Annual Report 2015/2016 Focus on Refugees

Today, the Goethe-Institut’s new Annual Report is being released – its focus is on the subject of refugees. In the picture: A concert at a refugee camp in Istanbul 2015
Today, the Goethe-Institut’s new Annual Report is being released – its focus is on the subject of refugees. In the picture: A concert at a refugee camp in Istanbul 2015 | Credit: Enis Yücel

Migration and the plight of refugees are focal topics of the Goethe-Institut. Nothing dominated the last year like the global refugee situation. For this reason, the latest Annual Report being released today focuses on it. For World Refugee Day, this article provides insights into the Goethe-Institut’s commitment to refugees – both in Germany and in their regions of origin.

The global refugee situation changed the political landscape in Germany and Europe. It revealed willingness to help and acceptance on a scale that no one would have anticipated. It also produced fears and concerns among many people that the challenges involved could overwhelm our country.
 
The tasks ahead are worth every effort. The Goethe-Institut with its 159 locations worldwide, twelve of them in Germany, can make an important contribution to coping with the refugee situation. This applies both to the integration of refugees into German society and to cultural initiatives in the original areas of conflict. For instance, the Goethe-Institut is active with educational and support programmes for children and young people in refugee camps near the Syrian border in Turkey, Lebanon and Jordan. Along with many other partners, it wants to help prevent a lost generation growing up here.
 
Bratislava – Exhibition “Fear of the Unknown” Bratislava – Exhibition “Fear of the Unknown” | Photo: Zuzana Štibranyiova The Goethe-Institut, like few other institutions, has experience in reckoning with many variables. Numerous Goethe-Instituts operate in countries with difficult conditions – from restrictions of the press and freedom of speech, to climate and environmental issues, to violent conflicts. At the same time, our host countries are closely watching Germany’s actions in the current refugee situation, its willingness to critically discuss its policies and how it deals with the controversies in its own country.
 
Strengthening civil society structures in our host countries is a major concern that can only succeed if we ourselves act credibly and cooperatively, and are willing to learn. In this way, in many crisis-ridden regions the Goethe-Institut has become intermediary, partner, point of contact and organizer all in one. Drawing on its decades of international experience it is capable of intervening in the current refugee situation, making a specific contribution as a constructive player.
 
Language is the key to social participation
 
Refugees need language skills to get their bearings in Germany. Language is the key to social participation. Many voluntary helpers have offered to help teach refugees basic German skills. It’s easier said than done. Therefore, the Goethe-Institut with its long experience in the field of German as a foreign language has begun offering courses where volunteer helpers can learn how they can support refugees and help them learn German. We also provided them with an informative online series that introduces them to the foundations of language work and answers frequently asked questions about teaching the language to refugees.
 
Germany – Excursion to the Bundestag during a German course for asylum seekers Germany – Excursion to the Bundestag during a German course for asylum seekers | Photo: Anne Schönharting / Agentur Ostkreuz For refugees, mobile phones are not only a lifeline to their homelands. Together with the Federal Agency of Migration and Refugees, the Federal Labour Office and Bavarian Radio, the Goethe-Institut developed a smartphone app called “Ankommen” (Arrival). With its help, new arrivals to Germany are given the skills to communicate and, for example, to better cope with traffic, doctor visits and in dealings with authorities. It has been downloaded more than 135,000 times and the language programme in the app created by the Goethe-Institut was commended by Stiftung Warentest.
 
Germany with subtitles
 
In refugee shelters, the Goethe-Institut offers German classes for children and young people to bridge their waiting time until they are accepted into regular schools and welcome classes. They are also taught about peculiarities of their new environment, which are not easy to understand without translation. Exactly this – Germany with subtitles – is what the project Cinemanya offers: a suitcase of German films with Arabic subtitles to help children and young people in the refugee shelters and cultural centres understand local customs, lifestyles and values. Both programmes were generously funded by the Japan Art Association.
 
Integration policies also include projects like “Muslim communities as local stakeholders” or “Intercultural training for Imams” – initiatives that intensify political, regional and further social training in the Muslim communities. Funding is still pending, but a programme is urgently needed that will help highly qualified refugees learn German faster to facilitate their entry into the labour market.
 
Using cultural work to deal with traumatic experiences

 
All of these projects help to give the refugees perspectives for life in Germany; not to isolate themselves, but to build relationships with their new environment. However, the Goethe-Institut does more. It also contributes, under difficult circumstances, to generating new perspectives abroad.
 
The Goethe-Institut is active in various ways in Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Egypt, Greece and Slovakia, among other countries. Circus training is achieving remarkable successes in the Turkish Mardin camp near the Syrian border to help traumatised children and young people detach and to gain new courage. Many artists groups, including a Bavarian group of stilt walkers, are giving young people something new to think about and positive experiences in dialogue with foreign cultures. After all the humiliations they have experienced, it must be an amazing feeling to walk about five feet taller than other people.
 
Beirut – Cultural Production Fund Beirut – Cultural Production Fund | Photo: Simone Perolari With scholarships of the Cultural Production Fund, the Goethe-Institut is enabling Syrian artists who have found refuge in surrounding countries to continue their work and to network them with the German arts scene.
 
On the initiative of the Goethe-Institut, German and Lebanese teachers are visiting one another to share their experiences with the integration of refugee children, a photography exhibition in Athens is documenting refugee routes and an event series in Bratislava is stimulating analysis of the problems of European refugee policies.
 
All of these may look like tiny drops in a very large bucket. But the world changes in direct encounters among people. The Goethe-Institut teaches and learns. Taken together, all of its projects connect people all over the world. It has wide experience of how encounters between different cultures can be made more fruitful, peaceful and profitable. Even in extreme situations. Even when fleeing from home.


For the Goethe-Institut Athens, since 2015, the photojournalist Nikos Pilos has been photographing refugees on their trek – on the Greek islands of Kos and Lesbos, in Idomeni on the Greek-Macedonian border and on the Balkan route. Here he comments on his pictures.
 

  • “A Syrian woman runs away after Macedonian police fired tear gas at hundreds of Iraqi and Syrian migrants who tried to break through the Greek border fence in Idomeni, February 2016.” Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    “A Syrian woman runs away after Macedonian police fired tear gas at hundreds of Iraqi and Syrian migrants who tried to break through the Greek border fence in Idomeni, February 2016.”
  • “An Afghan mother holding her child runs to avoid the conflicts between the police and immigrants who are waiting to register in the refugee camp near the village of Moria, Lesbos, 2015.”  Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    “An Afghan mother holding her child runs to avoid the conflicts between the police and immigrants who are waiting to register in the refugee camp near the village of Moria, Lesbos, 2015.”
  • “A Frontex helicopter above a refugee boat that just landed at the north coast of Lesbos, September 2015.” Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    “A Frontex helicopter above a refugee boat that just landed at the north coast of Lesbos, September 2015.”
  • “Having just landed at Lesbos, a Syrian refugee holds his child in his embrace while trying to approach the central road.” Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    “Having just landed at Lesbos, a Syrian refugee holds his child in his embrace while trying to approach the central road.”
  • “Refugees crowding for one seat on the bus to the train station for Idomeni on the Greek-Macedonian border, September 2015.” Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    “Refugees crowding for one seat on the bus to the train station for Idomeni on the Greek-Macedonian border, September 2015.”
  • “A child from Afghanistan plays in the refugee camp of Eleonas, Athens.” Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    “A child from Afghanistan plays in the refugee camp of Eleonas, Athens.”

Jahrbuch 2015/2016 Fokus Flucht

Heute erscheint das neue Jahrbuch des Goethe-Instituts – mit dem Fokus-Thema Flucht. Auf dem Bild: Ein Konzert in einem Flüchtlingscamp in Istanbul 2015
Heute erscheint das neue Jahrbuch des Goethe-Instituts – mit dem Fokus-Thema Flucht. Auf dem Bild: Ein Konzert in einem Flüchtlingscamp in Istanbul 2015 | Credit: Enis Yücel

Migration und Flucht sind zentrale Themen für das Goethe-Institut. Nichts hat das vergangene Jahr derart bestimmt wie die weltweite Situation von Menschen auf der Flucht. Deshalb liegt darauf der Fokus des aktuellen Jahrbuchs, das heute erscheint. Zum Weltflüchtlingstag gibt dieser Beitrag Einblicke in das Engagement des Goethe-Instituts für Flüchtlinge – sowohl in Deutschland als auch in den Herkunftsregionen.

Die weltweite Situation von Menschen auf der Flucht hat die politische Landschaft in Deutschland und Europa verändert. Sie hat eine Hilfs- und Aufnahmebereitschaft zu Tage gebracht, die in diesem Ausmaß wohl niemand erwartet hätte. Und sie hat Ängste und Sorgen bei vielen Menschen erzeugt, die fürchten, dass die damit einhergehenden Herausforderungen unser Land überfordern könnten.
 
Die anstehenden Aufgaben sind jeder Mühe wert. Das Goethe-Institut mit seinen weltweit 159 Standorten, zwölf davon in Deutschland, kann einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Bewältigung der Flüchtlingssituation leisten. Das gilt sowohl für die Integration der Geflüchteten in die deutsche Gesellschaft als auch für kulturelle Initiativen in den Krisengebieten selbst. So ist das Goethe-Institut beispielsweise in Flüchtlingslagern nahe der syrischen Grenze in der Türkei, im Libanon und Jordanien mit Bildungs- und Förderprogrammen für Kinder und Jugendliche tätig. Zusammen mit vielen anderen Partnern will es helfen, zu verhindern, dass hier eine verlorene Generation heranwächst.
 
Bratislava – Ausstellung „Die Angst vor dem Unbekannten“ Bratislava – Ausstellung „Die Angst vor dem Unbekannten“ | Foto: Zuzana Štibranyiova Das Goethe-Institut hat wie wenige andere Institutionen Erfahrung im Rechnen mit vielen Variablen. Zahlreiche Goethe-Institute arbeiten in Ländern mit schwierigen Rahmenbedingungen – von Einschränkungen der Presse- und Meinungsfreiheit über Klima- und Umweltprobleme bis zu gewaltsamen Auseinandersetzungen. Gleichzeitig beobachten unsere Gastländer sehr genau, wie Deutschland in der aktuellen Flüchtlingssituation handelt, wie es um seine Bereitschaft steht, die eigene Politik kritisch zu diskutieren und wie es mit den Kontroversen im eigenen Land umgeht.
 
Die Stärkung zivilgesellschaftlicher Strukturen in unseren Gastländern ist ein zentrales Anliegen, das nur gelingen kann, wenn wir selbst glaubwürdig, partnerschaftlich und lernbereit auftreten. Auf diese Weise ist das Goethe-Institut in vielen krisenhaften Regionen Vermittler, Partner, Anlaufstelle und Organisator in einem geworden. Es greift dabei auf seine jahrzehntelange internationale Expertise zurück, die es in der aktuellen Fluchtsituation zu einem konstruktiven Akteur macht, der einen spezifischen Beitrag leisten kann.
 
Sprache ist der Schlüssel zu gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe
 
Ohne Sprachkenntnisse haben Geflüchtete kaum eine Chance, sich in Deutschland zurechtzufinden. Die Sprache ist der Schlüssel zur gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe. Viele ehrenamtliche Helferinnen und Helfer haben sich bereitgefunden, Geflüchteten Grundlagen der deutschen Sprache beizubringen. Das allerdings ist leichter gesagt als getan. Das Goethe-Institut mit seiner langen Erfahrung im Bereich „Deutsch als Fremdsprache“ hat deshalb 2015 begonnen, ehrenamtlichen Flüchtlingshelferinnen und Flüchtlingshelfern Kurse anzubieten, in denen sie lernen, wie sie Geflüchtete beim Deutschlernen unterstützen können. Für sie wurde außerdem eine Online-Informationsreihe bereitgestellt, die in die Grundlagen der Spracharbeit einführt und beim Sprachenlernen mit Flüchtlingen häufig auftretende Fragen beantwortet.
 
Deutschland – Ausflug in den Bundestag während eines Deutschkurses für Asylsuchende Deutschland – Ausflug in den Bundestag während eines Deutschkurses für Asylsuchende | Foto: Anne Schönharting / Agentur Ostkreuz Das Handy muss für Flüchtlinge nicht nur die Nabelschnur zur Heimat sein. Gemeinsam mit dem Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge, der Bundesagentur für Arbeit und dem Bayerischen Rundfunk hat das Goethe-Institut die App „Ankommen“ entwickelt. Mit ihrer Hilfe werden Neuankömmlinge nach der Ankunft in Deutschland in die Lage versetzt, sich verständlich zu machen und zum Beispiel im Verkehr, beim Arzt und gegenüber Behörden besser zurechtzukommen. Sie wurde inzwischen mehr als 135.000 Mal heruntergeladen, das vom Goethe-Institut verantwortete Sprachprogramm in der App wurde von der Stiftung Warentest ausgezeichnet.
 
Deutschland mit Untertiteln
 
In Flüchtlingsunterkünften bot das Goethe-Institut Kindern und Jugendlichen Deutschkurse an, um die Wartezeit bis zur regulären Aufnahme in Schulen und Willkommensklassen sinnvoll zu überbrücken. Dabei wurden ihnen auch Eigenheiten der neuen Umgebung vermittelt, die ohne Übersetzung nicht leicht zu verstehen sind. Genau das, ein Deutschland mit Untertiteln, bietet das Projekt „Cinemanya“ an: ein Koffer mit arabisch untertitelten deutschen Filmen, die Kindern und Jugendlichen in den Flüchtlingsheimen und Kulturzentren dabei helfen, die hiesigen Eigenheiten, Lebensweisen und Wertvorstellungen zu verstehen. Beide Programme wurden finanziell von der Japan Art Association großzügig unterstützt.
 
Zur Integrationspolitik gehören auch Projekte wie „Muslimische Gemeinden als kommunale Akteure“ oder die „Interkulturelle Qualifizierung von Imamen“ – Initiativen, die die politische, landeskundliche und soziale Fortbildung in den islamischen Gemeinden vertiefen. Noch nicht finanziert, aber dringend geboten ist ein Programm, mit dessen Hilfe hochqualifizierte Flüchtlinge schneller in Deutsch geschult werden könnten, um ihnen den Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt zu erleichtern.
 
Traumabearbeitung durch Kulturarbeit
 
All diese Projekte helfen dabei, den Geflüchteten Perspektiven für ein Leben in Deutschland zu geben, sich nicht abzukapseln, sondern Beziehungen zu ihrer neuen Umgebung aufzubauen. Doch das Goethe-Institut macht mehr. Es trägt auch im Ausland dazu bei, dass unter schwierigen Bedingungen neue Perspektiven entstehen können.
 
Unter anderem in der Türkei, im Libanon, in Jordanien, Ägypten, Griechenland und der Slowakei engagiert sich das Goethe-Institut auf verschiedenste Weise: In der Absicht, traumatisierten Kindern und Jugendlichen dabei zu helfen, Abstand zu gewinnen und neuen Mut zu fassen, erzielt man im türkischen Lager Mardin nahe der syrischen Grenze mit Mitteln der Zirkuspädagogik erstaunliche Erfolge. Etliche Artistengruppen, darunter eine bayerische Gruppe von Stelzenläufern, bringen die Jugendlichen auf neue Gedanken und vermitteln ihnen positive Erfahrungen im Austausch mit fremden Kulturen. Es muss ein wunderbares Gefühl sein, sich nach all den erlebten Demütigungen einen Meter fünfzig über den anderen Menschen fortzubewegen.
 
Beirut – Kulturproduktionsfonds Beirut – Kulturproduktionsfonds | Foto: Simone Perolari Mit Stipendien aus dem „Kulturproduktionsfonds“ ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut syrischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die in den umliegenden Ländern Zuflucht gefunden haben, ein Weiterarbeiten und vernetzt sie mit der deutschen Kulturszene.
 
Auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts tauschen deutsche und libanesische Lehrerinnen und Lehrer bei wechselseitigen Besuchen ihre Erfahrungen mit der Integration von Flüchtlingskindern aus, eine Fotoausstellung in Athen dokumentiert die Flüchtlingsrouten, eine Veranstaltungsreihe in Bratislava belebt die Auseinandersetzung mit den Problemen der europäischen Flüchtlingspolitik.
 
All das mag im Einzelnen aussehen wie Tropfen auf einen sehr heißen Stein. Aber in der direkten Begegnung zwischen Menschen verändert sich die Welt. Das Goethe-Institut lehrt und lernt. Zusammengenommen vernetzen all seine Projekte Menschen in der ganzen Welt. Es verfügt über vielfältige Erfahrungen, wie man die Begegnung zwischen unterschiedlichen Kulturen fruchtbarer, friedlicher und gewinnbringender gestalten kann. Auch in Extremsituationen. Auch auf der Flucht.



Der Fotojournalist Nikos Pilos hat für das Goethe-Institut Athen seit 2015 Menschen auf der Flucht fotografiert – auf den griechischen Inseln Kos und Lesbos, in Idomeni an der griechisch-mazedonischen Grenze und auf der Balkanroute. Hier kommentiert er seine Bilder.
 

  • „Eine syrische Frau flüchtet, nachdem die mazedonische Polizei Tränengas gegen hunderte irakische und syrische Migrantinnen und Migranten einsetzte, die versuchten, den griechischen Grenzzaun in Idomeni zu durchbrechen, Februar 2016.“ Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    „Eine syrische Frau flüchtet, nachdem die mazedonische Polizei Tränengas gegen hunderte irakische und syrische Migrantinnen und Migranten einsetzte, die versuchten, den griechischen Grenzzaun in Idomeni zu durchbrechen, Februar 2016.“
  • „Eine afghanische Mutter versucht, ihr Kind und sich vor den Konflikten mit der Polizei mit den Migrantinnen und Migranten, die auf Registrierung im Flüchtlingslager in der Nähe des Dorfes Moria auf Lesbos warten, zu schützen, 2015.“ Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    „Eine afghanische Mutter versucht, ihr Kind und sich vor den Konflikten mit der Polizei mit den Migrantinnen und Migranten, die auf Registrierung im Flüchtlingslager in der Nähe des Dorfes Moria auf Lesbos warten, zu schützen, 2015.“
  • „Kurz nach seiner Ankunft auf Lesbos versucht ein syrischer Flüchtling auf die Hauptstraße zu gelangen.“ Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    „Kurz nach seiner Ankunft auf Lesbos versucht ein syrischer Flüchtling auf die Hauptstraße zu gelangen.“
  • „Ein Frontex-Hubschrauber über einem Flüchtlingsboot, das gerade die Nordküste von Lesbos erreicht hat, September 2015.“ Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    „Ein Frontex-Hubschrauber über einem Flüchtlingsboot, das gerade die Nordküste von Lesbos erreicht hat, September 2015.“
  • „Flüchtlinge drängen sich in einen Bus, der zum Bahnhof Idomeni an der griechisch-mazedonischen Grenze fährt, September 2015.“ Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    „Flüchtlinge drängen sich in einen Bus, der zum Bahnhof Idomeni an der griechisch-mazedonischen Grenze fährt, September 2015.“
  • „Ein Kind aus Afghanistan im Flüchtlingslager von Eleonas, Athen.“ Credit: Nikos Pilos Credit: Nikos Pilos
    „Ein Kind aus Afghanistan im Flüchtlingslager von Eleonas, Athen.“