WORLD. CULTURE. POLICY. // Ninth Federal Cultural Policy Congress New Pathways to Understanding

Oliver Scheytt, president of the Kulturpolitischen Gesellschaft, and Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs Sigmar Gabriel
Oliver Scheytt, president of the Kulturpolitischen Gesellschaft, and Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs Sigmar Gabriel | Photo: Martin Becker Fotografie

What are the consequences of globalisation for culture and cultural policy? Is there still a boundary between “domestic” and “foreign”? What challenges do cultural mediators face today? These questions were negotiated in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut at the Ninth Federal Cultural Policy Congress in Berlin.
 

The many speakers and participants who gathered for the Ninth Federal Cultural Policy Congress in Berlin-Mitte agreed on one thing: political realities are presently forcing everyone working in the field of cultural mediation to re-examine their own points of view. Overcoming (cultural) boundaries, ever-greater openness and opening are being questioned. Brexit, the election of Donald Trump and invigorated nationalistic tendencies in many countries of Europe and the world have shifted the parameters.
 
The organisers of the congress, Oliver Scheytt (president of the Kulturpolitische Gesellschaft e.V.) and Thomas Krüger (president of the Federal Center for Political Education), therefore consider “tapping into and explaining the global changes and upheavals for oneself and for others” the challenge for cultural and educational policies.

The case for a Second Enlightenment

In her opening address, Monika Grütters, Commissioner of the Federal Government for Culture and Media, advocated grasping “diversity as a benefit of freedom.” She focused her considerations on the issue of how we deal with our own cultural heritage as an identity-shaping moment. This also involves placing history in relation to the present, Grütters emphasised, saying, “We firmly object when new forces attempt to gain a political profit for their nationalistic goals by agitating against the way that Germany deals with its past.”   
 
Federal Foreign Minister Sigmar Gabriel also addressed the increasing isolationist tendencies, noting that liberal democracy is being confronted by a new authoritarianism, particularly in the exacerbating tones coming from the United States. According to them, foreign policy should be negotiated in a battle arena in which not right makes might, but the right of the strongest prevails, which is also resonating in the culture. Gabriel made the case for initiating a “Second Enlightenment,” one prerequisite for which is to consider the political fields of “domestic” and “foreign” as one.

Overcoming boundaries in society

Overcoming boundaries is not just a mission faced by nations, but also by societies, explained political scientist Wolfgang Merkel using the example of the growing trenches between cosmopolites and communitarians: the educated and cosmopolitan versus those with a regional focus. Rubber-stamping these people, however, as “the losers of modernisation” is dangerous, Merkel warned. After all, they bear most of the social costs of change processes.
 
In the ensuing discussion, Ulrike Guérot, professor of European Policy Studies, suggested the vision of a “European republic” which, as a common political body, could also solve the social problems. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, president of the Goethe-Institut, confronted these theoretical constructs with the importance of concrete practice in cultural mediation, saying, “People have their own worlds of experience. That is where we must begin.” The Goethe-Institut is committed to overcoming boundaries through exchange and dialogue on the ground. “If, as in Turkey, we lose partners to political pressure, our work is at risk of becoming a mere export,” Lehmann said.
 
Change processes, however, can only be initiated through common efforts. Overcoming boundaries also requires dealing with remembrance culture. Lehmann referred to the Future of Remembrance project initiated by the Goethe-Institut, in which Latin American countries are working together to process the consequences of military dictatorships and break the silence. Reflection of Germany’s past is part of this.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Monika Grütters and Oliver Scheytt at the opening of the congress Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Monika Grütters and Oliver Scheytt at the opening of the congress | Photo: Martin Becker Fotografie Does cultural mediation have representational gaps?

Of course, the institutions must also face criticism. This insight was gained by the panel “Between the worlds – new challenges for cultural mediators.” Johannes Ebert, CEO of the Goethe-Institut, described the situation resulting from Brexit and the Trump election as a “restorative shock” because it accelerated the processes of self-reflection in cultural work.
 
However, Nana Adusei-Poku, professor of visual cultures, argued that this applied above all to the “dominant society” whose own sense of security is being shaken. She accused the institutions of not being in touch when it comes to post-colonial discourse, for example. This led to a lively debate – that will certainly be continued – on representation and tasks in international cultural exchange. As Ronald Grätz, secretary general of ifa (Institute for Foreign Relations), put it, he sees his institution as an “echo chamber and seismograph” of upcoming developments.
 
And for the Goethe-Institut, Johannes Ebert emphasised that, “Our role is to create platforms, to make voices heard that are otherwise ignored in Germany.”

WELT.KULTUR.POLITIK. // 9. Kulturpolitischer Bundeskongress Neue Wege zur Verständigung

Oliver Scheytt, Präsident der Kulturpolitischen Gesellschaft, mit Bundesaußenminister Sigmar Gabriel, der für eine zweite Aufklärung plädierte
Oliver Scheytt, Präsident der Kulturpolitischen Gesellschaft, mit Bundesaußenminister Sigmar Gabriel, der für eine zweite Aufklärung plädierte | Foto: Martin Becker Fotografie

Welche Folgen hat die Globalisierung für Kultur und Kulturpolitik? Gibt es noch eine Grenze zwischen „Innen“ und „Außen“? Vor welchen Herausforderungen stehen Kulturvermittler heute? Fragen, die auf dem 9. Kulturpolitischen Bundeskongress in Berlin verhandelt wurden.
 

In einem Punkt herrscht Einigkeit unter den zahlreichen Rednerinnen und Diskutanten, die anlässlich des 9. Kulturpolitischen Bundeskongress in Berlin-Mitte zusammengekommen sind: Die politischen Realitäten zwingen gegenwärtig alle, die auf dem Feld der Kulturvermittlung tätig sind, die eigene Perspektive zu prüfen. Die Überwindung von (kulturellen) Grenzen, die immer weiter reichende Offenheit und Öffnung sind infrage gestellt. Der Brexit, die Wahl Donald Trumps sowie die erstarkenden nationalistischen Tendenzen in vielen Ländern Europas und der Welt haben die Parameter verschoben.

Die Organisatoren des Kongresses Oliver Scheytt, Präsident der Kulturpolitischen Gesellschaft e.V., und Thomas Krüger, Präsident der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, sehen daher die Herausforderung für die Kultur- und Bildungspolitik darin, „die globalen Veränderungen und Verwerfungen für sich und andere zu erschließen und zu erklären“.

Der Ruf nach einer zweiten Aufklärung

Die Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien, Monika Grütters, forderte in ihrer Eröffnungsrede „Vielfalt als Freiheitsgewinn“ zu begreifen. Im Fokus ihrer Überlegungen stand die Frage nach dem Umgang mit dem eigenen kulturellen Erbe als identitätstiftendes Moment. Dazu gehöre auch, Geschichte in Bezug zur Gegenwart zu setzen, betonte Grütters: „Wir widersprechen mit Entschiedenheit, wenn neue Kräfte aus der Hetze gegen Deutschlands Umgang mit seiner Vergangenheit politischen Profit für ihre nationalistischen Ziele zu schlagen versuchen“.   
 
Die zunehmenden Abschottungstendenzen thematisierte auch Bundesaußenminister Sigmar Gabriel. Die liberale Demokratie sehe sich mit einem neuen Autoritarismus konfrontiert, gerade angesichts der sich verschärfenden Töne aus den USA. Außenpolitik solle demzufolge in einer Kampfarena verhandelt werden, in der nicht die Stärke des Rechts, sondern das Recht des Stärkeren gelte – was auch auf die Kultur ausstrahle. Gabriel rief dazu auf, eine „zweite Aufklärung“ in Gang zu setzen. Voraussetzung dafür sei auch, die politischen Felder von „Innen“ und „Außen“ zusammen  zu denken.

Grenzen in der Gesellschaft überwinden

Grenzen zu überwinden, ist eine Aufgabe, vor der nicht nur Länder, sondern auch Gesellschaften stehen, verdeutlichte der Politikwissenschaftler Wolfgang Merkel am Beispiel der wachsenden Gräben zwischen Kosmopoliten und Kommunitaristen: die einen gebildet und weltoffenen, die anderen regional fokussiert. Diese Menschen jedoch als „Modernisierungsverlierer“ zu stempeln, sei gefährlich, warnte Merkel. Schließlich trügen sie zumeist die sozialen Kosten der Veränderungsprozesse.

In der anschließenden Diskussion regte die Professorin für Europapolitik Ulrike Guérot die Vision einer „europäischen Republik“ an, die als gemeinschaftlicher politischer Körper auch die sozialen Fragen lösen könne. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts, hielt diesen  theoretischen Konstrukten die Bedeutung der konkreten Praxis in der Kulturvermittlung entgegen: „Die Menschen haben ihre eigenen Erlebniswelten – dort müssen wir ansetzen“. Das Goethe-Institut setze auf die Überwindung von Grenzen durch Austausch und Dialog vor Ort, der Antworten gibt. „Wenn wir, wie in der Türkei, auf politischen Druck Partner verlieren, droht unsere Arbeit reiner Export zu werden“, gab Lehmann zu bedenken.

Veränderungsprozesse könnten aber nur gemeinschaftlich entstehen. Grenzen überwinden erfordere auch eine Befassung mit Erinnerungskultur. Lehmann zitierte das von den Goethe-Instituten initiierte Projekt „Zukunft der Erinnerung“, bei dem lateinamerikanische Länder die Folgen der Militärdiktaturen gemeinsam aufarbeiten und dasSchweigen brechen. Die Reflexion der deutschen Vergangenheit werde einbezogen. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Monika Grütters und Oliver Scheytt bei der Eröffnung des Kongresses Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Monika Grütters und Oliver Scheytt bei der Eröffnung des Kongresses | Foto: Martin Becker Fotografie

Kulturvermittlung mit Repräsentationslücken?

Freilich müssen sich auch die Institutionen der Kritik stellen. Diese Erkenntnis brachte das Panel „Zwischen den Welten – Neue Herausforderungen für die Kulturvermittler“. Als „heilsamen Schock“ bezeichnete Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, die Situation, die durch Brexit und Trump-Wahl eingetreten sei – weil sie Prozesse von Selbstreflexion in der Kulturarbeit beschleunigen könne.
Nana Adusei-Poku, Forschungsprofessorin für Visuelle Kulturen, hielt dagegen, dass damit vor allem die „dominante Gesellschaft“ gemeint sei, deren eigene Sicherheit ins Wanken gerate. Den Institutionen warf sie vor, etwa in postkolonialen Diskursen nicht auf der Höhe der Zeit zu sein. Woraus sich eine vitale und sicherlich fortzusetzende Debatte über Repräsentation und Aufgaben im internationalen Kulturaustausch entwickelte. Er sehe sein Haus als „Echokammer und Seismograph“ kommender Entwicklungen, fasste es Ronald Grätz, Generalsekretär des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa).
Und Johannes Ebert betonte für das Goethe-Institut: „Unsere Rolle ist es, Plattformen zu schaffen, Stimmen hörbar zu machen, die man in Deutschland sonst nicht wahrnimmt“.