Berlinale Breakfast “Bridges suddenly appear”

Many awards were conferred at the Goethe-Institut’s Berlinale Breakfast.
Many awards were conferred at the Goethe-Institut’s Berlinale Breakfast. | © Uwe Steinert

Arts and film people rub elbows and the aroma of coffee fills the air. Caroline Mutz from Arte Culture describes the Goethe-Institut’s Berlinale Breakfast as, “A lovely start,” with its “good cross-section of people that you don’t meet just anywhere and certainly not in one place.”

By Julia Teichmann

Secretary-General Ebert reveals the secret of the garden gnome. Secretary-General Ebert reveals the secret of the garden gnome. | © Uwe Steinert The mood is casual and informal for an award ceremony that is as original as it is congenial. Some important film awards that the winners were unable to accept in person at the festivals held abroad by the Goethe-Institut are now being presented to filmmakers by the festival directors. On the small stage, Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, holds up a golden garden gnome and says with a wink, “At the end, we’ll reveal this fellow’s secret.”

A cinematic cultural dialogue

So, while the larger room next-door is abuzz, there is a charged stillness here. I catch sight of Victoria director Sebastian Schipper in the crowd and further to the left I see actor Florian Stetter and director Dietrich Brüggemann. A few minutes later, Stetter, who played Friedrich Schiller in Dominik Graf’s shimmering love story Beloved Sisters, stands in for his director on the stage, saying, “He’s busy finishing up his latest film (Verfluchte Liebe deutscher Film) because it’s going to be shown here next week at the Berlinale!”

Dea International Film Festival in Albania awarded Graf for his screenplay. “I am the happiest person on earth because I was able to make this film.” He travelled around the world for Beloved Sisters and Dietrich Brüggemann’s Stations of the Cross to China, Australia, Russia and is very grateful to the Goethe-Institut, he later explains, “Especially for the cultural dialogue: Bridges suddenly appear. The language of film is universal.”

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, welcomes the guests. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, welcomes the guests. | © Uwe Steinert Even at the Berlinale the Goethe-Institut promotes cinematic cultural dialogue. For instance, for many years as part of the Berlinale Talents Programme it has been inviting young critics from around the world to write about the films screened with the help of a mentor and to share with international colleagues in workshops. Oris Aigbokhaevbolo from Nigeria, one of the 2015 participants, reports about an incredible boost for his self-esteem. “I come from Nollywood, a film culture that is not very highly developed when it comes to film criticism. All of a sudden, what I do means something.”

Berlinale worldwide

Large crowds at the Berlinale Breakfast. Large crowds at the Berlinale Breakfast. | © Uwe Steinert Johannes Hossfeld, the newest head of the film department at the Goethe-Institut head office in Munich is particularly excited about one project. “Since last year, the Berlinale continues for the entire year with the Berlinale Spotlights,” he relates. The Spotlights are a film programme by the Berlinale that can be booked abroad, bringing the festival to people worldwide. Hossfeld personally is looking forward to the two films by the documentary filmmaker Philip Scheffner that will be shown at the Forum this year.

After getting a “satirical look at the real world” of the Coen brothers at their opening film Hail, Caesar!, Secretary-General Johannes Ebert is also looking forward to the new German films. For him, the film medium is most important at the present time in conjunction with social challenges. In 2015, the Goethe-Institut launched its Cinemanya project, packing 15 cases full of films for use in refugee accommodations, schools and cultural centres. They allow refugee children, with educational supervision, to see 18 German films for children and teens that have been either dubbed or subtitled in Arabic.

A related workshop for media professionals was held on the first Friday of the Berlinale. It focused on the current, pressing question of how displacement can be portrayed medially for children.

The latest theatrical and film project by the Goethe-Institut, Europoly, will also premiere its films at the Berlinale. The very personal and formally free shorts about “Europe in times of transformation” will be screened for the first time at Arsenal 2. On the Goethe-Institut’s webpage, thirteen journalists will report from the festival on the Berlinale Blog with international and multiple perspectives.

The best and most beautiful of all awards

Sebastian Schipper accepts his award. Sebastian Schipper accepts his award. | © Uwe Steinert On stage, Sebastian Schipper accepts the award for best direction for his two-hour, passionate tour-de-force journey through Berlin by night, Victoria, from Carlos Nuñez, the director of the Santiago Festival Internacional de Cine. Schipper raves, “People do this trip through Berlin at the other end of the world – and it means something to them!” He goes on to say that for a German filmmaker, travelling with your own films around the world gives you “self-confidence; it makes you strong” and raise “your awareness for the world that we come from and what stories we tell of this world.”

Are we forgetting something? There is one last prize and its winner, Baran bo Odar, gratefully says that it is “the best and most beautiful of all awards,” namely the award that he was given for his film Who Am I by the audience at the Festival of German Films that has been organized by the Goethe-Institut for many years in Australia. The Golden Gnome!

Berlinale-Frühstück „Plötzlich entstehen Brücken“

Zahlreiche Preise wurden beim Berlinale-Frühstück des Goethe-Instituts verliehen.
Zahlreiche Preise wurden beim Berlinale-Frühstück des Goethe-Instituts verliehen. | © Uwe Steinert

Regisseure, Schauspieler, Produzenten, Kultur- und Filmschaffende drängen sich, Kaffeeduft zieht durch den Raum. „Ein schöner Auftakt“ sei das Berlinale-Frühstück des Goethe-Instituts, sagt Caroline Mutz, Redakteurin bei Arte Kultur, und genießt es, die Berlinale mit dieser „guten Schnittmenge an Menschen, die man nicht überall und schon gar nicht an einem Ort trifft“, zu beginnen. Traditionell findet das Frühstück am ersten Berlinale-Wochenende statt, in der Berliner Niederlassung, mitten in Mitte.

Von Julia Teichmann

Generalsekretär Ebert lüftet das Geheimnis des Gartenzwergs. Generalsekretär Ebert lüftet das Geheimnis des Gartenzwergs. | © Uwe Steinert Der Rahmen ist ungezwungen und informell, obwohl es eine so originelle wie sympathische Preisverleihung gibt: Einige wichtige Filmpreise, die ihre Gewinner auf den vom Goethe-Institut ausgerichteten Festivals im Ausland nicht entgegennehmen konnten, werden nun hier von den Festivalleitern an die Filmschaffenden vergeben. Auf der kleinen Bühne hebt Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, einen goldenen Gartenzwerg in die Höhe und bemerkt augenzwinkernd: „Am Schluss werden Sie erfahren, was es mit diesem Kerl auf sich hat.“

Filmischer Kulturaustausch auf der Berlinale

Während also im größeren Nebenraum die Stimmen schwirren, herrscht hier gespannte Stille. In der Menge ist Victoria-Regisseur Sebastian Schipper zu sehen, weiter links der Schauspieler Florian Stetter und der Regisseur Dietrich Brüggemann. Minuten später vertritt Stetter, der in Dominik Grafs flirrender Liebesgeschichte Geliebte Schwestern den Friedrich Schiller spielt, seinen Regisseur auf der Bühne: „Er muss noch ganz schnell seinen aktuellen Film (Verfluchte Liebe deutscher Film) fertig stellen – denn der läuft nächste Woche hier auf der Berlinale!“
 
Graf wurde vom Dea International Film Festival in Albanien für sein Drehbuch ausgezeichnet. „Ich bin der glücklichste Mensch der Welt, weil ich diesen Film machen durfte.“ Mit Geliebte Schwestern und Dietrich Brüggemanns Kreuzweg sei er um die Welt gereist, nach China, Australien, Russland. Dafür sei er dem Goethe-Institut sehr dankbar, erzählt er später: „Vor allem für den Kulturaustausch: Plötzlich entstehen Brücken. Die Sprache des Films ist universell.“
 
Der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, begrüßt die Gäste. Der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, begrüßt die Gäste. | © Uwe Steinert Den filmischen Kulturaustausch fördert das Goethe-Institut auch auf der Berlinale: So lädt es gemeinsam mit der Berlinale im Rahmen des Berlinale-Talents-Programms seit vielen Jahren junge Kritiker aus aller Welt ein, die unter der Anleitung eines Mentors über die gezeigten Filme schreiben und sich mit internationalen Kollegen in Workshops austauschen. Oris Aigbokhaevbolo aus Nigeria, einer der Teilnehmer von 2015, berichtet von einem ungeheuren Schub für sein Selbstbewusstsein: „Ich komme aus Nollywood, einer Filmkultur, die nicht besonders entwickelt ist, was die Filmkritik betrifft. Das, was ich tue, hat auf einmal etwas bedeutet.“

Berlinale weltweit
 
Großer Andrang auf dem Berlinale-Frühstück. Großer Andrang auf dem Berlinale-Frühstück. | © Uwe Steinert Ein Projekt begeistert Johannes Hossfeld, seit kurzem Leiter des Bereichs Film, Fernsehen und Hörfunk in der Zentrale des Goethe-Instituts in München, ganz besonders: „Seit letztem Jahr verstärken wir die Zusammenarbeit mit der Berlinale im Ausland. Mit den Berlinale Spotlights findet die Berlinale das ganze Jahr hindurch statt.“ Die Spotlights sind ein Filmprogramm der Berlinale, das im Ausland gebucht werden kann. Auf diese Weise kommt das Festival zu den Menschen – weltweit.

Hossfeld persönlich freut sich nun besonders auf die zwei Filme des Dokumentarfilmemachers Philip Scheffner, die dieses Jahr im Forum laufen. Auch Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert ist, nach dem „satirischen Blick auf die wahre Welt“ der Coen-Brüder mit ihrem Eröffnungsfilm Hail, Caesar!, gespannt auf die neuen deutschen Filme. Besonders wichtig ist ihm das Medium Film im Zusammenhang mit den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen: So hat das Goethe-Institut 2015 das Projekt „Cinemanya“ aus der Taufe gehoben und 15 Filmkoffer für den Einsatz in Flüchtlingsunterkünften, Schulen und Kulturzentren gepackt. Flüchtlingskinder können, medienpädagogisch begleitet, nun 18 deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilme synchronisiert oder mit arabischer Untertitelung sehen.
 
Im Umfeld der Berlinale fand am ersten Freitag ein verwandter Workshop für Medienschaffende statt. Er drehte sich um die aktuelle und drängende Frage, „wie Flucht medial kindgerecht dargestellt werden kann“.
 
Das aktuelle Theater- und Filmprojekt des Goethe-Instituts, Europoly, hat  in seinem filmischen Teil auch auf der Berlinale Premiere: Die sehr persönlichen und formal freien Kurzfilme über das „Neue Alte Europa“ werden im Arsenal 2 uraufgeführt. International und multiperspektivisch berichten auf der Homepage des Goethe Instituts 13 Journalisten als Berlinale Blogger.

Der beste und schönste aller Preise
 
Sebastian Schipper nimmt seinen Preis entgegen. Sebastian Schipper nimmt seinen Preis entgegen. | © Uwe Steinert Auf der Bühne nimmt Sebastian Schipper den Preis für die beste Regie entgegen, für seine zweistündige, leidenschaftliche Tour-de-Force durchs nächtliche Berlin Victoria – verliehen von Carlos Nuñez, Direktor des Santiago Festival Internacional de Cine. Schipper zeigt sich begeistert: „Am anderen Ende der Welt machen Leute diesen Trip durch Berlin – und er bedeutet ihnen was!“ Als deutschem Filmemacher gäben einem die Reisen mit den eigenen Filmen um die Welt „Selbstbewusstsein, sie machen einen stark“ und schärfen „das Bewusstsein für die Welt, aus der wir kommen und was wir erzählen aus dieser Welt“.
 
Da war doch noch etwas? Der goldene Gartenzwerg! Der Zwerg ist, so bedankt sich sein Gewinner Baran bo Odar, „der Beste und Schönste aller Preise“ – nämlich der Publikumspreis, den er für seinen Film Who Am I auf dem traditionsreichen, vom Goethe-Institut ausgerichteten Festival of German Films in Australien zugesprochen bekam. Der Zwerg hieße im Übrigen leider nicht Gartenzwerg, erläutert Johannes Ebert auf der Bühne, sondern „Golden Gnome“ – für seine wahre Identität setze er sich noch ein.