Reading tours Ulla Lenze Are your female characters typical Germans?

Ulla Lenze
Ulla Lenze | © private

Every year, many authors go on reading tours with the Goethe-Institut and thereby carry a contemporary image of Germany out into the world. The writer Ulla Lenze took her new novel to places such as Iraq, Egypt and, most recently, India. The tour made her reconsider her own “being German.” She wrote down her impressions for us. You can find this and other articles in our Jahrbuch 2015/2016. For download see goethe.de/publikationen.

To go on a reading tour with a novel called “Die endlose Stadt” to cities that may also be endless cities – rampantly growing mega-cities between Cairo, Delhi and Jakarta – is as if the net of my Istanbul-Mumbai-Berlin novel had been thrown out yet again, but this time in reality. Sometimes it is caught, I am caught, in its net.

The double vocation of a writer with the isolation of writing and the exposure of public appearances is given a third vocation abroad: here, I am also a cultural mediator, indeed the embodiment of the German cultural identity. I am asked, “Are your female characters typical Germans?” (Yogyakarta), “What do people in Germany think about North African men after the New Year’s Eve mob in Cologne?” (Rabat), “What solutions do you have in Germany for environmental problems?” (Basra), “Isn’t the left-wing discourse in Germany that defends Arab men a stab in the back for our feminist movement?” (Cairo)

Hence, abroad the questions are also charged with expectations that the askers can randomly learn something from me about Germany. This is where the interesting ambivalences begin: I tend to evade my being German when it is evoked (usually touting a more universal perspective) but, paradoxically, every time I do, this very distancing of myself seems very German to me. Into the bargain, being German is often simply associated with being Western, which takes us to the middle of my novel “Die endlose Stadt”, which attempts to think beyond the old dichotomies of orient and occident inasmuch as they impede vibrant, genuine perceptions. This criticism, by the way, often elicits a consenting sigh through the rows of seats, whether in Casablanca, Alexandria or Bangkok. It is as if the novel would stretch itself into reality.

Writer Ulla Lenze at a conference of Iraqi poets in Basra Writer Ulla Lenze at a conference of Iraqi poets in Basra | © private The sense behind our thoroughly economised reality
“Endless” – to answer a question asked in every country – refers, for one, to the factual excesses of modern mega-cities (chaotic traffic, slums, gated communities and shopping malls of a globalised culture) as well as to the opportunities existing in the utopian sense behind our thoroughly economised reality: the freedom of the individual to resist these entanglements. That is what my characters attempt to do.

However, in Delhi the audience accused me – with my descriptions of the rubbish-filled streets of Mumbai – of walking in the footsteps of Günter Grass, who upset India’s educated elite in 1988 with his Kolkata polemics (“a pile of shit that God dropped and named Calcutta”). Since I lived in India for six months as a 16-year-old in 1990, I was a witness to this wrath as, at every opportunity, I was reproached for the neo-colonial arrogance of my fellow countryman.

Back then, India was still the Third World. Today it is the proud new star of the global economy. Nonetheless, the rubbish proliferated after the market liberalisation of 1991 just as inexorably as the new cars of the prosperous Indian middle class that clog the streets today.

“The criticism is justified. But it hurts when visitors from the West make it,” someone finally admitted when I explained that the novel was also about the self-criticism of the narrator as a Western, judging observer and about the question of to whom a city belongs, to whom moral categories or to whom anything at all belongs in this world.

Yet, the indignation stuck with me, perhaps because it suddenly revealed the actual differences and distances between us. At that moment, even the fact that it briefly did not feel right to be sitting there somehow seemed alright (“This is how we learn something about one another; this is exactly where dialogue begins!” I said). Yet even my endorsement of the controversy seemed to be taken as Western rhetoric of dominance, and perhaps it was. These are not pleasant situations but, in them, more occurs for both sides than would in the reticent respect of approval and applause.

“I did not want to service the Eastern stereotype of western women as immoral and promiscuous”

The next evening in Pune, the same passage received great acclaim. “It’s important that we see ourselves in a mirror from the outside,” a professor of German exclaimed. A week before, a young German student in Chennai had piped up to say that my interpretation of the ever-present rubbish as a sign of prestige, of progress, was something that had never occurred to him, but that it made sense. He is a member of a generation that had not been insulted by the Nobel laureate and who saw in me someone similar: a participant in a common, global cultural sphere to whom one would send a Facebook friend request following the reading.

However, the fear of reductionist images exists on both sides. In India, every kiss is edited even from James Bond films. I suddenly felt aware that the experiences of my heroines, labelled as “adult content,” may require explanation. Shortly before the reading in Chennai, I informed the moderator that rather than reading “he got a hard-on the moment he heard her voice,” I would prefer to read aloud “he got excited.” He nodded, first in the Indian manner (a benevolent head wobble), but then admonished me, “Now, don’t make it too easy for them!” I did not want to service the Eastern stereotype of western women as immoral and promiscuous. I also did not want to be mistaken for my character.

Communication with the local intellectuals, authors and artists is usually completely free of these dip- lomatic considerations, whether we are speaking about political and cultural issues or about litera- ture, the mechanics and contexts of writing. They (mostly) publish only in their own country, which forces them to take a day job, making the German cultural and literary sector at times seem like the land of milk and honey to me. On the one hand, the poet enjoys great esteem as an almost mythical figure in these countries, on the other, little is done for them and those who write too critically or per- missively risk prison sentences (as recently seen again in Egypt).

This is also a topic of the discussions, this comparison between the circumstances of literary production. In Rabat, a young Moroccan asked in accent-free German what advice I could give him; he writes short stories and would like to be published. Later, our correspondence revealed that he had studied in Germany but his resident permit had not been extended once he had obtained his degree.

The most pleasant moments are those in which a dialogue can take place about literature and about aesthetic experience as an experience so universal that it makes us similar and makes us feel connected. Spaces open and then close again and you were in them for a brief time and cannot exactly say what that was.

Writing to be saved from daily madness

In Iraq, for example, to the poets that I met at a conference, writing meant everything. It saved them from daily madness, from mortal danger. They thought very highly of me for daring to come to Basra at all, a once cosmopolitan and today fundamentalist city with a flourishing kidnapping industry. I was a little ashamed, in particular because we are so similar, so close, and yet have such different conditions to deal with. Basra taught me to feel love and appreciation of literature anew as well as a deep gratitude for the opportunity to assure oneself of it with others across so many borders.

The press is almost always on site. Since their articles are printed in languages that I cannot understand (Arabic, Indonesian, Thai), I usually do not know what they are writing about me. But in India, a report appeared recently in the newspaper The Hindu entitled “Ulla’s love for India.” At the reading in Chennai, I had spoken about my time in India as a schoolgirl. That was where I was asked one of the best questions from the audience: “Do you believe that you were Indian in a past life?” My only possible response to the question was, “Yes!”


Ulla Lenze’s latest novel is “Die endlose Stadt” (The Endless City) (2015). She has received a number of awards and grants, most recently the 2016 Kulturkreis Literature Award. She lives in Berlin.

Lesereisen Ulla Lenze „Sind Ihre weiblichen Figuren typisch deutsch?“

Ulla Lenze
Ulla Lenze | © privat

In jedem Jahr sind zahlreiche Autorinnen und Autoren auf Lesereisen mit dem Goethe-Institut unterwegs – und tragen so ein aktuelles Deutschlandbild in die Welt. Die Schriftstellerin Ulla Lenze war mit ihrem neuen Roman unter anderem im Irak, in Ägypten und zuletzt in Indien. Dabei hat sie über ihr eigenes „Deutschsein“ nachgedacht. Und ihre Eindrücke aufgeschrieben. Diesen und andere Texte finden Sie im Jahrbuch des Goethe-Instituts 2015/2016 oder zum Download unter goethe.de/publikationen.

Mit einem Roman, der Die endlose Stadt heißt, auf Lesereise zu gehen in Städte, die ebenso endlose Städte sein könnten – wuchernde Megacities zwischen Kairo, Delhi oder Jakarta – das ist, als würde das Netz meines Istanbul-Mumbai-Berlin-Romans noch einmal neu ausgeworfen, und diesmal in der Realität. Und zuweilen geht er, gehe ich ihr ins Netz.

Dem Doppelberuf des Schriftstellers – zwischen der Einsamkeit des Schreibens und dem Exponiertsein des öffentlichen Auftritts – fügt sich im Ausland ein dritter hinzu: Ich bin hier auch Kulturvermittlerin, ja Verkörperung deutscher kultureller Identität: „Sind Ihre weiblichen Figuren typisch deutsch?“ (Yogyakarta) „Was denkt man in Deutschland nach dem Kölner Silvestermob jetzt über den nordafrikanischen Mann?“ (Rabat) „Welche Lösungen haben Sie in Deutschland für die Umweltprobleme?“ (Basra) „Finden Sie nicht, dass der linke Diskurs in Deutschland, der den arabischen Mann verteidigt, unserer feministischen Bewegung in den Rücken fällt?“ (Kairo)

Im Ausland sind die Fragen also zusätzlich mit der Erwartung aufgeladen, anhand meiner Person stichprobenhaft etwas über Deutschland herausfinden zu können. Und genau hier beginnen die recht interessanten Ambivalenzen: Meinem Deutschsein, sofern ich darauf verpflichtet werde, verwehre ich mich (meist für eine universalere Perspektive werbend), wobei sich paradoxerweise gerade diese Distanznahme jedes Mal sehr deutsch anfühlt. Obendrein wird Deutschsein oft mit schlichtweg westlich assoziiert – womit wir dann mitten in meinem Roman Die endlose Stadt wären, der über die alten Dichotomien Orient und Okzident hinauszudenken versucht, insofern sie lebendige Echtwahrnehmungen blockieren. Bei dieser Kritik geht übrigens oft ein zustimmendes Seufzen durch die Sitzreihen, ob in Casablanca, Alexandria oder Bangkok. Dann ist es, als verlängere sich der Roman in die Realität hinein.

Die Schriftstellerin Ulla Lenze auf einer Konferenz irakischer Dichterinnen in Basra Die Schriftstellerin Ulla Lenze auf einer Konferenz irakischer Dichterinnen in Basra | © privat

Der Sinn hinter durchökonomisierter Realität

„Endlos“ – eine Frage, die in jedem Land gestellt wird – bezieht sich übrigens einerseits auf die faktischen Exzesse heutiger Megacities (Verkehrschaos, Armenviertel, Gated Communities und Shoppingmalls im Stil einer globalisierten Kultur) und andererseits auf die im utopischen Sinn bestehenden Möglichkeiten hinter der durchökonomisierten Realität: die Freiheit des Einzelnen, den Verstrickungen zu widerstehen. Das versuchen meine Figuren.

In Delhi wurde mir vom Publikum jedoch vorgeworfen, mit meinen Beschreibungen der vermüllten Straßen Mumbais in die Fußstapfen Günter Grass’ zu treten, der 1988 mit seiner Polemik über Kalkutta („den Haufen Scheiße, wie Gott ihn fallen ließ und Kalkutta nannte“) die indische Bildungselite aus der Fassung gebracht hatte. Da ich 1990 als 16-Jährige sechs Monate in Indien lebte, war ich sogar Augenzeuge dieses Zorns, mir wurde bei jeder Gelegenheit die neokoloniale Arroganz meines Landsmanns vorgehalten.

Damals war Indien noch Dritte Welt. Heute ist es stolzer neuer Star der Weltwirtschaft. Der Müll aber vermehrte sich nach der Liberalisierung des Marktes 1991 ebenso unaufhaltsam wie die neuen Autos der finanzstarken indischen Mittelklasse, die heute die Straßen verstopfen.

„Die Kritik ist ja berechtigt. Aber es tut weh, wenn Besucher aus dem Westen sie vorbringen“, räumte man schließlich ein, als ich erklärte, es gehe im Roman auch um die Selbstkritik der Erzählerin als westlich urteilende Wahrnehmende und um die Frage, wem eine Stadt gehört, wem moralische Kategorien oder wem überhaupt etwas gehört auf dieser Welt. Mir hing die Empörung allerdings nach. Vielleicht, weil sich plötzlich die tatsächliche Differenz und Ferne zwischen uns offenbarte: Selbst dass es sich vorübergehend schlecht anfühlte, dort zu sitzen, schien mir in jenem Moment irgendwie in Ordnung („So erfahren wir etwas über den Anderen, genau hier beginnt doch der Dialog!“, sagte ich). Aber noch mein Befürworten der Kontroverse schien als westliche Dominanzrhetorik empfunden zu werden, und vielleicht war es das auch. Es sind keine angenehmen Situationen, aber es passiert in ihnen für beide Seiten manchmal mehr als im scheuen Respekt des Abnickens und Applaudierens.

„Ich wollte nicht das Stereotyp des Orients über den Westen bedienen“

Die gleiche Stelle fand einen Abend später in Pune großen Beifall. „Es ist wichtig, dass wir uns von außen gespiegelt bekommen!“, sagte eine Germanistikprofessorin. Eine Woche vorher in Chennai meldete sich ein junger Deutschlernender zu Wort: Meine Deutung des allgegenwärtigen Mülls als Prestige, da ein Zeichen des Fortschritts, das hätte er so noch nie gedacht, aber es leuchte ihm sofort ein. Er gehörte einer Generation an, die nicht vom Nobelpreisträger beleidigt worden war, und sah in mir etwas Ähnliches wie in sich selbst: eine Teilnehmerin eines gemeinsamen globalen Kulturraums, der man nach der Veranstaltung eine Facebook-Freundschaftsanfrage schickt.

Die Furcht vor den reduktionistischen Bildern besteht jedoch auf beiden Seiten. In Indien wird selbst aus den James-Bond-Filmen jeder Kuss herausgeschnitten. Die mit „adult content“ versehenen Erlebnisse meiner weiblichen Heldinnen wurden mir vor Ort plötzlich als vermittlungsbedürftig bewusst. Kurz vor der Lesung in Chennai teilte ich dem Moderator mit, dass ich statt „he got a hard on the moment he heard her voice“ doch lieber „he got excited“ vorlesen würde. Er nickte erst indisch (ein gütiges Kopfwackeln), doch dann mahnte er: „Nun mach es denen aber auch nicht zu leicht!“ Ich wollte nicht das Stereotyp des Orients über den Westen bedienen: die westliche Frau als sittenlos und promisk. Und ich wollte nicht mit meiner Figur verwechselt werden. Mit den Intellektuellen, den Autoren und den Künstlern vor Ort verläuft die Verständigung meist völlig befreit von diesen diplomatischen Erwägungen, sei es über politische und kulturelle Themen oder über Literatur, Handwerkliches und die Bedingungen des Schreibens.

Publizieren sie nur im eigenen Land (meistens), was ihnen einen Brotjob nebenher aufzwingt, kommt mir der deutsche Kultur- und Literaturbetrieb zwischendurch wie das Schlaraffenland vor. Einerseits genießt der Dichter als beinah mythische Figur in diesen Ländern ein hohes Ansehen, andererseits tut man wenig für ihn und drohen denen, die zu kritisch oder freizügig schreiben, Gefängnisstrafen (wie kürzlich wieder in Ägypten).

Auch das wird Thema in den Diskussionen, dieser Abgleich der Bedingungen von Literaturproduktion. In Rabat fragte ein junger Marokkaner in akzentfreiem Deutsch, welchen Rat ich ihm geben könne, er schreibe Erzählungen und er wolle veröffentlichen. Später in unserer Korrespondenz stellte sich heraus, dass er in Deutschland studiert hat, aber nach dem Abschluss seine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nicht mehr verlängert bekam.

Am schönsten sind jene Momente, in denen ein Austausch über Literatur und über die ästhetische Erfahrung stattfinden kann; als Erfahrung so universal, dass wir uns darin ähneln und verbunden wissen. Räume, die sich öffnen und wieder schließen, und man war kurz in ihnen und kann nicht genau sagen, was das war.

Schreiben als Rettung vor dem täglichen Irrsinn

Im Irak etwa bedeutete das Schreiben den Dichterinnen, die ich auf einer Konferenz traf, alles. Es rette sie vor dem täglichen Irrsinn, der Lebensgefahr. Dass ich mich überhaupt nach Basra gewagt hatte, eine einst kosmopolitische, heute fundamentalistische Stadt, in der eine Kidnapping-Industrie blüht, wurde mir hoch angerechnet. Ich schämte mich ein bisschen, gerade weil wir uns so ähnlich waren, so nah, und doch mit ganz anderen Bedingungen zurechtkommen müssen. Basra lehrte mich, die Liebe und Wertschätzung zur Literatur neu zu empfinden, auch tiefe Dankbarkeit, dass es die Möglichkeit gibt, sich über so viele Grenzen hinweg mit Anderen ihrer zu vergewissern.

Fast immer ist Presse vor Ort. Da die Beiträge in Sprachen erscheinen, die ich nicht verstehe (Arabisch, Indonesisch, Thailändisch), weiß ich meist nicht, was man da über mich schreibt. Doch in Indien erschien in der Tageszeitung The Hindu kürzlich ein Bericht mit dem Titel „Ulla’s love for India“. Ich hatte auf der Veranstaltung in Chennai von meiner Schulzeit in Indien erzählt. Eine der schönsten Publikumsfragen erhielt ich dann auch dort: „Glauben Sie, dass Sie in Ihrem letzten Leben eine Inderin waren?“ Auf diese Frage konnte ich nur mit „Ja!“ antworten.


Ulla Lenze veröffentlichte zuletzt den Roman „Die endlose Stadt“ (2015). Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Stipendien, zuletzt 2016 den Literaturpreis des Kulturkreises der deutschen Wirtschaft. Sie lebt in Berlin.