Iranian Modernity For a more complete picture of Iran

The Iranian music producer Ramin Sadighi has been part of Tehran’s music scene for over twenty years.
The Iranian music producer Ramin Sadighi has been part of Tehran’s music scene for over twenty years. | Photo: private

The Goethe-Institut is immersing itself in the contemporary arts scene of Iran with the three-month cultural programme Iranian Modernity. In an interview, Iranian music producer Ramin Sadighi expresses his pleasure over the growing cultural diversity of Tehran’s music scene and hopes for more space and fewer restrictions.

The objective of the three-month Iranian Modernity cultural programme is to demonstrate as many nuances as possible of Iran’s diverse art, literary and music scenes. A number of venues in Berlin are opening their doors for cultural exchange. The series begins the New Year on 21 January with concerts, public discussions and readings.

As part of the Plattenspieler (record players) series, author and musician Thomas Meinecke met with the Iranian music producer Ramin Sadighi to listen to records together in front of an audience at Berlin’s theatre Hebbel am Ufer (HAU). In the interview, Ramin Sadighi describes his experience of twenty years in the vibrant Tehran music scene.

Mr Sadighi, you have run your own label for almost twenty years and organize concerts with international artists in Iran. How has cultural life changed in Iran during this time?

It has changed immensely. At the beginning, I was absolutely uncertain whether there was a market for my music at all. The pop and the classical Persian music scenes were very active, but the other genres were quite under-represented. No one had invested in them.

Yet I am particularly interested in contemporary music: modern jazz and experimental music. During our collaborations with the record label, we noticed that there is a large audience for them. In the meantime, the numbers of concerts have grown. I am a little proud that I was involved in “growing” this scene.

How do you explain this great interest in the arts?

It’s not just a “hunger” for the arts; it is a lifestyle. Literature and music are part of our everyday lives. The interest in the arts is not so surprising to me, but that it is so diversified. This shows me that our society – especially its middle class – feels ties with the arts and is willing to evolve. If there are simply enough good incentives, the people are able to try out various new styles and continue to follow them.

Most of all, the encounters at the concerts are wonderful. The Tehran arts scene has such great potential, also for our neighbouring countries. But apparently no one was interested in discovering it.

In one talk you spoke of the “oriental perspective of the west on Iran.” What is wrong about this perspective?

One example: For their reports, correspondents usually stand in a slum of Tehran, if possible with a ruin in the background – whether its about football or the nuclear sanctions. That bothers me because this image is merely a fraction of the truth.

When foreigners come to Iran, in my case mostly artists, they get a completely different picture. We have a very active arts scene. Apart from the influence of the political situation, the people in Tehran live just like cosmopolitans in Paris or Frankfurt. People have a relatively normal life – but that is not at all interesting for the media. They would prefer something off the norm, to show something negative.

Are you restricted by censorship?

By not working in the mainstream industry, we don’t come so much in focus. The line that shouldn’t be crossed within this censorship system hardly affects my musical environment.

The cultural ministry is particularly strict about lyrics. There is very strong censorship in cases of anti-religious content – not only Islam, but also Christianity or Judaism. Or when it gets erotic. Generally, however, the decision is at the discretion of the censors, depending on whether they happen to be in good or bad mood.

Some clerics are also against women singing solos in public. Either they can only perform in front of women or as a duet or choir – then suddenly it’s all right when only women perform. Although there is still a debate going on, basically there has been a ban on solo female singers for years.

What other difficulties do you grapple with besides censorship; what are you lacking?

What makes our work difficult here, first of all, is copyright. There has been a copyright law since the beginning of the 1960s, but it has never been properly implemented since then. That is why it is difficult to protect the rights of artists and we can’t make any inroads against the pirated copy market. We respond by lowering prices so that it’s not worthwhile to buy pirated copies. That’s why we finance ourselves mainly through concerts.

For the future, I wish that we would have more concert venues at our disposal where these special musical encounters can take place. Tehran with its 15 million inhabitants has only twelve to thirteen places suitable for concerts or cultural events. We need more places where culture happens.

The sanctions – it was very risky to make investments – and the economic situation in the country are aspects that weaken the cultural sector. I am sure that with more cultural venues we could create more opportunities for the arts.

The interview was conducted by Achim Klapp.
 


Born in Austria in 1967, Ramin Sadighi and his family moved to Tehran shortly before the 1979 Islamic Revolution. In 1999, he founded the Iranian music label Hermes Records, which operates under the motto “Music for Music.” The producer has issued dozens of albums with new compositions from Iran, for example songs by the leading tar and setar player Hossein Alīzādeh. For his work for Iranian music, in 2015 the label received the Professional Excellence Award of the professional expo WOMEX.

Die Iranische Moderne Für ein vollständigeres Bild des Iran

The Iranian music producer Ramin Sadighi has been part of Tehran’s music scene for over twenty years.
Der iranische Musikproduzent Ramin Sadighi ist seit über 20 Jahren Teil der Teheraner Musikszene. | Foto: privat

Mit dem dreimonatigen Kulturprogramm „Die Iranische Moderne“ taucht das Goethe-Institut in die zeitgenössische Kulturszene des Iran ein. Im Interview freut sich der iranische Musikproduzent Ramin Sadighi über die wachsende kulturelle Vielfalt der Teheraner Musikszene und wünscht sich dafür mehr Raum und weniger Einschränkungen.

Möglichst viele Nuancen der vielfältigen Kunst-, Literatur- und Musikszene des Irans aufzuzeigen, ist Ziel des dreimonatigen Kulturprogramms „Die iranische Moderne“. In verschiedenen Berliner Veranstaltungsstätten wird zum Kulturaustausch eingeladen. Am 21. Januar startet die Reihe mit Konzerten, Publikumsgesprächen und Lesungen in das neue Jahr.

Im Rahmen der Reihe Plattenspieler traf sich der Autor und Musiker Thomas Meinecke mit dem iranischen Musikproduzenten Ramin Sadighi zum gemeinsamen Plattenhören vor Publikum im Berliner Theater Hebbel am Ufer (HAU). Im Interview schildert Ramin Sadighi seine Erfahrungen aus 20 Jahren in der lebhaften Teheraner Musikszene.

Herr Sadighi, Sie betreiben seit fast 20 Jahren Ihr eigenes Label und veranstalten Konzerte mit internationalen Kunstschaffenden im Iran. Wie hat sich das Kulturleben im Iran in dieser Zeit verändert?

Es hat sich enorm verändert. Am Anfang war für mich völlig unklar, ob es überhaupt einen Markt für meine musikalische Richtung gibt. Die Pop- und die klassische persische Musikszene waren sehr aktiv, die anderen Bereiche hingegen ziemlich unterrepräsentiert – niemand hatte in sie investiert.

Mich interessierte aber insbesondere die zeitgenössische Musik: moderner Jazz oder Experimentalmusik. Im Laufe der Zusammenarbeit mit der Plattenfirma bemerkten wir, dass es ein großes Publikum dafür gibt. Mittlerweile ist das Konzert-Angebot gewachsen. Ich bin schon ein bisschen stolz darauf, dass ich am „Aufwachsen“ der Szene beteiligt war.

Wie erklären Sie sich dieses große Interesse für Kultur?

Es geht nicht nur um Kultur-„Hunger“, es geht um einen Lebensstil. Literatur und Musik gehören zu unserem Alltagsleben. Für mich ist nicht das Interesse an Kultur so überraschend, sondern dass es so vielfältig und bunt ist. Das zeigt mir, dass sich unsere Gesellschaft, besonders deren Mittelklasse, mit der Kultur verbunden fühlt und bereit ist, sich weiterzuentwickeln. Gibt man nur genügend gute Anreize, haben die Menschen die Möglichkeit, verschiedene neue Stile auszuprobieren und weiter zu verfolgen.

Vor allem die Begegnungen, die bei Konzerten entstehen, sind wunderschön. Die Teheraner Kulturszene hat so ein großes Potential, auch für die Nachbarländer. Aber scheinbar hatte niemand Interesse daran, es zu entdecken.

In einem Gespräch haben Sie vom „orientalischen Blick des Westens auf den Iran“ gesprochen. Was stimmt an dieser Perspektive nicht?

Ein Beispiel: Korrespondenten stellen sich für ihre Beiträge meistens in einen Slum von Teheran, möglichst mit einer Ruine im Hintergrund – egal ob es um Fußball geht oder die Atom-Sanktionen. Das stört mich, denn dieses Bild ist nur ein Teil der Wahrheit.

Wenn Ausländer in den Iran kommen, in meinem Fall meistens Künstlerinnen und Künstler, bekommen sie dagegen ein komplett anderes Bild. Wir haben eine sehr aktive Kulturszene. Und abgesehen von der Beeinflussung durch die politische Situation, leben die Menschen in Teheran genauso wie Kosmopoliten in Paris oder Frankfurt. Die Menschen haben ein relativ normales Leben – aber das ist für die Medien überhaupt nicht interessant. Die wollen lieber etwas abseits der Normalität, etwas Negatives zeigen.

Werden Ihnen Grenzen durch die Zensur gesetzt?

Dadurch, dass wir nicht in der Mainstream-Branche arbeiten, geraten wir nicht so sehr in den Fokus. Die Linie, die man in diesem Zensur-System nicht überschreiten sollte, betrifft meine musikalische Umgebung kaum.

Das Kulturministerium ist vor allem bei Liedtexten sehr streng. Bei Inhalten, die sich gegen Religion richten – nicht nur den Islam, sondern auch das Christentum oder Judentum –, herrscht eine sehr starke Zensur. Oder wenn es in Richtung Erotik geht. Generell liegt die Entscheidung aber im Ermessen der Zensoren, je nachdem ob sie gerade gute oder schlechte Laune haben.

Einige Kleriker sind auch dagegen, dass Frauen in der Öffentlichkeit solo singen. Entweder dürfen sie nur vor Frauen auftreten oder als Duett oder Chor – dann ist es plötzlich in Ordnung, wenn nur Frauen auftreten. Es herrscht zwar nach wie vor eine Debatte darüber, aber im Grunde genommen haben wir seit Jahren ein Gesangsverbot für Solo-Sängerinnen.

Mit welchen Schwierigkeiten haben Sie neben der Zensur zu kämpfen, was fehlt Ihnen?

Was unsere Arbeit hier erschwert, ist zunächst das Urheberrecht. Das existiert zwar als Gesetz seit Anfang der 1960er-Jahre. Richtig implementiert wurde es seitdem aber nicht. Daher ist es schwierig, die Rechte von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern zu schützen, und gegen den Raubkopie-Markt kommen wir kaum an. Wir reagieren darauf, indem wir die Preise senken, damit es sich nicht lohnt, Raubkopien zu kaufen. Wir finanzieren uns deshalb vor allem über Konzerte.

Für die Zukunft wünsche ich mir, dass wir mehr Konzertstätten zur Verfügung haben, in denen diese besonderen musikalischen Begegnungen stattfinden können. Teheran mit seinen 15 Millionen Einwohnern hat nur zwölf bis dreizehn geeignete Orte für Konzerte oder Kulturveranstaltungen. Wir brauchen mehr Orte, an denen Kultur passiert.

Die Sanktionen – es war ja sehr riskant, Investitionen zu machen – und die ökonomische Situation im Land sind Aspekte, die den Kulturbereich schwächen. Ich bin mir sicher, dass wir mit mehr Kultur-Schauplätzen auch mehr Gelegenheit für Kultur schaffen können.

Das Interview führte Achim Klapp
 


1967 in Österreich geboren, zog Ramin Sadighi kurz vor der Islamischen Revolution 1979 mit seiner Familie nach Teheran. 1999 gründete er das iranische Musiklabel „Hermes Records”, das unter dem Slogan „Music for Music” firmiert. Der Produzent veröffentlichte Dutzende Alben mit neuen Kompositionen aus dem Iran – beispielsweise Songs des wichtigsten Tar- und Setar-Spielers Hossein Alīzādeh. Für seine Verdienste um die iranische Musik erhielt das Label 2015 den „Professional Excellence Award” der Fachmesse WOMEX.