Ukraine What Rhymes with War?

The premiere of Depeche Mode in Kharkiv.
The premiere of Depeche Mode in Kharkiv. | Photo: Marharyta Kornyushchenko

Serhiy Zhadan is one of the chief influencers of the young scene in his home city of Kharkiv in the Russian-speaking eastern part of Ukraine. The poet, author und musician fought on the Maidan and polemicized against Putin. The Goethe-Institut collaborates closely with him, most recently as part of the special Eastern Partnership funding by the German Foreign Office by supporting the production of the theatrical version of Zhadan’s novel Depeche Mode. In it, Zhadan writes about personal fates and the responsibility of writers in times of war.

The first war novels are being published in Ukraine. Subjective, painful books with real people; sometimes they remind one of reportages, sometimes of collected comments from the social networks. They are causing hype among the readers and filling the bookshop shelves. They are hard to critique. Even if you do not like the form much, the authors’ frankness is disarming. No one knows how to write reviews about them; there has been no war in Ukraine since its independence.

Serhij Zhadan Serhij Zhadan | Photo: Stephan Röhl No one was prepared for wartime and certainly no one – neither authors nor critics – were prepared to write about it. Literature attempts to grasp what is in the air. It reacts to the events out there, attempts to hold on and to preserve, searches for new words. It attempts to sense new constellations that have nothing in common with the pre-war time, neither in their language nor in their tragedy nor the first-hand encounter with death.

How to write about war

How can one write about the war at all, especially when one is a safe distance from it? How real is the viewpoint of a person in the backcountry when they write about artillery fire and wounds? Does the geographic distance contribute to objectivity or does it prevent it altogether? Is it possible at all to write objectively about the war? Is it even desirable? To its own surprise, Ukrainian culture is confronted with many serious questions. What is presently happening to us all is a kind of coming of age. The war drives the infantilism out of all of us, even the poets.

Suddenly, you see yourself faced with countless questions: how are you to react to so much blood and adversity in your own neighbourhood? Should you talk about things that refer to very personal tragedies and calamities? Is it alright to write about it and is it just as alright to remain silent? Is art necessary at all in times of war? The questions seem fairly general and rhetorical, but perhaps the war is precisely the moment in which the general warps into the personal, depending on your own experiences.

Art enables resistance and survival

In times of war strange things happen with art anyway. Sometimes it defies the outward circumstances and the political climate. Politicians and civil servants can economize with art projects all they want and blame the cutbacks on war expenditures and the poor economy. But you only need to have travelled once through the bomb-gutted little towns of Donbass and have experienced the reaction of the local population to music and literature. Or the reaction of the military personnel when musician and authors come to them and invite them to improvised concerts and readings.

Commemorating the victims of Maidan: Photos and candles commemorate the dead. Commemorating the victims of Maidan: Photos and candles commemorate the dead. | Photo: Natalka Diacenko People cling to art as a thing that formed them, with which they can identify and that makes them forget the internal deformities. Parallels can be drawn to adverse everyday conditions: Even if you have no hot water, you have to wash. Art all at once enables resistance and survival, recognizes their weight for society, feels the ties with thousands of destinies and biographies. So you are not just writing rhymes, but in this way you are communicating with others, with those who listen to you, who want to understand you. This is an extremely important and responsible moment.

Everyone – both the readers and the authors – leaves such events changed. The novels written or poems recited, the patriotic video clips and documentary photography exhibitions are of secondary importance. What matters is that from all the literature, from all of the black and white frontline photographs, from all the anger, the pathos and the despair a new hero arises whose voice, whose intonation can be heard. It would be nice if this hero could return home as soon as possible, if only to tell us about it all.

Serhiy Zhadan, who was born in eastern Ukraine in 1974, lives in Kharkiv. The BBC praised his work Voroshilovgrad as the “Book of the Decade.” The Goethe-Institut has been collaborating closely with him for many years – whether as a poet, musician or the voice of the Maidan. Most recently, as part of the special Eastern Partnership funding by the German Foreign Office, the Goethe-Institut supported the production of the theatrical version of Serhiy Zhadan’s novel Depeche Mode at the children’s and youth theatre in Kharkiv.

Ukraine Was reimt sich auf Krieg?

Die Premiere von „Depeche Mode“ in Charkiw.
Die Premiere von „Depeche Mode“ in Charkiw. | Foto: Marharyta Kornyushchenko

Serhij Zhadan hat die junge Szene in seiner Heimatstadt Charkiw im russischsprachigen Ostteil der Ukraine wesentlich mitgeprägt. Das Goethe-Institut arbeitet eng mit ihm zusammen. Zuletzt unterstützte es im Rahmen der Sondermittel „Östliche Partnerschaft“ des Auswärtigen Amts die Inszenierung der Theaterfassung von Zhadans Roman „Depeche Mode“. Hier schreibt Zhadan über persönliche Schicksale und die Verantwortung von Schriftstellern in Kriegszeiten.

In der Ukraine erscheinen die ersten Kriegsromane. Subjektive, schmerzhafte Bücher mit realen Personen; manchmal erinnern sie an Reportagen, manchmal an gesammelte Einträge aus den sozialen Netzwerken. Sie lösen einen Hype unter den Lesern aus und füllen in den Buchhandlungen Regal um Regal. Sie sind schwer zu kritisieren. Auch wenn dir die Form nicht zusagt, wirkt die Ehrlichkeit der Autoren entwaffnend. Keiner weiß, wie man Kritiken dazu schreiben soll – seit der Unabhängigkeit hat es in der Ukraine keinen Krieg gegeben.

Serhij Zhadan Serhij Zhadan | Foto: Stephan Röhl Auf Kriegszeiten war hier niemand vorbereitet und erst recht war niemand – weder Autoren noch Kritiker – darauf vorbereitet, darüber zu schreiben. Die Literatur versucht zu erfassen, was in der Luft liegt. Sie reagiert auf die Ereignisse da draußen, versucht festzuhalten und zu bewahren, sucht nach neuen Wörtern. Sie versucht, neue Konstellationen zu erspüren, die mit denen der Vorkriegszeit nichts gemeinsam haben, weder in ihrer Sprache noch in ihrer Tragik noch in der hautnahen Begegnung mit dem Tod.

Wie man über Krieg schreibt

Wie kann man überhaupt über den Krieg schreiben – besonders wenn man sich in sicherer Entfernung von ihm befindet? Wie real ist die Sicht einer Person im Hinterland, wenn sie über Artilleriefeuer und Verletzungen schreibt? Trägt die räumliche Distanz zur Wahrung von Objektivität bei oder verhindert sie sie gerade? Lässt sich über Krieg überhaupt objektiv schreiben? Und ist das eigentlich wünschenswert? Zu ihrer eigenen Überraschung sieht sich die ukrainische Kultur mit vielen ernsten Fragen konfrontiert. Was gegenwärtig mit uns allen passiert, ist so eine Art Erwachsenwerden. Der Krieg treibt allen die Infantilität aus, auch den Dichtern.

Plötzlich siehst du dich mit einer Unmenge von Fragen konfrontiert – wie sollst du auf so viel Blut und Unglück in deiner nächsten Umgebung reagieren? Sollst du über Dinge reden, die ganz persönliche Tragödien und Schicksalsschläge betreffen? Ist es in Ordnung, darüber zu schreiben, und ist es ebenso in Ordnung zu schweigen? Ist Kultur in Kriegszeiten überhaupt nötig? Die Fragen scheinen recht allgemeiner und rhetorischer Natur zu sein, aber vielleicht ist der Krieg genau der Moment, in dem sich das Allgemeine ins Persönliche verkehrt, je nachdem, welche Erfahrungen du machst.

Kultur ermöglicht Widerstand und Überleben

In Kriegszeiten passieren mit der Kultur ohnehin merkwürdige Dinge. Manchmal trotzt sieden äußeren Bedingungen und der politischen Konjunktur. Politiker und Beamte können an Kulturprojekten sparen, so viel sie wollen, und den Sparkurs auf die Kriegsausgaben und die schlechte Wirtschaftslage schieben. Aber man braucht nur einmal in den zerbombten Kleinstädten des Donbass unterwegs gewesen zu sein und die Reaktion der örtlichen Bevölkerung auf Musik und Literatur miterlebt zu haben. Oder etwa die Reaktion der Armeeangehörigen, wenn Musiker und Autoren zu ihnen kommen und zu improvisierten Konzerten und Lesungen einladen.

Gedenken an die Opfer des Maidan:  Fotos und Kerzen erinnern an die Toten. Gedenken an die Opfer des Maidan: Fotos und Kerzen erinnern an die Toten. | Foto: Natalka Diacenko Die Menschen klammern sich an die Kultur wie an eine Sache, die sie geformt hat, mit der sie sich identifizieren können und die die inneren Deformierungen vergessen macht. Da lassen sich Parallelen zu widrigen Alltagsbedingungen ziehen: Auch wenn man kein heißes Wasser hat, muss man sich waschen. Die Kultur ermöglicht auf einmal Widerstand und Überleben, erkennt ihr Gewicht für die Gesellschaft, spürt die Verbundenheit mit Tausenden Schicksalen und Biografien. Du schreibst also nicht einfach Reime, sondern auf diese Weise verständigst du dich mit anderen, mit denen, die dir zuhören, die dich verstehen wollen. Das ist ein außerordentlich wichtiger und verantwortungsvoller Moment.

Alle gehen verändert aus derartigen Veranstaltungen heraus – sowohl die Leser als auch die Autoren. Die geschriebenen Romane oder vorgetragenen Gedichte, die patriotischen Videoclips und dokumentarischen Fotoausstellungen sind dabei zweitrangig. Es geht darum, dass aus all der Literatur, aus all den schwarz-weißen Frontfotografien, aus all der Wut, dem Pathos und der Verzweiflung ein neuer Held entsteht, dessen Stimme, dessen Intonation zu hören ist. Schön wäre es, wenn dieser Held so schnell wie möglich nach Hause zurückkehren könnte. Und sei es nur, um über alles zu erzählen.

Aus dem Ukrainischen von Claudia Dathe.

Serhij Zhadan, 1974 in der Ostukraine geboren, lebt in Charkiw. Die BBC kürte sein Werk »Die Erfindung des Jazz im Donbass« zum »Buch des Jahrzehnts«. Das Goethe-Institut arbeitet seit vielen Jahren eng mit ihm zusammen – sei es als Dichter, Musiker oder als Stimme des Maidan.