Berlin & Beyond “This film has to come to America”

“Filmmaking is always a journey,” says Julia Jentsch.
“Filmmaking is always a journey,” says Julia Jentsch. | Photo: Barak Shrama

With Berlin & Beyond, the Goethe-Institut is bringing the best films from German-speaking countries to the screen in San Francisco for the 21st time. Julia Jentsch, who received the Spotlight Award in Acting from the festival, travelled to the hilly city for the first time. In our interview, she talks about her new film that looks at the taboo topic of abortion.

As the largest German-language film festival in the United States, every year Berlin & Beyond shows films from Austria, Germany and Switzerland. In addition to Julia Jentsch, this year the Goethe-Institut San Francisco welcomed celebrated guests such as Maria Schrader, Stefan Haupt and Moshe Cohen to the Castro Theater.
 
Julia Jentsch is known from her work in films like Sophie Scholl – The Final Days and The Edukators. Both films were very successful both at home and abroad. The Berlin & Beyond festival is presenting her latest film. 24 Weeks is a drama about a couple grappling with the disability of their unborn child.
 
Opening party for Berlin & Beyond at the German Consulate General in San Francisco. Opening party for Berlin & Beyond at the German Consulate General in San Francisco. | Photo: Barak Shrama Ms Jentsch, welcome to San Francisco. You received the Spotlight Award in Acting at Berlin & Beyond for your latest film 24 Weeks. What was your initial reaction to the invitation?
           
I was thrilled to have another opportunity to present the film overseas this year. 24 Weeks has travelled around a great deal over the past weeks and months, but I could sadly never go along because I was working. It finally happened here in San Francisco. To be frank, I only read last night in the programme that I was also receiving an award. But I would have come even without an award.
 
What are your plans in San Francisco?
 
I definitely want to see some of the other movies on the festival programme that I missed at home and visit the new San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. I also want to get some impressions of the steep streets, the famous streetcars and, of course, the waterfront – images we already have in our minds of San Francisco.
 
Have you ever travelled for the Goethe-Institut before?
 
Yes, for Sophie Scholl. They were always impressive experiences. The dialogue is especially exciting: How do people elsewhere respond?

The audience at Berlin & Beyond are immersed in the programme in glowing festival pink. The audience at Berlin & Beyond are immersed in the programme in glowing festival pink. | Photo: Barak Shrama 24 Weeks deals with the abortion of a disabled child: it’s a controversial and emotional topic.
 
It’s an intense topic, but had an impressive script. The dialogues spoke to me at once. Nobody wants to be faced with the situation the film couple experiences. It affected me deeply and I wondered if I would want to deal with this material for the next few months and what it would do to me. My concerns disappeared after meeting with the director Anne Zohra Berrached, whose work I liked so much right away and who made me feel I was in good hands. Our conversations about ideas for the film made me want to join her in this journey. Filmmaking is always a journey; for the directors even for a longer time than for the actors.
 
How did the work on the film affect you?
 
The encounters associated with it touched me deeply: strangers who told me about what was probably the most intense and difficult time in their lives. There were extraordinary moments of candour. I was amazed to learn how many people are affected by the problem. More than 90 percent of people in similar situations decide to have an abortion. That’s why I understand why Anne made the ending of the film exactly like she did and thereby put the topic up for discussion.

Sigrid Savelsberg, director of the Goethe-Institut in San Francisco, and festival director Sophoan Sorn with Julia Jentsch at the award ceremony at the Castro Theater. Sigrid Savelsberg, director of the Goethe-Institut in San Francisco, and festival director Sophoan Sorn with Julia Jentsch at the award ceremony at the Castro Theater. | Photo: Barak Shrama Abortion is a taboo subject for lots of people. Is film the right medium for encouraging a debate?
 
Film is still one of the strongest media and enables us to reach many people in a very direct and intense way and to initiate decision-making processes. The fact that the film was able to celebrate its premiere at the Berlinale competition was incredible and courageous for the young director and the young producer Johannes Jahnke. The Berlinale is a great forum, but anything can happen there. But the great feedback showed that the film reaches the people.
 
Abortion is a very controversial subject in the United States. President Trump just resolved to cut funding for aid organizations that counsel people about abortion. Do you think the film can have an impact?
 
Meryl Streep, a member of the jury at the Berlinale and who we met there, said immediately, “This film has to come to America.”
 
The interview was conducted by Sigrid Savelsberg, director of the Goethe-Institut San Francisco.

Berlin & Beyond „Dieser Film muss nach Amerika“

„Filmemachen ist immer eine Reise“, findet Julia Jentsch.
„Filmemachen ist immer eine Reise“, findet Julia Jentsch. | Foto: Barak Shrama

Mit Berlin & Beyond bringt das Goethe-Institut zum 21. Mal Filmhöhepunkte aus deutschsprachigen Ländern in San Francisco auf die Leinwand. Julia Jentsch, ausgezeichnet mit dem „Spotlight Award in Acting“ des Festivals, reiste dafür zum ersten Mal in die hügelige Stadt. Im Interview spricht sie über ihren neuen Film zum Tabuthema Spätabtreibung.

Als größtes deutschsprachiges Filmfestival der USA zeigt Berlin & Beyond jährlich Filme aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Neben Julia Jentsch begrüßte das Goethe-Institut San Francisco dieses Jahr prominente Gäste wie Maria Schrader, Stefan Haupt und Moshe Cohen im Castro Theater.
 
Julia Jentsch ist bekannt aus Filmen wie Sophie Scholl – Die letzten Tage oder Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei. Beide Filme waren national und international sehr erfolgreich. Bei dem Filmfestival Berlin & Beyond wird ihr neuster Film gezeigt. 24 Wochen ist ein Drama um ein Paar, das sich mit der Behinderung ihres ungeborenen Kindes auseinandersetzt.

Eröffnungsparty von Berlin & Beyond im Deutschen Generalkonsulat in San Francisco. Eröffnungsparty von Berlin & Beyond im Deutschen Generalkonsulat in San Francisco. | Foto: Barak Shrama Frau Jentsch, herzlich willkommen in San Francisco. Für Ihren neuesten Film 24 Wochen wurden Sie bei Berlin & Beyond mit dem „Spotlight Award in Acting“ ausgezeichnet. Was war Ihre erste Reaktion auf die Einladung?
           
Ich habe mich sehr gefreut, dass dieses Jahr noch mal eine Gelegenheit kam, den Film im Ausland vorzustellen. 24 Wochen ist in den letzten Wochen und Monaten sehr viel rumgereist – ich konnte aber leider nie dabei sein, weil ich gearbeitet habe. Hier in San Francisco hat es endlich geklappt. Dass ich auch noch einen Preis gewonnen habe, las ich ehrlich gesagt erst gestern Abend im Programm. Aber ich wäre auch ohne Preis gekommen.
 
Was sind Ihre Pläne in San Francisco?
 
Ich möchte unbedingt einige der anderen Filme vom Festivalprogramm sehen, die ich zu Hause verpasst habe und das neue San Francisco Museum of Modern Art besuchen. Und ich will ein paar Eindrücke bekommen von den steilen Straßen, den berühmten Straßenbahnen und natürlich der Waterfront – Bilder, die man schon im Kopf hat von San Francisco.
 
Waren Sie schon mal für das Goethe-Institut auf Reisen?

 
Ja, im Zusammenhang mit dem Film Sophie Scholl. Es waren immer eindrückliche Erlebnisse. Besonders spannend ist der Austausch: Wie reagieren die Leute anderswo?

In gleißendem Festival-Pink tauchen die Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer in das Programm von Berlin & Beyond ein. In gleißendem Festival-Pink tauchen die Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer in das Programm von Berlin & Beyond ein. | Foto: Barak Shrama 24 Wochen setzt sich mit der Abtreibung eines behinderten Kindes auseinander. Ein umstrittenes und emotionales Thema.
 
Ein heftiges Thema – aber ein beeindruckendes Drehbuch. Die Dialoge haben mich gleich angesprochen. Niemand wünscht sich, in eine solche Situation zu geraten, wie sie das Film-Paar erlebt. Das ist mir sehr nahe gegangen und ich habe mich gefragt, ob ich mich mit diesem Stoff die nächsten Monate beschäftigen will und was das mit mir macht. Nach der Begegnung mit der Regisseurin Anne Zohra Berrached, deren Arbeitsweise mir gleich so gut gefallen hat und bei der ich mich aufgehoben fühlte, verschwanden diese Bedenken. Mit dem Austausch über die Filmidee kam auch die Lust, diese Reise gemeinsam anzutreten. Filmemachen ist immer eine Reise, für die Regisseure noch länger als für die Schauspieler.
 
Wie hat die Arbeit an dem Film auf Sie eingewirkt?
 
Mir sind vor allem die Begegnungen in diesem Zusammenhang nahe gegangen – fremde Menschen haben mir von der vielleicht heftigsten und schwierigsten Zeit in ihrem Leben erzählt. Das waren außergewöhnliche Momente der Offenheit. Ich war erstaunt zu sehen, wie viele Menschen das Thema betrifft. Mehr als 90 Prozent von ihnen entscheiden sich in einer ähnlichen Situation für einen Schwangerschaftsabbruch. Deswegen verstehe ich auch gut, warum Anne den Film genauso enden lässt wie er endet und das Thema damit zur Diskussion stellt.

Sigrid Savelsberg, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in San Francisco, und Festivalleiter Sophoan Sorn mit Julia Jentsch bei der Preisverleihung im Castro Theater. Sigrid Savelsberg, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in San Francisco, und Festivalleiter Sophoan Sorn mit Julia Jentsch bei der Preisverleihung im Castro Theater. | Foto: Barak Shrama Für viele ist Abtreibung ein Tabuthema. Ist Film das richtige Medium, um eine Auseinandersetzung anzustoßen?
 
Film ist immer noch eines der stärksten Medien und gibt die Möglichkeit, viele Menschen auf eine sehr direkte und intensive Art zu erreichen und Entscheidungsprozesse anzustoßen. Dass der Film seine Premiere bei der Berlinale im Wettbewerb feiern durfte, war unglaublich toll und mutig von der jungen Regisseurin und dem jungen Produzenten Johannes Jahnke. Die Berlinale ist ein tolles Forum, aber man muss mit allem rechnen. Das großartige Feedback zeigte dann: der Film erreicht die Leute.
 
In den USA ist Abtreibung ein sehr umstrittenes Thema. Präsident Trump hat aktuell entschieden, die Finanzierung für Hilfsorganisationen zur Beratung in Abtreibungsfragen zurückzufahren. Glauben Sie, der Film kann etwas bewirken?
 
Meryl Streep, die zur Jury der Berlinale gehörte und der wir dort begegnet sind, sagte sofort: „Dieser Film muss nach Amerika.“
 
Das Interview führte Sigrid Savelsberg, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in San Francisco.