Youth Ambassadors Program Ambassadors for three weeks

Participants visiting the Aquasphere at the Biosphere Potsdam
Participants visiting the Aquasphere at the Biosphere Potsdam | © Sandra Schuck

The future of the United Arab Emirates introduce themselves on a journey through Germany. As part of the United Arab Emirates Youth Ambassadors Program, 18 Emirati students gained their first insights into Germany’s economic life and culture. Some of them are back in Germany now - and participate in an internship in industrial and commercial enterprises for six weeks.

It began with South Korea, continued to China and finally went on to Germany. These three very different countries were the focus of interest of the United Arab Emirates Youth Ambassadors Program. If the name sounds like some sort of youth camp, that is an underestimation. Its mission is the advancement of the future managerial elite of the United Arab Emirates.

Visiting the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg Visiting the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg | © Sandra Schuck The United Arab Emirates Youth Ambassadors Program was launched in 2012 with the objective of fortifying the relations between the United Arab Emirates and its partners while also promoting understanding between the two cultures. Germany became part of the programme in 2014, organised by the Goethe-Institut in Abu Dhabi and the Visitors’ Programme of the Goethe-Institut in Berlin. After learning German in five-month crash courses in Abu Dhabi and Dubai, 18 students – female and male – were given the opportunity last summer to travel to Germany for three weeks to meet leading figures from industry, academia and politics.

Focus on cars

Recognisable from afar in their yellow polo shirts, the eighteen took off on an eventful journey across the republic. Munich, Dresden, Berlin and Hamburg were the most important stops along the way. They began by visiting the Allianz Arena and the BMW headquarters as well as an online fashion shop in Munich. At Siemens, they were able to take a seat in a prototype of the “car of the future.”

At the Potsdamer Platz At the Potsdamer Platz | © Sandra Schuck Speaking of Germany and its cars, the country’s major export was given close scrutiny by the Middle Eastern visitors. The young Emirati headed to Dresden, stopping to visit Audi in Ingolstadt, and in the Saxon capital they visited the glass factories of VW. Other industries also interested them, of course, and their schedule included Airbus, SAP, the oil and gas producer Wintershall, Deutsche Bahn and the BDI. They encountered German politicians at the Federal Chancellery, a number of federal ministries, the state chancellery of Saxony and Berlin’s Rote Rathaus. The Emirati also met German researchers at the TU Dresden, the Hasso Plattner Institute and at the DESY accelerator centre.

Insights into the culture of the Emirates

The students from the Emirates were not the only ones to profit from their visit to Germany as they lived up to their titles as youth ambassadors. Encounters with the young women and men offered their hosts insights into the culture of the Emirates, one of the world’s fastest growing economic regions.

The participants who are currently doing an internship in Germany The participants who are currently doing an internship in Germany | © Sandra Schuck

Youth Ambassadors Program Botschafter für drei Wochen

Exkursion der Teilnehmer in das Tropenhaus Biosphäre Potsdam
Exkursion der Teilnehmer in das Tropenhaus Biosphäre Potsdam | © Sandra Schuck

Die Zukunft der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate stellt sich vor – auf einer Reise quer durch Deutschland. Im Rahmen des „United Arab Emirates Youth Ambassadors Program“ haben 18 emiratische Studentinnen und Studenten einen ersten Einblick in das wirtschaftliche Geschehen und die Kultur Deutschlands gewonnen. Einige sind nun wieder in Deutschland – und absolvieren für sechs Wochen ein Praktikum bei Industrie- und Wirtschaftsunternehmen.

Es begann mit Südkorea. Dann kam China und schließlich Deutschland. Diesen drei durchaus unterschiedlichen Ländern gilt das Interesse des „United Arab Emirates Youth Ambassadors Program“. Wer hinter dem Titel eine Art arabisches Jugendcamp vermutet, unterschätzt das Programm gewaltig. Denn hier geht es um nicht weniger als um die Förderung der künftigen Führungselite der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate.

Exkursion in das Deutsche Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg Exkursion in das Deutsche Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg | © Sandra Schuck Das „United Arab Emirates Youth Ambassadors Program“ gibt es seit 2012. Ins Leben gerufen wurde es mit dem Ziel, die Beziehungen zwischen den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und ihren Partnern zu stärken und dabei vor allem auch das Verständnis für die Kultur des jeweils anderen zu fördern. Seit 2014 ist auch Deutschland ein Teil des Programms. Dieser wird vom Goethe-Institut in Abu Dhabi und dem Besucherprogramm des Goethe-Instituts in Berlin organisiert. Nachdem sie zuvor bereits in Abu Dhabi und Dubai fünf Monate lang in Intensivkursen Deutsch gelernt hatten, bekamen zehn Studentinnen und acht Studenten im vergangenen Sommer die Gelegenheit, für drei Wochen nach Deutschland zu reisen und hier Führungspersönlichkeiten aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik kennenzulernen.

Autos im Fokus

Von weitem schon an ihren gelben Polohemden zu erkennen, machten sich die 18 auf eine ereignisreiche Reise quer durch die Republik. München, Dresden, Berlin und Hamburg – das waren die wichtigsten Stationen. Die Allianz-Arena, die BMW-Zentrale, aber auch einen Online-Shop für Mode besuchten die Studenten gleich zu Beginn in München. Und bei Siemens konnten sie in einem Prototyp des „Autos der Zukunft“ Platz nehmen. Überhaupt: Deutschland und seine Autos – der deutsche Exportschlager wurde von den Besuchern aus dem Orient genau unter die Lupe genommen. So machten die jungen Emirati auf dem Weg nach Dresden auch Halt bei Audi in Ingolstadt, und in der sächsischen Hauptstadt besuchten sie die Gläserne Manufaktur von VW.

Am Potsdamer Platz Am Potsdamer Platz | © Sandra Schuck Natürlich interessierten sie aber auch andere Wirtschaftszweige. So standen Airbus, SAP, der Öl- und Gasproduzent Wintershall, die Deutsche Bahn und der BDI ebenfalls auf dem Reiseplan. Begegnungen mit der deutschen Politik gab es im Bundeskanzleramt, diversen Bundesministerien, der sächsischen Staatskanzlei und dem Roten Rathaus. Mit deutschen Forschern trafen sich die Emirati an der TU Dresden, am Hasso-Plattner-Institut und beim Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY).

Einblicke in die Kultur der Emirate

Profitiert haben von ihrem Deutschlandbesuch freilich nicht nur die Studenten aus den Emiraten. Nicht umsonst trugen sie den Titel „Jugendbotschafter“. Denn den Gastgebern ermöglichten die Begegnungen mit den jungen Frauen und Männern Einblicke in die Kultur der Emirate, einer der am schnellsten wachsenden Wirtschaftsregionen der Welt.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, die derzeit ein Praktikum in Deutschland absolvieren Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, die derzeit ein Praktikum in Deutschland absolvieren | © Sandra Schuck