contrapunkt The Music of Poland – Mazurka to Metal

Jagoda Szmytka
Jagoda Szmytka | Photo: Andoz Krishnadas

Avant-garde from right next-door: For its contrapunkt series, the Goethe-Institut will explore the new music scene in Poland. A concert and a discussion broadcast live on BR-Klassik radio aim to reveal the diversity among a young generation of artists and celebrate the anniversary year of the Polish–German Treaty of Good Neighbourship.

Two events offer occasions to take a look at the cultural landscape of our neighbouring country: Wrocław is this year’s European Capital of Culture and 2016 is also the 25th anniversary of the Polish-German Treaty of Good Neighbourship and Friendly Cooperation.
 
This latest edition of contrapunkt will launch with a concert by Gośka Isphording (cembalo/sampler), Eva Zöllner (accordion), Steffen Ahrens (guitar) and Caleb Salgado (contrabass). They will perform works by contemporary Polish composers such as Hanna Kulenty, Zygmunt Krauze, Aleksander Tansman, Tadeusz Wielecki and Jagoda Szmytka.



Following the concert, Jagoda Szmytka and Tadeusz Wielecki will talk with Georg Blochmann, the director of the Goethe-Institut Warsaw since 2012, about the present circumstances of young musicians and artists in Poland. What challenges do Polish musicians face today? Where do they envision creative possibilities? And what opportunities does the present music landscape offer young musicians?
 
With her work, Jagoda Szmytka stands for “social compositions” that can make the social space of music resonate. Her compositions for the “eyes, ears and mind” combine high and pop culture, philosophy and social reality. Tadeusz Wielecki deals with intuitive music in his improvisational ensemble the Mud Cavaliers. In addition, he has been head of the Warsaw Autumn festival since 1999.
 
The discussion will be broadcast live on BR-Klassik radio: Thursday, 28 of April, 2016; 9 p.m. - 10 p.m.

contrapunkt Musikland Polen – von Mazurka bis Metalmania

Jagoda Szmytka
Jagoda Szmytka | Foto: Andoz Krishnadas

Avantgarde von nebenan: In der Reihe „contrapunkt“ lädt das Goethe-Institut dazu ein, die neue Musikszene Polens zu entdecken. Ein Konzert und eine Diskussion, die auf BR-Klassik live übertragen wird, zeigen die Vielfalt einer jungen Künstlergeneration und feiern das Jubiläumsjahr des deutsch-polnischen Nachbarschafts-Vertrages.
 

Gleich zwei Ereignisse geben Anlass, einen Blick in die Kulturlandschaft unseres Nachbarlandes zu werfen: Wrocław, ehemals Breslau, ist in diesem Jahr Kulturhauptstadt Europas. Zugleich wird 2016 das 25-jährige Jubiläum des deutsch-polnischen Vertrages über gute Nachbarschaft und freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit gefeiert.
 
Auftakt der aktuellen contrapunkt-Ausgabe ist ein Konzert mit Gośka Isphording (Cembalo/Sampler), Eva Zöllner (Akkordeon, Steffen Ahrens (Gitarre) und Caleb Salgado (Kontrabass). Sie spielen Werke zeitgenössischer polnischer Komponistinnen und Komponisten wie Hanna Kulenty, Zygmunt Krauze, Aleksander Tansman, Tadeusz Wielecki und Jagoda Szmytka.

Im Anschluss an das Konzert diskutieren Jagoda Szmytka und Tadeusz Wielecki mit Georg Blochmann, seit 2012 Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Warschau, über die aktuelle Situation junger Musiker und Künstler in Polen. Vor welchen Herausforderungen stehen polnische Musikerinnen und Musiker heute? Wo sehen Sie Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten?
 


Jagoda Szmytka steht mit ihrem Werk für „soziale Kompositionen“, die den gesellschaftlichen Resonanzraum des Musikmachens mitklingen lassen. Ihre Kompositionen für „Augen, Ohren und Denken“ verbinden Hoch- und Popkultur, Philosophie und soziale Realität. Tadeusz Wielecki hingegen beschäftigt sich im Improvisationsensemble „The Mud Cavaliers“ mit intuitiver Musik. Zudem leitet er seit 1999 das Festival „Warschauer Herbst“
 
Die Diskussion wird live auf BR-Klassik übertragen: Donnerstag, 28. April 2016, 21:00 bis 22:00 Uhr