Congo Music everywhere – Anniversary of the Goethe-Institut Kinshasa

Music is very important in Kinshasa
Music is very important in Kinshasa | Photo: Gitte Zschoch

Worldwide, there are 159 Goethe-Instituts. One of the newest is in the capital city of Congo. On its first anniversary, Gitte Zschoch, the director of the institute, talks about the incredible improvisational talents of the country’s artists and the vibrant music scene.

Ms Zschoch, how did you prepare yourself to work in a metropolis with a good nine million inhabitants that just keeps growing?

During my practical training at the Goethe-Institut, I worked for one year at the Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg, which is our regional institute for the region of sub-Saharan Africa. While there, I had plenty of contacts with the other countries in the region. It was during this period that the idea arose to open an office in Kinshasa, an idea that excited all of us.

Gitte Zschoch Gitte Zschoch | Photo: Bettina Siegwart After my training, when I had a position on the staff of the Communications Department in Munich, the job posting arrived and it was clear to me I had to apply. Actually, I had never lost sight of Kinshasa for the entire time.

What projects have you been able to start up since the opening in February 2015?

Kinshasa is the capital city of music, not just in the Congo, but all of Africa. Rumba congolaise is well known beyond Africa’s borders. We therefore organized a workshop together with the Music in Africa foundation to support young musicians in their first steps on the pathway to a professional career. That was the beginning. We also organized a guest performance by Gintersdorfer/Klassen, a dance company that works with Germans, Ivoirians and Congolese. Their piece Mobutu choreographiert was about the rule of President Mobutu and his love of self-projection.

The guest performance was held at the Institut Français, where we are also located. The house was jam-packed! It was a very visible, major event.

We additionally worked a lot with local initiatives. In November 2015 a symposium was held at the art academy in Kinshasa in cooperation with universities in Johannesburg and São Paulo dedicated to the question of how art and art history can be taught in the global South.

What approaches are there?

That was broadly debated since the question is actually how a nation of the global South can write its own art history. Recently, the Fondation Cartier in Paris showed the exhibition Congo Kitoko, which caused a major stir and was managed by a French curator. This led to the central question for the participants of the conference: How can we as Congolese write our own art history? And of course also: How can the art academies of the global South profit from one another?

The Goethe-Institut ran a blog with posts from around the world called “Liebe Heimat” that also contained your impressions. There is an image of men playing music with a crate, bundles of dry grass and sticks used as drumsticks. You can also see the improvised exhibition of art hung on a wall outdoors. Is it noticeable that the people use all of these nooks in Kinshasa to express themselves?

Even a box and dry grass can be musical instruments. Even a box and dry grass can be musical instruments. | Photo: Gitte Zchoch Yes, absolutely. That enthralled me from the very beginning and I wanted to address that in Liebe Heimat. Right now, the Goethe-Institut is working a lot on the theme of the urban space. Kinshasa is an incredibly big city that is very densely populated. The improvisational skills of the artists are really enormous, which is why – in addition to the lack of structures in cultural promotion – they simply use new spaces.

One artist, for instance, simply opened a studio and exhibited his work in his home. Often, the musicians don’t have high quality instruments, but build their own out of what they have – drums, for example. And I think that the sound they create is really impressive and is something special for the arts scene in Kinshasa.

How assessable is the arts scene in Kinshasa?

There are a huge number of artists living here from all genres. If you look around Congo in general, there are other cities, like Goma, Lubumbashi and Kisangani, with quite respectable arts scenes, too. But, Kinshasa is the most striking of all. There is the art academy, the Institut National des Arts, so two large educational institutions. Then there’s the national museum and a museum of modern art.

And the city is influenced by many structures. Visual artists often unite in loose collectives and work on specific themes. But there are also smaller private structures like the KinArt Studio, a centre of fine arts that we cooperate with and where artists are going to great lengths with plenty of personal initiative to establish new structures.

Transcription of a conversation between Gitte Zschoch and Sigrid Brinkmann held on 15 February 2016 (Deutschlandradio Kultur)

Gitte Zschoch has been the director of the Goethe-Institut in the Democratic Republic of the Congo since 1 April 2015. The literary scholar and Korean expert previously worked for the Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg and Munich.

Kongo Musik überall – ein Jahr Goethe-Institut Kinshasa

In Kinshasa spielt Musik eine große Rolle
In Kinshasa spielt Musik eine große Rolle | Foto: Gitte Zschoch

159 Goethe-Institute gibt es weltweit: Eines der jüngsten ist das Institut in der Hauptstadt des Kongo. Zum ersten Geburtstag erzählt Gitte Zschoch, Leiterin des Instituts, von der erstaunlichen Improvisationsgabe der Künstler im Land und der lebendigen Musikszene.

Frau Zschoch, wie haben Sie sich auf die Arbeit in einer Metropole vorbereitet, die gut neun Millionen Einwohner hat und nicht aufhört zu wachsen?

Während meines Volontariats am Goethe-Institut habe ich ein Jahr am Goethe-Institut in Johannesburg gearbeitet, das ist unser Regionalinstitut für die Region Subsahara-Afrika. Dort hatte ich bereits viele Kontakte mit den anderen Ländern der Region. Unter anderem ist in dieser Zeit auch die Idee entstanden, ein Büro in Kinshasa zu eröffnen, eine Idee, die uns alle begeistert hat.

Gitte Zschoch Gitte Zschoch | Foto: Bettina Siegwart Als ich im Anschluss an mein Volontariat in München eine Stelle in der Kommunikationsabteilung hatte, kam dann die Stellenausschreibung – und für mich war klar, dass ich mich bewerben muss. Eigentlich hatte ich Kinshasa über die ganze Zeit nicht aus den Augen verloren.

Welche Projekte haben Sie seit der Eröffnung im Februar 2015 schon auf den Weg bringen können?

Kinshasa ist die Hauptstadt der Musik, nicht nur im Kongo, sondern in ganz Afrika. Die Rumba congolaise ist über alle Grenzen Afrikas hinweg bekannt. Deshalb haben wir zusammen mit der Stiftung Music in Africa einen Workshop organisiert, der junge Musiker bei ihren ersten Schritten auf dem Weg zu einer professionellen Karriere unterstützt. Das war der Einstieg. Und wir haben ein Gastspiel von Gintersdorfer/Klaßen veranstaltet, einer Kompanie, die mit Deutschen, Ivorern und mit Kongolesen zusammengearbeitet hat. In dem Stück Mobutu choreographiert ging es um die Regierungszeit von Präsident Mobutu und seine Liebe zur Selbstdarstellung.

Das Gastspiel hat im Institut Français stattgefunden, wo wir auch lokalisiert sind. Wir hatten ein proppevolles Haus! Es war eine sehr sichtbare, große Veranstaltung.

Außerdem haben wir viel mit Initiativen vor Ort zusammengearbeitet: Im November 2015 fand an der Kunstakademie in Kinshasa in Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten aus Johannesburg und São Paulo ein Symposium statt, auf dem wir uns der Frage gewidmet haben, wie Kunst und Kunstgeschichte im globalen Süden unterrichtet werden können.

Und welche Ansätze gibt es dafür?

Das wurde breit diskutiert, denn die Frage ist ja, wie ein Land des globalen Südens seine eigene Kunstgeschichte schreiben kann. Vor kurzem wurde in der Fondation Cartier in Paris die Ausstellung Kongo Kitoko gezeigt, die großes Aufsehen erregt hat und von einem französischen Kurator betreut wurde. Und daraus ergab sich die zentrale Frage für die Teilnehmer der Konferenz: Wie können wir als Kongolesen unsere eigene Kunstgeschichte schreiben? Und natürlich auch: Wie können die Kunsthochschulen des globalen Südens voneinander profitieren?

Das Goethe-Institut hatte einen Blog mit Posts aus aller Welt, „Liebe Heimat“. Darin finden sich auch Impressionen von Ihnen. Man sieht Männer, die mit einer Kiste, Bündeln aus trockenem Gras und Zweigen, die sie als Drumsticks nutzen, Musik machen. Man sieht auch improvisierte Ausstellungen auf Mauern unter freiem Himmel. Ist es auffällig, dass die Menschen all diese Lücken in Kinshasa nutzen, um sich auszudrücken?

Auch eine Kiste und trockenes Gras können Musikinstrumente sein. Auch eine Kiste und trockenes Gras können Musikinstrumente sein. | Foto: Gitte Zchoch Ja, auf jeden Fall. Das hat mich von Anfang an in seinen Bann gezogen und ich wollte es unbedingt in Liebe Heimat thematisieren. Das Goethe-Institut arbeitet im Moment intensiv zum Thema urbaner Raum. Kinshasa ist eine unheimlich große Stadt, die sehr dicht besiedelt ist. Die Improvisationskunst der Künstler ist wirklich enorm, weswegen – auch aufgrund der mangelnden Strukturen in der Kulturförderung – eben neue Räume genutzt werden.

Ein Künstler zum Beispiel hat einfach in seiner Wohnung ein Studio aufgemacht und seine Werke ausgestellt. Oft verfügen Musiker nicht über hochwertige Instrumente, sondern bauen sich mit dem, was sie haben, etwas Eigenes zusammen – zum Beispiel Schlagzeuge. Und ich finde, dass der Sound, der da entsteht, wirklich beeindruckend ist und etwas Besonderes für die Kunstszene in Kinshasa darstellt.

Wie überschaubar ist denn die Kunstszene in Kinshasa?

Es leben hier unheimlich viele Künstler aller Sparten. Wenn man sich den Kongo insgesamt anschaut, gibt es mit Goma, Lubumbashi und Kisangani noch weitere Städte, in denen es durchaus respektable Kunstszenen gibt. Kinshasa sticht da allerdings am stärksten heraus. Es gibt die Kunstakademie, es gibt das Institut National des Arts, also zwei große Ausbildungsstätten. Dann noch das Nationalmuseum und ein Museum für moderne Kunst.

Und die Stadt ist geprägt von zahllosen Strukturen. Bildende Künstler schließen sich oft in losen Kollektiven zusammen und arbeiten zu bestimmten Themen. Aber es gibt auch kleine private Strukturen wie zum Beispiel das KinArt Studio, ein Zentrum für Bildende Kunst, mit dem wir zusammenarbeiten und wo sich Künstler mit viel Eigeninitiative darum bemühen, neue Strukturen aufzubauen.

Transkription eines Gesprächs zwischen Gitte Zschoch und Sigrid Brinkmann, geführt am 15. Februar 2016 (Deutschlandradio Kultur)
 
Gitte Zschoch leitet seit dem 1. April 2015 das Goethe-Institut in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Die studierte Literaturwissenschaftlerin und Koreanistin war vorher in Johannesburg und München für das Goethe-Institut tätig.