Interview about German Reunification “Not Only the Sunny Side”

Permeable wall in 1990: “There’s a good reason to celebrate”
Permeable wall in 1990: “There’s a good reason to celebrate” | Photo: Jurek Durczak / Wikimedia Commons

Horst Harnischfeger was the longest incumbent secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut. He held the reins from 1976 until 1996 and experienced German-German history up close. We interviewed Harnischfeger about his memories of German reunification.

In 1989, the Goethe-Institut had almost 150 institutions abroad, while the GDR operated its Cultural and Information Centres at ten locations in the Middle East, Northern and Eastern Europe as well as in Paris. Did you visit any of those facilities? Were they competitors?

I can remember visiting two of the Cultural and Information Centres of the GDR, namely in Paris and Budapest, incognito. The reason was sheer curiosity because cooperation or official visits were certainly out of the question. The employees of these GDR Centres were not allowed to have any contact with the Goethe-Institut. We did not perceive these institutions as competitors. The two German states were represented in the International German Teachers’ Association by the Goethe and the Herder-Institut and there was even a degree of cooperation, for example in the organization of international German teacher conferences.

How would you describe the foreign cultural policy of West Germany before 1989?

Ever since, in the mid-seventies, a Bundestag commission of inquiry had submitted a report on this field of policy, an emphasis on dialogue and cooperation and against representation was the common understanding even among the different political camps. Processing our Nazi past was considered just as important as problematic aspects of politics and society. There were nuances and sometimes controversy over individual actions by the Goethe-Instituts, which often were regarded as suspicious leftist tendencies among conservative politicians. A speech by Franz Josef Strauss at the meeting of the Goethe-Institut in June 1986 is notable. He called for more “light colours” and emphasis of the “sunny side” of our country and our culture while at the same time denoting the policy of the GDR as a shining example. Interestingly enough, this aspect has disappeared in the discussion since the end of the Cold War.

What did West Germany’s claim to sole representation mean for the work of the Goethe-Instituts?

Horst Harnischfeger experienced reunification as the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Horst Harnischfeger experienced reunification as the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut | Photo: privat Actually, the claim to sole representation meant nothing for our work, because it was all about a constitutional statement that had already been abandoned in 1969 by Brandt’s government. In fact, the Goethe-Instituts always provided information about the GDR, because foreign partners were also interested in that part of Germany and could only learn about it here. Apart from Paris, the GDR Cultural and Information Centres were only located in Eastern Europe.

When you look back at the past 25 years what changes did reunification bring about for the Goethe-Institut?

German reunification and the dissolution of the Eastern Bloc are closely related. They mainly allowed the institute network to extend to the countries of Eastern Europe, which was a not an easy task. The need for information and assembly was huge and could hardly be satisfied. The German language was also booming, especially in countries where Russian was eliminated as a compulsory language. Meanwhile, the situation returned to normal. Ultimately, we were able to open domestic institutes in East Germany. Reunification did not change the basic orientation of the work of the Goethe-Institut as far as I can see. It continues to be a successful model.

How and where did you yourself celebrate on 3 October 1990?

I simply cannot remember, which may be because I didn’t approve of the choice of that date and preferred 9 November.

How should the Goethe-Instituts celebrate the anniversary of reunification in 2015?

I think there’s a good reason to celebrate. It is an opportunity to have a party and invite the partners and friends of the institute. I can also imagine, because the event was, after all, 25 years ago, that the historical events surrounding the fall of the wall and reunification and the growing together or not growing together of the two parts of Germany could be discussed, for example in exhibitions or symposia.

The interview was held by Jörg Schumacher.

Interview zur Wiedervereinigung „Nicht nur die Schokoladenseite“

Durchlässige Mauer im Jahr 1990: „Es gibt einen guten Grund zu feiern“
Durchlässige Mauer im Jahr 1990: „Es gibt einen guten Grund zu feiern“ | Foto: Jurek Durczak / Wikimedia Commons

Horst Harnischfeger war der am längsten amtierende Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts. Von 1976 bis 1996 lenkte er dessen Geschicke und erlebte dort hautnah deutsch-deutsche Geschichte mit. Im Interview erinnert sich Harnischfeger an die Wiedervereinigung.

Das Goethe-Institut hatte 1989 fast 150 Institute im Ausland, die DDR betrieb an zehn Orten im Nahen Osten, Nord- und Osteuropa sowie in Paris sogenannte Kultur und Informationszentren. Haben Sie eine dieser Einrichtungen mal besucht? War das eine Konkurrenz? Oder: Welche Rolle spielte die DDR in der Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts?

Ich kann mich an zwei Besuche von Kultur- und Informationszentren der DDR erinnern, nämlich in Paris und in Budapest – und das inkognito. Der Hintergrund war reine Neugier, denn an eine Zusammenarbeit oder einen offiziellen Besuch war ohnehin nicht zu denken. Die Mitarbeiter dieser DDR-Zentren unterlagen einem Kontaktverbot zu den Goethe-Instituten. Als Konkurrenz haben wir diese Institute nicht empfunden. Im Internationalen Deutschlehrerverband, in dem die beiden deutsche Staaten über das Goethe- und das Herder-Institut vertreten waren, gab es sogar eine gewisse Zusammenarbeit, zum Beispiel bei der Organisation der internationalen Deutschlehrertagungen.

Wie würden Sie die Auswärtige Kulturpolitik der Bundesrepublik bis 1989 beschreiben?

Seitdem Mitte der Siebzigerjahre eine Enquetekommission des Bundestages einen Bericht zu diesem Politikbereich vorgelegt hatte, war die Ausrichtung auf Dialog und Zusammenarbeit und gegen Repräsentation das gemeinsame Verständnis auch unter den verschiedenen politischen Lagern. Die Aufarbeitung der NS-Vergangenheit war ebenso selbstverständlich wie problematische Aspekte in Politik und Gesellschaft. Es gab Nuancen und gelegentlich Streit über einzelne Aktionen von Goethe-Instituten, die bei konservativen Politikern häufig als linker Tendenzen verdächtig galten. Unvergessen ist in diesem Zusammenhang die Rede von Franz Josef Strauß vor der Mitgliederversammlung des Goethe-Instituts im Juni 1986, wo er mehr „helle Farbtöne“ und die Hervorkehrung der „Schokoladenseiten“ unseres Landes und unserer Kultur forderte und zugleich die Politik der DDR als leuchtendes Beispiel bezeichnete. Seit dem Ende des Kalten Krieges ist dieser Aspekt in der Diskussion interessanterweise verschwunden.

Was bedeutete der Alleinvertretungsanspruch der Bundesrepublik für die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute?

Horst Harnischfeger erlebte die Wiedervereinigung als Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Horst Harnischfeger erlebte die Wiedervereinigung als Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts | Foto: privat Der Alleinvertretungsanspruch bedeutete für unsere Arbeit eigentlich nichts, denn es ging dabei um eine staatsrechtliche Aussage, die im Übrigen von der Regierung Brandt 1969 schon aufgegeben worden war. Faktisch ist in den Goethe-Instituten allerdings immer auch über die DDR informiert worden, weil das Interesse der ausländischen Partner sich auch auf diesen Teil Deutschlands richtete und anders nicht befriedigt werden konnte. Denn DDR Kultur- und Informationszentren gab es – von Paris einmal abgesehen – nur in Osteuropa.

Wenn Sie auf die letzten 25 Jahre zurückblicken, welche Veränderungen hat die Wiedervereinigung für das Goethe-Institut gebracht?

Die Wiedervereinigung und die Auflösung des Ostblocks gehören eng zusammen. Sie haben vor allem eine Ausdehnung des Institutsnetzes in die Staaten Osteuropas ermöglicht, was eine nicht leicht zu lösende Aufgabe war. Der Bedarf an Information und Begegnung war riesig und konnte kaum befriedigt werden. Auch die deutsche Sprache hatte einen Boom vor allem in den Ländern, in denen Russisch als Pflichtsprache abgeschafft wurde. Inzwischen hat sich die Lage wieder normalisiert. Nicht zuletzt konnten wir auch Inlandsinstitute in Ostdeutschland aufmachen. Die Wiedervereinigung hat nach meiner Beobachtung die grundsätzliche Ausrichtung der Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts nicht verändert. Diese bleibt auch weiterhin ein Erfolgsmodell.

Wie und wo haben Sie selbst den 3. Oktober 1990 gefeiert?

Ich kann mich schlicht und ergreifend nicht erinnern, was vielleicht damit zusammenhängt, dass ich die Wahl dieses Datums nicht gut gefunden habe und den 9. November entschieden vorgezogen hätte.

Wie sollten die Goethe-Institute den Jahrestag der Wiedervereinigung 2015 begehen?

Aus meiner Sicht gibt es einen guten Grund zu feiern, und damit einen Anlass für eine Party, zu der man die Partner und Freunde des Instituts einlädt. Ich kann mir auch vorstellen, da das Ereignis immerhin 25 Jahre zurück liegt, dass in Veranstaltungen die historischen Geschehnisse um den Mauerfall und die Wiedervereinigung sowie das Zusammenwachsen und Nicht-Zusammenwachsen der beiden Teile Deutschlands – etwa in Ausstellungen oder Symposien – thematisiert wird.

Das Interview führte Jörg Schumacher