An Interview with Johannes Ebert Competing Values

Education, culture, dialogue: Johannes Ebert about the responsibilities of cultural institutions.
Education, culture, dialogue: Johannes Ebert about the responsibilities of cultural institutions. | Photo: Loredana La Rocca

Cairo, Ankara, Beirut, New York: Johannes Ebert, secretary-general of the Goethe-Institut, talks about new risks and strategies for foreign cultural work and the boundaries of dialogue.

Mr Ebert, German classes and exams are being cancelled at the Goethe-Institut; teachers are losing their jobs. How did it come to this deplorable situation?

We are in a difficult situation right now. We have twelve Goethe-Instituts in Germany that offer language courses. We have long had permanent and freelance employees. At the moment, the German pension insurance is investigating this practice. In their first letter, they questioned whether these freelance teachers were actually self-employed. Based on earlier audits, we are certain that we did the right thing but for legal reasons we cannot put new freelancers under contract at the moment. In the beginning of my career, I, too, taught German at the Goethe-Institut and I know what it means. I greatly regret the situation. But at least we can keep two-thirds of our programmes running.

When will the situation be clarified? Language courses are needed for refugees as well.

We hope to reach an agreement with the pension insurance as soon as possible and operate as usual.

Yet this has done considerable harm to the image of the Goethe-Institut.

I don’t think so. We embrace our social responsibility and for this reason have long paid very good fees that allow for social security. We are presently in the process of hiring almost 70 teachers across Germany to bridge the gap for a limited period. And we are working hard on a solution. But it is an ongoing proceeding, so I’m afraid can’t say any more about it now.

You are entering your second term as secretary-general. There is hardly any place abroad where things are quiet; everywhere there are changes, threats, problems.

This makes our work all the more crucial. We are facing all sorts of problems. In Russia, the NGO laws are being tightened, which affects our partners there in civil society. In Poland and Hungary, the populists are suddenly confronting us with a completely different understanding of values. The Goethe-Institut remains an important address for critical artists, for people who deal with open, experimental forms.

You spent a few years in Cairo. What are things like there now?

We opened a new building in Cairo last October. During my time there, our headquarters were on Tahrir Square. On principle, the Goethe-Institut cooperates with government agencies as well as with independent cultural institutions. Otherwise we could not reach the people who want to move things ahead. We are collaborating on good projects with the Ministry of Education in Cairo, which works. Government apparatuses are never as monolithic as they seem, nothing is only black or white. The independent scene in Cairo is, however, under pressure, and many a writer is now not choosing to publish in newspapers. In such a situation, we offer a platform to talk openly and discuss problems.

Has the Goethe strategy changed?

I think it has been the same for the past twenty years. Our cultural work changed a great deal since the collapse of the Soviet Union and then the 9/11 attacks. Because it suddenly became obvious that there are other opinions and values that are critical or hostile to the west. In March, we will hold an event in Berlin on this theme called Competing Narratives. We have to ask ourselves what it is that we want to convey. We are encountering different counterparts with which we must seek dialogue and assert our own position.

A journey to Warsaw is enough for that. Nationalism and conservative Catholicism are dangerous for politics and culture.

Non-liberal concepts have become stronger in many places. Discourse, openness, all this, which seemed self-evident for so long, is being questioned. Where is Europe heading? I was just discussing this with colleagues from the British Council. You find this fifty-fifty split almost everywhere: in Brexit, the Trump election, the presidential election in Austria. Half of the population is for Europe, for liberal values, the other half does not want it or is critical of it. Cultural institutions have to try to enter a dialogue with the people in that half, as well.

Education, culture, dialogue, Goethe-Institut: Those are the enemies of the populists. Do you feel as if you’re under attack?

We are not yet the target of populist campaigns, but there are more and more negative comments on social media from that camp.

You are working in an ever-more aggressive world. How do you adjust to that?

We have an extended concept of culture. It is not just about art and music and literature. We need to define our target groups, for example in the United States. How do we reach people who live outside the big cities, who know little about Germany and Europe, who take propaganda at face value? Student exchanges, teacher training through the Transatlantic Outreach Program, these are some instruments at our disposal. The German language plays an important role. In Lebanon, we organized a football programme for refugee children. The Goethe-Institut has to move more in this direction.

This integrative role of Germany in the world is becoming more important, is it not?

The question is how do cultural institutions deal with people who are not open, who see things differently, who reject the consequences of globalization and feel threatened? We have not found an answer yet. Our digital offerings will change, that is certain. We will invest and develop new ideas and formats there.

How about in countries with glaring human rights violations, such as Iran? After the cancellation of the Tehran exhibition, the Goethe-Institut is continuing its Iranian programme in Germany.

It is imperative that this dialogue and discussion take place, and for this we first have to get together. Culture can be a platform on which people can meet beyond daily politics. Iran – and I’ve been there several times – has an incredibly vibrant arts scene that is not seen here. It benefits both sides to invite these people to us. It is increasingly important for us to perceive the discourse in other countries. Through our network as the Goethe-Institut we have direct access to it.

Are there no limits to with whom you can speak, what you can accept?

If we attempt to enter into cultural exchange with certain countries, it does not mean that we approve of all that is happening there. We reject injustice. This is also addressed. For me the limit is reached when artists, organizers or the audience are threatened or put in danger by programmes.

Where abroad will the Goethe-Institut become newly active or intensify its efforts?

In Iran, Goethe-Institut employees work under the roof of the German embassy. The same is true in Cuba and Algeria. In New York, we will be opening the German Academy together with the German Foreign Office. In Brazil we have already set up new residences. Over the next five years, we will be dealing with the question of latitude. It is the big subject of freedom, in Europe, all over the world.

But in a worsened security situation. The Goethe-Institut is a soft target.

It is a tightrope walk to protect our people and at the same time to preserve the open character of our institutes. For example, we will undertake construction measures in Ankara for safety's sake, and we train our employees on how to deal with threats.

What about the Goethe-Instituts in the Middle East?

In Beirut work goes on as usual. The institute in Damascus is the only one that we have had to close. We are trying to do something for the refugee Syrians in neighbouring countries.

And what happened with your staff in Damascus?

Many have gone abroad. We provided financial compensation. Two former employees recently organized the event Damascus in Exile in Berlin, one employee went to Tashkent. We opened a liaison office in Erbil, in northern Iraq. In these times of rollback, our tasks have become more important and extensive.

The interview was conducted by Rüdiger Schaper.

This article was published in the online edition of the Tagesspiegel on 27 February.

Johannes Ebert im Interview Im Wettbewerb der Werte

Bildung, Kultur, Austausch: Johannes Ebert spricht im Interview über die Aufgaben von Kulturinstitutionen.
Bildung, Kultur, Austausch: Johannes Ebert spricht im Interview über die Aufgaben von Kulturinstitutionen. | Foto: Loredana La Rocca

Kairo, Ankara, Beirut, New York: Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, über neue Gefahren und Strategien auswärtiger Kulturarbeit – und die Grenzen des Austauschs.

Herr Ebert, beim Goethe-Institut fallen Deutschkurse und Prüfungen aus, Lehrer stehen auf der Straße. Wie kommt es zu dieser üblen Situation?

Wir befinden uns zurzeit in einer schwierigen Lage. Wir haben zwölf Goethe-Institute in Deutschland, die Sprachkurse anbieten. Es gibt dort seit Langem fest angestellte und freie Mitarbeiter. Im Moment prüft die Deutsche Rentenversicherung diese Praxis. In einem ersten Schreiben stellt sie infrage, dass diese freien Honorarlehrkräfte tatsächlich Selbständige sind. Wir sind aufgrund von früheren Prüfungen sicher, dass wir richtig gehandelt haben. Aus rechtlichen Gründen können wir aber im Moment keine neuen Verträge für freie Mitarbeiterinnen ausstellen. Ich habe selbst anfangs beim Goethe-Institut Deutsch unterrichtet und weiß, was das bedeutet. Ich bedaure die Situation wirklich ganz außerordentlich. Immerhin können wir zwei Drittel des Angebots aufrechterhalten.

Wann wird sich die Lage klären? Es werden doch auch für geflüchtete Menschen Sprachkurse gebraucht.

Wir hoffen, dass es so schnell wie möglich zu einer Einigung mit der Rentenversicherung kommt und der Betrieb normal weiterläuft.

Der Imageschaden für das Goethe-Institut ist aber beträchtlich.

Das glaube ich nicht. Wir nehmen unsere soziale Verantwortung wahr. Wir zahlen deshalb seit Langem sehr gute Honorare, die eine soziale Absicherung erlauben. Wir sind zurzeit dabei, deutschlandweit fast 70 Lehrer zur Überbrückung befristet anzustellen. Und wir arbeiten mit Hochdruck an einer Lösung. Aber es ist ein laufendes Verfahren, daher kann ich jetzt leider nicht mehr dazu sagen.

Sie gehen als Generalsekretär in Ihre zweite Amtszeit. An kaum einem Ort im Ausland ist die Lage jetzt ruhig, überall Veränderung, Bedrohung, Probleme.

Das macht unsere Arbeit noch wichtiger. Wir stehen vor den unterschiedlichsten Herausforderungen. In Russland werden die NGO-Gesetze verschärft, das betrifft unsere Partner dort in der Zivilgesellschaft. In Polen oder Ungarn tritt uns durch die Populisten plötzlich ein völlig verändertes Werteverständnis entgegen. Das Goethe-Institut bleibt eine wichtige Adresse für kritische Künstler, für Menschen, die sich mit offenen, experimentellen Formen beschäftigen.

Sie waren selbst einige Jahre in Kairo. Wie ist die Situation dort jetzt?

Wir haben in Kairo im Oktober ein neues Gebäude eröffnet. Ich hatte seinerzeit noch meinen Hauptsitz am Tahrir-Platz. Grundsätzlich arbeitet das Goethe-Institut sowohl mit staatlichen Stellen als auch mit unabhängigen Kultureinrichtungen zusammen. Sonst erreicht man die Akteure nicht, die etwas voranbringen wollen. Wir machen mit dem Bildungsministerium in Kairo gute Projekte, das funktioniert. Staatsapparate sind ja nie so monolithisch wie sie aussehen, nichts ist nur schwarz oder weiß. Die freie Szene in Kairo ist allerdings unter Druck, und manch ein Schriftsteller publiziert jetzt lieber nicht in Zeitungen. In einer solchen Situation bieten wir eine Plattform, offen zu reden, über Probleme zu diskutieren.

Hat sich die Goethe-Strategie verändert?

Ich denke, das betrifft die vergangenen 20 Jahre. Seit dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion und dann seit den Anschlägen des 11. September hat sich Kulturarbeit stark verändert. Weil plötzlich klar wurde, dass es andere Auffassungen und Wertvorstellungen gibt, die dem Westen kritisch bis feindlich gegenüberstehen. Im März machen wir in Berlin zu diesem Thema eine Veranstaltung mit dem Titel „Wettbewerb der Narrative“. Wir müssen uns fragen: Was wollen wir vermitteln? Man trifft auf andere Gegenüber, mit denen man den Dialog suchen und die eigene Position behaupten muss.

Dafür genügt schon eine Reise nach Warschau. Nationalismus und konservativer Katholizismus bilden eine Gefahr für Politik und Kultur.

Nicht-liberale Auffassungen sind stärker geworden an vielen Orten. Diskursfähigkeit, Offenheit, all das steht in Frage, was lange Zeit selbstverständlich erschien. Wohin entwickelt sich Europa? Darüber habe ich gerade mit Kollegen vom British Council diskutiert. Sie finden fast überall diese Fifty-Fifty-Spaltung, beim Brexit, bei der Trump-Wahl, bei der Präsidentenwahl in Österreich. Eine Hälfte der Bevölkerung ist für Europa, für liberale Werte, die andere Hälfte will das nicht oder sieht es kritisch. Auch bei dieser Hälfte müssen Kulturinstitutionen versuchen, mit den Menschen ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Bildung, Kultur, Austausch, Goethe-Institut: Das ist das Feindbild der Populisten. Fühlen Sie sich angegriffen?

Wir sind noch nicht Zielscheibe von populistischen Aktionen geworden, aber es gibt in den sozialen Medien immer wieder negative Kommentare aus dieser Richtung.

Sie arbeiten in einer aggressiver gewordenen Welt. Wie stellen Sie sich darauf ein?

Wir haben einen erweiterten Kulturbegriff. Es geht nicht nur um Kunst und Musik und Literatur. Wir müssen unsere Zielgruppen definieren, zum Beispiel in den USA. Wie erreichen wir Menschen, die außerhalb der großen Städte leben, die wenig wissen von Deutschland und Europa, die Propaganda für bare Münze nehmen? Schüleraustausch, Lehrerfortbildung durch das Transatlantic Outreach Program, das sind einige Instrumente. Deutsche Sprache spielt eine große Rolle. Im Libanon haben wir für geflüchtete Kinder ein Fußballprogramm organisiert. In diese Richtung muss das Goethe-Institut noch mehr unternehmen.

Diese integrative Rolle Deutschlands in der Welt wird größer, oder?

Die Frage ist: Wie gehen Kulturinstitutionen mit Menschen um, die nicht offen sind, die die Dinge anders sehen, die die Folgen der Globalisierung ablehnen und sich bedroht fühlen? Darauf haben wir noch keine Antwort gefunden. Unser digitales Angebot, das ist sicher, wird sich verändern. Da werden wir investieren und neue Ideen und Formate entwickeln.

Wie sieht das aus in Ländern mit eklatanten Menschenrechtsverletzungen, wie in Iran? Nach der Absage der Teheran-Ausstellung setzt das Goethe-Institut sein iranisches Programm in Deutschland fort.

Man muss unbedingt diesen Austausch und diese Diskussionen führen, und dafür muss man erst einmal zusammenkommen. Kultur kann eine Plattform sein, auf der man sich begegnen kann, jenseits der Tagespolitik. Es gibt in Iran – ich war mehrmals dort – eine unglaublich lebendige Kulturszene, die hier nicht wahrgenommen wird. Es ist zum Nutzen beider Seiten, diese Leute zu uns einzuladen. Es ist für uns immer wichtiger, Diskurse aus anderen Ländern wahrzunehmen. Durch unser Netzwerk haben wir als Goethe-Institut dazu direkten Zugang.

Gibt es keine Grenzen, mit wem man spricht, was man in Kauf nimmt?

Wenn man Kulturaustausch mit bestimmten Ländern versucht, heißt das nicht, dass man gut heißt, was dort geschieht. Wir lehnen das Unrecht ab. Das wird auch angesprochen. Für mich ist die Grenze erreicht, wenn Künstler, Veranstalter oder das Publikum durch Programme bedroht sind oder in Gefahr gebracht werden.

Wo wird das Goethe-Institut im Ausland neu oder verstärkt aktiv werden?

In Iran arbeiten Mitarbeiter des Goethe-Instituts unter dem Dach der deutschen Botschaft. Ebenfalls in Kuba und Algerien. In New York werden wir gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt die German Academy eröffnen, in Brasilien haben wir bereits neue Residenzen eingerichtet. In den kommenden fünf Jahren wird uns die Frage des Freiraums beschäftigen. Es ist das große Thema der Freiheit, in Europa, in der ganzen Welt.

Und das in einer verschlechterten Sicherheitslage. Sie sind als Goethe-Institut ein weiches Ziel.

Es ist eine Gratwanderung, die Menschen bei uns zu schützen und gleichzeitig den offenen Charakter unserer Institute zu erhalten. Wir werden zum Beispiel in Ankara bauliche Maßnahmen haben, um der Sicherheit willen, und wir schulen unsere Mitarbeiter, wie man mit Bedrohungssituationen umgeht.

Wie sieht es zum Beispiel bei den Goethe-Instituten im Nahen Osten aus?

In Beirut arbeiten wir ganz normal, das Institut in Damaskus ist das einzige, das wir schließen mussten. Wir versuchen in den Nachbarländern etwas für die geflüchteten Syrer zu machen.

Und was wurde aus Ihren Mitarbeitern in Damaskus?

Viele sind ins Ausland gegangen. Wir haben finanzielle Kompensation zur Verfügung gestellt. Zwei ehemalige Mitarbeiter haben kürzlich die Veranstaltung „Damaskus im Exil“ in Berlin mit auf die Beine gestellt, ein Mitarbeiter ist nach Taschkent gegangen. In Erbil, Nordirak, haben wir ein Verbindungsbüro eröffnet. In diesen Zeiten des Rollbacks sind unsere Aufgaben wichtiger und umfangreicher geworden.

Das Gespräch führte Rüdiger Schaper.

Dieser Artikel erschien am 27. Februar in der Onlineausgabe des Tagesspiegels.