Games of the South “Where do you direct your gaze?”

Detail of an illustration by Daniela Rodrigues
Detail of an illustration by Daniela Rodrigues | © Daniela Rodrigues

The Olympic Games have just begun in Brazil with a spectacular opening ceremony. But beyond big stadiums and investors, what does the subject look like? The Games of the South series by the Goethe-Institut searches for the nature of the game behind this façade – for example at the World Indigenous Games.

In theory, the Olympic and Paralympic Games promote understanding between peoples and nations. In practice, however, all too often the focus is on performance and rivalries. Until 7 October 2016, the Games of the South project offers a platform to reflect on the social and cultural dimensions of major sporting events with an exhibition, a pupils’ camp, an app workshop and an international conference. In addition, twelve experts on topics such as sustainability and civil rights express their views on the project website in the context of the Olympic Games.

On a journey of observation

The exhibition, which can be seen until 8 October in Rio de Janeiro, presents the results of the journeys of thirteen Brazilian, Asian and German academics and artists, including Paulo Nazareth, Antje Mejawski and Igor Vidor, to the World Indigenous Games. More than two thousand athletes from over 30 countries participated in the first games of indigenous peoples in Palmas. The athletes met for traditional disciplines – for example, tug of war or canoeing – and the 13 guests became acquainted with the sporting tradition of Latin America.

At the invitation of the Goethe-Institut, the group travelled to Palmas to deal in an artistic way with the value of sport in the culture of indigenous peoples. What is the real nature of games? How can games shape the relationship between the individual and society? And what influence does it have on the sociality of a community? These questions led to performances, essays and photos.

Picture journal

Anthropologist Daniela Rodrigues is one of the artists who reflected on the World Indigenous Games during her visit to Palmas. In her illustrations and sketches, she captured her personal viewpoint of the events and their commercialization.

Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues The slogan of the Olympics exclaims in capital letters “NOW WE ARE ALL INDIGENOUS.” What is that supposed to mean, anyway? I lingered in this place in which every visitor seemed to be transforming into an imaginary Indian in a synthesis, a synthesis of accessories for long hair, many-feathered headdresses, bracelets of coloured beads and black and red body paint. I sat down to watch Kayapo girls draw angular geometric patterns on other people’s arms with jenipapo and dark charcoal. The prices ranged from 10 to 20 reals.

Illustration by Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues But where do you direct your gaze in this arena full of invisible layers, filled with the silence of many, in this inhospitable space without the shade trees that had filtered Tocantin’s overly hot sun? First sketches of the place: the Sacred Fire, a constant flame on the competition grounds.

Illustration by Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues The dynamics in the digital hut where indigenous people of many ages update their Facebook walls with selfies taken at the Games. Screens full of feathers, face paint, bows and arrows, and lots and lots of Likes.

Illustration by Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues I already was familiar with the Karajá dolls. I’d seen them in exhibitions on the intangible heritage of Brazil, seen them for sale in the TUCUM shops that sell indigenous art in Santa Teresa, the neighbourhood where I live in Rio de Janeiro.

I asked Lukukui Karajá from the village of Santa Isabel do Morro on the Ilha do Bananal whether it is true that they are used to tell children the stories, myths and rituals of the people. Why do these women dolls have no arms? And what is this beast devouring the others? And he said, “We did that in the past. But now we are living in modern times, right? Now we do it all for you.” So, I took home an Aritxocô doll, Lukukui. And a jaguar eating a capybara.

Spiele des Südens „Aber wohin seinen Blick wenden?“

Ausschnitt einer Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues
Ausschnitt einer Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues | © Daniela Rodrigues

Gerade haben die Olympischen Spiele mit einer schillernden Eröffnungsveranstaltung in Brasilien begonnen. Doch wie sieht das Sujet abseits großer Stadien und Investoren aus? Die Reihe „Spiele des Südens“ des Goethe-Instituts sucht den Charakter des Spiels hinter dieser Fassade – unter anderem bei den Indigenen Weltspielen.

In der Theorie fördern die Olympischen und Paralympischen Spiele die Verständigung zwischen den Völkern und Nationen; In der Praxis stehen jedoch allzu oft Leistungen der Teilnehmenden und Konkurrenzverhältnisse im Vordergrund. Das Projekt „Spiele des Südens“ bietet bis zum 7. Oktober 2016 eine Plattform zur Reflexion über die sozialen und kulturellen Dimensionen sportlicher Großveranstaltung – mit einer Ausstellung, einem Schüler-Camp, einem App-Workshop sowie einer internationalen Konferenz. Zudem äußern sich auf der Website des Projekts zwölf Expertinnen und Experten zu Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit und Zivilrechte im Rahmen der Olympischen Spiele.

Auf Beobachtungsreise

Im Zentrum der Ausstellung, die bis zum 8. Oktober in Rio de Janeiro zu sehen ist, stehen die Ergebnisse der Reisen 13 brasilianischer, asiatischer und deutscher Wissenschaftlerinnen und Künstler, wie Paulo Nazareth, Antje Mejawski oder Igor Vidor, zu den Indigenen Weltspielen. Über zweitausend Athletinnen und Athleten aus über 30 Ländern nahmen in Palmas an den ersten Spielen indigener Völker teil. Die Sportlerinnen und Sportler begegneten sich dabei in traditionellen Disziplinen – beispielsweise Tauziehen oder Kanufahren – und die 13 Gäste der sportlichen Tradition Lateinamerikas.

Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts reiste die Gruppe nach Palmas, um sich auf künstlerische Art und Weise mit dem Wert des Sports in der Kultur indigener Völker auseinanderzusetzen. Was ist der eigentliche Charakter des Spiels? Wie kann das Spiel das Verhältnis zwischen Individuum und Gesellschaft formen? Und welchen Einfluss nimmt es auf die Sozialität einer Gesellschaft? Aus diesen Fragestellungen heraus entstanden Performances, Essays und Fotos.

Grafisches Tagebuch

Eine der Künstlerinnen, die die Indigenen Weltspiele während ihres Besuches in Palmas reflektierte, ist die Anthropologin Daniela Rodrigues. In ihren Illustrationen und Skizzen hält sie ihre persönliche Sicht auf die Ereignisse und deren Kommerzialisierung fest.

Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues „Das Motto der Olympischen Spiele ruft in Großbuchstaben aus: „JETZT SIND WIR ALLE INDIGENE“. Was soll das überhaupt bedeuten? Ich hielt mich an diesem Ort auf, an dem sich jeder Besucher in einen imaginären Indianer in einer Synthese zu verwandeln schien – in eine Synthese aus Zubehör für lange Haare, Kopfschmuck mit vielen Federn, Armbändern aus bunten Perlen und schwarzen und roten Körperbemalungen. Ich setzte mich, um Kayapó-Mädchen zu beobachten, die mithilfe von Jenipapo und dunkler Kohle eckige geometrische Muster auf fremde Arme malten. Die Preise: von 10 bis 20 Reais.“

Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues „Aber wohin seinen Blick wenden in dieser an unsichtbaren Schichten reichen Arena, gefüllt vom Schweigen vieler, in diesem unwirtlichen Raum, ohne Schatten der Bäume, der die zu starke Sonne von Tocantins filterte? Erste Skizzen über den Ort: das Heilige Feuer, eine stetige Flamme auf dem Gelände der Wettkämpfe.“

Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues „Die Dynamik der digitalen Hütte, wo Indigene verschiedenen Alters ihre Facebook-Einträge mit bei den Olympischen Spielen aufgenommenen Selfies aktualisierten. Bildschirme voller Federn, Gesichtsbemalungen, Pfeil und Bogen und vielen, vielen Likes.“

Illustration von Daniela Rodrigues © Daniela Rodrigues „Ich kannte die Karajá-Puppen bereits. Ich kannte sie aus Ausstellungen über das immaterielle Erbe Brasiliens, habe sie in den TUCUM-Geschäften gesehen, die indigene Kunst in Santa Teresa vermarkten, wo ich in Rio de Janeiro lebe.

Ich habe Lukukui Karajá gefragt, vom Dorf Santa Isabel do Morro auf der Ilha do Bananal, ob es stimmt, dass sie dazu dienen, Kindern Geschichten, Mythen und Riten der Völker zu erzählen. Warum haben die Frauenpuppen keine Arme? Und was ist das für ein Tier, das die anderen frisst? Und er antwortete: „Früher haben wir das so gemacht. Aber jetzt leben wir in der Moderne, nicht wahr? Jetzt machen wir das alles für euch.“ Also habe ich eine Puppe Artxocô mit nach Hause genommen, diktierte mir Lukukui. Und einen Jaguar, der ein Wasserschwein frisst.“