland mitbringen.

Und worauf, wenn Sie wieder in Kuala Lumpur sind?

Auf den Job, den ich sehr liebe und der so abwechslungsreich ist. Manchmal denke ich: Ich arbeite da, wo andere Urlaub machen. Ich finde auch Baggerseen in Deutschland toll – und das ist keine Ironie. Aber mit Schildkröten tauchen oder mit Delphinen schwimmen ist auch fein.

Die Fragen stellte Jessica Guaia
 

Tim Fauth wurde 1971 geboren und wuchs in Düsseldorf auf. Dort studierte er Geschichte und Medienwissenschaften, in Bochum Deutsch als Fremdsprache. Er arbeitete 15 Jahre für Thomas Cook und reiste von Bangkok sternförmig in alle Richtungen. In der Zwischenzeit kennt er Südostasien besser als Europa. In Thailand unterrichtete er Deutsch an der Rajabhat-Universität, die am Strand gelegen ist. Aber mit Schirmchendrinks wollte er es sich dort auf Dauer nicht gemütlich machen, und so freute er sich über das Angebot des Goethe-Instituts Malaysia. Heute leitet er dort die Sprachabteilung.