Artists’ Residency in Colombia Forest Utopias

One of the genres Antonia Baehr and Carola Caggiano work in is sound art.
One of the genres Antonia Baehr and Carola Caggiano work in is sound art. | Photo: Osneyder Valoy

During their Forest Utopias residency in the rainforest of Colombia’s Departamento del Chocó, participants deal artistically with the region and its inhabitants. Here, we present the work of some of the resident artists.

The Forest Utopias artists’ residency of the Goethe-Institut Colombia offers space to reflect on social and environmental issues in Latin America. Since 2015, artists have been able to come into contact with the people of Chocó and focus on the flora and fauna of the rainforest by the Pacific.

There are two residency places each year. One of them is granted by the Goethe-Institut Colombia, for example this year to Apichatpong Weerasethakul for the project Experimenta/Sur.

The second residency is decided by the foundation Más Arte Más Acción and the Goethe-Institut following a nomination procedure by experts or by a public call for applications. The candidates must either be German nationals or live in Germany and have a declared interest in a stay in Chocó.

Residents are required to write an article for the MAMA Foundation yearbook or to produce a work of art. Examples of these are the installation “5qm” by Peter Rühle and the video work by Lia Rodrigues.

Peter Rühle

Peter Rühle. Peter Rühle. | Photo: Andrés Vélez Artist Peter Rühle travelled more than 10,000 kilometres from Berlin to Chocó where he is exploring the omnipresent colour green. The special relationship that the painter has with colours is reflected in his documentary works on the hues of green:

"[…] No distinction, no construction, only documentation. A tiny five-square metre piece of primeval forest, an hour’s walk from the coast, provides more than enough material. In no time, over one hundred samples of different forms and hues of green are in the box. […]"

His stay in Chocó also urged him to reflect on the art world in Berlin, London, Kassel and New York:

"[…] Here, at the other end of the world where the rainforest and the ocean meet, the distance to the art world in which I usually move is huge both mentally and spatially, and the cigarette butts and flickering incandescent lamps hanging crookedly from their cables presented there seem, with their self-referentiality, all the more remote, almost ridiculous – as if Bourdieu had never written Distinction and as if the fairy tale of “The Emperor’s New Clothes” had nothing to do with it all. […]"

The works from Chocó were exhibited in Bogotá following the residency.

Robert Lippok

Peter Rühle and Robert Lippok. Peter Rühle and Robert Lippok. | Photo: Andrés Vélez  “It is hard for me to express my stay in Chocó in words. Rarely have I been so afraid, alone in my house at night, a hundred metres from the beach, on the edge of the rainforest. But also rarely has the beauty of nature revealed itself to me with such force. On the day of my departure I was bewildered, broken up, speechless.

It was a blessing that Ana Garzón Sabogal from Más Arte Más Acción accompanied my journey. I had so many questions: about the political situation, the climate change that is perceivable in Chocó, the situation of the indigenous peoples... She was able to answer many of them, or she introduced me to someone who could.

My time there was brief and intense. To this day, it feels as though a part of me is still there, at night, looking at the Pacific, thunderstorms in the distance.”

Robert Lippok works as a musician and visual artist.

Lia Rodrigues

Lia Rodrigues. Lia Rodrigues. | Photo: Andrés Vélez Choreographer Lia Rodrigues sought out dialogue between the villagers in Chocó and in Favela da Maré. While the rainforest in Departamento del Chocó makes up half of the original forest of Colombia, the Brazilian favela lacks green spaces and trees. Grey Maré, green Chocó: the choreographer is positioning her artistic creation, a new piece for her dance company, between these opposites.

Carola Caggiano and Antonia Baehr

Drawing of the Felipita banana variety by Antonia Baehr. Drawing of the Felipita banana variety by Antonia Baehr. | Photo: Andrés Vélez We all know “global bananas.” You see them in any European supermarket. But in Guachalito, Chocó, where the jungle flows into the Pacific, different varieties grow, like Primitivo, Felipita or Mambule. Besides fish, these bananas are the staple food there and play an important role for the identity and culture of the region. The artists Antonia Baehr and Carola Caggiano want to return the banana’s multiplicity back to it. They made their drawings with pens and other things found in their hut in Chocó.

Sebastian Meschenmoser



The most poisonous frog in the world, the golden poison frog, is native to Chocó. The visual artist Sebastian Meschenmoser came across this amphibian in the forest. When he took the boat to the village of Coquí to give the schoolchildren drawing lessons, he also saw whales and dolphins. During his residency, Meschenmoser was particularly impressed by the strong influence of nature on his everyday life: the weather played a major part in daily planning and the extreme humidity softened the paper and made drawing difficult. So instead, he photographed a great deal and collected the inhabitants’ stories. Today he says, “Once you’ve been there for awhile, you begin to believe even the strangest anecdotes.”

Sebastian Meschenmoser’s stay was organised by the library of the Goethe-Institut Colombia.

Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Apichatpong Weerasethakul. Apichatpong Weerasethakul. | Photo: Andrés Vélez The Thai filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul used the artists’ residency as a starting point for photo studies in Colombia. He focused on the diverse ways that art and science interconnect. Using colour as a technical basis, Weerasethakul devoted himself to gathering, documenting and archiving his research. His collected impressions from Chocó and other parts of Colombia form the starting point for his next film. 

Regina de Miguel

Regina de Miguel. Regina de Miguel. | Photo: Regina de Miguel “I am beginning to love the abyss from which I am made.
The aim of this project is to realise an audio-visual experiment meant to penetrate the psychological reality of the territory.
 
The Chocó setting shows us how relations with the earth can be understood as social relations of labour and exploitation. This is reminiscent of the characteristics of industrial capitalism of the nineteenth century and at the same time of the digital capitalism of the twenty-first century – an age of geopolitics that is governed by the search for energy and material resources for the production of communication devices.”
 
Regina de Miguel is the present resident artist in Chocó. The Berlin-based Spanish artist is planning to then hold a screening in Bogotá at Jardín 82 of the Goethe-Institut Colombia.

Künstlerresidenz in Kolumbien Utopien im Wald

Antonia Baehr und Carola Caggiano beschäftigen sich unter anderem mit Soundkunst
Antonia Baehr und Carola Caggiano beschäftigen sich unter anderem mit Soundkunst | Foto: Osneyder Valoy

Die Residenz „Utopien im Wald“ im tropischen Regenwald  des kolumbianischen Departamento del Chocó lädt Künstlerinnen und Künstler ein, sich mit der Region und deren Bevölkerung auseinanderzusetzen. Wir stellen die Arbeit einiger der Residentinnen und Residenten vor.

Raum für Reflexionen über soziale oder Umweltfragen in Lateinamerika bietet die Residenz „Utopien im Wald“ des Goethe-Instituts Kolumbien. Seit 2015 treten hier Künstlerinnen und Künstler mit den Menschen in Chocó und mit Flora und Fauna im Regenwald am Pazifik in Kontakt.
 
Jährlich werden zwei Residenzplätze vergeben. Einen davon vergibt das Goethe-Institut Kolumbien wie etwa dieses Jahr an Apichatpong Weerasethakul im Rahmen von des Projekts Experimenta/Sur.
 
Über die zweite Residenz entscheiden die Stiftung Más Arte Más Acción und das Goethe-Institut nach einem Nominierungsverfahren durch Experten oder eine öffentliche Ausschreibung. Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme ist, dass die Künstlerinnen und Künstler die deutsche Staatsangehörigkeit besitzen oder in Deutschland leben sowie ein begründetes Interesse an einem Aufenthalt in Chocó haben.
 
Wer an einer Residenz teilnimmt, verpflichtet sich zu einem Beitrag zum Jahrbuch der MAMA-Stiftung oder einer künstlerischen Produktion. Beispiele sind die Installation „5qm“ von Peter Rühle und die Videoarbeit von Lia Rodrigues.

Peter Rühle 

Peter Rühle Peter Rühle | Foto: Andrés Vélez Der Künstler Peter Rühle ist aus Berlin in das über 10 000 Kilometer entfernte Chocó gereist und hat sich mit der dort allgegenwärtigen Farbe Grün auseinandergesetzt. Das besondere Verhältnis, das er als malender Künstler zu Farben hat, spiegelt sich in seinen dokumentarischen Arbeiten zu den Grüntönen wider:

„[…] Keine Distinktion, keine Konstruktion, nur Dokumentation. Ein winziges Stück Urwald von fünf Quadratmetern, eine Stunde Fußmarsch entfernt von der Küste, gibt mehr als genug Material: In kurzer Zeit sind über hundert Proben verschiedener Formen und Grüntöne in der Kiste. […]“

Der Aufenthalt in Chocó lädt auch zu einer Reflexion über die Kunstwelt in Berlin, London, Kassel und New York ein:

„[…] Hier, wo sich Regenwald und Ozean am anderen Ende der Welt treffen, ist der Abstand zur Kunstwelt, in der ich mich sonst bewege, sowohl gedanklich als auch räumlich denkbar groß, und die dort präsentierten Zigarettenstummel und flackernden Glühlampen an ihren schiefen Kabeln wirken in ihrer Selbstreferentialität umso sinnferner, fast lächerlich – als hätte Bourdieu „Die feinen Unterschiede'“nie geschrieben und als hätte das Märchen von „Des Kaisers neuen Kleidern“ nichts mit alledem zu tun. […]“

Die Arbeiten aus Chocó wurden im Anschluss an die Residenz in Bogotá ausgestellt. 

Robert Lippok

Peter Rühle und Robert Lippok Peter Rühle und Robert Lippok | Foto: Andrés Vélez „Meinen Aufenthalt in Chocó in Worte zu fassen, fällt mir schwer. Selten hatte ich so große Angst, nachts allein in meinem Haus, hundert Meter vom Strand entfernt, am Rande des Regenwaldes. Aber auch selten hat sich mir die Schönheit der Natur mit solch einer Macht offenbart. Am Tag meiner Abreise war ich fassungslos, aufgelöst, ohne Sprache.

Dass Ana Garzón Sabogal von Más Arte Más Acción die Reise begleitete, war ein Segen. Ich hatte so viele Fragen: über die politischen Verhältnisse, den auch in Chocó zu spürenden Klimawandel, die Situation der indigenen Völker…. Viele davon konnte sie beantworten oder sie stellte mir jemanden vor, der es konnte.

Meine Zeit dort war kurz und intensiv. Bis heute fühlt es sich so an, als wäre ein Teil von mir noch da, nachts, auf den Pazifik schauend, Gewitterstürme in der Ferne.“

Robert Lippok arbeitet als Musiker und bildender Künstler. 

Lia Rodrigues

Lia Rodrigues Lia Rodrigues | Foto: Andrés Vélez Die Choreographin Lia Rodrigues suchte den Dialog zwischen den Bewohnern des Dorfes der Künstlerresidenz in Chocó und Favela da Maré. Während der Regenwald im Departamento del Chocó die Hälfte der ursprünglichen Bewaldung Kolumbiens stellt, mangelt es der brasilianischen Favela an Grünflächen und Bäumen. Graues Maré, grüner Chocó – grey, green: Zwischen diesen Gegensätzen verortet die Choreographin ihre künstlerische Schöpfung, ein neues Stück für ihre Tanzkompanie.

Carola Caggiano und Antonia Baehr

Zeichnung der Bananensorte Felipita von Antonia Baehr Zeichnung der Bananensorte Felipita von Antonia Baehr | Foto: Andrés Vélez Die „globale Banane” kennen wir alle. Man sieht sie in jedem europäischen Supermarkt. In Guachalito, Chocó, wo der Urwald in den Pazifik mündet, wachsen jedoch andersartige Sorten, wie z.B. Primitivo, Felipita oder Mambule. Diese Bananen sind dort, neben Fisch, das Grundnahrungsmittel und spielen eine wichtige Rolle für die Identität und Kultur der Region. Die Künstlerinnen Antonia Baehr und Carola Caggiano wollen der Banane ihre Multiplizität wiedergeben. Ihre Zeichnungen fertigten sie unter anderem mit Stiften an, die sie in ihrer Hütte in Chocó fanden.

Sebastian Meschenmoser



Der giftigste Frosch der Welt, der schreckliche Pfeilgiftfrosch, ist in Chocó beheimatet. Auf diese Amphibie stieß der bildende Künstler Sebastian Meschenmoser im Wald. Als er mit dem Boot in das Dorf Coquí fuhr, um dort Zeichenstunden für Schulkinder zu geben, sah er außerdem Wale und Delfine. Während seiner Residenz war Meschenmoser vor allem von dem starken Einfluss der Natur auf seinen Alltag beeindruckt: Die Witterung bestimmte einen Großteil der Tagesplanung, die hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit durchweichte das Papier und machte ihm das Zeichnen schwer. Also fotografierte er viel und sammelte Geschichten der Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner. Heute sagt er: „Wenn man eine Zeit lang dort gewesen ist, beginnt man, auch die seltsamsten Anekdoten zu glauben.“

Den Aufenthalt von Sebastian Meschenmoser organisierte die Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts Kolumbien.

Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Apichatpong Weerasethakul Apichatpong Weerasethakul | Foto: Andrés Vélez Der thailändische Filmemacher Apichatpong Weerasethakul nutzte die Künstlerresidenz als Ausgangspunkt für Fotorecherchen in Kolumbien. Im Fokus stand die Vielfalt der Verschränkung von Kunst und Wissenschaft. Ausgehend von der Farbe als technischer Grundlage widmete sich Weerasethakul dem sammelnden, dokumentierenden und archivierenden Forschen – seine Eindrücke aus Chocó und anderen Teilen Kolumbiens bilden den Ausgangspunkt für seinen nächsten Film. 

Regina de Miguel

Regina de Miguel Regina de Miguel | Foto: Regina de Miguel „Ich fange an, den Abgrund zu lieben, aus dem ich gemacht bin.
 
Die Absicht dieses Projektes ist die Verwirklichung eines audiovisuellen Experiments, das in die psychische Wirklichkeit des Territoriums eindringen soll.
 
Der Schauplatz Chocó zeigt uns, inwiefern die Beziehungen zur Erde als soziale Beziehungen der Arbeit und Ausbeutung zu verstehen sind. Dies erinnert an die Charakteristiken des industriellen Kapitalismus des 19. Jahrhunderts und gleichzeitig an die des digitalen Kapitalismus des 21. Jahrhunderts – als Zeitalter der Geopolitik, bestimmt von der Suche nach Energien und Materialressourcen zur Produktion von Kommunikationsgeräten.“
 
Regina de Miguel ist die aktuelle Residentin in Chocó. Die in Berlin lebende spanische Künstlerin plant im Anschluss eine Veranstaltung mit Screening im Bildungs- und Gemeinschaftsgarten Jardín 82 des Goethe-Instituts Kolumbien in Bogotá.