Beijing Goethe Goes into Factories

The exterior of the new Goethe location is characterized by the pronounced saw-tooth roof of the former electronics factory
The exterior of the new Goethe location is characterized by the pronounced saw-tooth roof of the former electronics factory | Photo: Goethe-Institut China

The Goethe-Institut Beijing has a new building. Soon, the institute will provide a forum for open debate and cultural encounters in a former industrial facility in 798 Art Zone.

“I think this place is important just for its surroundings. The stimulating, pulsating and diversified environment around this Goethe-Institut is a wonderful opportunity to incorporate it in its own work,” said Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut. At its new location, the institute will encourage a dialogue that gives real answers and thus bears responsibility, he continued, “It will be a dialogue of practical action, a dialogue of openness and a dialogue of sustainability. Freedom of expression is a valuable asset for us.”

Beijing’s “798” Art Zone in the Chaoyang district is a place that attracts cultural professionals and art-lovers from around the world. Last year, it had about four million visitors. It is the former headquarters of a state-owned electronics factory that was built in the 1950s by East Germany.

The Goethe-Institut’s utilization scheme, implemented by the architectural office of Albert Speer & Partner, retains the elements of the Bauhaus-inspired architecture of the former industrial facility and unites it with the minimalism of contemporary German design. The 1,000-square-metre space will be open and transparent. The Agora is the central area where the Goethe-Institut aims to encourage debates and that also can be used as a theatre that seats up to 120. Visitors and partners will also be provided with a conference and exhibition space and a “knowledge bar” equipped with the latest hardware and software.

The Bauhaus elements of the original architecture were retained The Bauhaus elements of the original architecture were retained | Photo: Karel Downsbrough -db/fg-

Peking Goethe geht in die Fabrik

Die markanten Höcker der ehemaligen Elektronikfabrik prägen das Äußere des neuen Goethe-Standorts
Die markanten Höcker der ehemaligen Elektronikfabrik prägen das Äußere des neuen Goethe-Standorts | Foto: Goethe-Institut China

Das Goethe-Institut Peking hat ein neues Gebäude. In einer ehemaligen Industriehalle im Kunstquartier 798 stellt das Institut künftig ein Forum für freie Debatten und kulturelle Begegnungen zur Verfügung.

„Ich glaube, dass der Ort einfach wegen des Umfeldes wichtig ist. Dieses Anregende, Pulsierende und Vielfältige, was dieses Goethe-Institut hier umgibt, ist eine wunderbare Möglichkeit, es einzubeziehen in die eigene Arbeit“, sagte der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann. Das Institut werde an seinem neuen Standort einen Dialog anregen, der wirkliche Antworten gebe und damit Verantwortung trage: „Es soll ein Dialog des praktischen Handelns sein, ein Dialog der Offenheit und ein Dialog der Nachhaltigkeit. Meinungsfreiheit ist für uns ein hohes Gut.“

Das Pekinger Kunstquartier „798“ im Bezirk Chaoyang ist ein Ort, der Kulturschaffende und Kunstinteressierte aus aller Welt anlockt. Im vergangenen Jahr zählte man dort rund vier Millionen Besucher. Es war vormals Sitz einer staatseigenen Elektronikfabrik, deren Aufbau in den Fünfzigerjahren von der DDR ausgeführt wurde.

Das Nutzungskonzept des Goethe-Instituts, umgesetzt vom Architekturbüro Albert Speer & Partner, bewahrt die Elemente der vom Bauhaus inspirierten Architektur der ehemaligen Industriehalle und begegnet dem Minimalismus des zeitgenössischen deutschen Designs. Die Gestaltung des Raums mit einer Fläche von tausend Quadratmetern folgt dem Prinzip der Offenheit und Transparenz. Zentraler Ort ist die Agora, auf der das Goethe-Institut Debatten anregen will und die auch als Bühnenraum für bis zu 120 Besucher genutzt werden kann. Den Besuchern und Partnern stehen zudem ein Konferenz- und Ausstellungsraum sowie eine „Wissensbar“, ausgestattet mit neuester Hard- und Software, zur Verfügung.

Die Bauhaus-Elemente der ursprünglichen Architektur wurden beibehalten Die Bauhaus-Elemente der ursprünglichen Architektur wurden beibehalten | Foto: Karel Downsbrough -db-