Gender Bender 2017 Solace in dismal times

Performance at the Gender Bender Festival 2017.
Performance at the Gender Bender Festival 2017. | Photo: Chill Panther Media

For the third edition of the Gender Bender festival, the Goethe-Institut Bangalore asked artists from all genres to express their views of prevailing gender images and portrayals of the human body. The writer, director and actor Deepika Arwind gives us an insight into the festival that was held in early September at the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan in Bangalore.

In the midst of the many voices, the lively discussions about the works of art and installations exhibited, I discover a wall full of external female sex organs. They are by the illustrator Arunima Bose and are made from various materials: metal, fur, lace, sanitary napkins, clay. Each one feels different.

Installation by Arunima Bose. Installation by Arunima Bose. | Photo: Goethe-Institut Bangalore

No one wins

As I turn around, a few college students enter, talking loudly. They just took part in an interactive game by Fields Of View called “Made To Order,” which deals with caste and class differences and social gender. One of them says, “I am moved to tears.” The game is spectacular in its simplicity: you take on the role of a female worker in the clothing industry and grapple with her everyday problems in order to survive. It’s a game no one ever seems to win.

Two transgender women register for the game. I think about what this festival in India means. It challenges gender images and through this alone it addresses the most diverse people. It is playful, disrespectful and freely accessible to everyone. And where else will you find a foyer decorated with 27 brassieres?

Installation by Elisabeth Pfahl. Installation by Elisabeth Pfahl. | Photo: Goethe-Institut Bangalore

The great potential of works in progress

Gender Bender was initiated by the Sandbox Collective in Bangalore. The aim was to create a festival on the subject of gender that was process-like and open-ended. The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan was immediately taken by this idea. Most of the installations and performances are therefore understood as works in progress. They are unfinished, rough, but also bold and full of potential. The works by the artists, who were chosen by an independent jury, will go on tour following the festival.

One performance that fascinates me in particular is by Madhushree Basu from Chennai. It is entitled “Swachchandacharinee.” In it, Basu wears an opaque mask. In a very personal way, she explores a poem by Vayalar Ramavarama, while simultaneously showing a film and dancing.

Solace in dismal times

It is amazing to see what a large and diverse audience such a festival attracts: old and young, curious, patient. On the way out, I stand for a long time in front of a partially autobiographical painting by Ibtisam Tasnim. “Al Awra: The Intimate Parts” reflects the life of the LGBTQ community in the society and culture of the Middle East. Her own life is marked by paperwork, the bureaucratic struggle for immigration status, which moves through her painting. Olive branches decorate the picture frame.

Gender Bender celebrates diversity. But I will have to come back again in order to capture and process it all, to establish connections, to allow the inspiration to reverberate. In the meantime, I find solace in the thought that one can rely on the collective openness and the imaginative power of the involved artists and the audience. And that in times when many others things appear dismal.

Gender Bender 2017 Trost in trostlosen Zeiten

Performance beim Gender Bender Festival 2017
Performance beim Gender Bender Festival 2017 | Foto: Chill Panther Media

Für die dritte Ausgabe des Festivals „Gender Bender“ rief das Goethe-Institut Bangalore Künstlerinnen und Künstler aller Sparten auf, ihre Sichtweisen auf vorherrschende Geschlechterbilder und Körperdarstellungen auszudrücken. Die Schriftstellerin, Regisseurin und Schauspielerin Deepika Arwind gibt einen Einblick in das Festival, das Anfang September im Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore stattfand.

Inmitten des Stimmengewirrs, der angeregten Diskussionen über die ausgestellten Kunstwerke und Installationen, entdecke ich eine Wand voller äußerer weiblicher Geschlechtsorgane. Sie stammen von der Illustratorin Arunima Bose und bestehen aus unterschiedlichen Materialien: Metall, Pelz, Spitze, Damenbinden, Lehm. Jedes fühlt sich anders an.

Installation der Künstlerin Arunima Bose Installation der Künstlerin Arunima Bose | Foto: Goethe-Institut Bangalore

Keiner wird gewinnen

Als ich mich umdrehe, kommen gerade einige Collegestudenten herein, laut diskutierend. Sie haben soeben an einem interaktiven Spiel von Fields Of View teilgenommen, „Made To Order“, das sich mit Kasten- und Klassenunterschieden und dem sozialen Geschlecht auseinandersetzt. Einer von ihnen sagt: „Ich bin zu Tränen gerührt.“ Das Spiel ist in seiner Einfachheit spektakulär: Du übernimmst die Rolle einer Arbeiterin in der Bekleidungsindustrie und schlägst dich durch die alltäglichen Probleme des Überlebens. Niemand scheint dabei je zu gewinnen.

Zwei Transgenderfrauen melden sich für das Spiel an. Ich denke darüber nach, was dieses Festival in Indien bedeutet. Es stellt Geschlechterbilder in Frage, und allein dadurch spricht es die unterschiedlichsten Menschen an. Es ist spielerisch, respektlos und für jedermann frei zugänglich. Und wo sieht man schon einmal ein Foyer, das von 27 Büstenhaltern geschmückt wird?

Installation der Künstlerin Elisabeth Pfahl Installation der Künstlerin Elisabeth Pfahl | Foto: Goethe-Institut Bangalore

Das grossE Potential des Unfertigen

Ins Leben gerufen wurde „Gender Bender“ vom Sandbox Collective in Bangalore. Das Ziel war es, ein Festival rund um das Thema Gender zu schaffen, das prozesshaft und ergebnisoffen agiert. Das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan war sofort angetan von dieser Idee. Die meisten Installationen und Performances verstehen sich dementsprechend als work in progress. Sie sind unfertig, rau, aber auch kühn und voller Potential. Die Werke der von einer unabhängigen Jury ausgewählten Künstlerinnen und Künstler gehen nach dem Festival auf Reisen.

Eine Performance, die mich besonders fasziniert, stammt von Madhushree Basu aus Chennai. Sie trägt den Titel „Swachchandacharinee“. Basu trägt darin eine undurchsichtige Maske. Sie ergründet äußerst eigenwillig ein Gedicht von Vayalar Ramavarama, während sie gleichzeitig ein Film beim Tanzen zeigt.

Trost in trostlosen Zeiten

Es ist erstaunlich, was für ein großes und breit gefächertes Publikum ein solches Festival anzieht. Alt und jung, neugierig, geduldig. Auf dem Weg nach draußen bleibe ich lange vor einem teilweise autobiografischen Gemälde von Ibtisam Tasnim stehen. „Al Awra: The Intimate Parts“ reflektiert das Leben der LGBTQ-Community in Gesellschaft und Kultur des Nahen Ostens. Ihr eigenes Leben ist geprägt von Papierkram, dem bürokratischen Kampf um Einwanderung, der sich durch ihr Gemälde zieht. Ölzweige zieren den Bilderrahmen.

„Gender Bender“ feiert die Vielfalt. Doch um all das zu erfassen und zu verarbeiten, werde ich wiederkommen müssen. Damit sich Verbindungen herstellen lassen, die Inspiration nachhallen kann. In der Zwischenzeit ist der Gedanke tröstlich, dass man sich auf die kollektive Offenheit und die Vorstellungskraft der beteiligten Künstlerinnen und Künstler und des Publikums verlassen kann. Und das in einer Zeit, da vieles andere trostlos erscheint.