Atlas of Gestures/Dance 1866 Virgilio Sieni Turns Genoa into a Stage

Atlas der Gesten in Genoa
Atlas der Gesten in Genoa | Photo: Virgilio Sieni

Can a society that has lost sight of the meaning of relationships over the course of time come together once again and reshape its coexistence? To this end, Virgilio Sieni, together with the Goethe-Institut Genoa, choreographically explored Genoa.
 

Last year, professional dancers and 150 Genoese residents – women, men and children – were made part of the Atlante del gesto_Genova/Tanz 1866 project. Led by the choreographer Virgilio Sieni, they explored the meaning of relationships and possibilities of coexistence.
 
The name of the project refers to the picture atlas by the German art historian Aby Warburg, which Sieni appropriates to reveal that gestures, just like pictures, are a means for transporting our cultural traditions and social memories.
On the occasion of Warburg’s 150th birthday, Sieni makes gestures the common theme of several workshops, in which he implements choreographies tied to biblical episodes about teaching, flight, compassion and crucifixion. Together, the participants create a community of gestures. 

Choreographies for the eyes and ears

In late March, the results were presented publicly as choreographies at symbolically significant locations in the city of Genoa. Some of these choreographies cannot only be viewed, but also “listened to.” Movements are transformed into sounds using a new technology developed by Casa Paganin-InfoMus as part of the European project Horizon 2020 ICT DANE. Recipients are given the unique opportunity to “see” dance with their eyes shut. 

The city as a stage

For three days, four different choreographies were shown – some of them unique, some were repetitions. In “Facing the Eyes of Others,” Virgilio Sieni and Giuseppe Comuniello, a blind dancer, met an audience of sighted and blind citizens who were invited to actively participate in the encounter. Touches and the resulting sense of closeness produced spontaneous, unforeseen dances that created awareness for the other person. 

Exodus

The choreography “Exodus” was a cycle of choreographic actions on refugees and displacement, on the journey that some people and peoples undertake to save their own lives. The project participants were stationed in different locations and gave the audiences of the different choreographies the opportunity to choose on their own. In this way, the spectators were sent on symbolic treks during which the artists always paid attention to one another. The result was an “atlas of glances, approaches, support and caring, but also of falling (down).” 

Compassion / Mother and Child, Father and Child

Based on Western tradition, which assigns the mother to her children in a very specific aspect of intimacy, pain and beauty, a dance was developed entitled “Compassion / Mother and Child, Father and Child,” which uses gestures to consider the final relationship as well as the origin of life. Five couples, consisting of mother/father and child, explored the origin of mankind at the same time. 

Pause

For “Pause,” two choreographic actions, one interpreted by an amateur chorus, the other by a group of citizens, “conversed” with one another about the subject of the crucifixion. The interpretation centred on a heavy wooden beam that symbolized a new world of solidarity (“mondo novo”).
  • Atlas der Gesten, Photo: Virgilio Sieni Photo: Virgilio Sieni
    Atlas der Gesten
  • Dancing in the City, Photo: Virgilio Sieni Photo: Virgilio Sieni
    Dancing in the City
  • During the Workshops, Photo: Silvia Aresca Photo: Silvia Aresca
    During the Workshops
  • Participants of the Workshop, Photo: Silvia Aresca Photo: Silvia Aresca
    Participants of the Workshop
  • Dancers of Atlas der Gesten, Photo: Silvia Aresca Photo: Silvia Aresca
    Dancers of Atlas der Gesten
  • Virgilio Sieni at the Workshop, Photo: Silvia Aresca Photo: Silvia Aresca
    Virgilio Sieni at the Workshop
  • Virgilio Sieni shows the Choreographie, Photo: Ale Cavalli Photo: Ale Cavalli
    Virgilio Sieni shows the Choreographie

With about 1,000 visitors, the project created a community (of gestures). The participants and the Goethe-Institut Genoa are looking forward to continuing their collaborative work.

Atlas der Gesten/Tanz 1866 Virgilio Sieni macht Genua zur Bühne

Atlas der Gesten in Genua
Atlas der Gesten in Genua | Foto: Virgilio Sieni

Kann man eine Gesellschaft, die im Laufe der Zeit die Bedeutung von Beziehungen aus den Augen verloren hat, wieder zusammenbringen und ihr Miteinander neu gestalten? Virgilio Sieni hat zu diesem Zweck Genua choreografisch erkundet, gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut Genua.
 

Professionelle Tänzerinnen und Tänzer sowie 150 genuesische Bürger – Frauen, Männer und Kinder – wurden bereits vergangenes Jahr in das Projekt Atlas der Gesten_Genua/Tanz 1866 mit einbezogen. Angeleitet vom Choreografen Virgilio Sieni gingen sie der Frage nach der Bedeutung von Beziehungen und den Möglichkeiten des Miteinanders auf den Grund.
 
Der Titel des Projekts verweist auf den Bilderatlas des deutschen Kunsthistorikers Aby Warburg. Diesen macht sich Sieni zu eigen und zeigt auf, dass die Geste, genau wie ein Bild, ein Transportmittel unserer kulturellen Traditionen und gesellschaftlicher Erinnerungen darstellt.
Anlässlich des 150. Geburtstags Warburgs macht Sieni die Geste zum roten Faden mehrerer Workshops, in denen er an biblische Episoden gebundene Choreografien – Lehre, Flucht, Mitgefühl, Kreuzigung – umsetzt. Zusammen schaffen die Teilnehmer zum Schluss eine Gemeinschaft der Geste. 

Choreografien zum Sehen und Hören

Die Ergebnisse wurden in Form von Choreografien Ende März an symbolisch wichtigen Orten der Stadt Genua öffentlich präsentiert. Einige dieser Choreografien können dabei nicht nur angeschaut, sondern auch „angehört“ werden. Mittels einer neuen, durch das Casa Paganin-InfoMus im Rahmen des Europaprojektes Horizon 2020 ICT DANE entwickelten Technologie werden Bewegungen in Klänge umgewandelt. Dem Rezipienten wird die einmalige Gelegenheit geboten, Tanz mit geschlossenen Augen zu „sehen“. 

Die Stadt als Bühne

An drei Tagen wurden vier verschiedene Choreografien gezeigt – teils einmalig, teils in Wiederholungen.
In Vor den Augen der anderen_Lehre trafen Virgilio Sieni und Giuseppe Comuniello, ein blinder Tänzer, auf ein Publikum aus sehenden wie blinden Bürgern, das aufgefordert war, aktiv an der Begegnung teilzunehmen. Spontan entstanden aus Berührungen und dem daraus resultierenden Sinn für Nähe nicht vorhersehbare Tänze, die ein Bewusstsein für das eigene Gegenüber schufen. 

Flucht

Ein Zyklus choreografischer Aktionen zum Thema Flucht, zur Reise, die einige Menschen und Völker auf sich nehmen, um das eigene Leben zu retten, war die Choreografie Flucht.
 
Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Projekts waren an verschiedenen Orten stationiert und boten dem Publikum entlang der einzelnen Choreografien so die Möglichkeit, selbst zu wählen. So wurden die Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer auf symbolische Wanderungen geschickt, bei denen jeder Interpret stets acht auf den anderen gab. Ein Atlas der Blicke, der Annäherungen, des Unterstützens und Haltgebens, aber auch des (Hin-) Fallens entstand. 

Mutter-Kind / Vater-Kind_Mitgefühl

Ausgehend von der westlichen Tradition, welche die Mutter ihren Kindern in einem sehr spezifischen Bild aus Intimität, Schmerz und Schönheit zuordnet, wurde in Mutter-Kind / Vater-Kind_Mitgefühl ein Tanz entwickelt, der mittels Gesten die finale Beziehung wie auch den Ursprung des Lebens erforscht. Fünf Paare, bestehend aus Mutter/Vater und Kind, erforschten zeitgleich den Ursprung der Menschheit. 

Innehalten

Zwei choreografische Aktionen, eine interpretiert von einem Amateurchor, die andere von einer Gruppe Bürgern, „unterhielten“ sich für Innehalten miteinander über das Thema der Kreuzigung. Im Zentrum der Interpretation stand ein schwerer Holzbalken, der eine („mondo novo“) neue Welt der Solidarität symbolisierte.
  • Atlas der Gesten, Foto: Virgilio Sieni Foto: Virgilio Sieni
    Atlas der Gesten
  • Tanzen in der Stadt, Foto: Virgilio Sieni Foto: Virgilio Sieni
    Tanzen in der Stadt
  • Bei den Workshops, Foto: Silvia Aresca Foto: Silvia Aresca
    Bei den Workshops
  • Teilnehmer des Workshops, Foto: Silvia Aresca Foto: Silvia Aresca
    Teilnehmer des Workshops
  • Tänzer bei Atlas der Gesten, Foto: Silvia Aresca Foto: Silvia Aresca
    Tänzer bei Atlas der Gesten
  • Virgilio Sieni beim Workshop, Foto: Silvia Aresca Foto: Silvia Aresca
    Virgilio Sieni beim Workshop
  • Virgilio Sieni zeigt die Choreographie, Foto: Ale Cavalli Foto: Ale Cavalli
    Virgilio Sieni zeigt die Choreographie

Mit ca. 1.000 Besuchern konnte durch das Projekt eine Gemeinschaft (der Geste) kreiert werden. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer und auch das Goethe-Institut Genua möchten die gemeinschaftliche Arbeit gerne fortsetzen.