Opening of the Vila Sul in Salvador Base camp for the south-south dialogue

Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, the regional director of the Goethe-Instituts in South America; Georg Witschel, the German ambassador in Brazil; Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut; Norbert Lammert, the president of the Bundestag and Manfred Stoffl, Manfred Stoffl, the head of the Goethe-Institut Salvador Bahia at the opening ceremony of the
Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, the regional director of the Goethe-Instituts in South America; Georg Witschel, the German ambassador in Brazil; Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut; Norbert Lammert, the president of the Bundestag and Manfred Stoffl, Manfred Stoffl, the head of the Goethe-Institut Salvador Bahia at the opening ceremony of the "Vila Sul" (l.t.r.). | Photo: Caroline Paternostro

The Goethe-Institut is opening its first residency house in the southern hemisphere in Salvador de Bahia. In future, artists and intellectuals will press the south-south dialogue ahead in the Vila Sul. The former capital of colonial Brazil will form the exciting backdrop for this dialogue.

The world turned upside down
 
The Brazilian Foreign Minister usually receives visitors in front of a huge tapestry. It is a knotted world map dating from 1503 that confuses viewers because the world seems to be upside down: the south of the globe is at the top, in the centre of the map. This is how the Portuguese saw the world upon their arrival in Brazil. This is also the perspective from which Brazil’s diplomats view their country globally. The map is not decoration; it is the agenda. The surprisingly contemporary message is: look here, the south is at the centre of the world.
 
The statement could also be the leitmotif for the latest of three residency houses that the Goethe-Institut has now opened, first in Kyoto and Istanbul, and now in Salvador. It is called Vila Sul: the “village of the south.”

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Norbert Lammert and Georg Witschel right before the ribbon-cutting ceremony. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Norbert Lammert and Georg Witschel right before the ribbon-cutting ceremony. | Photo: Caroline Paternostro “It is when societies least want change that they need it the most”
 
“Our worldwide south-south dialogue will be focused in Salvador,” said Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut at the opening ceremony. Each year, up to 24 cultural professionals, artists, scientists and journalists will live and work there for two to three months. “Vila Sul will be their base camp,” Lehmann explained. “Their personal encounters will generate continuous learning processes and communities.”
 
Not only Germans, but art-makers from all over the world will work and live there. Norbert Lammert, the president of the Bundestag who also journeyed to the opening, recalled that it is not cultures that communicate with each other, but people. “It is when societies least want change that they need it the most,” Norbert Lammert said, in assessment of the social transformation processes taking place all over the world. “Art and culture are crucial mediators of these changes for society.” With its power, art is capable of initiating basic social processes.
 
Exchange of ideas across borders
 
Norbert Lammert reminded the gathering that exactly forty years ago Wolf Biermann was expatriated from the GDR after his appearance in Cologne. “In hindsight this was seen the beginning of the end of the regime,” Lammert said. Georg Witschel, the German ambassador in Brazil, explained that artists who opened “minds and hearts,” or the exchange of ideas across borders, are particularly important now, “in times of political con games, where growing nationalism is used in an attempt to find easy answers to complex problems.”

  • Photo: Aldren Lincoln Photo: Aldren Lincoln
    Photo: Aldren Lincoln
  • Photo: Aldren Lincoln Photo: Aldren Lincoln
    Photo: Aldren Lincoln
  • Photo: Aldren Lincoln Photo: Aldren Lincoln
    Photo: Aldren Lincoln
  • Photo: Caroline Paternostro Photo: Caroline Paternostro
    Photo: Caroline Paternostro

The first residents, among them Adolphe Binder (designated artistic director of the Tanztheater Wuppertal), Grada Kilomba (writer, academic and interdisciplinary artist), Christoph Bieber (political scientist) and Sigrid Garais (dramaturge, curator for dance) have already lived and worked in the Vila Sul since October 2016. For the opening, Jürgen Kirner, a stage designer from Berlin, presented a German-Brazilian joint work together with the actress Iami Rebouças and the dramaturge Aldri Anunciação. “A Woman on the Bottom of the Sea” was the name of the impressive solo piece, in which the audience in the studio theatre of the Goethe-Institut actually felt they had been moved to the sandy seabed.
 
Earlier in the year, the pop theorist Diedrich Diederichsen had also done research for several months tracing the footsteps of the German writer Hubert Fichte in South America on behalf of a Goethe project. In a lecture, he interpreted Salvador’s rich musical tradition as an avant-garde art, in which sounds democratically blend without interfering with one another.
 
Living among the mango trees
 
The Goethe-Institut is opening its first residency house in the southern hemisphere in Salvador de Bahia. The Goethe-Institut is opening its first residency house in the southern hemisphere in Salvador de Bahia. | Photo: Aldren Lincoln From now on, new residents will travel to Salvador de Bahia every two months. With a fully equipped studio theatre, two galleries, an inner courtyard surrounded by huge mango trees and a library, the institute offers ideal conditions for cultural encounters. During their stay, the artists live in loft-style apartments on the top floor of the Goethe-Institut. They share a spacious eat-in kitchen so that the participants can also communicate with one another.
 
“Without anticipating the result and without a set purpose, participants should try out new ways of viewing art and culture,” says Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, the regional director of the Goethe-Instituts in South America.
 
Due to its localization, the institute is perfectly suited as an international meeting place for art-makers in the south-south dialogue. The renovated villa is located in the centre of the city of three million. Salvador was the first capital of Brazil and for centuries the hub of the worldwide slave trade. Because of its Afro-Brazilian roots, the state of Bahia is regarded as the cradle of Brazilian national culture.
 
Global power structures from the southern perspective
 
The Goethe-Institut has existed here since 1962. Under the Brazilian military dictatorship (1964 to 1985), the Brazilian opposition and art scene used it as a refuge from state repression – for which the Goethe-Institut still has a legendary reputation in the cultural scene. “Worldwide there are few other places that are so predestined for rethinking global power structures from the southern perspective than Salvador,” says Manfred Stoffl, the head of the Goethe-Institut.
 
The close relations between Brazil and the Goethe-Institut can be traced back to the name-giver. For although Goethe did not go to Brazil, as Klaus-Dieter Lehmann explained, in his last few years as privy counsellor he dealt so intensively with Brazil that he was regarded as “the Brazilian” in Weimar. With its residency program in Salvador, it seems as though the German cultural institute has returned to its ideational roots.
 
Alexander Busch


Partners of the residency Vila Sul are the Robert Bosch Stiftung, Musicboard Berlin, Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt and CALQ (Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec ).

Eröffnung der Vila Sul in Salvador Basislager des Süd-Süd-Dialogs

Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts São Paulo und Regionalleiterin Südamerika; der deutsche Botschafter in Brasilien Georg Witschel; Klaus-Dieter-Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts; Bundestagspräsident Norbert Lammert und Manfred Stoffl, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Salvador-Bahia bei der Eröffnung der Vila Sul (v.l.n.r.).
Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts São Paulo und Regionalleiterin Südamerika; der deutsche Botschafter in Brasilien Georg Witschel; Klaus-Dieter-Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts; Bundestagspräsident Norbert Lammert und Manfred Stoffl, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Salvador-Bahia bei der Eröffnung der Vila Sul (v.l.n.r.). | Foto: Caroline Paternostro

Das Goethe-Institut eröffnet in Salvador da Bahia sein erstes Residenzhaus auf der Südhalbkugel. Künstler und Intellektuelle sollen in der Vila Sul zukünftig den Süd-Süd-Dialog vorantreiben. Die ehemalige Hauptstadt der Kolonie Brasilien bildet die spannende Kulisse dafür.

Die Welt auf den Kopf gestellt

Der brasilianische Außenminister empfängt Besucher meist vor einem riesigen Wandteppich. Es ist eine geknüpfte Weltkarte aus dem Jahr 1503, welche die Betrachter verwirrt. Denn darauf scheint die Welt auf dem Kopf gestellt: Der Süden der Weltkugel befindet sich oben, im Zentrum der Karte. So sahen die Portugiesen bei ihrer Ankunft in Brasilien die Welt. Aus dieser Perspektive sehen auch Brasiliens Diplomaten ihr Land global eingeordnet. Die Landkarte ist kein Wandschmuck, sie ist Programm: Seht her, lautet die überraschend aktuelle Botschaft, der Süden steht im Zentrum der Welt.

Die Aussage könnte auch als Leitmotiv für das neueste von weltweit drei eigenen Residenzhäusern gelten, welche das Goethe-Institut nun nach Kyoto und Istanbul in Salvador da Bahia eröffnet hat. „Vila Sul”, heißt es, also das „Dorf des Südens“.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Norbert Lammert und Georg Witschel kurz vor dem symbolischen Scherenschnitt. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Norbert Lammert und Georg Witschel kurz vor dem symbolischen Scherenschnitt. | Foto: Caroline Paternostro

„Gesellschaften brauchen vor allem dann Veränderungen, wenn sie das am wenigsten wollen“

„In Salvador soll unser Süd-Süd-Dialog weltweit konzentriert werden“, sagte Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts bei der feierlichen Eröffnung. Jährlich werden bis zu 24 Kulturschaffende, Künstler sowie Wissenschaftler und Publizisten für zwei bis drei Monate dort leben und arbeiten. „Vila Sul soll ihr Basislager sein“, erklärte Lehmann. „Aus den persönlichen Begegnungen sollen anhaltende Lernprozesse und -gemeinschaften entstehen.“

Nicht nur deutsche, sondern Kunstschaffende aus aller Welt werden dort arbeiten und leben. Der ebenfalls zur Eröffnung angereiste Bundestagspräsident Norbert Lammert erinnerte daran, dass nicht Kulturen miteinander kommunizieren, sondern Menschen. „Gesellschaften brauchen vor allem dann Veränderungen, wenn sie das am wenigsten wollen“, analysierte Lammert die weltweit stattfindenden gesellschaftlichen Wandlungsprozesse. „Kunst und Kultur sind entscheidende Vermittler dieser Veränderungen für die Gesellschaft.“ Mit ihrer Kraft sei die Kunst in der Lage, grundlegende gesellschaftliche Prozesse in Gang zu setzen.

Ideentausch über Grenzen hinweg

Lammert erinnerte daran, dass vor genau 40 Jahren Wolf Biermann nach seinem Auftritt in Köln von der DDR ausgebürgert wurde. „Das war im Nachhinein gesehen der Anfang vom Ende des Regimes“, sagte Norbert Lammert. Georg Witschel, deutscher Botschafter in Brasilien, erklärte, dass Künstler, die „Hirn und Herz“ öffneten, also der Ideenaustausch über Grenzen hinweg, jetzt besonders wichtig seien – „in Zeiten der Bauernfängerei, wo mit dem anwachsenden Nationalismus versucht wird, einfache Antworten auf komplexe Fragen zu geben“.
  • Foto: Aldren Lincoln Foto: Aldren Lincoln
    Foto: Aldren Lincoln
  • Foto: Aldren Lincoln Foto: Aldren Lincoln
    Foto: Aldren Lincoln
  • Foto: Aldren Lincoln Foto: Aldren Lincoln
    Foto: Aldren Lincoln
  • Foto: Caroline Paternostro Foto: Caroline Paternostro
    Foto: Caroline Paternostro
  • Foto: Aldren Lincoln Foto: Aldren Lincoln
    Foto: Aldren Lincoln
Seit Oktober 2016 wohnen und arbeiten in der „Vila Sul” die ersten Residentinnen und Residenten, darunter Adolphe Binder (designierte künstlerische Leiterin des Tanztheaters Wuppertal), Grada Kilomba (Schriftstellerin, Wissenschaftlerin und interdisziplinäre Künstlerin), Christoph Bieber (Politikwissenschaftler) und Sigrid Garais (Dramaturgin und Kuratorin für Tanz). Jürgen Kirner, Bühnenbildner aus Berlin, präsentierte gemeinsam mit der Schauspielerin Iami Rebouças und dem Dramaturgen Aldri Anunciação zur Eröffnung ein deutsch-brasilianisches Gemeinschaftswerk: „Eine Frau auf dem Boden des Meeres“ hieß das eindrückliche Solostück, bei dem sich die Zuschauer im Studio-Theater des Goethe-Instituts tatsächlich auf den sandigen Meeresboden versetzt fühlten.

Auch der Pop-Theoretiker Diedrich Diederichsen hatte zu Jahresbeginn einige Monate im Auftrag eines Goethe-Projektes auf den Spuren des deutschen Schriftstellers Hubert Fichte in Südamerika geforscht. Er interpretierte in einem Vortrag Salvadors reiche Musiktradition als avantgardistische Sound-Art, bei der sich Klänge demokratisch vermischten ohne sich gegenseitig zu stören.

Wohnen zwischen Mangobäumen

Das Goethe-Institut eröffnet in Salvador da Bahia sein erstes Residenzhaus auf der Südhalbkugel. Das Goethe-Institut eröffnet in Salvador da Bahia sein erstes Residenzhaus auf der Südhalbkugel. | Foto: Aldren Lincoln Alle zwei Monate werden von nun an neue Residentinnen und Residenten nach Salvador de Bahia reisen. Das Institut bietet mit einem voll ausgestatten Studio-Theater, zwei Galerien, einem von riesigen Mangobäumen bewachsenen Innenhof und einer Präsenz-Bibliothek ideale Bedingungen für die Begegnungen der Kulturschaffenden. Die Künstler leben während ihres Aufenthalts in Appartements im Loftstil im obersten Stockwerk des Goethe-Instituts. Sie teilen sich eine geräumige Wohnküche, sodass sich die Teilnehmer auch untereinander austauschen können.

„Die Teilnehmer sollen ergebnisoffen und zweckfrei neue Sichtweisen von Kunst und Kultur ausprobieren“, sagt Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Regionalleiterin der Goethe-Institute in Südamerika.

Das Institut ist auch wegen seiner Lokalisierung perfekt geeignet als internationale Begegnungsstätte der Kunstschaffenden im Süd-Süd-Dialog: Die renovierte Villa liegt im Zentrum der Drei-Millionen-Metropole. Salvador war die erste Hautstadt Brasiliens und über Jahrhunderte hinweg das Zentrum des weltweiten Sklavenhandels. Der Bundesstaat Bahia gilt wegen seiner afrobrasilianischen Wurzeln als die Wiege der brasilianischen Volkskultur.


Globale Machtstrukturen aus der Südperspektive

Das Goethe-Institut gibt es dort seit 1962. Unter der brasilianischen Militärdiktatur (1964 bis 1985) diente es der brasilianischen Opposition und Kunstszene als Rückzugsort gegenüber der staatlichen Repression – wofür das Goethe-Institut bis heute in Salvador einen legendären Ruf in der Kulturszene besitzt. „Es gibt wenig andere Orte weltweit, die so prädestiniert sind, globale Machtstrukturen aus der Südperspektive zu überdenken wie Salvador“, sagt Manfred Stoffl, Leiter des Goethe-Instituts.

Die engen Beziehungen zwischen dem Goethe-Institut und Brasilien lassen sich übrigens bis zu seinem Namensgeber zurückverfolgen: Zwar habe es Goethe nicht nach Brasilien geschafft, erklärte Klaus-Dieter Lehmann. Doch die letzten Jahre habe er sich als Geheimrat so intensiv mit Brasilien befasst, dass er in Weimar als „der Brasilianer“ gegolten habe. Es scheint, als sei das deutsche Kulturinstitut mit seinem Residenzprogramm in Salvador so im übertragenen Sinn zu seinen ideellen Wurzeln zurückgekehrt.

Von Alexander Busch


Partner der Residenz Vila Sul sind die Robert Bosch Stiftung, das Musicboard Berlin, die Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt und CALQ (Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec ).