Discussion The Day After: German Perspectives on the U.S. Election

© colourbox.com
© colourbox.com

Which consequences do the US elections have for the US-European relationship? Today, at 6.30 pm CET, the Goethe-Institut Washington is broadcasting a livestream of the discussion "The Day After: German Perspectives on the US Election".

The 2016 US presidential election is considered one of the country’s most controversial and widely-debated around the world. Europeans closely followed the developments with skepticism as they asked what the result of the elections would mean for them.

A day after the elections, Dieter Dettke, Adjunct Graduate Professor at Georgetown University, veteran German journalist Klaus Jürgen Haller, and a group of election observers from Germany will talk with John Feffer, Co-director of Foreign Policy in Focus at the Institute for Policy Studies, Washington DC, about the possible impacts the results of this election could have on the US-European relationship. What does it mean to security politics? How could things change politically?

Follow the discussion via livestream on Facebook.
 



"How’s It Going, Germany?" addresses topics of general and timely interest reflecting the important role Germany plays within Europe and the transatlantic relationship. Issues that are widely and sometimes hotly discussed in the American media are featured, such as conflict in the Middle East, migration, new right-wing extremist groups, and the impact of the US elections on Europe. Join these conversations live at the Goethe-Institut as we bring together voices from Germany and the United States in the fields of business, media, culture and politics.

Diskussion Der Tag danach: Deutsche Perspektiven auf die US-Wahlen

© colourbox.com
© colourbox.com

Die Wahlen in den USA sind entschieden. Aber welche Auswirkungen hat das Ergebnis auf die amerikanisch-europäischen Beziehungen? Heute, um 18.30 Uhr MEZ, überträgt das Goethe-Institut Washington einen Livestream der Diskussion „The Day After: German Perspectives on the US Election“.

Die US-Präsidentschaftswahl 2016 wurde im Land breit und kontrovers diskutiert. In Europa werden die Entwicklungen mit Skepsis verfolgt und sich gefragt, was der Ausgang der Wahl für die eigene Zukunft bedeuten.

Heute diskutieren am Goethe-Institut Washington Dieter Dettke, Adjunct Graduate Professor an der Georgetown University, der deutsche Journalist Klaus Jürgen Haller und eine Gruppe deutscher Wahlbeobachter mit John Feffer, Leiter des Think-Tanks Foreign Policy in Focus am Institute for Policy Studies, über mögliche Auswirkungen des Wahlergebnisses auf die amerikanisch-europäischen Beziehungen. Was bedeutet dies für die Sicherheitspolitik? Wie könnten sich die Dinge politisch verändern?

Die Veranstaltung kann über einen Livestream auf Facebook mitverfolgt werden.
 



Die englischsprachige Diskussionsreihe des Goethe-Instituts Washington „How’s It Going, Germany?“ befasst sich mit verschiedenen Themen von generellem und zeitgemäßem Interesse und spiegelt die wichtige Rolle wider, die Deutschland in Europa sowie in den transatlantischen Beziehungen spielt. Es werden Fragen thematisiert, die in den amerikanischen Medien breit und manchmal auch heiß diskutiert werden, wie die Konflikte im Mittleren Osten, Migration, neue rechtsextremistische Gruppierungen sowie die Auswirkungen der US-Wahlen auf Europa. Diese Konversationen, die am Goethe-Institut stattfinden, bringen Stimmen der Bereiche Wirtschaft, Medien, Kultur und Politik aus Deutschland und den Vereinigten Staaten zusammen.