22nd Schlingel Film Festival Timm Thaler wins the Youth and Children’s Film Award

Timm Thaler wins a horseracing bet.
Timm Thaler wins a horseracing bet. | Photo: Constantin Film/Gordon Muehle

This year’s Goethe-Institut Youth and Children’s Film Award went to Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen (The Legend of Timm Thaler or The Boy Who Sold His Laughter) by Andreas Dresen. The award ceremony took place on 30 September at the Schlingel Film Festival in Chemnitz. Dresen’s film tells the story of Timm, who makes a pact with the devil and trades his laughter for luck in betting.

Convincing first children’s film by Andreas Dresen

According to the jury statement, “It is actually a fairy tale, yet almost like in real life, Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen underscores that success and wealth alone do not bring happiness. People – and children in particular – need friendship, family and joy in life. The film demonstrates how children deal with difficult everyday situations and how their parents can support them. It conveys all of this with humour, imagination and a twinkle. It sets itself a very high bar, but offers the audience a world of magic and fantasy, from the street to the cinema.”
  • The jury announces the winner of the Youth and Children’s Film Award. Photo: Film Festival SCHLINGEL Photo: Film Festival SCHLINGEL
    The jury announces the winner of the Youth and Children’s Film Award.
  • The Schlingel Film Festival took place for the 22nd time; last year, over 20,000 people attended the festival. Photo: Film Festival SCHLINGEL Photo: Film Festival SCHLINGEL
    The Schlingel Film Festival took place for the 22nd time; last year, over 20,000 people attended the festival.
  • The young people await the start of the next film with anticipation. Photo: Film Festival SCHLINGEL Photo: Film Festival SCHLINGEL
    The young people await the start of the next film with anticipation.
  • Timm inside the baron’s huge, magical model train. Photo: Constantint Film/Gordon Muehle Photo: Constantint Film/Gordon Muehle
    Timm inside the baron’s huge, magical model train.
  • Timm runs away from home and gets a job as the liftboy in the city’s Grand Hotel. Photo: Constantin Film/Gordon Muehle Photo: Constantin Film/Gordon Muehle
    Timm runs away from home and gets a job as the liftboy in the city’s Grand Hotel.
  • Andreas Dresen, director of the film Timm Thaler, sends a video message. Photo: Marija Piroshki Photo: Marija Piroshki
    Andreas Dresen, director of the film Timm Thaler, sends a video message.
 

Worldwide promotion of films for children and young people

Following the annual award ceremony of the Youth and Children’s Film Award in Chemnitz, the Goethe-Institut acquires the international license for each year’s winning film and sends it to all of the 159 institutes in 98 countries. To advance German films for children and young people and cultural dialogue, Timm Thaler will now also be subtitled in up to eight languages and made available to a worldwide audience.

The jury

The selection and awarding of the Youth and Children’s Film Award takes place every year as part of the Schlingel International Film Festival for Children and Young Audiences in Chemnitz. This year, the jury consisted of Dr Shyryngul Suchai (Goethe-Institut Almaty), Sunčica Šido (Goethe-Institut Belgrade), Marc Guschal (Film, Television, Radio Division) and Sabine Söhner (DEFA Foundation). The jury also awarded the 4,000-euro DEFA Foundation grant to director Helene Hegemann and her film Axolotl Overkill.

22. Filmfestival „Schlingel“ „Timm Thaler“ gewinnt Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreis

Timm Thaler hat Erfolg bei seinen Pferdewetten
Timm Thaler hat Erfolg bei seinen Pferdewetten | Foto: Constantin Film/Gordon Muehle

Der Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts geht in diesem Jahr an „Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen“ von Andreas Dresen. Die Verleihung fand am 30. September auf dem Filmfestival „Schlingel“ in Chemnitz statt. Dresens Film erzählt die Geschichte von Timm, der bei einem Pakt mit dem Teufel sein Lachen gegen Wetterfolge eintauscht.

Überzeugender erster Kinderfilm von Andreas Dresen

Die Jury begründete ihre Auswahl mit den Worten: „Es ist eigentlich ein Märchen, und doch fast wie im wahren Leben: ‚Timm Thaler oder das verkaufte Lachen‘ unterstreicht, dass Erfolg und Reichtum allein nicht glücklich machen. Menschen – und ganz besonders Kinder – brauchen Freundschaft, Familie und Freude am Leben. Der Film zeigt, wie Kinder mit schwierigen Situationen im Alltag umgehen und ihre Eltern sie dabei unterstützen können. Das vermittelt er mit Humor, Einfallsreichtum und Augenzwinkern. Er setzt sich sehr hohe Ziele, bietet seinem Publikum aber auch eine Welt voller Magie und Phantasie, von der Straße bis in den Kinosaal.“
  • Die Jury verkündet den Gewinner des Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreises, Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL
    Die Jury verkündet den Gewinner des Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreises
  • Das Filmfestival Schlingel findet bereits zum 22. Mal statt; vergangenes Jahr zählte es über 20.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher, Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL
    Das Filmfestival Schlingel findet bereits zum 22. Mal statt; vergangenes Jahr zählte es über 20.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher
  • Die Jugendlichen warten gespannt auf den Beginn des nächsten Films, Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL Foto: Filmfestival SCHLINGEL
    Die Jugendlichen warten gespannt auf den Beginn des nächsten Films
  • Timm in der riesigen magischen Modelleisenbahn des Barons, Foto: Constantint Film/Gordon Muehle Foto: Constantint Film/Gordon Muehle
    Timm in der riesigen magischen Modelleisenbahn des Barons
  • Timm läuft von zu Hause fort und heuert als Liftboy im Grand Hotel der Stadt an, Foto: Constantin Film/Gordon Muehle Foto: Constantin Film/Gordon Muehle
    Timm läuft von zu Hause fort und heuert als Liftboy im Grand Hotel der Stadt an
  • Andreas Dresen, Regisseur von „Timm Thaler“, sendet eine Videobotschaft, Foto: Marija Piroshki Foto: Marija Piroshki
    Andreas Dresen, Regisseur von „Timm Thaler“, sendet eine Videobotschaft
  

Weltweite Förderung von Kinder- und Jugendfilmen

Nach der alljährlichen, feierlichen Vergabe des Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreises in Chemnitz erwirbt das Goethe-Institut die internationale Lizenz des jeweiligen Gewinnerfilms und stellt ihn allen 159 Instituten in 98 Ländern zur Verfügung. Zur Förderung des deutschen Kinder- und Jugendfilms und des kulturellen Austausches wird nun auch „Timm Thaler“ in bis zu acht Sprachen untertitelt und einem weltweiten Publikum zugänglich gemacht.

Die Jury

Auswahl und Verleihung des Kinder- und Jugendfilmpreises finden jedes Jahr im Rahmen des Internationalen Filmfestivals für Kinder und junges Publikum „Schlingel“ in Chemnitz statt. Der Jury gehörten dieses Jahr Dr. Shyryngul Suchai (Goethe-Institut Almaty), Sunčica Šido (Goethe-Institut Belgrad), Marc Guschal (Bereich Film, Fernsehen, Hörfunk) und Sabine Söhner (DEFA-Stiftung) an. Die Jury vergab zudem den mit 4.000 Euro dotierten Förderpreis der DEFA-Stiftung an die Regisseurin Helene Hegemann und ihren Film „Axolotl Overkill“.