Journalists Exchange Delmenhorst and the East-West Conflict

Elena Taxidou explores Berlin.
Elena Taxidou explores Berlin. | Photo: Elena Taxidou

What is Bremen like through the eyes of an Estonian journalist? What discoveries can a Berlin journalist find in Riga? This year, the journalists exchange programme Close-Up focuses on the countries of the Baltic and on Greece. For four weeks each, ten journalists will report from a different country where they encounter things that are both foreign and familiar.

“Not every doghouse has tiled walls!” That’s the caption of a snapshot Greete Palmiste made in Delmenhorst and posted on the blog. The Tallinn journalist from Estonian Public Broadcasting (ERR) was the guest of the taz in Bremen for four weeks as part of the journalists exchange programme Close-Up. The department sent her to Delmenhorst in part because 14 percent of the citizens there voted for the AfD – a negative surprise. In addition, from the harbour city’s point of view, Delmenhorst seemed to be a poor and ugly town. Greete Palmiste expected to find “beggar children, decrepit wooden huts, shaggy street dogs.”

Instead, she found an urbane town dozing in the sunshine. Her own understanding of ugliness is associated with 1980s prefabricated blocks of flats, “These building weep when it rains and all their tears gather in the basements. In these houses you can hear whether your neighbours hate or love each other.” Although not characteristic of her homeland, there are plenty of such buildings in Estonia, but not in Delmenhorst.

Bremen railway station. Bremen railway station. | Photo: Greete Palmiste A change of perspective

This example reveals what Close-Up is all about: perceiving another city, another country, from another perspective, thinking about one’s own and the other culture, about commonalities and differences, both personally and professionally.

The Goethe-Institut’s journalists exchange programme began in 2008 and in the meantime, more than 60 journalists have taken part in it from the fields of print, television, radio and online journalism. German journalists are guests of departments in other countries for a month and in return are visited by their exchange partners. During this period, they are involved in the routine of the editorial offices. They report for the host medium and sometimes for their home medium on their impressions of the foreign city.

Elena Taxidou, who travelled from Greece to Berlin for the exchange. Elena Taxidou, who travelled from Greece to Berlin for the exchange. | Photo: Elena Taxidou The exchange partners stand by their counterparts as mentors during their respective visits. The articles and pieces (written in the journalists’ native languages) are translated by the Goethe-Institut and then appear regularly in the host medium. In addition, all of the pieces are published in the Close-Up website (link to www.goethe.de/close-up) where there is also a blog (link) where they can capture personal observations and encounters.

“I am Russian! We have the best fish!”

This year, Close-Up looks at the Baltic states as well as Greece. Ten journalists, including from Deutsche Welle in Berlin, from LRT Televizija in Vilnius and from the magazine Parallaxi in Thessaloniki, are taking part. They have reported about a premiere of Faust at Latvia’s national opera, about Estonians’ relationship to refugees and about German soldiers being stationed in Lithuania.

 Latvijas radio in Riga. Latvijas radio in Riga. | Photo: Cornelius Wüllenkemper The histories of the respective countries, which are not always easy to discover from afar, also come to light in their dense descriptions of everyday life. “I have never before seen the traces of the former East-West conflicts as clearly as I do here. Architecturally. Linguistically. In media policy. In interpersonal relationships,” recounts the freelance journalist Cornelius Wüllenkemper in his blog from Riga. “The fishmonger on the central market who proudly announces to me, ‘I am Russian. We have the best fish!’ […] Olga, the young Russian PR manager who ensures me that anyone who trusts the Russian media in Latvia has no relatives in Russia to tell them about the poverty and corruption in the country.”

On the central market of Riga. On the central market of Riga. | Photo: Cornelius Wüllenkemper There where we are not

The unfiltered observations, the unobstructed views of the Close-Up journalists hold great potentials. They sharpen our view for everyday situations, for contradictory opinions, but also put topics on paper that are otherwise seldom heard about. They bring us closer to what we ourselves do not know, both in the big and the small, and questioning every prejudice. They are there where we are not. What was the line in that song by Element of Crime? “I’m always where you’re not / and that’s always in Delmenhorst.”

Alexander Behrmann

Journalistenaustausch Delmenhorst und der Ost-West-Konflikt

Elena Taxidou erkundet Berlin.
Elena Taxidou erkundet Berlin. | Foto: Elena Taxidou

Wie sieht eine estnische Journalistin Bremen? Welche Entdeckungen macht ein Berliner Journalist in Riga? Der Journalistenaustausch „Nahaufnahme" widmet sich in diesem Jahr den Ländern des Baltikums und Griechenland. Zehn Journalistinnen und Journalisten berichten vier Wochen lang aus einem anderen Land, wo sie auf Fremdes und Vertrautes stoßen.

„Nicht jede Hundehütte hat Wände mit Wandfliesen!“ Das steht unter einem Schnappschuss von Greete Palmiste, den sie in Delmenhorst aufgenommen und im Blog gepostet hat. Im Rahmen des Journalistenaustauschs „Nahaufnahme“ war die aus Tallinn stammende Journalistin von Estonian Public Broadcasting (ERR) vier Wochen zu Gast bei der taz in Bremen. Die Redaktion hatte sie unter anderem deswegen nach Delmenhorst geschickt, weil dort 14 Prozent der Wähler für die AfD gestimmt hatten – eine negative Überraschung. Zudem schien aus Sicht der Hansestädter Delmenhorst eine arme und hässliche Stadt zu sein. Greete Palmiste erwartete „Bettelkinder, verfallene Blockhäuser, verfilzte Straβenhunde“.

Doch was sie vorfand, war eine höfliche, wenn auch verschlafene Stadt im Sonnenschein. Ihr eigenes Verständnis von Hässlichkeit verbindet sie mit den Plattenbauten der 80er-Jahre: „Diese Häuser weinen, wenn es regnet, und alle ihre Tränen sammeln sich im Keller. In diesen Häusern hörst du, ob in der Nachbarwohnung geliebt oder gehasst wird.“ Solche Häuser, wenn sie für ihre Heimat auch nicht charakteristisch seien, gebe es in Estland viele, nicht aber in Delmenhorst.

Der Hauptbahnhof von Bremen. Der Hauptbahnhof von Bremen. | Foto: Greete Palmiste Perspektivwechsel

Das Beispiel zeigt, worum es bei der „Nahaufnahme“ geht: eine andere Stadt, ein anderes Land aus einem anderen Blickwinkel wahrzunehmen, über die eigene und über die andere Kultur nachzudenken, über Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede, auch in professioneller Hinsicht.

Der Journalistenaustausch des Goethe-Instituts existiert bereits seit 2008. Inzwischen haben mehr als 60 Journalistinnen und Journalisten, ganz gleich ob aus dem Bereich Print, TV, Radio oder Online daran teilgenommen. Deutsche Journalistinnen und Journalisten sind für einen Monat zu Gast in Redaktionen in anderen Ländern; im Gegenzug bekommen sie Besuch von ihren Austauschpartnern. Während dieser Zeit werden sie in den Redaktionsalltag vor Ort eingebunden; für das Gastmedium und zum Teil für ihr Heimatmedium berichten sie über ihre Eindrücke in der fremden Stadt.

Elena Taxidou, die aus Griechenland zum Austausch nach Berlin reiste. Elena Taxidou, die aus Griechenland zum Austausch nach Berlin reiste. | Foto: Elena Taxidou In Form eines Mentorings stehen sich die Austauschpartner während des Aufenthalts in der Gast-Redaktion zur Seite. Die Artikel und Beiträge (in der Muttersprache der Journalisten verfasst) erscheinen nach Übersetzung durch das Goethe-Institut regelmäßig im Gastmedium. Zusätzlich werden alle Texte und Beiträge auf der Nahaufnahme-Website publiziert. Dort gibt es zudem einen Blog, in dem persönliche Beobachtungen und Begegnungen festgehalten werden können.

„I am Russian! We have the best fish!"

In diesem Jahr widmet sich die „Nahaufnahme" den Ländern des Baltikums sowie Griechenland. Zehn Journalistinnen und Journalisten, unter anderem von der Deutschen Welle in Berlin, von LRT Televizija in Vilnius oder vom Magazin Parallaxi in Thessaloniki nehmen daran teil. Sie berichten von einer „Faust"-Premiere an der Lettischen Nationaloper, vom estnischen Verhältnis zum Thema Geflüchtete oder von der Stationierung deutscher Soldaten in Litauen.

Zu Gast bei Latvijas radio in Riga. Zu Gast bei Latvijas radio in Riga. | Foto: Cornelius Wüllenkemper Aber auch die Geschichte des jeweiligen Landes, die aus der Ferne nicht immer leicht zu entdecken ist, tritt in ihren dichten Beschreibungen des Alltagslebens zu Tage. „Nie zuvor habe ich die Spuren des früheren Ost-West-Konflikts so deutlich gesehen wie hier. Architektonisch. Sprachlich. Medienpolitisch. Zwischenmenschlich“, hält der freie Journalist Cornelius Wüllenkemper in seinem Blog aus Riga fest. „Die Fischverkäuferin auf dem Zentralmarkt, die mir voller Stolz verkündet: ‚I am Russian. We have the best fish!’ […] Olga, die junge russische PR-Managerin, die mir versichert: Wer den russischen Medien in Lettland traut, hat keine Verwandten in Russland, die ihm über die Armut und Korruption im Land erzählen können.“

Auf dem Zentralmarkt von Riga. Auf dem Zentralmarkt von Riga. | Foto: Cornelius Wüllenkemper Dort, wo wir nicht sind

Die ungefilterten Beobachtungen, der unverstellte Blick der Journalistinnen und Journalisten der „Nahaufnahme“ bergen großes Potenzial. Sie schärfen den Blick für alltägliche Situationen, für sich widersprechende Meinungen, bringen aber auch Themen zu Papier, von denen man sonst wenig hört. Sie bringen uns das nahe, was wir selbst nicht kennen, im Großen wie im Kleinen, wobei jedes Vorurteil hinterfragt wird. Sie sind dort, wo wir nicht sind. Wie hieß es in einem Lied von Element Of Crime so schön? „Ich bin jetzt immer da, wo du nicht bist / und das ist immer Delmenhorst“.

Von Alexander Behrmann