HUMRA – Human Rights Animation What rights do “humanoids” possess?

In short animated films, youngsters at HUMRA express what moves them about human rights.
In short animated films, youngsters at HUMRA express what moves them about human rights. | Photo: Ekaterina Schraga

What does it mean to be human? And how do we protect the dignity of individuals? In the Goethe-Institut project HUMRA – Human Rights Animation, young people grappled artistically with human rights issues. In cooperation with Russian comic artists, they created short, thought-provoking animated films.

The teenagers from Russia, Ukraine, Georgia and Belarus met in St Petersburg for animation workshops. Together with human rights organizations in these countries, they were able to discover a shared language in a politically difficult time marked by territorial conflicts. 

“For your safety, put on protective cages when leaving home”

“Who makes society’s rules?” “Who makes society’s rules?” | Photo: Ekaterina Schraga In St Petersburg, teens between the ages of 12 and 16 worked on the film Who is in Charge Here? Together with artists and filmmakers, they devised the script and the film during a one-week workshop. The film has already been shown and received awards at a number of festivals.

Throwing gullibility overboard

Instructors from the St Petersburg animation studio Da produced the cartoon Overboard with young people. It uses irony and wit to illustrate that not everything (young) people are told is true. Made lovingly by hand, the film encourages people to reflect and has a happily unexpected ending.

HUMRA. A story about humanz rights

The Russian comic artist Heehoos collaborated with the Russian studio Konstantin to produce a professional animated series. On the far-away and forgotten planet HUMRA, the main character Cheggi encounters the disgraced historian Pankrat and courageous Yooka. Together, they battle against the repressive Stabilina state machinery.
Based on the animated series, Heehoos and human rights experts created seven educational episodes on topics such as “the state and minorities” and “protection of privacy.”


You can watch another six episodes here.

HUMRA – Human Rights Animation Welche Rechte haben „Menschenleute“?

In kurzen Animationsfilmen setzten Jugendliche bei HUMRA um, was sie zum Thema Menschenrechte bewegt.
In kurzen Animationsfilmen setzten Jugendliche bei HUMRA um, was sie zum Thema Menschenrechte bewegt. | Foto: Ekaterina Schraga

Was bedeutet es, Mensch zu sein? Und wie schützt man die Würde von Individuen? Im Projekt HUMRA - Human Rights Animation des Goethe-Instituts befassten sich Jugendliche künstlerisch mit dem Thema Menschenrechte. In Zusammenarbeit mit russischen Comic-Künstlern sind Kurzfilme entstanden, die zum Nachdenken anregen.

Die Jugendlichen aus Russland, der Ukraine, Georgien und Belarus trafen sich für Animationsworkshops in St. Petersburg. Gemeinsam mit Menschenrechtsorganisationen aus diesen Ländern gelang es, in einer politisch schwierigen und von territorialen Konflikten geprägten Zeit eine gemeinsame Sprache zu finden.

„Bitte legen Sie zu Ihrer eigenen Sicherheit den Schutzkäfig an!“

„Wer erfindet die Regeln in der Gesellschaft?“ „Wer erfindet die Regeln in der Gesellschaft?“ | Foto: Ekaterina Schraga In St. Petersburg arbeiteten Jugendliche im Alter von 12 bis 16 Jahren am Film Who is in charge here?. Gemeinsam mit Künstlerinnen und Filmemachern gestalteten sie in einem einwöchigen Workshop Drehbuch und Film. Die Arbeit wurde bereits mehrfach auf Festivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet.

Über Bord mit der Gutgläubigkeit

Die Pädagogen des St. Petersburger Animationsstudios „Da“ produzierten mit Jugendlichen den Zeichentrickfilm Overboard. Mit ironischem Witz zeigt er: Nicht alles, was (jungen) Menschen erzählt wird, ist wahr. Umgesetzt in liebevoller Handarbeit, regt der Film zur Reflexion an.

HUMRA. Eine Legende über die Rechte der „Menschenleute“

Eine professionelle Animationsreihe realisierte der russische Comic-Künstler Heehoos in Kooperation mit dem russischen Studio Konstantin Komardin: Auf dem weit entlegenen und von allen vergessenen Planeten HUMRA trifft die Hauptfigur Cheggy auf den Historiker Pankrat und die mutige Jukka. Gemeinsam kämpfen sie gegen die repressive Staatsmaschinerie der Stabilina.
 

Auf der Grundlage der Animationsserie entwickelte Heehoos gemeinsam mit Menschenrechtsexperten sieben Bildungsepisoden zu Themen wie „Staat und Minderheiten“ und „Schutz der Privatsphäre“.
Diese sieben Episoden und weitere Videos können Sie hier anschauen.