documenta 14 Between improvisation and distanced sparkle

The residents
The residents | Collage: Cordula Flegel

The Goethe-Instituts in South America are taking part in documenta 14 with several projects including the Capacete residency programme in Rio de Janeiro, which offers artists a ten-month stay in Athens. Six of the residents now report on Athens and their initial experiences in the city.
 

The twelve participants from South America and Greece are exploring cultural life in Athens. They meet documenta organizers, artists and visitors. Between March and December 2017, they will develop artistic interventions on site under the supervision of Capacete’s director Helmut Batista. The Goethe-Instituts in South America will take up some of the ideas in 2018 and further develop them with the local artists.
Below, some of the Capacete residents describe their first, unfiltered impressions of documenta in Athens: 

Gian Spina, Brazil

Gian Spina Gian Spina | Photo: private “During the first weeks of documenta 14 it seemed as if the ‘World Expositions’ of long ago had been brought back to life. Beginning back in 1844, they were the germ cell of an attitude that started with the ‘Exhibitions of Empires’ with their corporations, industries and colonies, enormous estates and ‘incessantly smoking chimneys.’ These ‘World Expositions’ served as the models for the biennials and then, in 1955, for the documenta, which is now expanding its territory to Athens. It may be that such events aim to bring about change. But they by no means should be allowed to serve to ‘make history forgotten.’”
 
Gian Spina has lived, studied and worked in São Paulo, San Diego, Vancouver, Bordeaux, Berlin, Frankfurt, Ramallah and other places.
 
 

Gris García, Mexico

Gris García Gris García | Photo: private “The event is announced throughout the city with a ‘14,’ a ‘14’ that divulges nothing more and that seems to mean nothing to the residents of the city of Athens. Between ambivalent signs, we attempt to guess and divine how to get to a documenta that is fitting itself into a context that is obviously not its own. And, between improvisations and distanced sparkle, it attempts to tell us that it is there in an endeavour to learn from Athens.”
 
Gris García is an artist and freelance curator. She is presently part of the multidisciplinary team at TuerCo., which offers technical expertise for art projects.
 


 

Raul Hótt, Chile

Raoul Hótt Raoul Hótt | Photo: private “Learning from Athens is no easy task. The Greeks and the complexity of the current situation remain alien to the exhibition, and the presence of the former in the exhibition is hardly perceptible. There are exceptions, of course, but you get the impression that you are standing before a great intellectual exercise that is neither appropriate nor effective. Perhaps ‘South as a State of Mind’ (one of the 'mottoes' of this year’s exhibition) should be seen as the opportunity to recognize ourselves as social and connective beings.”
 
 
Raul Hótt is an architect, artist and teacher who works through the body.



 

Rodrigo Andreolli, Brazil

Rodrigo Andreolli Rodrigo Andreolli | Photo: private “A problematization arises with the arrival of documenta 14 in the city, bringing up tensions especially in circuits where the political and economic implications of Documenta 14 are being discussed. This effect emerges more intensely on the margins of the event rather than the center itself. The city outside this sphere seems to deal with it only as another touristic attraction that slightly affects its everyday life. documenta 14 triggers a multiplicity of artists and platforms for discussion in museums and public spaces around Athens. Despite the several questions documenta in Athens has been raising, its structure seems to remain immune to the affections coming from the destination where it has docked. Some questions are still floating in the air: Why is Documenta here? How does it alter the local choreography and the field of interests around art? Which are the forces in operation within this structure? What does this gesture mean and how will it reverberate?”
 
Rodrigo Andreolli is a performance artist dealing in particular with the public body.

 

 
Nikos Doulos, Greece

 
Nikos Doulos Nikos Doulos | Photo: private “I am mainly seeking gaps in documenta 14 that allow me to ‘humanize’ the institution. While the arrival of documenta in the city has divided Athens’s art scene, it nonetheless laid the cornerstone for a genuinely significant place of conflicts. This unmistakeably calls upon us not to choose sides, but to actively take part in filling up the areas between the conflicts.”
 
Nikos Doulos is a visual artist and co-director of Expodium (www.expodium.nl). He lives and works in the Netherlands.

documenta 14 Zwischen Improvisation und fernem Glitzern

Die Residentinnen und Residenten
Die Residentinnen und Residenten | Collage: Cordula Flegel

Die Goethe-Institute in Südamerika sind mit mehreren Projekten an der documenta 14 beteiligt. Dazu gehört auch das in Rio de Janeiro ansässige Residenzprogramm Capacete, das Künstlerinnen und Künstlern einen zehnmonatigen Aufenthalt in Athen ermöglicht. Sechs der Residentinnen und Residenten berichten über Athen und ihre ersten Erfahrungen vor Ort.
 

Die zwölf Teilnehmenden aus Südamerika und Griechenland erkunden das kulturelle Leben in Athen. Sie treffen Organisatoren, Künstlerinnen und Besucher der documenta. Von März bis Dezember 2017 entwickeln sie, unter der Leitung von Capacete-Direktor Helmut Batista, vor Ort künstlerische Interventionen. Die Goethe-Institute in Südamerika werden 2018 einige Ideen aufgreifen und mit den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern vor Ort weiterentwickeln.
Einige der Capacete-Residentinnen und –Residenten schildern im Folgenden ihre ersten, ungefilterten Eindrücke von der documenta in Athen: 

Gian Spina, Brasilien

Gian Spina Gian Spina | Foto: privat „In den ersten Wochen der documenta 14 schien es, als seien die „Weltausstellungen“ von vor langer Zeit wiederauferstanden. Diese waren seit 1844 die Keimzelle einer Haltung, deren Ausgangspunkt die „Leistungsschau der Imperien“ mit ihren Unternehmen, Industrien und Kolonien, riesigen Ländereien und „unentwegt rauchenden Schornsteinen“ war. Aus diesen „Weltausstellungen“ entstand das Modell der Biennalen und 1955 dann die documenta, die nun ihr Territorium auf Athen ausweitet. Möglich, dass solche Veranstaltungen Veränderung bewirken wollen. Keinesfalls dürfen aber solche Events dazu dienen, Geschichte „vergessen zu machen“.”
 
Gian Spina hat unter anderem in São Paulo, San Diego, Vancouver, Bordeaux, Berlin, Frankfurt und Ramallah gelebt, studiert und gearbeitet. 

 

Gris García, Mexico

Gris García Gris García | Foto: privat „Eine „14” kündigt die Veranstaltung in der ganzen Stadt an, eine „14”, die nichts weiter verrät und die den Einwohnern der Stadt Athen nichts zu bedeuten scheint. Zwischen zwiespältigen Schildern versuchen wir zu erraten und zu erahnen, wie wir zu einer documenta gelangen, die sich in einen Kontext einfügt, der offensichtlich nicht der ihre ist. Und sie versucht uns zwischen Improvisationen und fernem Glitzern zu sagen, dass sie dort in dem Bestreben ist, von Athen zu lernen.”
 
Gris García ist Künstlerin und freie Kuratorin. Aktuell ist sie Teil des multidisziplinären Teams TuerCo., das technischen Rat für Kunstprojekte gibt. 


 

Raul Hótt, Chile

Raoul Hótt Raoul Hótt | Foto: privat „Von Athen zu lernen, ist keine leichte Aufgabe. Der Ausstellung bleiben die Griechen und die Vielschichtigkeit der aktuellen Situation fremd; und die Präsenz ersterer in der Ausstellung ist kaum wahrnehmbar. Klar, es gibt Ausnahmen, doch man bekommt den Eindruck, man stünde vor einer großen intellektuellen Übung, die weder passend noch wirkungsvoll ist. Vielleicht wäre “South as a state of mind” (eines der ‘Motti’ dieser Ausgabe) die Chance, uns als soziale und Verbindungen eingehende Wesen zu erkennen.”
 
Raul Hótt ist Architekt, Künstler und Lehrer, der über den Körper arbeitet. 



 

Rodrigo Andreolli, Brasilien

Rodrigo Andreolli Rodrigo Andreolli | Foto: privat „Mit der Ankunft der documenta 14 in der Stadt entstehen Probleme, die zu speziellen Spannungen und Diskussionen führen. Dieser Effekt betrifft allerdings mehr die Veranstaltung als das Zentrum selbst. Die Stadt außerhalb dieser Sphäre scheint sie mehr als weitere touristische Attraktion zu behandeln, die das tägliche Leben wenig beeinflusst. Die documenta 14 versammelt eine Vielzahl von Künstlern und Diskussionsplattformen in Museen und an öffentlichen Orten Athens. Trotz der verschiedenen Fragen, die die documena in Athen aufbringt, scheint ihre Struktur immun gegenüber ihrem Ziel zu sein. Einige Fragen liegen noch in der Luft: Warum ist die documenta hier? Wie verhäkt sich sich zu ihrem lokaen Umfeld? Was sind die Kräfte in dieser Struktur? Was bedeutet diese Geste und wir wie wird sie nachhallen?“
 
Rodrigo Andreolli ist Performancekünstler, der sich insbesondere mit dem Körper in der Öffentlichkeit beschäftigt. 


 

Nikos Doulos, Griechenland

Nikos Doulos Nikos Doulos | Foto: privat „Ich suche vorrangig nach Lücken der documenta 14, die es mir erlauben, die Institution zu `humanisieren´. Während die Ankunft der documenta in der Stadt die Kulturszene Athens geteilt hat, hat sie nichtsdestotrotz den Grundstein für einen wahrhaft bedeutenden Ort für Konflikte gelegt. Das ruft unmissverständlich nicht zu einer Wahl der Seiten, sondern vielmehr zu einer aktiven Teilnahme am Füllen der Flächen zwischen den Konflikten auf.“
 
Nikos Doulos ist Visual Artist und Co-Regisseur von Expodium (www.expodium.nl). Er lebt und arbeitet in den Niederlanden.