German-Ukrainian Year of Languages The Land of German Learners

CEO Ebert (centre) and Ambassador Ernst Reichel (on the right) in the literature garden
CEO Ebert (centre) and Ambassador Ernst Reichel (on the right) in the literature garden | Photo: Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Concerts, theatrical performances, summer camps etc, etc, etc ... The German-Ukrainian Year of Languages now opened in Kiev. The choice of this country is no coincidence.

Sometimes the year already begins in September. Or it doesn’t start until September – depending on how you look at it. This is true, say, of the school year in Bavaria, but also of the German-Ukrainian Year of Languages, which just opened in Kiev. For Johannes Ebert, the CEO of the Goethe-Institut, the journey to the opening was a kind of homecoming. From 1997 to 2002, he was the director of the Goethe-Institut in Kiev.

“The Goethe-Institut works on the basis of the friendly relations between Germany and Ukraine, which have grown over the years,” Ebert now said at his former workplace. It can build on a large, nationwide network of cultural societies, reading rooms, language centres, partner schools and partner libraries. Ebert also emphasised the special “Eastern Partnerships” programmes. “With our partners in Ukraine and Germany we are developing platforms where we can negotiate values, encourage reforms and build networks.”

700,000 German learners

German-Ukrainian Year of Languages – if that makes you think about memorising vocabulary and learning grammar, you’re the wrong track. The programme organised by the Federal Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut is quite entertaining. Concerts, readings, and a literature garden will ensure that it is.

It is no coincidence that Ukraine was chosen as the partner country for this Year of Languages. There are few countries where as many people are learning German as in Ukraine: far more than 700,000 people. Only Russia, Poland, France and the UK have more German learners. After English, German is the most important foreign language in Ukraine. Last year, 10,000 Ukrainians attended German courses at the Goethe-Institut and its 13 language learning centres. And that number grows every year.

The Year of Languages began this weekend with an open-air festival on Kontraktova Square, one of the oldest public squares in Kiev. The diversity of the German language was presented with a language and literature garden and there were readings, theatrical performances and a children’s university. The Ukrainian bands Haydamaky and Sergij Zhadan i Sobaki as well as the German bands Kellerkommando and Messer performed. At noon, the largest German lesson was held in Kiev – with 600 in attendance. But the opening was visited by more than 1,500 people.

Basis for the common peace project

The aim of the German-Ukrainian Year of Languages is to expand existing partnerships between educational and cultural institutions in the two countries and to encourage new partnerships and projects. The focus of the Year of Languages is on three topics: What vocational perspectives can the German language offer to young people in Ukraine? How can civil society involvement be strengthened? And in what ways can the German-Ukrainian literary dialogue be advanced, for example by means of translation funding and literary encounters? In short, it’s not about language as an end in itself, but as a basis for the common peace project of European integration.

About fifty events are planned from now until the summer of 2018, such as a musical tour, a reading tour with authors, summer camps for pupils, various professional conferences, teacher trainings, youth exchange projects, an exhibition and awards granted for outstanding translators, learners, teachers and publishers. “It’s an ambitious program,” as CEO Ebert admitted. One of its highlights is the video project Refugees Then and Now. In film workshops, pupils from Ukraine, Poland and Germany will deal with human rights issues. Finally, the joint year will end with an international congress on the future perspectives of schools.

The German-Ukrainian Year of Languages was decided in 2016 by the foreign ministers of both countries to promote mutual understanding and friendship twenty-five years after the establishment of diplomatic relations. In the past, Years of Languages have also been organised with other partners, such as China and Russia.

Deutsch-Ukrainisches Sprachenjahr Das Land der Deutschlerner

Generalsekretär Ebert (M.) und Botschafter Ernst Reichel (r.) im Literaturgarten
Generalsekretär Ebert (M.) und Botschafter Ernst Reichel (r.) im Literaturgarten | Foto: Goethe-Institut Ukraine

Konzerte, Theateraufführungen, Sommercamps und, und, und ... In Kiew wurde jetzt das Deutsch-Ukrainische Sprachenjahr eröffnet. Dass die Wahl auf das Land fiel, ist kein Zufall.

Manchmal beginnt das Jahr eben schon im September. Oder erst im September – ganz, wie man’s nimmt. Das gilt etwa für das Schuljahr in Bayern, aber auch für das Deutsch-Ukrainische Sprachenjahr, das jetzt in Kiew eröffnet wurde. Für Johannes Ebert, den Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts, war die Reise zur Eröffnung eine Art Heimkehr. Von 1997 bis 2002 leitete Ebert das Goethe-Institut in Kiew.

„Das Goethe-Institut arbeitet auf der Basis der seit Jahren gewachsenen freundschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und der Ukraine“, sagte Ebert nun an seiner ehemaligen Wirkungsstätte. Es könne auf ein großes, landesweites Netzwerk von Kulturgesellschaften, Lesesälen, Sprachlernzentren, Partnerschulen und -bibliotheken bauen. Der Generalsekretär betonte auch die Sonderprogramme „Östliche Partnerschaften“. „Hier entwickeln wir mit unseren Partnern in der Ukraine und in Deutschland Plattformen, um Werte zu verhandeln, Reformen anzustoßen und Netzwerke aufzubauen.“

700.000 Deutschlerner

Deutsch-Ukrainisches Sprachenjahr – wer jetzt an Vokabelstudium und Grammatik denkt, liegt jedoch falsch. Denn das vom Auswärtigen Amt und dem Goethe-Institut organisierte Programm ist durchaus kurzweilig. Dazu tragen Konzerte, Lesungen und ein Literaturgarten bei.

Dass man ausgerechnet die Ukraine als Partnerland für ein solches Sprachenjahr gewählt hat, kommt natürlich nicht von ungefähr. In wenigen Ländern lernen so viele Menschen Deutsch wie in der Ukraine. Deutlich mehr als 700.000 Menschen sind es. Nur Russland, Polen, Frankreich und Großbritannien haben noch mehr Deutschlerner. Nach Englisch ist Deutsch die wichtigste Fremdsprache in der Ukraine. Allein am Goethe-Institut und seinen 13 Sprachlernzentren haben im vergangenen Jahr 10.000 Ukrainer an Deutschkursen teilgenommen. Und es werden jährlich mehr.

Das Sprachenjahr begann am Wochenende mit einem Open-Air-Festival auf dem Kontraktowa-Platz, einem der ältesten Plätze in Kiew. In einem Sprach- und Literaturgarten wurde die Vielfalt der deutschen Sprache vorgestellt, daneben gab es Autorenlesungen, Theateraufführungen und eine Kinderuniversität. Es spielten die ukrainischen Bands Haydamaky und Sergij Zhadan i Sobaki sowie die deutschen Bands Kellerkommando und Messer. Am Mittag fand auch die größte Deutschstunde in Kiew statt - mit 600 Teilnehmern. Insgesamt kamen über 1500 Menschen zur Eröffnung.

Grundlage für das gemeinsame Friedensprojekt

Ziel des deutsch-ukrainischen Sprachenjahres ist es, bestehende Kooperationen zwischen Bildungs- und Kultureinrichtungen der beiden Länder auszubauen und neue Partnerschaften und Projekte anzustoßen. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt des Sprachenjahrs auf drei Themen: Welche beruflichen Perspektiven kann die deutsche Sprache jungen Menschen in der Ukraine bieten? Wie lässt sich zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement stärken? Und auf welche Weise kann man den deutsch-ukrainischen Literaturdialog vorantreiben, etwa durch Übersetzungsförderung und literarische Begegnungen? Kurzum: Es geht nicht um Sprache als Selbstzweck, sondern als Grundlage für das gemeinsame Friedensprojekt europäischer Integration.

Noch bis zum Sommer 2018 wird es insgesamt rund 50 Veranstaltungen geben, etwa eine Musiktournee, eine Lesereise mit Autoren, Sommercamps für Schüler, verschiedene Fachtagungen, Lehrerfortbildungen, Jugendaustausch-Projekte, eine Ausstellung und die Vergabe von Auszeichnungen an hervorragende Übersetzer, Lerner, Lehrer und Verlage. „Ein ambitioniertes Programm“, wie Generalsekretär Ebert sagte. Ein Höhepunkt ist auch das Videoprojekt Flüchtlinge damals und heute”. In Filmworkshops beschäftigen sich Schüler aus der Ukraine, Polen und Deutschland mit Menschenrechtsthemen. Zu Ende geht das gemeinsame Jahr schließlich mit einem internationalen Kongress zu den Zukunftsperspektiven der Schulbildung.

Beschlossen wurde das Deutsch-Ukrainische Sprachenjahr 2016 von den Außenministern beider Länder, um 25 Jahre nach Aufnahme der diplomatischen Beziehungen das gegenseitige Verständnis und die Freundschaft voranzutreiben. In der Vergangenheit gab es auch schon Sprachenjahre mit anderen Partnern, etwa mit China und mit Russland.