Residencies Base Camps for Artists and Intellectuals

Presentation of the Goethe-Institut’s residency work in Berlin’s Kulturquartier silent green.
Presentation of the Goethe-Institut’s residency work in Berlin’s Kulturquartier silent green. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

The value of travel: With its event entitled Perspektivwechsel (Change of Perspective) at Berlin’s Kulturquartier silent green, the Goethe-Institut provides insights into the diversity of its worldwide residency work. The international scholarships for artists create mutually enriching dialogues.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann is convinced that Goethe would have been the ideal grantee of an artist’s residency. After all, the writer of the West-Eastern Divan was a declared friend of encounters with other cultures and learning through travel. He was also the one who said, “The existence of foreign peoples is the best mirror in which we can recognize our own.” In his speech at Berlin’s Kulturquartier silent green, Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, recalls this philosophy of its namesake. Here, the worldwide residency work of the Goethe-Institut is being presented to 200 guests at an event entitled Perspektivwechsel (Change of Perspective).
 
The audience of the Presentation of the Goethe-Institut’s residency work in Berlin’s Kulturquartier silent green. The audience of the Presentation of the Goethe-Institut’s residency work in Berlin’s Kulturquartier silent green. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig The inspirational sponge principle 
 
In cooperation with the Foreign Office and cultural partners abroad, the institute enables about 130 stays by artists and academics every year in nearly 50 programmes on several continents. The scholarships promote exchange, create lasting networks and set the “cultural policy tone abroad and in the host country,” according to Lehmann. “Solutions are not found in global formulas, but in personal encounters and experiences that lead to learning communities.” The residencies are therefore not “Arcadian retreats,” but “base camps for artists and intellectuals,” he continues. 
 
President Klaus-Dieter Lehmann speaking with Minister of State Maria Böhmer. President Klaus-Dieter Lehmann speaking with Minister of State Maria Böhmer. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig “Only dialogue can make it possible for us to attain a peaceful coexistence,” says Maria Böhmer, Minister of State at the Foreign Office, stressing the importance of the usually three-month stays abroad. She likes what the writer Lucy Fricke, a 2011 resident at the Villa Kamogawa in Kyoto, once said about her time in Japan: “The sponge principle prevails: Soak and squeeze.” Whereby we should understand “squeeze” as the long-term ability to draw on the experience gained. 
 
Minister of State Maria Böhmer. Minister of State Maria Böhmer. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Ambitious locations that create futures
 
The focus of the Perspektivwechsel programme is on two residency venues. One is the Tarabya Cultural Academy in Istanbul with its seven artists’ suites operated by the German Embassy in Ankara and curated by the Goethe-Institut. The other is the above-mentioned Villa Kamogawa, which lies picturesquely between the Imperial Palace and Kyoto University and is presently celebrating its fifth anniversary as a residency location. 
 
The worldwide number of residency locations is constantly growing. In November 2016, Goethe president Lehmann also points out, the Villa Sul will open in Salvador-Bahia, Brazil. It will focus primarily on the “Global South” and be open to German as well as international residents. There are also definite plans to set up a “German Academy” with up to 15 residencies in New York City in the former headquarters of the Goethe-Institut on Fifth Avenue, across the street from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
 


Solidarity in tumultuous times 
 
Of course, the residencies are not protected against international political vicissitudes, which is an issue that also resonates in the dialogue between the writer David Wagner, 2015 resident at the Villa Tarabya, and Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut. Ebert emphasizes, “In tumultuous times such as we are currently experiencing in Turkey, the work of the Goethe-Institut is in demand for preserving liberties. The solidarity that arises there in conversations between the Turkish and German cultural sectors is an important signal.” 
 
Writer David Wagner, moderator Amira El Ahl and the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, Johannes Ebert, in conversation. Writer David Wagner, moderator Amira El Ahl and the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, Johannes Ebert, in conversation. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig In 2004, during his time as director of the Goethe-Institut in Cairo, Ebert launched a writer-in-residency project. It taught him what “strong reflection about perceptions of the foreign” it made possible. 
 
Art from experience 
 
The cultural programme at silent green reveals how the residencies, which are not directly goal-oriented, can translate artistically. The dancer and object artist, Antje Töpfer, a 2015 resident at Villa Kamogawa, shows scenes of her play 3 Akte. In Japan she studied a special kind of origami and performs a character-rich performance with an intricately folded roll of paper.  
 
The musician Ulrike Haage also found plenty of inspiration in Kyoto in 2012 and “let the ideas for a composition grow while walking,” as she says. Excerpts from her piano cycle For All My Walking offer impressions of it. In addition, the residency promoted a partnership with the director Doris Dörrie, for whose film Greetings from Fukushima Haage wrote the music. 
 
The poet and novelist Matthias Göritz finally reads passages from his book Die Sprache der Sonne (The Language of the Sun), which he began work on at Villa Tarabya. Göritz believes it is important for artists, “to compare their vision of the world with that of others.” He stresses, “this is a process that works in both directions.” 
 
The musician and former resident Ulrike Haage. The musician and former resident Ulrike Haage. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig Places of freedom for those at risk 
 
Moreover, Minister of State Böhmer hopes that the residencies, in view of the upheavals caused by war and flight, might also be places of refuge, saying, “Artists who are at risk in particular need places of freedom.” 
 
A look at the dance performance A look at the dance performance "3 Akte" by Antje Töpfer. | Photo: Bernhard Ludewig
 
By Patrick Wildermann

Residenzen Basislager für Künstler und Intellektuelle

Präsentation der Residenzarbeit der Goethe-Institute im Berliner Kulturquartier silent green.
Präsentation der Residenzarbeit der Goethe-Institute im Berliner Kulturquartier silent green. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Vom Wert des Reisens: Mit der Veranstaltung „Perspektivwechsel“ im Berliner Kulturquartier silent green gibt das Goethe-Institut Einblicke in die Vielfalt seiner weltweiten Residenzarbeit. Die Auslandsstipendien für Künstlerinnen und Künstler schaffen Dialoge, die wechselseitig bereichern.

Goethe wäre der ideale Stipendiat einer Künstlerresidenz gewesen, davon ist Klaus-Dieter Lehmann überzeugt. Schließlich sei der Verfasser des „West-östlichen Divan“ ein erklärter Freund der Begegnung mit anderen Kulturen und der Bildung durch Reisen gewesen. Von ihm stammt auch das Zitat: „Die Existenz fremder Menschen sind die besten Spiegel, worin wir die unsrige erkennen können“. Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, erinnert an diese Philosophie des Namenspatrons in seiner Rede im Berliner Kulturquartier silent green. Unter dem Titel „Perspektivwechsel“ wird hier vor 200 Besuchern die weltweite Residenzarbeit des Goethe-Instituts vorgestellt.
 
Die Besucherinnen und Besucher der Präsentation der Residenzprogramme des Goethe-Instituts. Die Besucherinnen und Besucher der Präsentation der Residenzprogramme des Goethe-Instituts. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Das Schwammprinzip der Inspiration
 
Rund 130 Aufenthalte von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern werden jährlich in fast 50 Programmen auf verschiedenen Kontinenten ermöglicht – in Kooperation mit dem Auswärtigen Amt und Kulturpartnern im Ausland. Die Stipendien fördern den Austausch, schaffen nachhaltige Vernetzungen und setzen „kulturpolitische Impulse im Ausland und im Gastland“, so Lehmann. „Weltformeln bieten keine Lösung, eher die persönlichen Begegnungen und Erfahrungen, die zu Lerngemeinschaften führen“. Die Residenzen seien daher eben keine „arkadischen Refugien“, sondern „Basislager für Künstler und Intellektuelle“. 
 
Präsident Klaus-Dieter Lehmann im Gespräch mit Staatsministerin Maria Böhmer. Präsident Klaus-Dieter Lehmann im Gespräch mit Staatsministerin Maria Böhmer. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig „Allein der Dialog kann es ermöglichen, dass wir zu einem friedvollen Miteinander finden“, betont Maria Böhmer, Staatsministerin im Auswärtigen Amt, die Bedeutung der zumeist dreimonatigen Auslandsaufenthalte. Ihr gefällt, was die Schriftstellerin Lucy Fricke, 2011 Stipendiatin der Villa Kamogawa in Kyoto, einmal über ihre Zeit in Japan gesagt hat: „Es gilt das Schwammprinzip: aufsaugen und auspressen“. Wobei auspressen in diesem Sinne so zu verstehen sei, dass man noch lange von der gewonnenen Erfahrung zehren kann. 
  
Staatsministerin Maria Böhmer. Staatsministerin Maria Böhmer. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Ehrgeizige Orte, die Zukunft schaffen
 
Im Fokus des Programms „Perspektivwechsel“ steht zum einen die Residenz in der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Istanbul mit ihren sieben Künstlerappartements, die von der Deutschen Botschaft in Ankara betrieben und vom Goethe-Institut kuratorisch verantwortet wird. Und zum anderen die bereits erwähnte Villa Kamogawa, die malerisch zwischen Kaiserpalast und Kyoto-Universität liegt und momentan ihr fünfjähriges Jubiläum als Residenz feiert.
 
Dabei erweitert sich das weltweite Angebot an Residenzorten stetig. Im November 2016, auch darauf verweist Goethe-Präsident Lehmann, eröffnet im brasilianischen Salvador-Bahia die Villa Sul, die sich vor allem dem Thema „Globaler Süden“ widmen und sowohl deutschen als auch internationalen Residentinnen und Residenten offen stehen wird. Zudem gibt es konkrete Pläne, in New York eine „German Academy“ mit bis zu 15 Residenzen im früheren Sitz des Goethe-Instituts an der 5th Avenue, gegenüber des Metropolitan Museum of Art einzurichten. 



Solidarität in turbulenten Zeiten

Natürlich sind auch die Residenzen nicht vor weltpolitischen Wechselfällen geschützt. Ein Thema, das auch im Dialog zwischen dem Schriftsteller David Wagner, 2015 Resident in der Villa Tarabya, und Johannes Ebert, dem Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, anklingt. Ebert unterstreicht: „Gerade in turbulenten Zeiten, wie wir sie aktuell in der Türkei erleben, ist die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts gefragt, um Freiräume zu erhalten. Die Solidarität, die dort im Gespräch zwischen türkischen und deutschen Kulturschaffenden entsteht, ist ein wichtiges Zeichen“. 
 
Schriftsteller David Wagner, Moderatorin Amira El Ahl und der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert im Gespräch. Schriftsteller David Wagner, Moderatorin Amira El Ahl und der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert im Gespräch. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Ebert rief 2004 in seiner Zeit als Goethe-Institutsleiter in Kairo ein den Residenzen verwandtes Stadtschreiber-Projekt ins Leben. Dabei habe er erlebt, welche „starke Reflexion über die Wahrnehmung des Fremden“ dadurch ermöglicht wurde. 
 
Kunst aus Erfahrung  
 
Wie sich die Residenzen – die eben nicht unmittelbar zweckgerichtet sind – künstlerisch niederschlagen können, zeigt das Kulturprogramm im silent green: Die Tänzerin und Objektkünstlerin Antje Töpfer, 2015 Stipendiatin in der Villa Kamogawa, zeigt Szenen ihres Stücks „3 Akte“. Sie hat in Japan eine besondere Form des Origami studiert und vollführt eine figurenreiche Performance mit einer kunstvoll gefalteten Papierbahn.
 
Auch die Musikerin Ulrike Haage hat 2012 in Kyoto etliche Inspirationen gefunden und „im Gehen die Gedanken für eine Komposition wachsen lassen“, wie sie erzählt. Eindrücke davon vermitteln Ausschnitte aus ihrem Klavierzyklus „For All My Walking“. Zudem hat die Residenz eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Regisseurin Doris Dörrie gefördert, für deren Film „Grüße aus Fukushima“ Haage die Musik schrieb. 
 
Der Lyriker und Romancier Matthias Göritz schließlich trägt Passagen aus seinem Buch „Die Sprache der Sonne“ vor, an dem er in der Villa Tarabya zu arbeiten begann. Es sei wichtig für Künstler, findet Göritz, „ihre Vision von der Welt mit der anderer abzugleichen“. Er betont, dies sei „ein Prozess, der in beide Richtungen wirkt“. 
 
Die Musikerin und ehemalige Stipendiatin Ulrike Haage. Die Musikerin und ehemalige Stipendiatin Ulrike Haage. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Freiräume auch für die Bedrohten 
 
Staatsministerin Böhmer wünscht sich darüber hinaus, dass die Residenzen angesichts der Verwerfungen durch Krieg und Flucht auch Orte der Zuflucht sein mögen: „Gerade Künstler, die in bedrohter Situation sind, brauchen Freiräume“.
  Einblicke in die Tanzperformance „3 Akte Einblicke in die Tanzperformance „3 Akte" von Antje Töpfer. | Foto: Bernhard Ludewig Von Patrick Wildermann