New Site for the Goethe-Institut Munich In Conversation with the City

The entrance to the new Institute
The entrance to the new Institute | Photo: Cordula Flegel

The Goethe-Institut Munich has moved to Haidhausen, one of the city’s most popular neighbourhoods. Time to look back at 66 years of shared city history in an interview with institute director Manuela Beck.

Munich has been the location of a Goethe-Institut for more than half a century. Founded in 1951, today about 5,500 people from all over the world come to Munich every year to learn German at the Goethe-Institut.
Manuela Beck, head of the region Roland Meinert und general secretary of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert at hte opening Manuela Beck, head of the region Roland Meinert und general secretary of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert at hte opening | Photo: Goethe-Institut München “The Goethe-Institut is ideally situated in a city like Munich, which is constantly changing. At the same time, the Goethe-Institut makes a major contribution to the standing and the international character of the city of Munich,” noted Johannes Ebert, the CEO of the Goethe-Institut at the grand opening of the new site at Rablstrasse 24. The institute presented its new premises on 21 June with an open house and ceremony with invited guests.

What binds the Goethe-Institut Munich to its Bavarian location?

In its beginnings during the post-war period, at that time still in the Maxvorstadt district, the Goethe-Institut wanted above all to contribute to the intellectual reconstruction in the city. The focus of its programmes was strongly influenced by domestic developments in Germany. The so-called “guest workers,” for example, who were not invited to stay in Germany for the long term, were given the opportunity to attend language courses at the Goethe-Institut in the 1970s. In addition to language acquisition, these courses also focused on everyday life in Germany. Those courses can be seen as the forerunners of today’s integration courses. Munich is one of the cities in Germany that attracts a great many specialised workers from abroad. This is also reflected in our offerings. For example, the city has many architectural offices so we offer German courses specifically tailored for architects.

Who comes to Munich to learn German?

We have increasing numbers of Chinese students and Germany’s neighbouring countries are also strongly represented. An existing partnership with Saudi Arabia also brings many young physicians to the specialised courses in Munich and to the Goethe-Institut to learn German. Overall, however, we have a very colourful mixture of people from all possible countries of origin.

Many years in Munich and multiple moves – what does the new address offer?

At our new location in Haidhausen there are many places that invite people to linger: small cafés, cultural venues and educational facilities. The latter links us with a collaboration that also benefits our language learners. It is particularly important for us to give them, mostly between the ages of 20 and 35, lively access to the city and to get them in conversation with the city. Haidhausen, a sought-after residential area that demonstrates the development of the city so beautifully, is perfect for this.
 
Our new premises reflect the diversification that the Goethe-Institut has undergone over the course of time with regard to its programmes. Today, we have a media library, large classrooms, rooms for small groups and a generous, comfortable lounge area. Flexible spaces like we have now are an important basis for our work: it is a constant interplay in which we respond to regional and national developments.

Neue Räume für das Goethe-Institut München Mit der Stadt im Gespräch

Der Eingang zum neuen Institut
Der Eingang zum neuen Institut | Foto: Cordula Flegel

Das Goethe-Institut München ist nach Haidhausen, eines der beliebtesten Stadtviertel der Stadt, gezogen. Zeit, auf 66 Jahre gemeinsame Stadtgeschichte zu blicken. Ein Interview mit Institutsleiterin Manuela Beck.

München ist seit über einem halben Jahrhundert Standort eines Goethe-Instituts. Gegründet 1951 kommen heute jährlich rund 5.500 Menschen aus der ganzen Welt nach München, um am Goethe-Institut Deutsch zu lernen.
Manuela Beck, Regionalleiter Roland Meinert und Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, bei der Eröffnung Manuela Beck, Regionalleiter Roland Meinert und Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, Johannes Ebert, bei der Eröffnung | Foto: Goethe-Institut München „In einer Stadt wie München, die sich in ständigem Wandel befindet, ist das Goethe-Institut bestens aufgehoben. Gleichzeitig trägt das Goethe-Institut maßgeblich zum Ansehen und zur Internationalität der Stadt München bei“, sagte Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts Johannes Ebert anlässlich der Neueröffnung in der Rablstraße 24. Mit einem Tag der offenen Tür und einem Festakt mit geladenen Gästen stellte das Institut am 21. Juni seine neuen Räume vor.

Was verbindet das Goethe-Institut München mit seinem Standort?

In seinen Anfängen, in der Nachkriegszeit, damals noch im Stadtteil Maxvorstadt, wollte das Goethe-Institut vor allem einen Beitrag zum geistigen Wiederaufbau in der Stadt leisten. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Angebote sind seither stark von innerdeutschen Entwicklungen geprägt. Für die sogenannten „Gastarbeiter“ beispielsweise – nicht eingeladen, in Deutschland zu bleiben – wurden am Goethe-Institut in München in den 1970er-Jahren Lehrkräfte ausgebildet.

Neben dem Spracherwerb ging es in diesen Kursen auch um Themen des alltäglichen Lebens in Deutschland. Diese Kurse können als Vorläufer der heutigen Schulungen für Leiterinnen und Leiter von Integrationskursen gesehen werden. München ist deutschlandweit eine der Städte, die besonders viele Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland anziehen. Auch das spiegelt sich in unserem Angebot wider. Die Stadt hat beispielsweise viele Architekturbüros – also bieten wir Deutschkurse speziell für Architekten an.

Wer kommt zum Deutschlernen nach München?

Es gibt zunehmend viele Kursteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmer aus China und auch die Nachbarländer Deutschlands sind stark vertreten. Eine bestehende Kooperation mit Saudi-Arabien bringt außerdem viele junge Medizinerinnen und Mediziner zur Facharztausbildung an die Isar und zum Deutschlernen ans Goethe-Institut. Insgesamt haben wir hier aber eine sehr bunte Mischung von Menschen aller möglichen Herkunftsländer.

Viele Jahre in München und mehrere Umzüge – was bringt die neue Adresse mit sich?

An unserem neuen Standort in Haidhausen gibt es viele  Orte, die zum Verweilen einladen - kleine Cafés, Kultur- und Bildungseinrichtungen. Mit letzteren verbindet uns eine Zusammenarbeit, von der auch unsere Sprachschülerinnen und -schüler profitieren. Es ist uns besonders wichtig, ihnen – die meisten sind zwischen 20 und 35 Jahren alt – einen lebendigen Zugang zur Stadt zu verschaffen, sie mit der Stadt ins Gespräch zu bringen. Haidhausen, ein begehrtes Wohngebiet, in dem auch die Entwicklung der Stadt so schön sichtbar wird, bietet sich dafür wunderbar an.

Unsere neuen Räume spiegeln die Diversifizierung wieder, die das Goethe-Institut im Laufe der Zeit bezüglich seiner Angebote durchlief. Heute haben wir eine Mediothek, große Klassenräume, Räume für Kleingruppen und einen großzügigen, gemütlichen Aufenthaltsbereich. Flexibel einsetzbare Räume, wie wir sie jetzt haben, sind eine wichtige Grundlage für unsere Arbeit: Es ist ein permanentes Wechselspiel, in dem wir in Teilbereichen auf regionale und nationale Entwicklungen reagieren.

Das Interview führte Teresa Niessen.