Book Fair Goethe’s Journey to Indonesia

On the streets of Jakarta: Indonesia is this year’s guest of honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair
On the streets of Jakarta: Indonesia is this year’s guest of honour at the Frankfurt Book Fair | Photo: C. K. Koay

The ties between Frankfurt and Goethe go way back. No, not the privy councillor and his birthplace: we mean the Goethe-Institut, which is always well represented at the Book Fair. This year, for instance, the focus is on the refugee crisis, digital identity and, of course, an island nation.

Naturally, Indonesia, this year’s guest of honour, won’t be left out of the Goethe-Institut’s Book Fair programme. Ulla Lenze, Leif Randt, Andreas Stichmann and Antje Rávic Strubel will all report about their experiences in the nation. The four authors travelled through Indonesia on the invitation of the Goethe-Institut Jakarta and will talk in Frankfurt about writing, reading and living in the island nation. Literary expeditions of this kind are a central element of the work of the Goethe-Institut. In the year 2014 alone, more than 200 German-speaking authors journeyed to about fifty countries at the behest of the cultural institute.

Indonesia is also the subject of other events. Author Agus R. Sarjono and linguist and translator Berthold Damshäuser will converse about the role of German poetry in Indonesia. The differences and commonalities of German and Indonesian literature will be the subject of another discussion between Agus R. Sarjono and Ulla Lenze. Sarjono is one of Indonesia’s most popular writers. His works can be found in every important Southeast Asian anthology and have been translated into countless languages. This year, the Berlin-based writer Ulla Lenze issued her much-discussed, fourth novel, Die endlose Stadt.

Further topics for the Goethe-Institut in Frankfurt are Eastern Europe and the refugee crisis. Author Yurii Andrukhovych, journalist Kateryna Botanova and the secretary general of the Goethe-Institut, Johannes Ebert, will talk about the role of art and culture in Ukraine. What role did artists play in the demonstrations on the Maidan two years ago? How are they experiencing the situation today? Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, will talk to the writers Mohammad Al Attar and Albert Ostermaier and cultural activist Basma El Husseiny about the contributions of artists in the refugee crisis. The civil war in Syria and the fighting in neighbouring countries have claimed hundreds of thousands of lives and driven millions of people to flee from their homes. Many refugees are traumatized and destitute; they have lost their homeland, been torn from their everyday lives, professional and educational pathways are cut off. Can culture help in such a situation? How do artists in the Middle East and in Germany react to the refugee crisis? What can sustainable work by cultural institutions such as the Goethe-Institut look like?

Artists and web culture experts will discuss the question of digital identity from a multinational and interdisciplinary perspective on the Streaming Egos panel. In addition, together with publishers and authors from Cairo, Amman and Beirut, the Goethe-Institut will take a look at the situation on the book market in the Arab world. There is no dearth of high quality literature there, but how can it be brought to the readers? How can literary exchange in the region be strengthened while whetting people’s desire to read? What role do e-books play in this? How important are translations of literature from other languages?

Click here for details about the Goethe-Institut’s Book Fair programme.

-db/fg-

Buchmesse Goethes Indonesienreise

In den Straßen von Jakarta: Indonesien ist das diesjährige Gastland der Frankfurter Buchmesse
In den Straßen von Jakarta: Indonesien ist das diesjährige Gastland der Frankfurter Buchmesse | Foto: C. K. Koay

Frankfurt und Goethe, das ist eine uralte Verbindung. Nein, wir sprechen nicht vom Geheimrat und seiner Geburtsstadt. Sondern vom Goethe-Institut, das auf der Buchmesse stets bestens vertreten ist. Diesmal geht es etwa um die Flüchtlingskrise und digitale Identität. Und um einen Inselstaat.

Natürlich kommt das diesjährige Gastland Indonesien im Buchmessenprogramm des Goethe-Instituts nicht zu kurz. So berichten Ulla Lenze, Leif Randt, Andreas Stichmann und Antje Rávic Strubel von ihren Erfahrungen in dem Land. Die vier Autoren reisten auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Jakarta einen Monat durch Indonesien und erzählen in Frankfurt vom Schreiben, Lesen und Leben in dem Inselstaat.Literarische Ausflüge dieser Art sind ein zentraler Bestandteil der Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts. Allein im Jahr 2014 waren über 200 deutschsprachige Autorinnen und Autoren auf Einladung des Kulturinstituts in rund 50 Ländern unterwegs.

Indonesien ist auch das Thema weiterer Veranstaltungen: Der Autor Agus R. Sarjono und der Malaiologe und Übersetzer Berthold Damshäuser unterhalten sich über die Rolle deutscher Lyrik in Indonesien. Und über Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten deutscher und indonesischer Literatur sprechen Agus R. Sarjono und Ulla Lenze.Sarjono ist einer der populärsten Schriftsteller Indonesiens. Seine Werke sind in allen wichtigen Anthologien Südostasiens zu finden und in etliche Sprachen übersetzt. Die Berliner Schriftstellerin Ulla Lenze legte in diesem Jahr ihren vielbesprochenen, vierten Roman vor: Die endlose Stadt.

Weitere Themenschwerpunkte, die das Goethe-Institut in Frankfurt setzt, sind Osteuropa und die Flüchtlingskrise: Über die Rolle von Kunst und Kultur in der Ukraine sprechen der Autor Juri Andruchowytsch, die Publizistin Kateryna Botanova und der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert. Welche Rolle spielten Künstler bei den Demonstrationen auf dem Maidan vor zwei Jahren? Wie erleben sie die Situation heute? Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, unterhält sich mit den Schriftstellern Mohammad Al Attar und Albert Ostermaier sowie der Kulturaktivistin Basma El Husseiny über den Beitrag von Künstlern in der Flüchtlingskrise. Der Bürgerkrieg in Syrien und die Kämpfe in benachbarten Ländern haben hunderttausende Todesopfer gefordert und Millionen von Menschen in die Flucht getrieben. Viele Flüchtlinge sind traumatisiert und mittellos; sie haben ihre Heimat verloren, sind aus ihrem Alltag gerissen, Berufs- und Bildungswege sind abgeschnitten. Kann Kultur in einer solchen Situation helfen? Wie reagieren Künstler im Nahen Osten und in Deutschland auf die Flüchtlingskrise? Wie kann eine nachhaltige Arbeit von Kulturinstitutionen wie dem Goethe-Institut aussehen?

Auf dem Panel Streaming Egos diskutieren Künstler und Netzkultur-Experten aus multinationaler und interdisziplinärer Sicht über die Frage der digitalen Identität. Außerdem blickt das Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit Verlegerinnen und Autorinnen aus Kairo, Amman und Beirut auf die Situation des Buchmarkts in der arabischen Welt. Denn an hochwertiger Literatur mangelt es dort nicht, doch wie bringt man sie an den Leser? Wie kann man den literarischen Austausch in der Region stärken und dabei auch die Lust am Lesen wecken? Welche Rolle spielen E-Books dabei? Und wie wichtig sind literarische Übersetzungen aus anderen Sprachen?

Das Buchmessenprogramm des Goethe-Instituts im Detail finden Sie hier!

-db-