“Tann(z)häuser” Behind the Scenes in Cuba

Behind the scenes of “Tannhäuser”
Behind the scenes of “Tannhäuser” | Photo: Andreas Schiekofer

Richard Wagner in Cuba? It may sound strange, but they blend very well! The “Tann(z)häuser” project initiated by the Goethe-Institut now had its celebrated premiere in Havana. The bumpy pathway to the premiere was captured in an illuminating report by the 3sat programme “Kulturzeit”. The full-length show can now be watched online on the Mediathek.

Cuban society is presently experiencing openings in many areas: in the economy, research and not least in the arts. “We’re right in the middle of that with our project,” explains director Andreas Baesler. He put together a production of Richard Wagner’s Tannhäuser in socialist Cuba that premiered as an interdisciplinary blend of opera, dance and visual art. Renamed Tann(z)häuser, it is the first Wagner production ever to be held in the Gran Teatro de La Habana Alicia Alonso.

The report “Tannhäuser in Havana” takes a look behind the scenes of this ambitious project. Writers Britta Zekorn and Jochen Beckmann observed and interviewed the ensemble of artists from Germany, Austria and Cuba during their work. It was broadcast during the 3sat programme Kulturzeit on 15 April and will be available to watch in its entirety for another year on the broadcaster’s online Mediathek.

The Cuban leads Johana Símon and Marcos Lima sing the opera in German, which is no easy task. Although the two went to Bayreuth in 2015 on scholarship, opera does not have a long tradition as an art form in Cuba. Operas were not welcome under Fidel Castro. Even today, the socialist island state has hardly any conductors and directors dedicated to musical theatre.

This makes German-Cuban coproductions like Tann(z)häuser, mounted by the Goethe-Institut liaison office in Havana together with the Teatro Lírico Nacional de Cuba opera ensemble, the Danza Teatro Retazos dance company and the International Association of Wagner Societies, all the more crucial. This is the second Wagner premiere in Cuba in recent years. In 2013, The Flying Dutchman was performed in Havana in German with some of the same personnel.

In addition to looking at rehearsals, the Kulturzeit report illuminates the living and working conditions of artists in Cuba. Many have to pursue other occupations on the side to earn their livelihood. For this reason, Austrian conductor Walter Gugerbauer explains, he hardly ever had a complete cast at the rehearsals. The Tann(z)häuser production itself is also a reflection of the nation as it is the story of an artist who yearns to make it in mainstream society.

„Tann(z)häuser“ Hinter Kubas Kulissen

Hinter den Kulissen des „Tann(z)häuser“
Hinter den Kulissen des „Tann(z)häuser“ | Foto: Andreas Schiekofer

Richard Wagner auf Kuba? Klingt fremd. Passt aber zusammen! Das vom Goethe-Institut gestiftete Projekt „Tann(z)häuser“ ist in Havanna zur umjubelten Premiere gekommen. Den durchaus hürdenreichen Weg dorthin zeichnet eine erhellende Reportage der 3sat-Sendung „Kulturzeit“ nach – in voller Länge abrufbar in der Mediathek.

Die kubanische Gesellschaft erlebt gegenwärtig eine Öffnung in vielen Bereichen. In der Ökonomie, der Forschung, und nicht zuletzt in der Kunst. „Da sind wir mit unserem Projekt mittendrin“, findet Regisseur Andreas Baesler. Er hat im sozialistischen Kuba das Richard-Wagner-Werk Tannhäuser als genreübergreifende Verbindung von Oper, Tanz und Bildender Kunst zur gefeierten Premiere gebracht, Tann(z)häuser betitelt – als erste Wagner-Produktion im Opernhaus Alicia Alonso überhaupt.

Hinter die Kulissen dieses ambitionierten Projekts blickt die Reportage Tannhäuser in Havanna, ausgestrahlt am 15. April in der 3sat-Sendung Kulturzeit und in voller Länge noch ein Jahr lang in der Mediathek des Senders abzurufen. Die Autoren Britta Zekorn und Jochen Beckmann beobachten und befragen das deutsch-österreichisch-kubanische Ensemble bei der Arbeit.

Singend nähern sich die kubanischen Hauptdarsteller Johana Símon und Marcos Lima der deutschen Sprache. Keine leichte Aufgabe. Zwar waren beide 2015 mit einem Stipendium in Bayreuth. Doch auf Kuba besitzt die Kunstform Oper keine gewachsene Tradition. Unter Castro war sie lange verpönt. Noch heute gibt es im sozialistischen Inselstaat kaum Dirigenten und Regisseure, die sich dem Musiktheater verschreiben.

Umso wichtiger sind deutsch-kubanische Koproduktion wie Tann(z)häuser, initiiert vom Verbindungsbüro des Goethe-Instituts Havanna, dem Opernensemble Teatro Lírico Nacional de Cuba, der Kompagnie Danza Teatro Retazos und dem Richard-Wagner-Verband International.Es ist immerhin schon die zweite Wagner-Premiere auf Kuba. 2013 kam in Havanna Der fliegende Holländer in deutscher Sprache zur Aufführung, teilweise mit dem gleichen Team.

Der Kulturzeit-Bericht beleuchtet neben den Proben auch die Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen für Künstler auf Kuba. Viele müssen nebenbei weiteren Berufen nachgehen, um ihren Unterhalt bestreiten zu können. Fast nie habe er deshalb eine vollzählige Besetzung auf den Proben, beschreibt der österreichische Dirigent Walter Gugerbauer. Zum Spiegel eines Landes im Umbruch wird freilich auch die Tann(z)häuser-Produktion selbst. Schließlich erzählt sie die Geschichte eines Künstlers, der sich danach sehnt, in der Mitte der Gesellschaft anzukommen.