PASCH Lust for life

At the PASCH youth camp in Manaus on the Amazon and on the Rio Negro, 55 pupils from ten South American countries learned German together.
At the PASCH youth camp in Manaus on the Amazon and on the Rio Negro, 55 pupils from ten South American countries learned German together. | © Luiza Folegati

The initiative “Schulen: Partner der Zukunft” (Schools: Partners for the Future) or PASCH comprises 1,820 schools around the world that teach German. The Goethe-Institut supports 587 of them. Four alumni from Central Eastern Europe report about what they took away from it. One discovered his love of theatre and another went to Marburg to study neurobiology. You can find this and other articles in our Jahrbuch 2015/2016. For download see goethe.de/publikationen.


“I found my best friend”

Sigrid Muinasmaa Sigrid Muinasmaa | © Nelly Küfner “The school newspaper, the youth course ... I took part in a lot of PASCH projects. At the 2013 youth course in Schlitz, I met Sherine from Egypt. We’ve been best friends ever since and skype at least once a month. She lives in Cairo. Next year we want to take a trip around Europe together. We started a WhatsApp group with the other participants where we discuss politics and of course everything we are doing.”



Sigrid Muinasmaa, 20, from Estonia, is studying Japanese and culture in Tallinn


“I want to become a diplomat”

Kristóf Antal Kristóf Antal | © Nelly Küfner “Of course, PASCH changed my view of Germany. I wrote a great deal for the PASCH school newspaper, for example a report about the Goethe Cinema. My former school rents a small cinema where we watch German films. Now, I’m also writing term papers and doing presentations in German at university. I’m studying for my Master’s degree in international relations at a German-language university in Budapest and want to become a diplomat.”



Kristóf Antal, 23, from Hungary, is studying international relations in Budapest


“I want to become an actor”

Dominik Chojnacki Dominik Chojnacki | © Nelly Küfner “I acted in the theatre in Germany with PASCH: new, crazy interpretations of Grimms’ fairy tales. It suited me very well and I began to get more and more interested in theatre. I’d like most of all to study acting at an academy in Poland. I still talk with friends of mine from Hungary and Poland about memories of our time together in PASCH.”



Dominik Chojnacki, 19, is a student from Poland.


“I'm studying biology in Germany”

Augustina Gabrilavičiūtė Augustina Gabrilavičiūtė | © Nelly Küfner “In 2008, I received a scholarship for a PASCH youth course in Thuringia. I spent three weeks there learning with other young people from more than ten countries. My German improved a lot and I got the idea of studying in Marburg. I wanted to learn how the brain works; my professors are world famous biologists. Now, I’m continuing as a PASCH alumna and tell the kids at my old school in Vilnius about my studies. When I complete my Master’s, I want to move to Berlin.”


Augustina Gabrilavičiūtė, 23, from Lithuania, is studying molecular neurobiology.  

 

"Pasch is an excellent project that reaches over 1,800 schools. However, there are 95,000 schools around the world that teach German. Many who later come to Germany to study have their first contact with Germany in school. That is why we cannot come to a halt with PASCH, but have to extend our reach more with programmes for teachers, publicity for German and curriculum consulting.”

Johannes Ebert, Secretary-General, at the opening discussion of the forum "Menschen bewegen“ at the Federal Foreign Office on 13.04.2016.

PASCH-Initiative Lust aufs Leben

Beim PASCH-Jugendcamp im amazonischen Manaus und auf dem Rio Negro lernten 55 Schülerinnen und Schüler aus zehn Ländern Südamerikas gemeinsam Deutsch.
Beim PASCH-Jugendcamp im amazonischen Manaus und auf dem Rio Negro lernten 55 Schülerinnen und Schüler aus zehn Ländern Südamerikas gemeinsam Deutsch. | © Luiza Folegati

1.820 Schulen aus aller Welt, an denen Deutsch unterrichtet wird, umfasst die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH). Davon fördert das Goethe-Institut 587. Vier Alumni aus Mittelosteuropa berichten, was sie daraus mitgenommen haben. Einer von ihnen entdeckte die Liebe zum Theater, eine andere ging nach Marburg, um Neurobiologie zu studieren. Diesen und andere Texte finden Sie im Jahrbuch des Goethe-Instituts 2015/2016 oder zum Download unter goethe.de/publikationen.



„Ich habe meine beste Freundin gefunden“

Sigrid Muinasmaa Sigrid Muinasmaa | © Nelly Küfner „Schülerzeitung, Jugendkurs, ich habe viele PASCH-Projekte mitgemacht. Im Jugendkurs 2013 in Schlitz habe ich Sherine aus Ägypten kennengelernt. Wir sind seitdem beste Freundinnen und skypen mindestens einmal im Monat. Sie wohnt in Kairo. Im nächsten Jahr wollen wir zusammen eine Reise in Europa machen. Mit den anderen Teilnehmern haben wir eine WhatsApp-Gruppe gegründet, in der wir uns über Politik austauschen und natürlich auch über alles, was es bei uns Neues gibt.“

Sigrid Muinasmaa, 20, aus Estland, studiert Japanologie und Kultur in Tallinn


„Ich möchte als Diplomat arbeiten“

Kristóf Antal Kristóf Antal | © Nelly Küfner „Natürlich hat PASCH meine Sicht auf Deutschland verändert. Ich habe in der PASCH-Schülerzeitung viel geschrieben, zum Beispiel eine Reportage über das Goethe-Kino. Mein ehemaliges Gymnasium mietet dafür ein kleines Kino, in dem wir deutsche Filme ansehen. Jetzt schreibe ich auch Hausarbeiten auf Deutsch und halte Präsentationen an der Uni. Ich studiere im Master an einer deutschsprachigen Uni in Budapest Internationale Beziehungen und möchte Diplomat werden.“

Kristóf Antal, 23, aus Ungarn, studiert in Budapest Internationale Beziehungen


„Ich will Schauspieler werden“

Dominik Chojnacki Dominik Chojnacki | © Nelly Küfner „Mit PASCH habe ich in Deutschland Theater gespielt – neue, verrückte Interpretationen der Märchen der Brüder Grimm. Das hat sehr gut zu mir gepasst und ich habe angefangen, mich immer mehr für das Theater zu interessieren. Am liebsten möchte ich Schauspiel an einer Akademie in Polen studieren. Mit Freunden aus Ungarn und Polen tausche ich bis heute Erinnerungen an unsere gemeinsame PASCH-Zeit aus.“



Dominik Chojnacki, 19, Schüler aus Polen


„Ich studiere Bio in Deutschland“

Augustina Gabrilavičiūtė Augustina Gabrilavičiūtė | © Nelly Küfner „2008 habe ich ein Stipendium für einen PASCH-Jugendkurs in Thüringen bekommen. Dort habe ich drei Wochen mit anderen Jugendlichen aus über zehn Ländern gelernt. So hat sich mein Deutsch sehr verbessert und ich bin auf die Idee gekommen, in Marburg zu studieren. Ich wollte lernen, wie ein Gehirn funktioniert, meine Professoren sind weltberühmte Biologen. Jetzt mache ich weiter als PASCH-Alumna und erzähle an meiner alten Schule in Vilnius von meinem Studium. Nach dem Master möchte ich nach Berlin ziehen.“

Augustina Gabrilavičiūtė, 23, aus Litauen, studiert Molekulare Neurobiologie

 

„PASCH ist ein hervorragendes Projekt, das über 1.800 Schulen erreicht. Es gibt aber 95.000 Schulen weltweit, an denen Deutsch gelernt wird. Viele, die später nach Deutschland kommen und hier studieren, haben hier ihren ersten Kontakt zu Deutschland. Wir dürfen daher bei PASCH nicht stehenbleiben, sondern müssen noch stärker in der Breite fördern – mit Programmen für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer, Werbung für Deutsch oder Curriculums-Beratung.“

Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, bei der Eröffnungsdiskussion des Forums „Menschen bewegen“ am 13.4.2016 im Auswärtigen Amt