Frankfurt Book Fair Literature Most Fair

“This is what we share” is the motto of this year’s book fair: The Guests of Honour Flanders and the Netherlands share not only a language, but also the North Sea (Photo: Thierry Renauld, with kind permission of Fondation Folon)
“This is what we share” is the motto of this year’s book fair: The Guests of Honour Flanders and the Netherlands share not only a language, but also the North Sea | Photo: Thierry Renauld,(with kind permission of Fondation Folon)

Royal visitors and divine literature: this year, the Frankfurt Book Fair reaches lofty heights. The Goethe-Institut is there once again, as well, and dares change the one or other perspective in a variety of panel discussions.

In the beginning was the Word. Or from the beginning? And here we go. How should the bible be translated correctly? Martin Luther took on this huge task for the German bible, but even his version has been altered many times over the centuries. Now, it is time yet again as no less than 70 German philologists, exegetes and liturgical experts worked for six years to revise Luther’s translation. The result is fittingly being presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair to mark the upcoming Year of Luther.

Yet if the bible is “the book of books,” it is at the same time one book among thousands upon thousands that publishers have lugged to Frankfurt. Nearly 400 new publications are coming from the Netherlands and Flanders alone, this year’s Guests of Honour at the book fair. Seventy authors from the two countries will head to Frankfurt, as will three royal highnesses. Dutch King Willem-Alexander and Belgian King Philippe and Queen Mathilde will open the Frankfurt Book Fair next Tuesday. Then professional visits and, on the final few days, the broader public will have opportunities to better get to know the literature of the two Guests of Honour.

“If we’re getting to know someone, we’ll do it properly,” was the motto of the mairisch Verlag from Hamburg this February. The publishing house relocated to Amsterdam for a month. Publisher Daniel Beskos and editor Daniël van der Meer will talk about their experiences and impressions there as well as about their favourite Dutch authors at one of many events to which the Goethe-Institut is inviting fair visitors in Hall 3.

Go, Came, Stayed is the title of another panel discussion by the Goethe-Institut. To what extent are today’s huge movements of displacement and migration to Europe really as extraordinary as they appear in view of acute organizational, social and political challenges? The participants will attempt to fit the modern migratory movements into the history of displacement and migration in Europe.

The refugee topic is also used by nationalist and xenophobic forces, which are on the rise in almost all of Europe. Populist movements and parties work with simplifications and play on fears of the future. This is true in Germany, but also Denmark, Poland and the United Kingdom, where scepticism towards the European Union resulted in the Brexit. Even culture is used to demarcate national boundaries rather than as an opportunity for dialogue or enrichment through the stimuli from different societal groups. For instance, in Germany the term “Leitkultur” – or “dominant culture” – is experiencing a renaissance among large parts of the population. In this situation, how can cultural institutions take action and point the way? Can, indeed, must art somehow counter these tendencies? These are the questions for the panel discussion Populism in Europe – On the Role of Art and Culture. Johannes Ebert, the secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, will talk with the Slovak curator Lenka Kukurova, the Polish historian Ruth Leiserowitz and the Danish writer Carsten Jensen. Another panel will deal with the way Europe is seen from its neighbours’ perspectives, specifically those of North Africa and Lebanon.

Trolls and towers

Residency programmes remain one particularly popular form of international dialogue. The Munich-based author Lena Gorelik spent six weeks in Iceland this summer. She found neither any trolls nor goblins, but had many unexpected encounters and found new inspiration, which she will talk about in Frankfurt.

But the Goethe-Institut has also long been dealing with the future of Africa, or better yet with African futures and now at the book fair, as well. How do cultural professionals in Africa envision the future? Do they offer alternative visions to the widespread, but very extreme perspectives that predict either a downfall or booming investments for the continent? These questions are the main focus of the publication African Futures, for which artists, academics and culture creators present their views on the subject of the future. African Futures is also the name of the panel discussion that takes on this change in perspective.

Other topics include German crime fiction in the UK, artists in exile and women writers in Iraq. You can find the entire Goethe-Institut programme at the book fair here.

The Book Fair runs from 18 to 25 October. Approximately 7,000 exhibitors and 300,000 visitors are expected to the more than 500-year-old fair. Hundreds of authors including Cees Nooteboom and Wolf Biermann will present their own works. The Frankfurt Book Fair is the largest of its kind and an encouraging sign that the often-prophesied demise of books will have to wait a while longer. In Germany alone 76,547 new titles were issued last year. Stacked on top of one another, they would be seven times higher than the Eiffel Tower.

-db-

Frankfurter Buchmesse Die Vermessung der Literatur

„Dies ist, was wir teilen“ heißt das Motto der diesjährigen Buchmesse: Die Ehrengäste Flandern und die Niederlande verbindet die Sprache, aber auch die Nordsee (Foto: Thierry Renauld, mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Fondation Folon)
„Dies ist, was wir teilen“ heißt das Motto der diesjährigen Buchmesse: Die Ehrengäste Flandern und die Niederlande verbindet die Sprache, aber auch die Nordsee | Foto: Thierry Renauld (mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Fondation Folon)

Königlicher Besuch und göttliche Literatur: Drunter macht's die Frankfurter Buchmesse in diesem Jahr nicht. Auch das Goethe-Institut ist wieder dabei und wagt in diversen Gesprächsrunden den einen oder anderen Perspektivwechsel.

Am Anfang war das Wort. Oder im Anfang? Da geht es nämlich schon los. Wie übersetzt man die Bibel korrekt ins Deutsche? Martin Luther hat sich dieser großen Aufgabe angenommen, aber auch seine Fassung unterlag im Laufe der Jahrhunderte zahlreichen Anpassungen. Nun ist es mal wieder so weit: Nicht weniger als 70 Germanisten, Exegeten und Liturgieexperten haben sich sechs Jahre lang daran gemacht, Luthers Übersetzung zu überarbeiten. Das Ergebnis wird nun passend zum bald beginnenden Luther-Jahr auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse vorgestellt.

Doch ist die Bibel auch „das Buch der Bücher“, ist sie gleichzeitig ein Buch von Tausenden und Abertausenden, die die Verlage mit nach Frankfurt geschleppt haben. Allein aus den Niederlanden und Flandern, den diesjährigen Ehrengästen der Buchmesse, kommen knapp 400 Neuerscheinungen. 70 Autoren von dort werden sich persönlich auf den Weg zum Main machen und – drei königliche Hoheiten. Der niederländische König Willem-Alexander, der belgische König Philippe und die belgische Königin Mathilde werden die Frankfurter Buchmesse am kommenden Dienstag eröffnen. Danach haben dann auch Fachbesucher und an den letzten Tagen das breite Publikum Gelegenheit, die Literatur des doppelten Ehrengastes besser kennenzulernen.

„Wenn schon kennenlernen, dann richtig“, lautete im Februar das Motto des mairisch Verlags aus Hamburg. Er verlegte seinen Sitz deshalb für einen Monat nach Amsterdam. Über ihre dortigen Erfahrungen und Eindrücke, aber auch über ihre niederländischen Lieblingsautoren sprechen Verleger Daniel Beskos und Herausgeber Daniël van der Meer bei einer von zahlreichen Veranstaltungen, zu denen das Goethe-Institut die Messebesucher in die Halle 3 lädt.

Gehen, kam, geblieben ist der Titel einer weiteren Diskussionsrunde des Goethe-Instituts. Inwieweit sind die heutigen großen Flucht- und Migrationsbewegungen nach Europa tatsächlich so außerordentlich, wie sie angesichts akuter organisatorischer, gesellschaftlicher und politischer Herausforderungen erscheinen? Die Diskutanten versuchen, die modernen Wanderbewegungen in eine Geschichte von Flucht und Migration in Europa einzuordnen.

Die Flüchtlingsthematik wird freilich auch von den nationalistischen und fremdenfeindlichen Kräften instrumentalisiert, die derzeit in nahezu ganz Europa Aufwind haben. Populistische Strömungen und Parteien arbeiten mit Vereinfachungen und Zukunftsängsten. Das ist in Deutschland so, aber auch in Dänemark, Polen oder Großbritannien, wo die Skepsis der Europäischen Union gegenüber im Brexit mündete. Auch die Kultur wird dabei gern als nationaler Abgrenzungsbegriff benutzt statt als Möglichkeit zum Dialog oder Bereicherung durch die Impulse unterschiedlicher gesellschaftlicher Gruppen. In Deutschland etwa erfährt der Begriff der „Leitkultur“ in breiten Teilen der Bevölkerung eine Renaissance. Wie können Kulturinstitutionen in dieser Situation agieren und Zeichen setzen? Kann, ja, muss die Kunst diesen Tendenzen etwas entgegensetzen? Um diese Frage geht es bei der Podiumsdiskussion Populismus in Europa – Zur Rolle von Kunst und Kultur. Johannes Ebert, der Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, diskutiert darüber mit der slowakischen Kuratorin Lenka Kukurova, der polnischen Historikerin Ruth Leiserowitz sowie dem dänischen Schriftsteller Carsten Jensen. Eine weitere Gesprächsrunde beschäftigt sich mit der Wahrnehmung Europas aus der Sicht der Nachbarn. In diesem Fall geht es speziell um die nordafrikanische und die libanesische Perspektive.

Von Trollen und Türmen

Eine besonders beliebte Form des internationalen Austauschs sind nach wie vor Residenzprogramme. Die Münchner Autorin Lena Gorelik verbrachte im Sommer sechs Wochen in Island. Dort hat sie zwar weder Trolle noch Kobolde gesehen, aber zahlreiche unerwartete Begegnungen gemacht und neue Inspirationen gefunden, über die sie in Frankfurt erzählt.

Aber auch mit der Zukunft Afrikas, oder besser: mit afrikanischen Zukünften beschäftigt sich das Goethe-Institut schon lange, jetzt auch auf der Buchmesse. Wie schauen Kulturschaffende in Afrika in die Zukunft? Bieten sie Gegenvisionen zu den verbreiteten, aber sehr extremen Sichtweisen, die für den Kontinent wahlweise den Niedergang oder den großen Investitionsboom voraussagen. African Futures heißt die Podiumsdiskussion, die diesen Perspektivwechsel versucht.

Außerdem geht es um deutsche Kriminalliteratur in Großbritannien, Künstler im Exil und Schriftstellerinnen im Irak. Das gesamte Programm des Goethe-Instituts auf der Buchmesse finden Sie hier.

Die Buchmesse findet vom 18. bis 25. Oktober statt. Auf der mehr als 500 Jahre alten Messe werden rund 7.000 Aussteller und 300.000 Besucher erwartet. Hunderte Autoren werden ihre Werke persönlich vorstellen – von Cees Nooteboom bis Wolf Biermann. Die Frankfurter Buchmesse ist die größte ihrer Art und ein ermutigendes Indiz dafür, dass das schon so oft prophezeite Ende des Buches noch ein wenig auf sich warten lässt. Allein in Deutschland sind im vergangenen Jahr 76.547 neue Titel erschienen. Würde man sie alle aufeinanderstapeln, würde ein Turm entstehen, der sieben mal so hoch wäre wie der Eiffelturm.

-db-