“Culture Works” Evaluating value

The project Spieltrieb in Krakau
The project Spieltrieb in Krakau | © Andrzej Banaz

Can the effects of cultural work be verified? The Goethe-Institut has been grappling with this question for many years under academic guidance. Now, the findings were presented and discussed by a panel of top-level experts in Berlin.

By Patrick Wildermann

Not many would call the need for cultural work in international dialogue to question or doubt its ability to build bridges and establish networks. But in times of tightening budgets, pressure grows to substantiate these benefits as tangibly as possible in figures, if only to provide a basis for the legitimacy of continued funding. The Goethe-Institut is aware of this, however anyone demanding evaluation in the cultural sphere is entering a field of controversy in the conflict between value and usability, instruments and instrumentation.

The process is more important than the outcome

Secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert Secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert | © Bernhard Ludewig “What reveals the effects of cultural work? How do we gauge it, how do we illustrate it?” asked Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut at the me Collectors Room located in Berlin-Mitte. Ebert opened the evening of discussion, Culture Works: Using Evaluation to Permanently Shape Foreign Relations, to which the Goethe-Institut invited representatives of various cultural institutions, the European Commission and the Foreign Office.

At the very beginning, the secretary-general raised awareness of the indeterminable things that must not be lost sight of in the course of an evaluation. For instance that “the process of cultural work is sometimes more important than the outcome,” that there is such a thing as “the intrinsic value of aesthetics” and, finally, that the aim of an impact assessment should not be solely to satisfy backers. Instead, it should “open horizons for action” and lead to learning effects for further strategic planning. It is necessary “to think ahead,” to develop best-practice models, to continually, critically reflect and engage in sustained discourse with partners and politics.

Leaving space for the unexpected

Elke Kaschl Mohni Elke Kaschl Mohni | © Bernhard Ludewig For many years, the Goethe-Institut has been grappling with measuring the effects of cultural work under academic guidance. Elke Kaschl Mohni, director of Strategy and Evaluation, vividly outlined some of the assumptions that have been proven in international cooperation on projects, saying, “effect is based on relevance.” In other words, the importance of a project must also be recognizable by the partners and the target group in each country. “Space is left for the unexpected,” she continued. After all, in retrospect often the projects considered most successful were those that took an unplanned turn. Also, according to Kaschl Mohni, “the modus operandi makes the difference.” Namely, a successful partnership must be tackled in a way that is both “contextually and culturally sensitive.”

She cited the Cultural Innovators Network (CIN), a joint project by twenty Goethe-Instituts in the Mediterranean region, as an example from practice. Since its founding in 2012, the CIN has generated an extensive and growing network of young art and cultural professionals dealing with social transformation in their respective countries. This project was evaluated using Michael Callon’s actor-network theory, which pays special attention to breaks and surprising twists. It was just the right method to evaluate with interviews, participant observation and focus groups and thereby better understand correlations. Participants, according to Kaschl Mohni, certainly reported friction within the network, but they also put on record that they were now better able to deal with democratic decision-making processes.

Fear of the “McKinsey effect” in the cultural sector

In the middle: Barbara Gessler In the middle: Barbara Gessler | © Bernhard Ludewig Of course, concerns arise in the context of impact assessments of cultural work, too. At the me Collectors Room, there was repeated mention of a supposedly imminent “McKinsey effect” in the cultural sector, or the worry that in the evaluation, quality might be less important than the pure economics. Barbara Gessler, responsible for the Creative Europe programme at the European Commission, however, reversed the quite relevant question during the panel discussion, by asking why culture should not be an economic factor. “There’s nothing wrong per se with creating jobs.”

Question from the audience Question from the audience | © Bernhard Ludewig In turn, Stefan Duppel from the Foreign Office allayed fears that evaluation could force the process of a cultural project into a corset from the outset, saying, “We agree on objectives. And then we look at the result.” The way the result is reached, though, is open to spontaneous changes in direction and reactions to the unexpected, which often make up the true value and relevance of a project.

Determining this relevance is not a process of “one-to-one logic” as Johannes Ebert had pointed out in the beginning. It is “not necessarily” expressed “in one work.” Hortensia Völckers, artistic director of the German Federal Cultural Foundation, citing an example, added, “If, after several years, we withdraw from a programme in a structurally weak region and the project goes on to visibly grow without us, then it’s also relevant.”

„Kultur wirkt“ Zwischen Wert und Bewertung

Das Projekt Spieltrieb in Krakau
Das Projekt Spieltrieb in Krakau | © Andrzej Banaz

Lässt sich die Wirkung von Kulturarbeit belegen? Das Goethe-Institut beschäftigt sich mit dieser Frage seit mehreren Jahren unter wissenschaftlicher Begleitung. In Berlin wurden jetzt Ergebnisse dazu präsentiert und auf einem hochkarätig besetzten Fachpodium diskutiert.

Von Patrick Wildermann

Kaum jemand wird die Notwendigkeit von Kulturarbeit im internationalen Dialog grundsätzlich infrage stellen, ihre Fähigkeit bezweifeln, Brücken zu bauen und Netzwerke zu stiften. Der Punkt ist nur, dass in Zeiten schmaler werdender Budgets der Druck wächst, diese Segnungen auch konkret und möglichst in Zahlen zu belegen. Nicht zuletzt, um Legitimationsgrundlagen für die weitere Förderung zu schaffen. Dessen ist sich auch das Goethe-Institut bewusst. Allein – wer im Bereich der Kultur nach Evaluation verlangt, begibt sich notwendigerweise auch ins Feld der Kontroversen. In den Widerstreit von Werten und Verwertbarkeit, Instrumenten und Instrumentalisierung.

Der Prozess ist wichtiger als das Ergebnis

Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert | © Bernhard Ludewig „Worin zeigt sich die Wirkung von Kulturarbeit? Wie misst man sie, wie bildet man sie ab?“, fragt Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, im „me Collectors Room“ in Berlin-Mitte. Ebert eröffnet hier den Diskussionsabend „Kultur wirkt – Mit Evaluation Außenbeziehungen nachhaltig gestalten“, zu dem das Goethe-Institut Vertreter verschiedener Kultureinrichtungen, der Europäischen Kommission und des Auswärtigen Amtes geladen hat.

Der Generalsekretär schärft dabei gleich eingangs das Bewusstsein für das Unbestimmbare, das im Zuge einer Evaluation nicht aus dem Blick geraten darf. Dass etwa „der Prozess der Kulturarbeit bisweilen wichtiger ist als das Ergebnis“. Dass es so etwas gibt wie „den Eigenwert des Ästhetischen“. Und dass schließlich eine Wirkungsmessung eben nicht nur zum Ziel haben dürfe, Geldgeber zufrieden zu stellen. Sondern vielmehr „Handlungshorizonte öffnen“ und Lerneffekte für die weitere strategische Planung zeitigen solle. Es gelte „weiter zu denken“, Best-practise-Modelle zu entwickeln, sich fortwährend kritisch zu reflektieren und mit Partnern und der Politik in nachhaltige Diskurse zu treten.

Dem Unvorhergesehen Raum geben

Elke Kaschl Mohni Elke Kaschl Mohni | © Bernhard Ludewig Seit Jahren schon beschäftigt sich das Goethe-Institut unter wissenschaftlicher Begleitung mit der Wirkungsmessung von Kulturarbeit. Einige der Prämissen, die sich in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit bei Projekten bewährt haben, umreißt anschaulich Elke Kaschl Mohni, Leiterin der Abteilung Strategie und Evaluation: „Wirkung beruht auf Relevanz“. Das heißt, die Bedeutung eines Projekts muss auch für die Partner und die Zielgruppe im jeweiligen Land zu erkennen sein. Oder: „Das Unvorhergesehene erhält Raum“. Schließlich seien in der Rückschau oft jene Projekte als besonders gelungen zu betrachten, die eine unplanbare Wendung genommen hätten. Auch mache, so Kaschl Mohni, „die Arbeitsweise den Unterschied“. Was meint, dass eine erfolgreiche Kooperation „kontextsensibel und kultursensibel“ angegangen werden müsse.

Als Beispiel aus der Praxis führt sie das „Cultural Innovators Network“ (CIN) an, ein gemeinsames Projekt von 20 Goethe-Instituten im Mittelmeerraum. Seit der Gründung 2012 hat das CIN ein weitreichendes und stetig wachsendes Netzwerk von jungen Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden gestiftet, die sich mit dem gesellschaftlichen Wandel in ihren jeweiligen Ländern befassen. Evaluiert wurde dieses Projekt nach der „Akteur-Netzwerk-Theorie“ von Michael Callon, die besonderes Augenmerk auf Brüche und überraschende Wendungen legt. Mithin genau die passende Methode, um Interviews, teilnehmende Beobachtung oder Fokusgruppen auszuwerten und somit Zusammenhänge besser zu verstehen. Teilnehmer, so Kaschl Mohni, hätten durchaus von Reibungen innerhalb des Netzwerks berichtet. Aber ebenso zu Protokoll gegeben, sie könnten nun besser mit demokratischen Entscheidungsprozessen umgehen.

Die Angst vor den McKinseys des Kulturbetriebs

In der Mitte: Barbara Gessler In der Mitte: Barbara Gessler | © Bernhard Ludewig Freilich – im Kontext der Wirkungsmessung von Kulturarbeit kommen auch Bedenken auf. Wiederholt macht auch im „me Collectors Room“ das Wort von den vermeintlich drohenden „McKinseys“ des Kulturbetriebs die Runde. Die Sorge also, dass bei der Evaluation Qualität hinter die reine Wirtschaftlichkeit zurückfallen könnte. Was allerdings Barbara Gessler – bei der Europäischen Kommission zuständig für das Programm „Kreatives Europa“ – auf der Podiumsdiskussion in die durchaus diskussionswerte Frage umkehrt, weshalb Kultur nicht auch Wirtschaftsfaktor sein solle? „Es ist per se nichts Schlechtes daran, Jobs zu schaffen.“

Frage aus dem Publikum Frage aus dem Publikum | © Bernhard Ludewig Die Befürchtung, dass die Evaluation den Prozess eines Kulturprojektes von vornherein in ein Korsett zwängen könnte, zerstreut wiederum Stefan Duppel vom Auswärtigen Amt: „Wir vereinbaren Ziele. Und schauen dann auf das Ergebnis.“ Der Weg dorthin aber sei frei für jene spontanen Richtungsänderungen und Reaktionen auf das Unvorhergesehene, die im Zweifelsfall gerade Wert und Relevanz eines Projekts ausmachten.

Die Bestimmung dieser Relevanz folgt dabei eben keiner „Eins-zu-eins-Logik“, wie Johannes Ebert schon eingangs klar gemacht hatte. Sie findet ihren Ausdruck „nicht notwendigerweise in einem Werk“. Hortensia Völckers, künstlerische Direktorin der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, führt als Beispiel an: „Wenn wir uns nach mehreren Jahren aus einem Programm in einer strukturschwachen Region zurückziehen und das Projekt wächst auch ohne uns sichtbar – dann ist es auch relevant.“