Culture and Education Academy Visions from Ukraine

Participants in the Culture and Education Academy met in Kyiv to bring it to a close and present their ideas for the future.
Participants in the Culture and Education Academy met in Kyiv to bring it to a close and present their ideas for the future. | Photo: Natalka Diachenko

For six months, cultural managers from Ukraine worked on new ideas for projects like a jazz festival and an art museum. The outcomes of the Goethe-Institut’s Culture and Education Academy are looks into the future. We returned from a visit to Kyiv with five visions as souvenirs.

Igor Garmash, 46, is the president of the Art Space in Zaporizhia in southeastern Ukraine.

 Igor Garmash | Photo: Natalka Diachenko “When I close my eyes, I think of all the people in Ukraine who have lost their lives. They dreamed of living in a country guided by European values. What concerns me most is the location of our city, wedged between the annexed Crimean peninsula and the Donbass region. Machine guns are not what make our country fit for the future, but projects that strengthen our culture. There’s a term ‘cultural medium’ for someone who attempts to develop the arts in their environment. That is what I want to be. We managed to organize a book fair in our city with fifty publishers and one hundred artists from all over Ukraine. For Zaporizhia it was an uncommon explosion of culture. We want to repeat it every year.”



Tatiana Markova, 53, is the head of the Department of Culture and Tourism in Odessa, a city of over one million inhabitants on the Black Sea in southern Ukraine.

Tatiana Markova | Photo: Natalka Diachenko “For me, it’s important that our state structures react more quickly to the trends of our time. We need more partnerships between our cities and their cultural activists and NGOs. Our projects need to mirror the diversity of the cities because the regions of Ukraine are very different. What I love about Odessa is the sea. I dream of an institute for political and social education for our country, inspired by the Humboldt Forum we visited in Berlin. I imagine such a centre for all age groups in Odessa with an art gallery, concert hall and library. There’s no time to wait. We are already redesigning our library and my dream is getting closer: I see myself sitting inside it with my granddaughter. We are reading fairy tales over a cup of tea.”



Mark Oplachko, 23, is the founder and project manager of the NGO Literature.RV in Rivne in northwestern Ukraine.

Mark Oplachko | Photo: Natalka Diachenko “My wish is for the world to discover my city. Literature can contribute something to this. Our organization brings Ukrainian writers to Rivne and presents their works. We are always considering other formats, for example, musicians accompanying the readings. Since our organization receives no financial support, the audience pays admission. I was an author myself, but when I realized that there are much better writers, I decided I would rather work with them. So I became a literary agent. I work, for example, with the Ukrainian author Max Kidruk. His books have been translated into Russian and Polish and we are trying to establish contacts with German and English publishers. One dream would be to set up a publishing house for adventure books. That is a niche in the Ukraine that could be developed.”



Iryna Raltschenko, 63, is the director of the art museum in Chernihiv in northern Ukraine.

Iryna Raltschenko | Photo: Natalka Diachenko “Not all of our city’s monuments are in good condition. This also applies to parts of our museum. Instead of waiting for government authorities, we have to do something to turn our 400 square metres into an art space. Inclusion is particularly topical. We want to make the museum accessible to visually impaired citizens and now have signs in Braille. I dream of having miniatures made of famous buildings from Chernihiv for our wheelchair-accessible courtyard. We are collaborating with specialists in timber construction for this. We are looking for donors to make these replicas possible. My job is easier than that of the officials in arts administration; I am able to implement ideas with my staff and the collections. I enjoy this freedom in my work.”



Elena Shulga, 32, is the art director of the DzEm jazz club in Rivne. The NGO represents the interests of professional musicians in the city.

Elena Shulga | Photo: Natalka Diachenko “I dream of expanding our jazz festival in the coming years. I would like an office for that; until now we have been working from home. I imagine a room with posters of our concerts and things that jazz musicians from around the world bring us. We would like to enlarge our team, at the moment there are two of us and some volunteer helpers. Next August the festival will be held in a park, with an outdoor stage. In addition to the concerts, there will be workshops, for example, on design and video installations. In this way we can get residents involved and citizens can be active in the cultural scene of their city. I want to fulfil my dreams. And when I want something, I get it.”



By Natalka Diachenko (pictures) and Franziska Bauer (copy) with collaborator Wolodymyr Schwed (translation from Ukrainian)

Kultur- und Bildungsakademie Träume aus der Ukraine

Zum Abschluss der „Kultur- und Bildungsakademie“ kamen die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer für die Präsentation ihrer Zukunftsideen in Kiew zusammen.
Zum Abschluss der „Kultur- und Bildungsakademie“ kamen die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer für die Präsentation ihrer Zukunftsideen in Kiew zusammen. | Foto: Natalka Diachenko

Ein halbes Jahr haben Kulturmanager aus der Ukraine an neuen Ideen für ihr Jazzfestival oder Kunstmuseum gearbeitet. Ihr Resümee der „Kultur- und Bildungsakademie“ des Goethe-Instituts ist ein Blick in die Zukunft. Ein Besuch in Kiew. Das Souvenir: Fünf Träume.

Igor Garmash, 46, ist Präsident des Center of Arts „Art Space‟ in Saporischschja im Südosten des Landes.

 Igor Garmash | Foto: Natalka Diachenko „Wenn ich die Augen schließe, denke ich an die vielen Menschen in der Ukraine, die ihr Leben verloren haben. Sie träumten davon, in einem Land zu leben, das sich von europäischen Werten leiten lässt. Was mich umtreibt, ist die Lage unserer Stadt, eingeklemmt zwischen der annektierten Halbinsel Krim und der Region Donbass. Nicht Maschinengewehre machen unser Land zukunftsfähig, sondern Projekte, die unsere Kultur stärken. Es gibt das Wort ‚Kulturträger‘, jemand, der versucht, Kultur in seinem Umfeld zu entwickeln. Das möchte ich sein. Wir haben es geschafft, in unserer Stadt eine Buchmesse zu organisieren, mit 50 Verlagen und 100 Künstlern aus der ganzen Ukraine. Für Saporischschja war das eine ungewöhnliche Kulturexplosion. Das wollen wir jährlich wiederholen.‟



Tatiana Markova, 53, ist Leiterin der Abteilung für Kultur und Tourismus der Millionenstadt Odessa am Schwarzen Meer im Süden der Ukraine.

Tatiana Markova | Foto: Natalka Diachenko „Für mich ist wichtig, dass unsere staatlichen Strukturen schneller auf die Entwicklungen unserer Zeit reagieren. Wir brauchen mehr Partnerschaften zwischen unseren Städten und ihren Kulturaktivisten und NGOs. Unsere Projekte müssen die Vielfalt der Städte zeigen, weil die Regionen der Ukraine sehr unterschiedlich sind. An Odessa liebe ich das Meer. Ich träume von einem Institut für politische und soziale Bildung für unser Land, inspiriert vom Humboldt-Forum, das wir in Berlin besucht haben. Ich stelle mir so ein Zentrum in Odessa vor, mit Galerie, Konzerthalle und Bibliothek für alle Altersgruppen. Es bleibt keine Zeit, zu warten. Unsere Bibliothek gestalten wir bereits um und mein Traum rückt näher: Ich sehe mich schon mit meiner Enkeltochter darin sitzen. Wir lesen Märchen und trinken Tee.‟



Mark Oplachko, 23, ist Gründer und Projektmanager der NGO „Literature.RV‟ in Riwne im Nordwesten der Ukraine.

Mark Oplachko | Foto: Natalka Diachenko „Ich wünsche mir, dass die Welt meine Stadt entdeckt. Dazu kann Literatur etwas beitragen. Unsere Organisation bringt ukrainische Schriftsteller nach Riwne und präsentiert ihre Werke. Wir überlegen uns immer wieder andere Formate, zum Beispiel begleiten Musiker die Lesungen. Da unsere Organisation keine finanzielle Unterstützung bekommt, zahlt das Publikum Eintritt. Ich war selbst Autor. Aber als ich merkte, dass es viel bessere Schriftsteller gibt, wollte ich lieber mit ihnen zusammenarbeiten. So wurde ich Literaturagent. Ich arbeite zum Beispiel mit dem ukrainischen Autor Max Kidruk. Seine Bücher wurden ins Russische und Polnische übersetzt und wir versuchen, Kontakte zu deutschen und englischen Verlagen zu knüpfen. Ein Traum wäre, einen Verlag für Abenteuerbücher zu gründen. Das ist eine Nische in der Ukraine, die man entwickeln könnte.‟



Iryna Raltschenko, 63, ist Leiterin des Kunstmuseums in Tschernihiw im Norden des Landes.

Iryna Raltschenko | Foto: Natalka Diachenko „Nicht alle Denkmäler unserer Stadt sind in einem guten Zustand. Das betrifft auch Teile unseres Museums. Statt auf staatliche Behörden zu warten, müssen wir selbst etwas tun, um unsere 400 Quadratmeter in einen Kunstraum zu verwandeln. Das Thema Inklusion ist besonders aktuell. Wir möchten das Museum für sehschwache Bürger zugänglich machen und haben nun Schilder in Brailleschrift. Ich träume davon, Miniaturen der bekannten Bauwerke aus Tschernihiw für unseren Innenhof, der für Rollstühle geeignet ist, anzufertigen. Dafür arbeiten wir mit Fachleuten für Holzbau zusammen. Wir suchen nach Geldgebern, um die Nachgestaltungen zu ermöglichen. Ich habe es leichter als die Beamten in der Kulturverwaltung, ich kann mit meinem Personal und den Sammlungen Ideen umsetzen. Diese Freiheit genieße ich an meiner Arbeit.‟



Elena Shulga, 32, ist Art-Direktorin des Jazzclubs „DzEm‟ in Riwne. Die NGO vertritt die Interessen professioneller Musiker der Stadt.

Elena Shulga | Foto: Natalka Diachenko „Ich träume davon, unser Jazzfestival in den nächsten Jahren weiter auszubauen. Dafür wünsche ich mir ein Büro, bisher arbeiten wir von zuhause. Ich stelle mir einen Raum mit Postern unserer Konzerte und Dingen vor, die uns Jazzmusiker aus der ganzen Welt mitbringen. Wir möchten gerne unser Team vergrößern, im Moment arbeiten wir zu zweit und haben freiwillige Helfer. Nächsten August soll das Festival in einem Park stattfinden, mit einer Freilichtbühne. Neben den Konzerten soll es Workshops geben, zum Beispiel zu Design und Videoinstallationen. So können wir Bewohner einbeziehen und die Bürger können sich aktiv für die Kulturszene ihrer Stadt einsetzen. Meine Träume will ich verwirklichen. Und wenn ich etwas will, schaffe ich es auch.‟



Von Natalka Diachenko (Bild) und Franziska Bauer (Text), Mitarbeit: Wolodymyr Schwed (Dolmetscher aus dem Ukrainischen)