Refugees Kammerspiele Transforming into Welcome Theatre

Travelling puppets: performance of
Travelling puppets: performance of Paradise Mastaz by the Hajusom ensemble | Photo: Lutz Saure

The Münchner Kammerspiele are devoting their attention to the issues of refugees, arrival and asylum with the Open Border Congress; the theatre is transforming into the Munich Welcome Theatre. Dance and theatre projects and films for and with refugees supported by the Goethe-Institut are also involved. By Pepe Egger

The makers of the Open Border Congress call it “a conversion project”; conversion as in the transformation, the repurposing of the Münchner Kammerspiele, its premises and possibilities, into a diversified establishment for exploring the subjects of flight and forced migration.

Many Munich residents will not be surprised, they have read so much already about the new artistic director of the Kammerspiele, Matthias Lilienthal. They say he wants to fuse the theatre with the present, not just by treating or taking up the present in theatrical performances, but by going “out into the city,” or bringing the city into the theatre.

So it’s only logical for the Kammerspiele under Lilienthal to approach the perhaps most urgent issue of the here and now head-on, pell-mell, by not merely addressing the topic of refugees in a play, but by turning the entire theatre inside out, making the entire place a Munich Welcome Theatre. It is also a reaction to the fact that it was here in Munich in recent weeks that a very large number of the refugees arrived in Germany.

The Open Border Congress, curated by artists Björn Bicker and Malte Jelden, means to investigate how refugees can be involved and allowed to partake in the theatre – and the arts and culture in general. A correspondingly large part of the programme from 16 to 18 October consists of discussions (on refugee protests, immigration policy and the role of cultural institutions in the immigration society), lectures (on Europe’s border regime and about how to put together a refugee theatre troupe) and documentaries (about Eritrean refugees in Chiemgau or escapees in Greece).

Migration is the norm of human existence

There will also be any number of project presentations by activists and volunteers revealing the creativity of a grassroots welcoming culture: refugee radio, peace panels, cafés, bike shop, furniture production, the social cooperative Bellevue di Monaco and a to-be-founded Silent University.

Yet there is also theatre in the narrower sense, for instance by the ensemble Hajusom from Hamburg, which says of itself: “All performers carry their personal maps inside them, for them migration is the norm of human existence.” They will perform Paradise Mastaz, in which puppets travel from West Africa to Germany as tourists or migrants until their strings become entangled (17 October at 5 pm and 18 October at 3 pm).

Or the dance workshop supported by the Goethe-Institut Rêve en noir en blanc, a dream in black and white, in which young refugees develop a piece together with acting students from the Otto Falckenberg School. The series of workshops is supervised by Taigué Ahmed, a former member of the national ballet of Chad who also offered dance workshops and performed in the refugee camps of Chad in 2005 (18 October from 11 am until 4 pm).

Taigué Ahmed will then talk with refugees about the possibilities, triumphs and limits of cultural work in a panel discussion entitled Cultural Relief organized and moderated by the Goethe-Institut. She will be joined by Pınar Demiral (Her Yerde Sanat/Art is Everywhere), Maren Niemeyer (Forum on Culture and Humanitarian Relief, Goethe-Institut) and Wolfgang Hauck, director of the Bavarian stilt theatre group Die Stelzer, who have been working with refugees in eastern Turkey since 2014 (18 October at 4 pm).

Seeking mental and physical balance

Wolfgang Hauck and Pınar Demiral will be able to tell first-hand of their Goethe-Institut-sponsored cooperation in a refugee camp in Nusaybin in eastern Turkey. There, in the camps of the Turkish Emergency Management Agency, Syrian, Yezidi and Iraqi refugees are safe and supplied with the essentials, but have no future prospects.

Here, a stilt is like an attachable stage. As soon as someone on stilts appears, they create a theatrical space about them and, for a moment, another world in even the most dismal surroundings.

But it’s not just about entertainment. Wolfgang Hauck describes how the wobbly and unstable stilts contribute to psychological stabilization in adolescents who suffer from trauma disorders. Walking on stilts forces them to concentrate completely on their physical balance thus supporting their mental balance as well.

Here the theatre is far removed from the proscenium stage and red curtain, and ventures into the bleakness of the camps. But perhaps this is where it works the most. Hauck reports about how the first ten participants that he trained in Mardin, Turkey have already taught more than 25 other young people. One of them headed back across the border to Iraq with five pairs of stilts to continue the work and share his experiences in the refugee camps there.

Flüchtlinge Kammerspiele werden zur Willkommensbühne

Puppen unterwegs: Die Performance „Paradise Mastaz“ der Gruppe Hajusom
Puppen unterwegs: Die Performance Paradise Mastaz der Gruppe Hajusom | Foto: Lutz Saure

Mit einem Open Border Kongress widmen sich die Münchner Kammerspiele ganz den Themen Flucht, Ankunft und Asyl, das Theaterhaus wird zum Munich Welcome Theatre. Mit dabei: vom Goethe-Institut unterstützte Tanz- und Theaterprojekte sowie Filme für und mit Flüchtlingen. Von Pepe Egger

„Ein Konversionsprojekt“ nennen die Macher den Open Border Kongress: Konversion im Sinne von Umwandlung, Umnutzung der Münchner Kammerspiele, ihrer Räume und Möglichkeiten in eine vielfältige Anstalt zur Erkundung des Themas Flucht und Vertreibung.

Viele Münchnerinnen und Münchner werden davon nicht überrascht sein, so viel ist bereits geschrieben worden über den neuen Intendanten der Kammerspiele, Matthias Lilienthal: Er wolle das Theater mit der Gegenwart kurzschließen, sagt man, nicht bloß die Gegenwart im Theater be- oder abhandeln, sondern „in die Stadt hinaus“ gehen, oder eben die Stadt ins Theater hereinholen.

Folgerichtig also, dass die Kammerspiele unter Lilienthal sich dem vielleicht drängendsten Thema des Hier und Heute so nähern, frontal, Hals über Kopf, dass jetzt eben nicht nur in einem Stück der Komplex Flucht thematisiert wird, sondern das ganze Theater umgekrempelt, aus dem ganzen Haus ein Munich Welcome Theatre gemacht wird. Nicht zuletzt ist es eine Reaktion darauf, dass eben hier, in München in den vergangenen Wochen ein besonders großer Teil der Flüchtlinge ankam.

Der Open Border Kongress, kuratiert von den Künstlern Björn Bicker und Malte Jelden, soll erkunden, wie das Theater – und Kunst und Kultur überhaupt – die Geflohenen einbeziehen und teilhaben lassen kann. Ein dementsprechend großer Teil des Programms vom 16. bis 18. Oktober besteht aus Diskussionen (zu Flüchtlingsprotesten, Einwanderungspolitik oder der Rolle von Kulturinstitutionen in der Einwanderungsgesellschaft), Vorträgen (über Europas Grenzregime oder darüber, wie man eine Flüchtlingstheatertruppe aufzieht) und Dokumentarfilmen (über eritreische Flüchtlinge im Chiemgau oder Geflohene in Griechenland).

Migration als Normalfall menschlicher Existenz

Dazu kommt eine ganze Reihe von Projektvorstellungen von Aktivisten sowie Ehrenamtlichen, in denen sich die Kreativität einer Willkommenskultur von unten zeigt: Flüchtlingsradio, Friedenstafel, Cafés, Fahrradladen, Möbelproduktion, die Sozialgenossenschaft Bellevue di Monaco und eine zu gründende Silent University.

Aber es gibt auch Theater im engeren Sinn, etwa von der Gruppe Hajusom aus Hamburg, die von sich selbst sagt: „Alle Performer tragen ihre individuellen Landkarten in sich, für sie ist Migration der Normalfall menschlicher Existenz.“ Sie spielen die Performance Paradise Mastaz, in der Puppen als Touristen oder Migranten von Westafrika bis Deutschland unterwegs sind, bis sich ihre Fäden verheddern, überkreuzen (am 17. Oktober um 17 sowie am 18. Oktober um 15 Uhr).

Oder der Tanzworkshop Rêve en noir│en blanc, ein Traum in Schwarz-Weiß, in dem – vom Goethe-Institut unterstützt – minderjährige Flüchtlinge mit Schauspielstudenten der Otto Falckenberg Schule zusammen ein Stück entwickeln. Geleitet wird Workshopreihe von Taigué Ahmed, der – ehemals Mitglied des tschadischen Nationalballetts – seit 2005 bereits im Tschad in Flüchtlingslagern Tanzworkshops gegeben und Tanzstücke aufgeführt hat (am 18. Oktober von 11 bis 16 Uhr).

Taigué Ahmed wird dann auch in einer vom Goethe-Institut organisierten und moderierten Podiumsdiskussion unter dem Titel Cultural Relief über die Möglichkeiten, Erfolge und Grenzen der Kulturarbeit mit Flüchtlingen diskutieren. Mit dabei sind Pınar Demiral (Her Yerde Sanat/Überall ist Kunst), Maren Niemeyer (Forum on Culture and Humanitarian Relief, Goethe-Institut) und Wolfgang Hauck, Leiter der bayerischen Stelzentheatergruppe Die Stelzer, die seit 2014 in der Osttürkei mit Flüchtlingen arbeitet (am 18. Oktober um 16 Uhr).

Die Suche nach der inneren und äußeren Balance

Wolfgang Hauck und Pınar Demiral können dabei aus erster Hand von ihrer vom Goethe-Institut geförderten Zusammenarbeit in einem Flüchtlingslager in Nusaybin in der Osttürkei erzählen, wo syrische, jesidische, irakische Flüchtlinge in den Lagern der türkischen Katastrophenschutzbehörde zwar sicher und mit dem Nötigsten versorgt, aber ohne Perspektiven leben.

Eine Stelze ist hier wie eine Bühne zum Anschnallen: Sobald ein Stelzenläufer erscheint, erzeugt er um sich herum einen theatralischen Raum, erschafft noch in der tristesten Umgebung für einen Augenblick eine andere Welt.

Doch nicht nur um Unterhaltung geht es dabei. Wolfgang Hauck beschreibt, wie die wackligen und instabilen Stelzen bei Jugendlichen, die an an Traumafolgestörungen leiden, zur psychologischen Stabilisierung beitragen: Weil sie das Stelzenlaufen zwingt, sich ganz gegenwärtig um ihre Balance zu bemühen und über das äußere auch das innere Gleichgewicht zu unterstützen.

Da hat sich das Theater bis zum Äußersten von der Guckkastenbühne, dem roten Vorhang entfernt, sich in die Trostlosigkeit der Lager begeben, und doch wirkt es vielleicht hier am stärksten. Hauck jedenfalls berichtet, wie die ersten zehn Teilnehmer, die er im osttürkischen Mardin ausgebildet hat, bereits mehr als 25 andere Jugendliche geschult haben. Einer von ihnen hat sich mit fünf Paar Stelzen auf den Weg zurück über die Grenze in den Irak gemacht, um dort die Arbeit in Flüchtlingslagern fortzusetzen und seine Erfahrungen zu teilen.